Skip to main content | (360) 753-7800
917 Lakeridge Way SW | Olympia, WA 98502

Colleges and Institutions in Washington

Washington State offers many higher education opportunities.

Public Baccalaureates

Public Baccalaureate Colleges and Universities
Research Universities

University of Washington

University of Washington Bothell
University of Washington Tacoma

Washington State University

Washington State University Tri-Cities
Washington State University Vancouver
Washington State University Spokane

Public Comprehensive Institutions

Central Washington University
Eastern Washington University
Western Washington University
The Evergreen State College


Independent Colleges

Independent Colleges of Washington  (ICW)

ICW is an association of 10 private, nonprofit colleges in the state. ICW's member institutions share a commitment to high-quality, academically rigorous learning, and to an education that emphasizes critical thinking, lifelong learning, ethics, leadership, and community service.

Gonzaga University 
Heritage University 
Pacific Lutheran University 
Saint Martin's University  
Seattle Pacific University
Seattle University 
University of Puget Sound 
Walla Walla University 
Whitman College 
Whitworth University


Public CTCs


Authorized Institutions

Operation requirements:

All degree-granting institutions operating in Washington must be authorized by the Student Achievement Council or be determined to be exempt from that requirement.  The following are lists of degree-granting institutions that have received authorization for three different types of operation in the state. Authorization applies only to specific programs, locations, or activities the institution requested for authorization. Institutions must renew their authorization every two years. 

Institutions authorized for a physical location in the state:

Andrews University
Antioch University
Athena University
A.T. Still University
Bellevue University
Brandman University
Carrington College Spokane
Central Texas College
Charter College
Columbia College of Missouri
Cornell University
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide
Faith International University
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Gather 4 Him Christian College
Goddard College
Golden Gate University
Great Northern University
Lesley University
Liberty University
Moody Bible Institute
New York University
Northeastern University
Nova Southeastern University
Oregon Institute of Technology
Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences
Park University of Missouri
Perry Technical Institute
Pima Medical Institute
Saybrook University
Seattle Film Institute 
Southeastern University
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
Trinity Western University
University Child Development School
University of Maryland Global Campus
University of Phoenix
University of the Cumberlands
Vincennes University
Warner Pacific University
Washington Polytechnic Institute
Washington Technology University
The Wellness Graduate School of Psychology

These institutions are authorized to advertise and recruit in the state for programs offered via distance learning or at out-of-state campuses:

Carrington College-Sacramento
Concorde Career College-Portland, OR
Universal Technical Institute Avondale
Universal Technical Institute of Northern California
Walden University
WyoTech Laramie

These institutions are authorized to offer field placements. Field placements can be internships, externships, clinical training, practica, etc. in Washington State as part of distance learning programs: 

Boston University
California Southern University
California State University, Northridge
Fuller Theological Seminary
Hope International University
Miami University
National University
Northcentral University
San Jose State University
The Chicago School of Professional Psychology
United States University
University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences
University of San Francisco
University of Southern California
Western University of Health Sciences


Continuously Exempt Institutions


Conditional Institutions

Information on conditionally exempt institutions:

Conditionally exempt institutions offer degree programs or courses exclusively to federal employees and their dependents at military bases or other federal sites. The state may review these every two years. These institutions include the following: 

Baylor University

Conditional waivers are granted in rare circumstances to institutions with limited educational offerings. These institutions include the following: 

Bard College
Lewis-Clark State College

Oregon Institute of Technology


Seminaries & Related Programs

Institutions of a strictly religious nature may be eligible for exemption from authorization.

The following seminaries and church-related colleges and programs are exempt from authorization:

Agape Christian Fellowship International Bible College
Armour Bible College and Armour Seminary
Ascension Theological College
Bible Institute of Seattle
Bishop A.L. Hardy Academy of Theology
Calvary Chapel Bible College-Seattle
Calvary Chapel Bible College-Tri-Cities
Canby Bible College
Cascadia Northwest Bible College
Central Baptist Theological Seminary
College for Global Deployment 
Columbia Evangelical Seminary
Covenant Bible Seminary
Crown Institute of Theology
Ebenezer Theological University & Seminary
Faith Christian College
First Christian Seminary
Freedom Covenant Seminary
Gateway Seminary of the Southern Baptist Convention
Horizon College of Ministry
International College of Metaphysical Theology
International Graduate School of Ministry
KAES Bible College & Seminary
KPCA Northwestern Presbyterian Theological Seminary
La Universidad Cristiana, Inc.
Living Faith Fellowship College of Ministry
Logos Online Seminary and University LLC
The Master's University and Seminary
The New International University
Northpoint University
Pacific Theological Seminary
Pursuit School of Ministry
Renewed Life Seminary
Seattle Bible College
Seattle Theological Seminary
Shepherds Bible College
Sound Baptist Bible College
THS Academy for Pastoral Leadership
Triune Biblical University
United Theological Seminary and Bible College
University of Christian Studies and Seminary
University of Theology & Spirituality
Victory Bible Training Center
Washington College and International Seminary
Washington International Mission University
Washington Seminary
Western Reformed Seminary
Western Seminary
Woolston-Steen Theological Seminary
Word & Spirit Institute NW


Legislatively Created and Endorsed

Western Governors University (WGU)

Western Governors University is an online, nonprofit, competency-based university providing bachelor's and master's degrees in select programs with flat-rate tuition.



External websites:

Council of Presidents
Independent Colleges of Washington
State Board for Community & Technical Colleges
Career Bridge

Career Bridge is a one-stop, searchable database of education and training programs throughout Washington state where you'll find: 

  • Washington State's Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List.
  • Average earnings and employment outlook for your career choice.
  • What you'll need to learn to get those jobs and where to go to get the training and education. 

The site was created by the Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board in a partnership of labor, business, and government dedicated to helping Washington residents obtain family-wage jobs, while meeting employers' needs for skilled workers.