Washington Health Corps

Announcements

COVID-19 Updates

Please review the COVID-19 FAQs for guidance on service obligation hours, change of site location, and other answers to COVID-19-related questions. Please check back frequently for program updates. If you have a specific question, please email us at: health@wsac.wa.gov (We are working remotely and responding to your questions.)

2020 Provider Application

The 2020 provider application has closed.

2020 Site Application

Applications are available for sites to request pre-approval status. Apply now

  • If you are on the 2019 Preapproved Site List below, there is no need to re-apply for 2020. Your site certification will remain on the preapproved list until the 2022 cycle. 
  • If you need more information about the site application process, please see the 2019 Health Site Application Webinar.
  • Site applications are accepted on a rolling basis year-round.
  • Please email health@wsac.wa.gov with any updates to current site, provider type, and contact information.

Overview

Washington Health Corps was established by the 2019 Legislature as an umbrella under which the current state health program (SHP) exists and new behavioral health program (BHP) will exist. WSAC also administers the federal health program (FHP), which is a federal grant–state match program, under Washington Health Corps.

The health corps programs encourage licensed health professionals to provide primary care at approved sites in critical shortage areas. The programs provide financial assistance through either conditional scholarships or loan repayment. Many types of health care providers are eligible, in a variety of clinical settings. Health care sites must apply and be approved as part of the application process.

In 2019, approximately 100 health professionals worked in underserved areas of Washington as a result of this program. Since 1990, the program has funded over 1,000 professionals serving in 38 Washington counties, and demand continues to exceed funding available. 

Application Overview & Timeline

Step 1: Sites apply and request pre-approval status. WSAC reviews site applications and posts a list of the pre-approved sites. A full list of the current pre-approved sites is below. Site approval status lasts for three years, contingent on the site continuing to meet minimum qualifications.

Step 2: Providers apply during the provider application cycle. To be eligible for consideration, providers must be working at a pre-approved site, or have an employment contract to start work at a pre-approved site on or before July 1.

Step 3: Sites verify the information submitted on the provider's application and provide additional details about the physical site.

Loan Repayment

Preapproved Site List

Preapproved Site List

Sites will be added to the current list of pre-approved sites as they are approved.

Program Guides & Information

Program Guides & Information

2020 Washington Health Corps Reference Guide

Federal & State Programs Comparison

Federal & State Programs Comparison

Two programs provide educational loan repayment assistance. See table below for detailed information.

Federal Health Program (FHP)

State Health Program (SHP)

Awards use federal funds matched with state dollars

Awards use state funds only

Maximum $70,000 award

Maximum $75,000 award

Minimum two-year service obligation

Minimum three-year service obligation

Minimum 40-hour work week

Minimum 24-hour work week (service obligation period prorated to three-year, full-time equivalency)

Default penalty: months not served x $7,500 per month, plus interest (minimum of $31,000 payback)

Default penalty: amount equal to the unsatisfied portion of the service obligation, or the total amount paid by the program on their behalf, whichever is less

Maximum 35.7 days per contract year allowed in leave away from clinic/site for holidays, sick leave, vacation, etc.

Maximum 40 days per contract year allowed in leave away from clinic/site for holidays, sick leave, vacation, etc.

Eligible sites: See reference guides for full details, but must have a federal Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) designation, be a nonprofit, and have an implemented and posted Sliding Fee Schedule (SFS).

Eligible sites: See reference guides for full details. Does not require a federal Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) designation or a Sliding Fee Schedule (SFS).

Eligible Providers: DDS or DMD, Registered Dental Hygienist, MD, DO, Physician Assistant, Nurse Practitioner, Registered Nurse, Pharmacist, Certified Nurse Midwife, Licensed Clinical Psychologist*, Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker*, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist*, Licensed Mental Health Counselor* 

*Requires a current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health professional license or credential working in an integrated setting or system of care. Individuals with the associate level, restricted credential are not eligible.

Eligible Providers: DDS or DMD, Registered Dental Hygienist, MD, DO, ND, Physician Assistant, Nurse Practitioner, Registered Nurse, Licensed Practical Nurse, Pharmacist, Certified Nurse Midwife, Licensed Midwife, Chiropractor, Licensed Clinical Psychologist*, Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker*, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist*, Licensed Mental Health Counselor*

*Requires a current, full, permanent, unencumbered, unrestricted health professional license or credential working in an integrated setting or system of care. Individuals with the associate level, restricted credential are not eligible.