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2020-21 Academic Year Updates & Reminders 
 
WELCOME to the Washington College Grant and College Bound Scholarship 
Program Manual for Financial Aid Administrators. 
 
The guidance in this manual reflects the  program rules for the Washington Administrative Code 
250-21 – Washington College Grant, which were made available in Washington State Register 
20-06-052.  These rules are effective June 29, 2020, and apply to the 2020-21 award year. 
 
To search for a specific topic or key word, press “Ctrl-F” on your keyboard, then type in the word 
or topic you are looking for.  This will direct you to all occurrences located within the manual. 
 
 
MANUAL UPDATES 

Program Manual Revisions (Information will be added each time there is an update) 

Date Chapter/Section Topic/Reason 
June 15, 2020 Chapter 2 Chapter 2 was modified to include permissible exclusions that aid 

administrators MAY exclude from income. 
June 26, 2020 Chapters 1, 3, 5, 7, 8 WAC Updates; and 

SAP and Repayment clarification added 
June 26, 2020 Updates & Reminders Changed 19-20 final interim report due date to July 10 
June 30, 2020 Chapter 4 CSAW file correction to Summer1WcgAwardIsServed 
July 10, 2020 Chapter 1 WASFA filing clarification 
July 21, 2020 Chapters 2, 4 and 5 File Layout, Tuition waivers, and Repayment & Award Adjustments 
Aug/Sept. 2020 Updates & Reminders, 

Chapters 1, 6, 7, 8 
Requesting payments, Archive restored, Cruncher clarification, 
SNAP, Financial Literacy, links to WAC 

Nov 9, 2020 Chapter 2 Summer 1 awards at last year’s rates, current MFI 
Feb 17, 2021 Updates & Reminders, 

Chapter 4 
Changed 20-21 final interim report due date to July 12 

April 14, 2021 Chapter 1 Fixed RCW link – Added Residency Officer listserv info. 
 
 
NEW FOR 2020-21: 
♦ Washington College Grant Established 

The Washington College Grant (WCG) was created in 2019-20, to provide a statewide free 
college program for eligible participants, and greater access to postsecondary education for 
Washington residents—expanding and replacing the State Need Grant.  Like the College 
Bound Scholarship (CBS), WCG awards now come directly from WSAC, and there are no 
allocations made to institutions. 

The Workforce Education Investment Act (HB 2158) renamed the State Need Grant to the 
Washington College Grant, with guaranteed funding for all eligible students starting in the 
2020-21 academic year.  

In addition, the program expanded by increasing the eligibility threshold from 70 percent 
Median Family Income (MFI) to 100 percent MFI, providing new prorated awards including 
maximum awards going up to 55 percent MFI.  Apprenticeship awards also are expanded. 

http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2020/06/20-06-052.htm
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2020/06/20-06-052.htm
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2158&Year=2019&Initiative=false
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♦ WCG Apprenticeship 
The Washington College Grant (WCG) is expanded to include approved apprenticeship 
programs under chapter 49.04 RCW starting in the 2020-21 academic year.  This expands 
apprenticeships outside of traditional academic programs.   
 
Additional information will be provided as student eligibility and program requirements 
are established.  A WCG Apprenticeship manual will be issued separately. 
 
 

♦ College Bound Scholarship Eligibility Extended 
College Bound Scholarship (CBS) eligible students, whose family income exceeds 65 percent 
of the state Median Family Income (MFI) up to 100 percent MFI, are eligible for the 
Washington College Grant, and shall be  awarded the maximum WCG for which the student 
is eligible (E2SHB 1311, Section 4(1)(a)). 
 
In 2019-20, sign-up for CBS extended from 7th and 8th grade to include 9th grade, for 
students who qualify for free or reduced-price lunch in 9th grade, who were previously 
ineligible during the 7th or 8th grade. 
 
 

♦ CSAW File Upload Layout Changes (Chapter 4) 
The CSAW file layout has been updated to accommodate the new changes in the Washington 
College Grant Program.  Please be sure your institution is using this new file layout. 
 
The Portal will no longer support Internet Explorer (IE) after June 30th. Please use a 
different browser such as Chrome, Firefox, Edge, etc.  
 
AA degree data elements have been removed from the CBS Cruncher file layout for the 
2020-21 academic year. 
 
 

♦ Repayment Checker  
The “Repayment Checker”  is a new tool for Institutions to quickly identify students who 
are in repayment.  Edits for students who are in repayment will need to be addressed  at 
the time files are initially loaded into CSAW.  Continue to use the Archive for determining 
student Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER).   
 
 

♦ No Longer Reporting Students As Unserved 
With guaranteed funding for all students up to 100 percent MFI, there will be no unserved 
students. 
 
 

♦ Revised State Aid Repayment Guidelines  
Please carefully review the complete Chapter 5 in this manual due to significant changes 
made to the repayment requirements. 
 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.04
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1311-S2.SL.pdf?q=20200420100312
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Colleges must report repayments to WSAC, per the prescribed timelines in Chapter 5, to 
better assist students, and to avoid the awarding of state aid to ineligible students.   
 
Failure to report repayments by the established deadlines, whether being collected by the 
institution or WSAC, may result in the repayment of funds to WSAC by the institution.  
Guidelines for reporting repayments to WSAC can be found in Chapter 5. 
 
Please Note:  In order to report a receivable or Institution to Bill, you must have first 
reported awards and requested funds through CSAW for that student.  
 
 

♦ Unclaimed Property NEW 
If a student fails to cash their WCG check or pickup any remaining funds by the close of the 
academic year, the funds shall be returned to the program at WSAC and treated as funds 
declined by the student.  These funds shall no longer be referred to the state as unclaimed 
property. 
 
 

♦ Revised Washington State Conditions of Award (Chapter 6) 
The revised Conditions of Award statement is included in Chapter 6.  Institutions must 
provide this language (or a WSAC approved alternate) to students.  
 
If you have already sent out your Conditions of Award for the 2020-21 academic year, you 
will not be expected to send out a new Conditions of Award statement for this year.  Please 
be sure that you inform students in a separate correspondence regarding the new 
condition added (#10) related to uncashed/unclaimed funds being treated as declined 
funds. 
 
Conditions of Award statements must be provided to students on paper or electronically. 
Emailed Conditions of Award statements must display the Conditions language, in its 
entirety, in the body of the email unless the institution requires students to certify their 
acceptance by filing a signed form or otherwise verifying receipt of the Conditions 
language.  
 
Institutions must maintain documentation that the state Conditions of Award was provided 
to awarded students. 
 
 

REMINDERS 
 

♦ Funding Sources 
Every eligible CBS Scholar must first receive a maximum WCG award before being 
considered for CBS funding.  The CBS amount is determined after WCG and any other state 
grant or scholarship aid has been awarded. 

• WCG and CBS awards come directly from WSAC and there are no allocations made to 
institutions.   
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♦ Requesting Funds 
Per WAC 250-21-051-3, institutions should submit anticipated awards and payment 
requests for eligible students once identified.  Institutional payment requests may be made 
any time of the academic year and are encouraged to be at least monthly. 
 
 

♦ Accurate Reporting 
Ensure that all data on your Interim Reports are accurate.  Correct or update changes to 
student enrollment as they occur.  This data is critical to forecast program funding costs.  
Do not report students who were not eligible for aid (didn’t meet SAP, didn’t complete 
financial aid paperwork, pending residency, etc.)   
 
 

♦ College Bound Scholarships and/or Washington College Grant for All Terms of 
Enrollment, Including Summer(s) 
Ensure that 100 percent of eligible CBS Scholars and/or WCG eligible students are awarded 
full Washington College Grants and/or College Bound Scholarships for all periods of 
enrollment, including summer(s).   
 
See Calculating Awards (Chapter 2) to review the information on how to award and report 
Summer 1 (“header” institutions) awards versus Summer 2 (“trailer” institutions) awards.  
 
No Summer 2 CBS and/or WCG awards should be made to students whose files are 
complete after August 1.  Contact WSAC if you later need to adjust your final Interim 
Report. 
 
 

♦ Expanded Use of Applied Baccalaureate Designation in CSAW 
In recent years, the Applied Baccalaureate designation could be used by any two-year 
college that primarily offered associate degrees, but also was approved to and offered any 
type of bachelor’s degrees, including applied bachelor's degrees.   
 
The increased award amounts at the Applied Baccalaureate level only apply to students at 
the public community and technical colleges.  Students enrolled in a mixture of upper- and 
lower-division courses at two-year colleges may not receive an award in excess of assessed 
tuition, service, and activity fees.   
 
Colleges are encouraged to use the calculator provided by the State Board for Community 
and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) to calculate correct tuition and award amounts.  You may 
experience an edit when requesting payments or completing interim reports that you will 
need to override, explaining that it is a BAS student enrolled in upper and lower division 
coursework.   
 
The Baccalaureate Tuition Calculator provided by the SBCTC is located at:  
https://www.sbctc.edu/colleges-staff/collegeaccess/baccalaureate-tuition-calculator.aspx 
 

  

https://www.sbctc.edu/colleges-staff/collegeaccess/baccalaureate-tuition-calculator.aspx
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♦ Students Needing Repayment Status Information (Chapter 5) 
WSAC is using a billing service for repayments. Students with repayments wanting 
information about the status of their repayments should be instructed to call our 
contracted billing service, University Accounting Services (UAS), at 1-844-870-8701.  
 
 

♦ Washington Opportunity Scholarship & College Bound Scholarship (Chapter 2) 
Washington State Opportunity Scholarship (WSOS) is not to be considered state aid when 
determining the College Bound Scholarship (CBS) state aid award commitment.   
 
For a full list of state programs that must be subtracted from the total maximum CBS 
amount (HB 2158, Section 68), see Chapter 2.  
 
 

♦ Second Associate Degrees 
The second associate degree restriction was eliminated in 2019-20.  Please note that 
satisfactory academic progress and the maximum usage limit of five full time years of 
eligibility remains unchanged for Washington College Grant.  College Bound Scholarship 
recipients have a maximum usage limit of four full time years of eligibility. 
 
Institutions must update their Conditions of Award to reflect this change and others as 
provided in the sample ‘Conditions of Award’ in Chapter 6. 
 
 

♦ WCG Dependent Care Allowance 
The Dependent Care Allowance was eliminated effective 2019-20.   
 
 

♦ WCG Self-Help Requirement  
The self-help requirement for WCG recipients was eliminated effective 2019-20. 
 
 

♦ Cost of Attendance (COA) and Tuition Waivers (Chapter 2) 
A student receiving WCG or CBS must have the full assessed tuition amount included in the 
COA and the value of the waiver reported for each student in the Unit Record Report. More 
information is available in Chapter 2. 
 
 

♦ Information for Students on the ReadySetGrad Website: 
Refer students to www.readysetgrad.org for financial aid information and resources.  
□ This is the page students will land on if they click on the link in the Washington State 

Aid Conditions of Award (Chapter 6):  
http://www.readysetgrad.org/college/financial-aid-101 

□ For specific information on the Washington College Grant, visit:  wsac.wa.gov/wcg 
□ For specific information on the College Bound Scholarship, visit:  

http://www.readysetgrad.org/college/college-bound-scholarship-program or 
www.collegebound.wa.gov             

https://www.uaservice.com/
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/House%20Bills/2158.pdf
http://www.readysetgrad.org/
http://www.readysetgrad.org/college/financial-aid-101
http://www.readysetgrad.org/college/college-bound-scholarship-program
http://www.collegebound.wa.gov/
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Washington College Grant and College Bound Scholarship 
History and Operation 

1969: State Need Grant (SNG) program was established. 
1976: Legislative intent noted to offset tuition/fees for low-income students. 

 For every dollar increase in tuition, 24 cents in aid provided, above previous levels. 
 Reflected the portion of undergraduates on aid at that time. 
 Policy inferred that the state needs to “give back” to needy students when increasing tuition. 
 Students were nominated, then ranked together according to need. 
 Grants were one-third of the difference between budget costs and family contribution. 

1980: For-profit institution participation was authorized. 
1988: Grant amounts changed from flat grant to variable in order to reflect Cost of Attendance 

differences supporting student choice. 
1989: Part-time students authorized. 
1991: A “fair share” fund distribution model was adopted creating campus “reserve funds” based on 

percentage of campus-eligible students divided by all eligible students. 
1993: Revised the eligibility and cost model to use MFI as a result of change in federal needs analysis –  

50 percent MFI used initially. 
1995: MFI increased to 65 percent via budget process. 
1996: MFI decreased to 40 percent via budget process. 
1998: Award amounts based on public tuition rates. 
2001: MFI increased to 55 percent via budget process. 
2005: MFI increased to 65 percent via budget process. 
2005: Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot with 10 campuses. 
2006: Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot expanded to all. 
2007: Legislature established the College Bound Scholarship Program, allowing eligible 7th and 8th 

graders to sign up to receive scholarship support in college. 
 Maximum MFI for SNG increased to 70 percent. 
 Maximum MFI level for CBS established at 65 percent. 

2009: SNG MFI ranges expanded from three to five categories for pro-rated awards via budget process. 
2011: SNG Awards for new students attending for-profit institutions reduced by half. 
2011: SNG Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot extended two years through the budget with the addition 

of a required outcomes study. 
2012: The first College Bound Scholarship students receive funding.   

Financial aid counseling curriculum for institutions with SNG recipients per SSB6121 
2014: The Legislature enacted the REAL Hope Act, granting SNG eligibility determination for students 

who meet RCW 28B.15.012(2)(e) residency requirements, often referred to as “1079” 
requirements. This includes non-U.S. citizens, including undocumented students. 

2014: SNG Awards for students attending for-profit institutions restored to 100% level. 
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2015: The Legislature required that all eligible CBS Scholars be awarded maximum SNG awards. 

 The State Attorney General’s Office indicated that students with Deferred Action for 
Childhood Arrival (DACA) status may qualify for in-state tuition under RCW 
28B.15.012(2)(a)-(r), may meet the residency requirements for State Need Grant under 
RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e), and may meet the residency requirements for College Bound 
Scholarship under RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(d). 

 SNG eligibility for less-than-half-time enrollment became permanent. 
 The Legislature reduced tuition for the 2015-16 year at public colleges through the 

biennium, while holding students attending private institutions harmless from reduced 
awards, keeping state aid award amounts the same at private institutions. 

2017: Legislature enacted separate award categories for 4-year for-profit and 4-year non-profit 
institutions. 

2018: Residency requirements were aligned for SNG and CBS.  Students may meet residency 
requirements under RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e) for both programs. This permits CBS scholars to 
meet residency requirements using the “1079” standard that has been in place for WCG since 
2014.  Also permits residency to be determined using the DACA standard (see 2015) even if 
DACA is expired.   

2019: Washington College Grant (WCG) program established, replacing the State Need Grant (SNG) 
 Award amounts defined in statute for all sectors 
 CBS students that meet WCG eligibility given WCG priority in statute.  
 CBS sign-up is extended to 9th grade students who qualify for free or reduced-price 

lunch who were previously ineligible during the 7th & 8th Grade.  
 Self-help requirement removed. 
 Second associate degree restriction removed. Dependent care allowance eliminated. 

2020: WCG guaranteed funding for all eligible students in statute. 
 Award amounts defined in statute 
 Increased eligibility threshold from 70 percent MFI to 100 percent MFI. 
 Increased maximum awards up to 55 percent MFI 
 Expands to include apprenticeship programs 
 WCG WAC 250-21 created/repeal of SNG WAC 250-20 
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WCG & CBS Report and Funding Request Timeline 
 
 
June 1, 2020 Renewal materials due for institutions to apply for recertification of 

their “Institutional Agreement to Participate.” 
 
July 10, 2020 Final Year End Interim Reports (Reconciliation) due for the 2019-20 

academic year.  
 
August 2020 2019-20 Unit Record Report training webinars. 
 
October 1, 2020 Washington Application for State Financial Aid (WASFA) available 

for the 2021-22 academic year.  
 
October 5, 2020 2019-20 Unit Record Report due. 
 
November 6, 2020 Fall Interim Reports are due. 
 
February 5, 2021 Winter Interim Reports are due. 
 
May 7, 2021 Spring Interim Reports are due. 
 
May/June 2021 Annual Workshops – state financial aid training and updates. 
 
June 30, 2021 Final date that 2020-21 WASFA form may be processed. 
 
July 12, 2021 Final Year End Interim Reports (Reconciliation) due; final date to 

request WCG Funds. 
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CHAPTER 1 
Washington College Grant and College Bound Scholarship 

Eligibility Determination and Monitoring 
 
 
ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION 
 

♦ First:  Determine if the student is an eligible College Bound Scholar.   
College Bound students are identified through the CBS “Cruncher” located in the 
WSAC portal.  CBS students, who meet all high school eligibility requirements, are 
considered College Bound Scholars.   
 
College Bound Scholars, who meet all income and program requirements for that 
year, must be considered for CBS funding, and are identified throughout this manual 
as eligible College Bound Scholars or eligible CBS Scholars. 
 
 

♦ Second:  If the student is an eligible College Bound Scholar, determine the 
amounts of funding the student is eligible to receive from both the WCG and 
CBS programs.   
Note:  In some cases, eligible College Bound Scholars may not receive CBS assistance.  
An example is an eligible CBS Scholar who receives sufficient WCG and other state aid 
funding to meet the amount required for eligible CBS Scholars to receive.  Gift equity 
policies do not apply to CBS/WCG awards. 

 
 
♦ Third:  If the student is not an eligible College Bound Scholar, determine the 

student’s eligibility only for the WCG program.  
CBS students, who exceed the 65 percent MFI and up to 100 percent MFI, are to be 
awarded WCG. 
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Initial Criteria for WCG and CBS for Eligibility Determination 

STUDENTS MUST: WCG CBS 

Meet High School 
(HS) Graduation 
Requirements 

□ High School graduation or GED/equivalent □ Graduate from a Washington High School 
with a 2.0 GPA or higher (GED OK for 
certain former foster youth) or approved 
homeschool program.  

□ No felony convictions before HS graduation 

Meet College 
Enrollment Deadline □ N/A □ Within one year of HS grad. (Typically, the 

fall term a year after June HS graduation) 

Submit an Approved 
Application □ FAFSA or WASFA each year □ FAFSA or WASFA each year 

Be a Washington 
Resident* 

□ Meet residency requirements according to 
RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e). 
▪ Includes students with Deferred Action for 

Childhood Arrival (DACA) status who meet 
28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e). requirements.  
DACA can be expired at the time of 
residency determination.  

▪ Includes non-U.S. Citizens who meet 
28B.15.012(2)(e), also known as “1079,” 
requirements. 

▪ Both U.S. citizens and non-citizens may be 
eligible to meet residency requirements. 

▪ At public institutions, residency officers 
determine if and how a student meets 
residency requirements. Financial aid 
officers at public institutions should ask 
their residency officer if student meets this 
requirement. 

▪ Financial aid officers at private institutions 
should use this handbook to make 
residency decisions.  

For additional residency information see: 
https://readysetgrad.wa.gov/search/node/residency 

□ Meet residency requirements according to 
RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e). 
▪ Includes students with Deferred Action for 

Childhood Arrival (DACA) status that meet 
28B.15.012(2)(a)-(d). requirements.  
DACA can be expired at the time of 
residency determination.   

▪ Includes non-U.S. Citizens who meet 
28B.15.012(2)(e), also known as “1079,” 
requirements. 

▪ Both U.S. citizens and non-citizens may be 
eligible to meet residency requirements. 

▪ At public institutions, residency officers 
determine if and how a student meets 
residency requirements. Financial aid 
officers at public institutions should ask 
their residency officer if student meets this 
requirement. 

▪ Financial aid officers at private institutions 
should use this handbook to make 
residency decisions.  

For additional residency information see: 
https://readysetgrad.wa.gov/search/node/residency 

Meet family income 
eligibility based on 
MFI level 

□ 100% Median Family Income (MFI) or less □ 65% MFI or less 

Maximum Full-Time 
Term Usage □ 15 quarters/10 semesters  □ 12 quarters/8 semesters 

Eligibility Window to 
Receive Payments □  N/A □ 5-year usage window from year of HS 

graduation (window ends with summer) 
 
*See expanded information in this chapter for more details regarding residency.  

https://readysetgrad.wa.gov/search/node/residency
https://readysetgrad.wa.gov/search/node/residency
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Shared WCG / CBS Eligibility Areas 

ALL WCG and ALL CBS SCHOLARS MUST: 
□ Meet Washington resident tuition requirements according to RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e). 
□ Demonstrate financial need as defined under RCW 28B.92.030. 
□ Be undergraduate students. 
□ Enroll in at least 3 credits per quarter or the equivalent.  
□ Enroll in eligible programs at eligible institutions; or 
□ Be enrolled in an approved apprenticeship program. 

ALL WCG and ALL CBS SCHOLARS CANNOT: 

□ Exceed maximum term usage. 
□ Be in unsatisfactory progress or denied status. 
□ Owe a repayment to any state program. 
□ Be in default on a state student loan. 
□ Be pursuing a second bachelor’s degree. 
□ Be pursuing a degree in Theology. 

 
 

Financial Need and Income Cutoff 
The student must demonstrate financial need, as calculated by the institution, using the 
Federal Methodology (FM) formula based on the FAFSA or WASFA for the appropriate aid 
year.  The student's state aid award, in combination with other forms of aid, may not exceed 
the calculated need. 
 
The student must have a family income below a specified income cutoff. The cutoff equals a 
percentage of the state's median family income (MFI) and adjusts with the student’s family 
size.   
 
The income cutoff is 100 percent of the state's MFI for Washington College Grant and 65 
percent for College Bound Scholarship recipients. CBS eligible recipients with family incomes 
between 66-100 percent should receive WCG.  State aid must fit within the student’s 
calculated need after counting all other need-based resources. Chapter 2, Calculating WCG 
and CBS Awards, describes the income cutoff thresholds.   
 

Undergraduate Student 
An undergraduate student is a student who has not received a baccalaureate or 
professional degree.  Students that have earned enough credits towards a degree, but have 
not yet been conferred the degree, may continue to be awarded State financial aid as long as 
they continue to meet eligibility requirements and have unused QER.  
 

Enrolled for at Least Three Credits per Quarter or the equivalent.   
A student must be enrolled in a course load of at least three credits per quarter or the 
equivalent at a participating postsecondary institution to receive state aid.  Apprenticeship 
requirements will be defined in the Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship Program 
Manual. 
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Eligible Program 
An eligible program is a program at a location approved by the U.S. Department of Education 
for participation in the Title IV financial aid programs. 

 
The student must be enrolled in an educational program that does one of the following: 

1. Leads to a baccalaureate, associate, or undergraduate professional degree. 
2. Leads to a postsecondary vocational certificate or degree in a program of at least 

600 clock hours, 16 semester, or 24 quarter credit hours.  Program completion 
must prepare the student for gainful employment in a recognized occupation. 

Note:  It is permissible to count needed remedial coursework toward the state aid enrollment 
requirement (but they do not count in the program length requirement mentioned above). 

 
Eligible Apprenticeship Program 
Apprenticeships qualifying as eligible programs must be a registered apprenticeship 
program approved under Chapter 49.04 RCW.  See separate WCG for Apprenticeship 
Program Manual. 
 
Remedial Coursework 
Up to one academic year’s worth of remedial coursework may count in the student’s 
enrollment status. For the purpose of this limit, that is 30 semester or trimester hours, 45 
quarter hours, or 900 clock hours.  Please note students are still subject to the maximum 
full-time term usage limits. 
 
Correspondence and Distance Education – A student may not take more than half of their 
course load through correspondence courses.  There are no restrictions on the number of 
electronically delivered (online) credits that a state aid recipient may enroll in from an 
eligible institution. 
 
Study Abroad Programs – Study abroad students are eligible to be considered for state aid 
if one of the following is true: 

▪ They are enrolled at an eligible institution for a Study Abroad program. 

▪ The institution has agreed to administer the financial aid in conjunction with 
another institution running the Study Abroad program. 

 

Maximum Terms of Eligibility 
WCG and CBS recipients have a lifetime maximum number of terms they can receive for each 
program.  Remaining eligibility is described as Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER). 

▪ A WCG recipient may receive the grant for a maximum of 15 quarters, 10 
semesters, or the equivalent combination of the 2 at a full-time rate of enrollment.  
This includes combined usage under the apprenticeship program option and 
academic programs.  

▪ CBS recipients may receive CBS funds for a maximum of 12 quarters, 8 semesters, 
or the equivalent combination of the two at a full-time rate of enrollment. 
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CBS scholarships may be received during any terms within a five-year period following their 
high school graduation year, even if enrollment is not continuous, provided the student met 
their initial enrollment deadline.  The five-year period concludes with the summer term. 
 
In order to meet the enrollment deadline, students must be enrolled and attending. 
Registering for a future term does not meet the enrollment deadline.  Transcripted courses 
verify the enrollment deadline was met.  After five years, the scholarship is no longer 
available. 
 
For example, students with a high school graduation year of 2020, must begin their college 
enrollment by fall 2021, and have through the first summer term of 2025 to receive 
scholarship funding.  When five years have expired, usually in September, the CBS Cruncher 
field in the portal will no longer show that the students are ‘Ok to Award’ or ‘Ok to Pay.’ 

If CBS Scholars exhaust their CBS funding, they may continue to receive WCG funding as long 
as they meet all other WCG requirements.   

The CBS Cruncher, and the College Bound/Washington College Grant Award Warehouse 
(CSAW) system will track individual students’ eligibility.   
 

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) 
Institutions are responsible for monitoring and responding to changes in student eligibility.  
Chapter 3 discusses SAP changes in student status that occur after receipt of an award. 

 

Unsatisfactory Progress or Denied Status 
Unsatisfactory progress means that in a previous term, the student failed to complete at 
least one-half (50 percent) of the minimum number of credits for which state aid was 
received and has not yet earned reinstatement.   
Students enrolled in clock hour programs are required to complete 300 hours per term 
before the next disbursement can be made.  Please see the section on clock hours.   
 
Denied status may also refer to a student's status when the student has not met the 
institution’s qualitative standard or maximum timeframe policy.  See Chapter 3 for more 
information. 

 

Refund/Repayment 
All students must certify that they do not owe a refund or repayment for any state student 
financial aid programs.  The student may not be in default on a loan made through a state 
loan program.   
 

Previous Bachelor’s Degree  
WCG recipients and CBS Scholars who have already earned a bachelor’s degree, including 
foreign bachelor’s degrees, are not eligible to receive WCG or CBS awards. If a student 
provides documentation that the foreign degree is not equivalent to a bachelor’s degree in 
the U.S., the institution may determine that the student does not have a bachelor’s degree.   

Note:  This is the same exception allowed for Federal Pell Grant administration. 
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Theology Degree 
State law prevents students pursuing a degree in theology from receiving state financial aid.  
Students pursuing a degree in theology are ineligible to receive state financial aid.  Each 
institution must determine whether the student is pursuing this type of degree. 
 

Resident for Washington College Grant and College Bound Scholarship Purposes 
Residency requirements are the same for both programs. Students must meet one of five 
resident tuition requirements as outlined in RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e)  
□ For public institutions:  Residency officers determine if a student meets residency 

requirements for tuition. Residency officers should indicate which part of the residency 
RCW a student meets so that financial aid officers know which financial aid programs 
may be available to the student.  

Financial aid officers at public institutions should coordinate with their residency 
officers to ensure consistent residency determinations for tuition and financial aid.  

□ For private institutions:  Private institutions do not have residency officers so 
financial aid officers may use this handbook to determine if a student has met financial 
aid residency requirements. If there are any questions, please email wcg@wsac.wa.gov. 

 
Additional residency information is available at https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency 
or https://readysetgrad.wa.gov/residency-citizenship.   
 
There also is the Residency Officer listserv that you may want to join.  This is a great resource 
to connect with other people working with residency.  Subscribe at 
https://lists.ctc.edu/mailman/options/ro_lists.ctc.edu 
 
There are two student groups that have different residency requirements.  A student’s 
group depends on their citizenship or immigration status. 
 
Student Group #1 
• US citizens  
• Permanent residents, U.S. nationals 
• Citizens of the Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, and Palau 
• FAFSA-eligible non-citizens 
• Students with current or expired Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) status  
• Students with one of the following immigration statuses: 

o Refugee 
o Asylee 
o Temporary Protected Status 
o Withholding of Removal status 
o Conditional permanent resident 
o E3, H-1B, H4, L1, L2, or U visa 
o Students with a current Employment Authorization Document (EAD). 
o Other non-citizens may also be in this group.  

   -  See www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency for more information. 
• To find out what documentation is needed to prove a certain immigration status, 

please see www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency. 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.15.012
mailto:wcg@wsac.wa.gov
https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency
https://readysetgrad.wa.gov/residency-citizenship
https://lists.ctc.edu/mailman/options/ro_lists.ctc.edu
http://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency
http://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency
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Student Group #2 
• Undocumented students without expired or current DACA status. 

 
• Students who are not listed in Student Group #1 (for example, students with an F visa 

who do not have a current EAD). 
 

Residency requirements for Student Group #1 
Students in Student Group #1 meet residency requirements for WCG and CBS if they meet 
ONE of the following five sections of RCW 28B.15.012(2). The first two sections of the RCW, 
(a) and (b), are the most common. Each RCW section is outlined below.    
 
(a) Financially independent students (definition differs from federal aid definition) 
To be considered financially independent for residency purposes, a student must meet all of 
the following for the current and previous calendar years (calendar year means January – 
December): 

• Cannot be claimed as a dependent exemption on a tax return, regardless of age. 
• Cannot receive significant financial assistance from parents, relatives, legal guardians, or 

others (except for a spouse), regardless of age and marital status. 
• Must have used their own income—or financial aid awarded in their name—to pay their 

living and tuition expenses. 
 
To qualify for Washington resident tuition through (a), financially independent students must 
have a domicile in the state for at least one year immediately before their first term.  

• The domicile must be primarily for purposes other than educational (meaning the 
student cannot take more than six quarter or semester credits in any one term).  

• People with a B, C, D, F, J, M, or TN/TD visa status cannot establish domicile in 
Washington.  
 

(b) Financially dependent students (definition differs from federal aid definition)  
Financially dependent students are students who are not considered financially independent 
for tuition purposes.  To qualify for Washington resident tuition through (b), financially 
dependent students’ parent(s) or legal guardian(s) must have a domicile in the state for at 
least one year immediately before the student’s first term.  

• Parents or legal guardians who are undocumented can establish domicile in Washington.  
• Parents or legal guardians with a B, C, D, F, J, M, or TN/TD visa status cannot establish a 

domicile in Washington. 
 

See wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#financial-independence for more information about 
financial independence for residency purposes. 
 
(c) Section (c) is very unlikely. Please see 
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28B.15.012 for more information. 
 
(d) Recent high school graduates whose parent(s) or legal guardian(s) move out-of-
state. (Not as common) . . .  
  

https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#financial-independence
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28B.15.012
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Students who qualify under section (d) of the RCW must meet the following: 
• Student must have spent at least 75 percent of their last two years of high school in 

Washington high schools. 
• Student’s parent(s) or legal guardian(s) must have had a domicile for at least one year 

within the five-year period before student graduated high school. 
• Student must start college within six months of graduating high school. 
• Student may continue to meet residency requirements for as long as the student remains 

continuously enrolled for at least three quarters or two semesters per calendar year. 
 
(e) Students who live in Washington for three years prior to graduating high school 
(otherwise known as “1079” requirements).  To meet the requirements for (e) or “1079” 
students must: 

• Graduate from a Washington high school with a diploma, earn a GED, or earn a diploma 
equivalent. 

o High school graduates must finish their full senior year at a Washington high school. 
• Live in Washington for at least three consecutive years (36 consecutive months) 

immediately before the date they earn a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. 
• Continuously live in Washington after the date they earn a high school diploma, GED, or 

equivalent until they are admitted to college. 

• Sign an affidavit saying they meet the above requirements. The affidavit is included in the 
WASFA. There is a paper affidavit for students who are eligible for and fill out the FAFSA. 
Students should only fill out the paper affidavit or the WASFA affidavit, not both. 

o Non-U.S. Citizens must also promise that they will apply to become a U.S. permanent 
resident as soon as they are eligible.  
 

Residency requirements for Student Group #2 
Undocumented students without expired or current DACA status and students who are not in 
Group #1 may meet residency requirements for WCG and CBS if they meet the requirements 
for (e) or “1079” as follows:  

• Graduate from a Washington high school with a diploma, earn a GED, or earn a diploma 
equivalent. 
o High school graduates must finish their full senior year at a Washington high school. 

• Live in Washington for at least three consecutive years (36 consecutive months) 
immediately before the date they earn a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. 

• Continuously live in Washington after the date they earn a high school diploma, GED, 
or equivalent until they are admitted to college. 

• Sign an affidavit saying they meet the above requirements. There is a paper affidavit 
(https://wsac.wa.gov/sites/default/files/Residency.Affidavit.pdf) for students who are 
eligible for and fill out the FAFSA. Students should only fill out the paper affidavit or 
the WASFA affidavit, not both. 

o Non-U.S. Citizens must also promise that they will apply to become a U.S. 
permanent resident as soon as they are eligible.  

 
Send questions regarding assistance related to an individual student’s residency to:  
wcg@wsac.wa.gov. 

https://wsac.wa.gov/sites/default/files/Residency.Affidavit.pdf
https://wsac.wa.gov/sites/default/files/Residency.Affidavit.pdf
https://wsac.wa.gov/sites/default/files/Residency.Affidavit.pdf
mailto:sng@wsac.wa.gov
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Washington Resident for Tuition, but not for State Aid 
The Legislature has classified the individuals from the groups below as Washington 
residents for tuition and fee purposes at public institutions.  This legislation DID NOT make 
these individuals eligible for WCG and CBS, unless they meet the residency requirements 
outlined above; however, they may be eligible for other state aid programs. 

These groups are: 
1. Members of certain federally recognized tribes who were domiciled for one year in 

one or a combination of the following states: Idaho, Montana, Oregon, or Washington.  
More information, including the list of tribes, is found at 
https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#federally-recognized-tribes. 

2. Certain military personnel or Washington National Guard members, as well as 
their spouse(s) and dependent(s). More information is found at 
https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#military-veterans-dependents. 

3. E-3, H-1B, or L visa holders and their spouse(s) and dependent(s) who ONLY meet 
resident tuition requirements through living in Washington for one year for purposes 
other than educational. Also includes those who ONLY meet resident tuition 
requirements because they hold or previously held one of these visa statuses and filed a 
green card application. 

4. Students on exchange programs.  
5. Oregon residents who reside (or recently resided) in counties that border 

Washington and attend an institution in a Washington county that borders 
Oregon.   

See https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#oregon-border-counties for more information.  
 

Conflicting Information 
All applicants for state aid, regardless of the application filed, must resolve conflicting 
information.  Institutions should follow their standard review policy regarding the 
resolution of conflicting information for any applicant.  However, institutions may not 
require an applicant to file a federal tax return if they are electing to apply only for state 
aid—regardless of whether they file the FAFSA or WASFA.   
 
Financial Aid Administrators are strongly encouraged to advise students accordingly, who 
may be otherwise eligible for federal aid to proceed with and complete their taxes to be 
considered for federal aid but may not require this for state aid only applicants.  In lieu of a 
federal tax return, applicants may submit other forms of documentation to resolve 
conflicting information.  
  
WSAC requires institutions to resolve any conflicting residency information between their 
financial aid, admissions, and registration offices.  WSAC will periodically compare 
residency-related data reported on the FAFSA or WASFA (such as mailing address, state of 
legal residence, driver’s license state) and request that institutions either confirm eligibility 
or resolve conflicting information. 
 

  

https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#federally-recognized-tribes
https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#military-veterans-dependents
https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#oregon-border-counties
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Approved Applications – FAFSA and WASFA 
No Application Fee – No student shall be required to pay a fee to apply for state aid.   

Students applying for state aid must file either the Free Application for Federal Student 
Aid (FAFSA) form, as approved by the U.S. Department of Education, or for those not eligible 
for Federal student aid, the Washington Application for State Financial Aid (WASFA).  
Students who are eligible to complete the FAFSA, but chose not to apply for Federal 
student aid, can complete the WASFA instead.  If a student choses to do the WASFA, it 
is important they understand that they will be considered only for State financial aid.  
 
Institutions may also require that students complete an institutional aid application to 
collect additional information that is not available on the FAFSA or WASFA.   If so, 
institutions must provide such applications to students on a timely basis if they receive 
FAFSA or WASFA information from students but have not received the required institutional 
application.  Instructions for students to complete the WASFA can be found at: 
www.readysetgrad.org/WASFA. 
 
Access to information for WASFA students that have applied to your institution can be found 
in the WSAC Portal under Programs>WASFA and should be checked for new applications on 
a consistent basis parallel with processing FAFSA applications.  Aid administrators must be 
granted WASFA permissions in the WSAC Portal to access WASFA applicant data.  
  
Features on the site include: 

 Applicant search with optional .csv download option 
 WASFA applicant data views 
 File extracts of applicant data in ISIR format 
 Federal EFC calculations 
 WASFA Residency report 

Contact your institution’s Portal administrator, or WSAC staff at wcg@wsac.wa.gov, to 
request WASFA access in the WSAC Portal. 
 

Former Foster Youth and CBS High School Requirement 
Beginning in the fall of 2017 (Senate Bill 5890), students who experienced foster care at any 
point between 7th grade and the age of 21, may be able to receive College Bound Scholarship 
after earning a high school equivalency certificate.   
 
Students should contact program staff at collegebound@wsac.wa.gov or 888-535-0747, 
Option 1, to discuss their specific situation and next steps, but generally: 

 Students need to have been auto-enrolled into the College Bound 
Scholarship 

 They will need to provide a copy of their high school equivalency certificate 
(currently in WA, this is the GED exam) to program staff 

 Students will need to have earned the GED prior to their 21st birthday 
 Students will need to enroll in college within one year of receiving their GED 
 Students must not have been convicted of a felony 
 Students also must be income-eligible, as determined by completing the 

FAFSA or WASFA 

http://www.readysetgrad.org/WASFA
mailto:sng@wsac.wa.gov
mailto:collegebound@wsac.wa.gov
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Ability to Benefit – Applies only to WCG Students  Revised 
Ability to Benefit and GEDs do not qualify as meeting the high school requirements for CBS 
students. CBS students must graduate from a Washington high school with a cumulative 2.0 
or higher GPA (except for some former foster youth who earn a GED – see Former Foster 
Youth and CBS High School Requirement section above).  
 
WCG recipients must have a high school diploma or its equivalent or for those without a high 
school credential, meet the ability to benefit option. Equivalent standards include a general 
education development certificate or a certificate of completion of a home-based instruction 
under chapter 28A.200 RCW. 
 
For a student without a high school diploma or its equivalent, a school may accept: 

(a) A recognized ability to benefit test as defined by federal financial aid regulations; 

(b) Completion of at least six college level credits towards an eligible program of study; 

(c) Alternate state equivalent approved by the U.S. Department of Education; or 

(d) Co-enrollment in Washington state's Integrated Basic Education and Skills Training 
Program (I-BEST) and High school+ (HS+) programs that include an eligible program 
of study as defined in WAC 250-21-010(18). 

 

Fraudulent Information 
Any student who obtains state aid by means of a willfully false statement or failure to reveal 
any material fact, condition, or circumstance affecting eligibility will be subject to applicable 
civil and criminal penalties and repayment of all state aid funds received. 
 

Consistent Policies 
Institutional policies shall apply consistently to state aid recipients and federal aid 
recipients, except when in conflict with state aid regulations academic progress 
requirements or if there are specific references to state aid processing (such as the 
frequency of term payments for clock hour schools).    
 
 

ELIGIBILITY MONITORING FOR WCG AND CBS 
Once a student receives a state aid award, the institution must monitor continued eligibility.  
The institution must issue the student a revised award offer when the student’s state aid 
award changes. 
 
The institution is required to verify student eligibility for all students by: 

▫ Checking the WSAC WCG Archive report for Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER) 

▫ Checking the WSAC Repayment Checker to ensure student does not owe a repayment 
on a previously disbursed state aid award  

▫ Monitoring SAP status (Refer to Chapter 3) 

▫ Confirming OK to Pay status in the CBS Cruncher (for CBS students only) 
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Washington Student Achievement Council Archive Report  
Use the archive to determine whether or not a WCG student:   

▫ Has exhausted or is approaching the 15 quarter/10 semester limitation for WCG 
eligibility.  The archive lists students who are within five quarters of meeting the 15 
quarter/10 semester maximum and displays the number of quarters of eligibility 
remaining (QER). 

- If a CBS student has exhausted WCG eligibility, but still has CBS eligibility 
remaining, the institution shall award the student an award using CBS funds 
only. 

It is the institution's responsibility to ensure that all students who receive WCG have 
been checked against the archive at both the time of awarding and time of 
disbursement.   
 

 
 

Please note:  Archive report currently contains Repayment data in the CSV that may not be 
correct, please use the new Repayment Checker for the most accurate information.  QERs in the 
archive may be used as a guide for award planning but they are only updated intermittently.   
CSAW provides real time information.   
 
The report sample images will be updated in the manual as technology is modified. 

▫ Archive results example – The final archive is available each year in mid-August.  
It contains updated information on the prior year's WCG recipient exceptions.  
Institutions can upload data on their ready-to-award students to WSAC’s Portal:  
https://portal.wsac.wa.gov/,   Results are downloadable into Excel.    

 
▫ Downloadable file format example – In the period of time before WSAC 

finalizes the archive data, institutions shall use the most recent data available in 
the archive as a basis for offering awards to students to minimize the need for late 
repackaging.   

 
The archive is updated at the end of the fiscal year to reflect updated repayment information.  
CSAW is real time and contains the most up to date information for repayments and QERs.  
 
Note: Check the archive before submitting any payment requests. Access can be requested by 
contacting your institutional administrator (usually the Financial Aid Administrator at each 
institution) or WSAC staff at wcg@wsac.wa.gov. 
  

file://Vader/AgencyFiles/StudentFinancialAssistance/PROGRAMS&ACTIVITIES/Program%20Manuals/2019-2020%20Manuals/WCG/wcg@wsac.wa.gov
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Repayment Checker NEW 
Use the new Repayment Checker to determine if a student owes a repayment on a previously 
disbursed state aid award.  Continue to use the Archive for  Quarters of Eligibility Remaining 
(QER). Real time information is also available in CSAW.  
 

 
 

The CBS Eligibility “Cruncher” for College Bound Scholars and Recipients 
Campuses will need to check eligibility using the CBS Cruncher at the time of awarding and 
again prior to each disbursement. 
 
The CBS Cruncher is located in the Portal.  From the main menu, select Programs, then 
College Bound, then Cruncher.  Step-by-step instructions for using the CBS Cruncher are 
found in this chapter. 
 

 
 
Please note:  Institutions must check for prior repayments and QERs. QERs in the Cruncher 
should be used only as a guide as they are only annually updated at the close of each fiscal 
year. CSAW provides the most timely and accurate QER data.   
 

Matching CBS Valid Applicants to FAFSA and WASFA Filers  
Washington Student Achievement Council’s CBS valid applicant database is matched to 
incoming FAFSA and WASFA applications.  FAFSA and WASFA data is matched daily. 
 
Using the CBS Eligibility Cruncher, institutions shall compare their student data against the 
Cruncher database.  After entering information for potentially eligible students, campuses 
are presented with a list of CBS students whose CBS application matched to an incoming 
FAFSA or WASFA. 

Note:  The CBS Eligibility Cruncher does not determine all CBS eligibility criteria. 
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The CBS Cruncher checks for: 
⧠ Complete and valid CBS application on file with WSAC 

⧠ High school graduation with a 2.0 or higher GPA 
⧠ That a student has enrolled and attended college within one year of high school graduation 

⧠ Within 5-year eligibility window – please be aware that the cruncher does not update the 
end of the 5-year eligibility until after the Fall term.  The 5-year eligibility ends with the 
summer term and may require you to manually review students prior to awarding. 

⧠ Within 12 quarter or 8 semester usage limit 
⧠ Outstanding repayments 

⧠ No felony conviction before high school graduation 

⧠ WASFA filer  
 
The campus determines all other eligibility criteria, such as residency, income, need, 
enrollment, etc.  
 

College Bound Scholarship Processing Timeline 

Month Institution Action Explanation 

October and beyond N/A 
Students notified by the Washington Student Achievement 
Council that their CBS application is matched to FAFSA or 
WASFA. 

November and 
beyond 

Use “CBS Cruncher” 
to identify eligible 
students for awarding 

Campuses upload ready-to-award student SSN/WASFA IDs into 
the CBS Cruncher to identify valid CBS applicants. Students 
eligible for awarding will show a YES in the “OKtoAward” 
column. 

Continue identifying 
and awarding 
students 

Campuses continue to upload lists of students to the Cruncher 
frequently in order to: 
• Identify new students added to the Cruncher. 
• Determine students whose status may have changed. Can 

also use Watchlist located in the Cruncher to monitor changes. 

July and beyond 
Confirm eligibility for 
awarded students 
prior to disbursement 
by viewing “OKtoPay” 

WSAC updates the CBS Cruncher to reflect HS graduation data 
received from OSPI.   
Students who attended private schools or were home schooled 
must be validated individually by either WSAC or the institution. 

August/September Include CBS awards 
in CSAW CSAW includes a field for the CBS award amount. 

Fall and as needed Request payment 
from WSAC 

Campuses will request payment for CBS via CSAW. 
Campuses will not receive an initial CBS allocation – funds will 
be added to reserves on a funds-requested basis. 

November, 
February, May, July 

Submit Interim 
Reports 

Campuses will upload WCG and CBS data simultaneously via 
the file format and address edits for both programs. 
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CBS Cruncher Layout and Code Descriptions 
 
The Cruncher layout has been modified for the 2020-21 academic year.  The AA Degree Year 
and Term have been removed.   
 

Data that is entered only in the first year an eligible CBS student files a FAFSA or WASFA 
SSN 9-digit number 
LastName Up to 75 characters 
FirstName Up to 50 characters 

HSGradYear* 4-digit number – estimated by CBS application or OSPI data 
OR Unknown 

HSRequirementsMet**  

Yes – Confirmed HS graduation requirements met 
Likely – Preliminary OSPI data indicates likelihood of meeting requirements 
Unknown – WSAC doesn’t know if HS requirements have been met 
Unlikely – Preliminary OSPI data indicates meeting HS req. unlikely 
No – Confirmed HS graduation requirements not met 

Data that will continue to be updated for all CBS students 

OKtoAward 
Yes – Student is likely to meet or has met CBS eligibility requirements 
No – Student’s HS GPA is below 2.0 or has not met other CBS requirements 
Verify – WSAC doesn’t have information to say Yes or No 

OKtoPay Yes – Student confirmed to have met all HS graduation requirements 
No – Student did not meet program requirements 

EnrollmentDeadlineMet**  
Yes – Student enrolled in college within one year of HS graduation 
No – Student does not appear to have enrolled in college within one year of HS. 
n/a – One year has not passed since graduation 

FiveYearEligibilityWindowOpe
n 

Yes – Student is within the 5-year eligibility window 
No – The student’s 5-year eligibility window has passed 

CBTermsUsed Two Decimal places (e.g. 4.25, 6.00) 
CBTermsRemaining Two Decimal places (e.g. 4.25, 6.00) 

InRepayment No – Student is not in repayment 
Yes – Student is in repayment 

LastUpdated The most recent date that any of the columns have been changed 
Date format: d/m/yyyy h:m:s [AM|PM] 

 
*In some instances, college financial aid staff may override, please see following section for High School 
Requirements Met. 
**Information in these fields may be overridden by college financial aid staff or by WSAC staff. Documentation must 
be kept on file by the institution that overrides to substantiate the override, and a history of the timing and source of 
updates is available in the Cruncher field. 
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High School Graduation Year 
The anticipated year of high school graduation is noted for reference.  Campuses do not need 
to review the “HS Requirements Met” field for continuing CBS Scholars previously determined 
eligible.  However, the Cruncher will still need to be reviewed for the purpose of the 
scholarship timeframe criteria, quarters of eligibility remaining, and outstanding repayments.   
 
CBS Scholars who are verified to have graduated early may be awarded the College Bound 
Scholarship, and the four-year award must be used within five years of their actual graduation 
year. 
 

High School Requirements Met  
CBS Students must graduate from a Washington high school (public or approved private 
institutions) with at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA or receive home-based instruction under  
RCW 28A.200, and not convicted of a felony before high school graduation* to be considered 
as College Bound Scholars.  The GED is not an allowable substitute for high school 
graduation, except for some former foster youth. 
 
*WSAC is responsible for ensuring that CBS students do not have felony convictions before they 
enroll in college.  
 
CBS Students below a 2.0 as of their junior year in high school are flagged as “unlikely” in the 
“HS Requirements Met” field.  Students who were not enrolled in a public high school are 
flagged as “unknown” in the “HS Requirements Met” field.  Students may submit a copy of 
their final high school transcript to WSAC or campus financial aid staff.  
 
Campuses should update the response to the “HS Requirements” field and enter the student’s 
GPA and graduation date in the reason field if they have updated information regarding a 
student’s HS Requirements status.  The system will note which individual and which 
institution changed the response and all campuses will be able to view and accept the data as 
valid.  Campuses must retain this documentation for the standard record retention period. 
 
Campuses may verify high school requirements under these circumstances: 
⧠ The CBS Student inquires and is able to provide a final transcript verifying they met 

the requirements, including for students who attended a private high school. 

⧠ To expedite the process:  Four-year campuses are encouraged to review their 
admissions information to determine if students met the high school 
requirements.  This may be a more expedient way to verify graduation and GPA 
information than the WSAC data match with OSPI. This also may expedite the process 
in the case of students who attended private schools.  

⧠ The CBS Student was home schooled:  Campuses and/or students are asked to verify 
that the high school graduation requirement has been met for the home schooled 
student by contacting College Bound program staff at collegebound@wsac.wa.gov or 
888-535-0747, opt. 1.    

Campuses who verify high school graduation must change the “HS Requirements Met” field 
or an edit will be triggered when requesting reimbursement or processing interim reports. 
Note:  Both GPA and graduation date must be confirmed. Please document both the GPA and 
graduation date in the ‘reason’ field when updating the Cruncher. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28A.200
mailto:collegebound@wsac.wa.gov
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Enrollment Deadline  
College Bound Scholars must enroll and attend college no later than the fall term (as defined 
by the institution), one academic year following the high school graduation year to be 
eligible for CBS consideration.  For example, a College Bound Scholar, who graduated high 
school in the spring of 2020, would need to enroll and attend college by the fall term of 2021. 
 
Note:  Financial Aid Administrators may review students who don’t meet the enrollment 
deadline on a case-by-case basis and may grant a professional judgment exception for students 
who have unexpected circumstances that prevented their enrollment such as extenuating 
medical conditions, etc.  All use of professional judgment shall be applied judiciously and shall 
be documented in the student’s file. 
 
Adult Basic Education and Running Start courses count towards meeting the college 
enrollment deadline—even if taken while in high school.  College in the High School and CTE 
dual credits also may count towards meeting the college enrollment deadline if a college 
transcript is generated. 
 
College Bound Scholars who do not enroll and attend college, or have funds disbursed, 
within a year of high school graduation are not eligible to receive CBS. 
 
If the college has knowledge, however, that the student attended college within the one year 
window, but the Cruncher does not show “Yes” in the “Enrollment Deadline Met” column, the 
college should update this column to “Yes” as long as documentation (i.e. college transcript) 
is kept on file at the college.   
 
An example of this is if a student attended an out-of-state college within the one-year 
window of time.  In that case, the institution could later verify this attendance based on a 
review of the student’s academic transcript from the previous college.  In this case, and in 
the case of Running Start courses, there would need to be proof that the student had 
successfully completed at least one course that is transcripted in order for it to be counted as 
having met the one-year enrollment deadline. 
 

Students Who Do Not Appear in the Cruncher 
Students who inform the institution that they submitted the College Bound Scholarship 
application and received a College Bound certificate in middle school who cannot be located 
in the Cruncher should be referred to WSAC at collegebound@wsac.wa.gov.  College Bound 
outreach staff will determine whether the student has a valid application on file. 
 
WASFA applicants can be more difficult to identify through the crunching process due to 
potential SSN/WASFA ID mismatches and different naming conventions on the CBS 
application and the WASFA.  Some tips for searching manually for potential CBS students: 

⧠ On the “Search by Name” tab, enter the student’s date of birth only and look for 
their name 

⧠ Search on one part of a hyphenated last name, or search partial first or last names 
 
If a valid application is found, WSAC staff will work to find and match the two applications so 
the student will appear in the Cruncher. 
 

mailto:collegebound@wsac.wa.gov
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Campus Systems Preparation Instructions 
Campuses can take the following steps to identify and award eligible College Bound Scholars: 
 

1. Prepare a file to upload SSNs into the CBS Cruncher in the WSAC Portal.  This is 
necessary to identify the potential CBS applicants prior to awarding. 
 
Campuses can select one of three ways to communicate with WSAC Portal.  For 
questions regarding the REST web service or SFTP approach, please contact WSAC. 

• Manually upload a file via WSAC’s Portal website:  Any user with access 
may log into the CBS Cruncher and upload a text file containing SSNs (1 per 
row) to get the output on the page or via a CSV download file. 

• HTTP REST Interface:  Systems capable of consuming web services may 
issue a HTTP POST request with a list of SSNs as the post data.  This is 
expected to be authenticated using Basic Authentication through an SSL 
tunnel.  WSAC staff would create an API user account with permissions and a 
hard password without an expiration date for this purpose. 

• SFTP:  WSAC also can set-up an automated file transfer system.  The campus 
would upload a file of SSNs and WSAC would return a CSV data file. 

 
2. Determine how to identify/flag potential CBS Awards in your system prior to 

awarding.  The output can be viewed in the portal or downloaded as an Excel file. 
 

3. Review previously awarded students for a change in eligibility status (either by a 
separate SSN file upload or evaluating the output accordingly). 
 

4. Review the eligibility criteria in Chapter 2 to automate eligibility criteria where 
possible (such as 65 percent MFI and “gap fill” after other state aid). 

 
CBS Cruncher Instructions  

 
Log on to the Portal at https://fortress.wa.gov/wsac/portal/default.aspx 
 
Select ‘College Bound’ from the Programs drop down 

 

https://fortress.wa.gov/wsac/portal/default.aspx
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Click on the ‘Cruncher’ menu item. 

 
 
Click on the tab to choose a search method.  Search by Name, SSNs, or Upload a File. 

 
  



20 

Searching the Cruncher 
 Searching by Name 
Enter the full or partial first, last, and middle initial.  Click ‘Search’.  Note that the search 
boxes are ordered first name, THEN last name. 

To download search results in Excel, click the CSV button. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Otherwise, your results will display in list format below the search area. 

 
 

 Searching by SSNs 
You can perform a search with multiple SSNs by entering a list of SSNs, separated by 
commas, tabs, spaces, or new lines.  If you have an Excel spreadsheet of SSNs, you can 
copy and paste the column of SSNs into the search box.  Once you’ve entered your SSNs, 
click Search.  
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You are alerted to SSNs that do not return any results. Click the details link to see which 
SSNs did not match to a CBS application. Clicking on ‘details’ will open an Excel file. 

 
The results for the SSNs that have a CBS application on file with WSAC will display below.   

 
 Searching by File Upload 
You can upload a .csv or .txt file, with one SSN on each line.  Click the browse button, select 
your file, then click Search.  Your results will display below.

 
 

Again, you are alerted to SSNs that do not display results. Click the details link to see which 
SSNs did not match to a CBS application. Results will open in an Excel file. 

 

 
Proceed to the next section to learn how to interpret CBS Cruncher search results. 
Note:  Refer to the CBS Cruncher Layout and Code Descriptions provided earlier in this chapter. 
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Interpreting the Search Results 
WSAC depends on graduation and GPA data from the Office of the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction (OSPI), high school registrars, or transcripts provided by students, to determine 
if College Bound students met the program’s high school graduation requirements.  OSPI 
data includes students who attend public high schools. 
 
All OSPI data on graduating seniors is preliminary until late summer/early fall since 
graduation and GPA data cannot be compiled from the high schools and confirmed until that 
time.  Therefore, WSAC provides information to colleges on those students ‘likely’ to meet 
the requirements during the packaging period and designate them ‘OK to Award.’  This 
preliminary data from OSPI includes the student’s GPA as of the end of their junior year.    
 
Students who are later confirmed to have met the requirements will then be listed by WSAC 
as ‘OK to Pay.’  Students who have valid applications but are not included in the OSPI match 
must submit their final transcript to WSAC or the campus for determination.  Either the 
institution or WSAC can change the HS Req Met field after verifying the student’s GPA and 
graduation.  If relying on the student’s high school transcript, the campus must retain that 
documentation. 
 
Here is a preview of what your search results will look like full screen. You can sort results 
by any category by clicking on the blue column heading. 

 

 
 
In the example above, all the students with a YES in the OK to Award column can be 
packaged for College Bound Scholarship along with the Washington College Grant, as long as 
they meet all of the requirements. 
 
Students with a NO in the OK to Award column should not be packaged with CBS. 
 

Students cannot be paid CBS funds until there is a YES in the OK to Pay Column 

 
 
Verify students who have YES in the OK to Award and YES in the OK to Pay and their 5-year 
eligibility is the current academic year.  The student eligibility runs through the summer term;  
however, the Cruncher does not update until after the Fall term begins. 
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CBS Status in Cruncher is:  OK to Award = Yes, and OK to Pay = No 
This status will occur frequently for students who are either prospective students or new 
students.  When awarding students with this status, be sure to include both CBS and WCG 
awards on the student’s award offer if the student meets all other CBS eligibility criteria. 
 
You also will want to indicate that the CBS award amount is tentative until your institution 
receives verification from WSAC that the student graduated from high school with at least a 
2.0 GPA.  Institutions must verify student eligibility before disbursing funds. 
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CHAPTER 2 
Calculating WCG and CBS Awards 

 
 

The Commitment to Eligible College Bound Scholars 
Washington has made a commitment that each eligible CBS Scholar will receive state 
scholarship and/or grant assistance to cover the average cost of tuition (at public college 
rates), plus some fees and a small book allowance, during the periods of each student’s 
eligibility. Information about how this works and what types of state aid count towards state 
scholarship/grant assistance are included in this chapter. 

 

All Eligible College Bound Scholars Must Receive Maximum WCG Funding  
All eligible College Bound Scholars must first receive maximum WCG awards as part of their 
CBS maximum award and receive funding for all enrolled terms—including either Summer 1 
or Summer 2.   
 
Every eligible CBS Scholar must first receive a maximum WCG award before being 
considered for CBS funding.  The CBS amount is determined after WCG and any other state 
grant or scholarship aid has been awarded.   
 
When a student’s CBS amount is met with other state grants and/or scholarships, the 
student may receive a reduced or no WCG award.  In this instance, report the student as 
having need met. 
 

Note:  The aid administrator must award WCG funds to all eligible CBS Scholars to ensure 
100 percent coordination between CBS and WCG is achieved for all terms, including summer. 

 
The maximum WCG and CBS award amounts vary based on the institution attended, the 
student’s enrollment status, and the student’s Median Family Income (MFI) level.  WCG 
award amounts may not be reduced for eligible CBS Scholars due to institutional awarding 
policies such as gift equity policies. 

 
 
MAXIMUM MEDIAN FAMILY INCOME LEVELS 
This chart includes the MFI levels that determine eligibility and award amounts for the WCG 
and CBS programs.   
 
▪ The maximum MFI level for CBS student eligibility is 65 percent.   

◽ CBS students with MFI levels from 66 - 100 percent will not receive CBS but 
must receive WCG. 

 
▪ The maximum MFI level for WCG students is 100 percent. 
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Adjust the Family Size for More Than One Family Member in College 
Increase the family size by one for every family member who will be in college beyond the 
first, excluding parents (e.g.  A family of five with two non-parents in college is treated as a 
family of six on the income MFI chart; a family of five with three non-parents in college is 
treated as a family of seven).   
Note:  Information on family size typically comes from the FAFSA or WASFA. 

 

Determining Income for MFI Levels 
In most cases, use the income reported on the FAFSA or WASFA.  Adjustments may be made 
through verification reviews and through professional judgment decisions of a Financial Aid 
Administrator.  These must be submitted on a corrected FAFSA/WASFA. 
 
 

Median Family Income (MFI) Levels for 2020-21 Washington College Grant  
and College Bound Scholarship Program Eligibility 

The above chart was prepared  by the Washington Student Achievement Council (WSAC) from U.S. Department of 
Commerce (Census Bureau) data published on-line by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Office of 
Community Services website as transmittal number LIHEAP-IM-2019-02, dated August 7, 2019, from the Low Income 
Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP). It was derived from five-year estimates from the 2013 through 2017 
American Community Surveys (ACSes). All figures have been rounded to the nearest $500 income range. 
Note:  A CBS Scholar could be eligible for College Bound Scholarship funding for some years, and not eligible for 
others, if the family’s MFI level exceeded 65 percent in one or more years.   

 

Family 
Size 55% 60% 

65%                           
(CBS 

Maximum) 
70%                           

(WCG only) 
75% 

(WCG only) 
100% 

(WCG only  
Maximum) 

1 $27,500  $30,000  $32,500  $35,000  $38,000  $50,500  
2 $36,000  $39,500  $43,000  $46,000  $49,500  $66,000  
3 $44,500  $49,000  $53,000  $57,000  $61,000  $81,500  
4 $53,000  $58,000  $63,000  $68,000  $72,500  $97,000  
5 $62,000  $67,500  $73,000  $78,500  $84,000  $112,500  
6 $70,500  $76,500  $83,000  $89,500  $96,000  $128,000  
7 $72,000  $78,500  $85,000  $91,500  $98,000  $130,500  
8 $73,500  $80,000  $87,000  $93,500  $100,000  $133,500  
9 $75,000  $82,000  $88,500  $95,500  $102,500  $136,500  
10 $76,500  $83,500  $90,500  $97,500  $104,500  $139,500  
11 $78,500  $85,500  $92,500  $99,500  $106,500  $142,500  
12 $80,000  $87,000  $94,500  $101,500  $109,000  $145,000  
13 $81,500  $89,000  $96,500  $103,500  $111,000  $148,000  
14 $83,000  $90,500  $98,000  $105,500  $113,500  $151,000  
15 $84,500  $92,500  $100,000  $107,500  $115,500  $154,000  
16 $86,500  $94,000  $102,000  $110,000  $117,500  $157,000  
17 $88,000  $96,000  $104,000  $112,000  $120,000  $159,500  
18 $89,500  $97,500  $105,500  $114,000  $122,000  $162,500  
19 $91,000  $99,500  $107,500  $116,000  $124,000  $165,500  
20 $92,500  $101,000  $109,500  $118,000  $126,500  $168,500  
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When calculating family income for a “dependent” student, count the parents’ Adjusted 
Gross Income (AGI) and non-taxable income.  Do not include the student’s income. 
 
When calculating family income for an “independent” student, count the student’s AGI and 
non-taxable income, and that of the spouse (if the student is married). 
 
For both dependent and independent students, if the AGI is not present (i.e., parent/student 
is not a tax filer), use the sum of all taxable plus non-taxable income. 
 
The Financial Aid Administrator may (but is not required to) subtract the following 
allowable exclusions: 

▪ Taxable earnings from need-based employment programs such as Federal Work 
Study and need-based employment portions of fellowships and assistantships. 

▪ Taxable student grant and scholarship aid reported to the IRS in the AGI. This 
includes AmeriCorps benefits as well as grant and scholarship portions of 
fellowships and assistantships. 

▪ Untaxed combat pay or special combat pay. 

▪ Earnings from work under a cooperative education program offered by a 
college. 

▪ Education tax credits under the American Opportunity and Lifetime Learning 
tax credits. 

▪ Child support payments made for a dependent not counted in the family 
household size. 

▪ Combat pay – only the portion included in the adjusted gross income. 
 

Title IV grant aid should be subtracted from the base income regardless of whether it was 
taxed or untaxed. 
 
Child support income must be excluded from income calculations for less-than-half-time 
independent students, but not from other enrollment categories. 
 
Veterans benefits are treated in the same manner as for the purposes of eligibility for Title IV 
financial aid. 

Note:  In addition to having income qualify based on the MFI levels, state aid must fit within 
the student’s calculated need after counting in all other need-based resources.  

 
 
EXPECTED FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (EFC) 
The “Expected Family Contribution” is the amount that a student or the student’s family is 
expected to contribute to the cost of attendance based on a federal computation.   
 
The EFC is initially based on information submitted on the FAFSA or WASFA.  In some cases, 
EFC may be adjusted by the Financial Aid Administrator through a professional judgment 
decision. These must be submitted on a corrected FAFSA/WASFA. 
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COST OF ATTENDANCE (COA) 
The “Cost of Attendance” is the budget used by the Financial Aid Administrator to reflect the 
student’s cost for the period of time for which the financial aid is being awarded.  Information 
regarding the WCG Apprenticeship COA will be issued in a separate manual. 
 
The COA includes tuition and fees, books and supplies, room and board, transportation, and 
miscellaneous/personal expenses.   
 
Each year the Washington Financial Aid Association (WFAA) publishes several standard 
budgets that include all amounts except for tuition and fees, which are determined by each 
institution.   
 
The WFAA Student Budgets for the 2020-21 academic year includes four categories: 

1. Dependent, living with parent(s) 
2. Independent, living with parent(s) 

3. Not living with parent(s) 

4. High-cost regions 
 

WSAC requires that institutions submit the COA amounts each year during the participation 
renewal process.  If the amounts used by institutions vary by more than 10 percent from the 
recommended WFAA standard budgets, institutions must submit their rationale to WSAC for 
review and approval for use when awarding state financial aid. 
 

Cost of Attendance and Tuition Waivers  
A student receiving WCG or CBS must have the full-assessed tuition amount included in 
their COA.  This COA amount must be reported when the Unit Record Report (URR) is 
submitted.   
 
In addition, all tuition waivers received by WCG and CBS recipients must be reported either 
as need-based institutional gift aid or as non-need-based institutional gift aid on the URR.   

Note:  The full-assessed tuition amount is what the student is or would be assessed before 
any tuition waiver(s) have been applied.  The tuition waiver is then reported as a resource as 
described above.   

 
If a student receives other need-based assistance, but does not receive WCG or CBS, WSAC 
requests that any tuition waiver(s) received by the student be reported as institutional gift 
aid and that the full assessed tuition amount be included in the COA, whenever possible, 
when the URR is submitted. 
 
A student who receives non-need-based tuition waiver(s) but does not receive any need-
based financial assistance, is not reported on the URR. 
 

  

https://wfaa.memberclicks.net/assets/docs/2021%20WFAA%20COA%20student%20budgets.pdf


28 

NEED AMOUNT 
The Expected Family Contribution (EFC) is subtracted from the student’s Cost of Attendance 
(COA) to determine the need amount.  Need-based aid, such as WCG and CBS, must be within 
the need amount, and cannot exceed the need amount. 
 

Professional Judgment 
The FAA may, using professional judgment, adjust the resources up or down to more 
accurately reflect the family’s financial situation during the year. In general, adjustments 
shall be consistent with changes made for federal aid and reflected on the FAFSA/WASFA. 
 
The aid administrator shall document the reason for the variance in the student’s file.  The 
FAA may consider assets when assets aren’t being considered for EFC computations (e.g. 
auto zero EFCs and simplified EFCs) for the purposes of WCG eligibility. 
 

Family Income Change of 3 Percent or Less 
A student who received WCG in the previous year and whose family income has increased by 
no more than 3 percent may be eligible to continue to receive WCG in the current year.  
Discretion is left to the FAA.  This applies when the student’s current family income 
increases slightly above the 100 percent maximum MFI level.   
 
The WCG policy that permits awarding to continuing recipients whose MFI changed by 3 
percent or less is not applicable to CBS Scholars, however, because the 65 percent MFI 
standard is statutorily required for CBS recipients. 

 

College Bound Scholarship and Washington College Grant Coordination 
Every eligible CBS Scholar must first receive a maximum WCG award before being 
considered for CBS funding. The CBS amount is determined after WCG and any other state 
grant or scholarship aid has been awarded.   
 
When a student’s CBS amount is met with other state grants and/or scholarships, the 
student may receive a reduced or no WCG award.  In this instance, report the student as 
having need met.   

 
 
AWARD AMOUNTS 
See the following page for WCG and CBS award amounts. You can also view grant amounts in 
the WSAC Portal under CSAW/Grant Amounts.   
 
 
 
  



29 

WCG and CBS Award Amounts for 3 Quarters/2 Semesters for 
Students Enrolled Full-Time for All Terms 

Most award amounts are not divisible by both two and three.  For institutions whose systems 
require even disbursements, the per term award may be rounded, up or down, by one dollar.  
This may not result in more than a two-dollar difference over a three-quarter year or 
equivalent.  This procedure is also discussed in this chapter under “Award Rounding.” 
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CBS Maximum Award Amounts to Disburse 
The value of the initial eligible CBS Scholar award shall be the difference between the “Total 
Maximum WCG and CBS to Eligible College Bound Scholars” amount, minus the WCG 
Maximum, and minus the value of any other state funded grants or scholarships (gift aid) the 
student has been awarded at the time of the CBS award decision.   
 
The award shall be further reduced if total need-based aid is in excess of need or the student 
attends part-time.  If additional state gift aid is awarded after the initial CBS award decision 
was made, the CBS award must be revised to reflect that additional state aid. 
 
 
Subtraction of State Gift Aid for Determining Eligibility for CBS Award Amounts 
The following state programs must be subtracted from the “Total Maximum WCG and CBS to 
Eligible College Bound Scholars” amount in determining the amount to fund from the CBS 
program. 

• Washington College Grant – Due to 100 percent coordination requirements, all 
eligible CBS Scholars must receive a maximum Washington College Grant award. 

• Passport to College Promise Scholarship – A state scholarship program for current 
and former foster youth and, beginning on July 1, 2019, unaccompanied homeless 
youth. 

Note:  Students who receive Passport funds will likely have their maximum CBS 
commitment met with a combination of Washington College Grant and Passport 
scholarship funds, and therefore will not receive a CBS award. 

• SBCTC Opportunity Grant – The Opportunity Grant helps low-income adults train for 
high-wage, high-demand careers.  It is administered by the State Board for Community 
and Technical Colleges. 

• SBCTC Worker Retraining Funds – Workers who are unemployed or have been 
notified by their employers that they are about to be laid off may be eligible for these 
funds administered by the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges. 

• American Indian Endowed Scholarship – A scholarship for students having financial 
need with close social and cultural ties to an in-state American Indian community, for 
pursuing undergraduate and graduate studies. 

 
Do not subtract State Work Study or other institutional aid, including tuition waivers, 
because they are not considered as other state gift aid for this purpose.  

Note: There may be cases where eligible CBS Scholars will receive total state aid greater 
than the “Total Maximum WCG and CBS to Eligible College Bound Scholars” amounts.   

An example of this is an eligible CBS Scholar, who receives a WCG award and a Passport 
to College Scholarship award of $4,500, which together may exceed the CBS maximum.  
Similar situations may also occur with combinations of WCG and SBCTC Opportunity 
Grant funding. 

In these cases, the CBS Scholar would not receive College Bound Scholarship funding for 
the year, because the other awarded state gift aid exceeds the CBS Commitment amount.  
Report students as having CBS need met. 

http://checkoutacollege.com/ExploreCareers/TopJobs.aspx


31 

Uneven WCG Disbursements Permitted to Students Not Receiving CBS funding 
Typically, WCG awards are disbursed evenly for all terms during the year if the student’s 
enrollment status is the same each term.  However, the Financial Aid Administrator may 
award a greater proportion of the student's WCG award in one term if the disbursement is 
justified by the student's costs in that same term, (i.e. extensive fees fall term that won’t be 
charged the remainder of the year.)   
 
If this exception is used, a statement shall be placed in the student's file acknowledging that 
an exception to uneven WCG disbursements has been granted.  If the student receives a 
larger WCG disbursement in one term, but then does not attend the full year, the student 
will be considered overpaid and will owe a WCG repayment.   
 

Note: This uneven disbursement policy does not apply to those receiving CBS funding. 
 
 

Minimum Awards: 
• The minimum CBS award amount is one dollar ($1.00) per term.   

• The minimum WCG award amount is also one dollar ($1.00) per term.  
Circumstances relevant to part-time enrollment and other factors may reduce 
a student’s WCG to a very low level.  The FAA may issue WCG awards as low as 
$1.00 per term.  

 
 
Declining CBS or WCG Awards  
If a CBS or WCG awarded student wishes to decline a CBS or WCG award, the institution 
must maintain a written record of the award amount that is declined and the reason it was 
declined.  This may occur, for example, when a student is awarded a very small amount and 
wishes to retain flexibility for future terms of eligibility. 
 
If a WCG or CBS awarded student wishes to decline their CBS/WCG award and/or return 
funds due to an enrollment level decrease and to have their quarterly award and QER usage 
reduced to reflect that lower amount,   the student must notify the financial aid office in 
writing.  The aid office must then recalculate their eligibility and return those funds 
received either due to a tuition refund and/or funds returned by the student to WSAC using 
the CSAW portal.  The aid office must ensure they update the reporting in CSAW to reflect 
the lowered award amount and enrollment level associated with that reduced award. 
 
See the next table for maximum Washington College Grant Awards for students enrolled 
full-time. 
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Maximum Washington College Grant Awards  
for Students Enrolled Full-Time for All Terms 

 
*Eligible students will receive more than these amounts if enrolled for more than 3 quarters or 2 semesters. 

Please note:  Annual awards may not be exceeded for 3 quarter/2 semester enrollments. If 
annual award amounts do not divide evenly, you must round up/down accordingly to ensure 
you do not exceed the annual limit. 



33 

ADJUSTING MAXIMUM AWARD AMOUNTS 
The maximum WCG and CBS awards for full-time students appearing in the charts in the 
previous pages must be reduced under the following two conditions:  

 

Part-Time Students 
Both CBS and WCG awards must be reduced for part-time students based on their 
enrollment status: 

• Students at ¾ time are eligible for 75 percent of the maximum award 

• Students at ½ time are eligible for 50 percent of the maximum award 

• Students at ¼ time are eligible for 25 percent of the maximum 
 
 

Attendance Less Than 3 Quarters or the Equivalent  
CBS and WCG students attending for fewer than three quarters or the equivalent will receive 
a pro-rated share of the total annual award.  Example:  A full-time student attending one of 
three quarters will receive one-third of the maximum award amounts shown in the charts. 
 
 
Clock Hour Schools 
Additional information on awarding students enrolled in clock hour programs appears in 
Chapter 5. Students must receive at least twelve clock hours of instruction per week to be 
awarded state aid.  Except for the final payment term, all students should be paid as full-time 
students for each term.   
 
The first term payment should be made as soon as possible once the student is enrolled and 
has met all program requirements.  Once the student has successfully completed 300 hours, 
the student may be eligible for the next term payment.  Then for each additional 300 hours 
successfully completed, the student may be eligible for additional term payments. 
 
 
Institutional Gift Equity Policies  
Institutional gift equity policies do not apply to eligible College Bound Scholars or 
Washington College Grant eligible students.  Eligible College Bound Scholars, including those 
with family income 66-100 percent, must receive the maximum WCG award for which they 
are eligible, even if they do not receive any CBS funds. 
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OTHER AWARDING CONSIDERATIONS: 
 
USE OF STATE FUNDS FOR PRIOR YEAR CHARGES 
State financial aid is based on current year cost of attendance and more specifically tuition 
and fees. As such, State financial aid may not be used to pay a student’s prior year charges in 
any amount. 

 

Fourth Quarter/Third Semester Awards 
It is possible for a student to receive terms of WCG and/or CBS, in addition to the typical 3 
quarters/2 semesters, within the same year. For students earning academic credits, they may 
enroll and receive payments for up to four quarters or three semesters during the year.  For 
students earning clock hours, students may be able to enroll and receive up to five quarter 
payments per year (for more information on clock hours, see Chapter 5). 
 
For students exceeding 3 quarters/2 semesters, the value of the additional award is calculated 
as it would be for any regular term.  Students receiving additional terms of aid will reach their 
maximum quarter limit more quickly than students engaged in the common three 
quarter/two semester enrollment pattern.  In this scenario, it is permissible to exceed the 3 
quarter or equivalent grant amounts listed in the award charts. 
 

Summer Awarding of CBS and/or WCG 
Award all eligible CBS and/or WCG students enrolling during Summer 2020.  
 
If Summer 1 (2020-21): 
• All eligible College Bound students and/or Washington College Grant students 

enrolling in summer 2020 (Summer 1) must receive their full eligibility in both CBS 
and WCG.  

• Colleges may use either the 2019-20 or 2020-21 WCG award amount for the Summer 1 
term.  Use the student’s current MFI if awarding using prior year award amount. 
 

If Summer 2 (2019-20): 
• No Summer 2 (2019-20) CBS and/or WCG awards should be made to students whose 

files are complete after August 1.  Contact WSAC if you later need to adjust your Final 
Interim Report. 
 

Awarding WCG to non-CBS students Summer 2 2019-20 
If Summer 2 (2019-20): 
• Summer 2 (2019-20) awards are part of colleges’ 2019-20 WCG funding.  Use the 

2019-20 award chart if an award is made.  Subject to funds availability.   
 

Financial Aid Over-Award 
State aid, combined with other aid meeting need, may not exceed the student’s calculated 
need.  However, a student will not be considered over-awarded if additions to the initial 
award exceed his or her financial need by $300 or less by the end of the year. 
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Changes in Need, MFI, or Other Aid Received that May Cause Award Revisions  
If any of these types of changes occur, the FAA must review the eligibility for WCG and/or 
CBS and, if necessary, readjust the awards.  
 
Examples: 

 
◆ A CBS funded student receives additional state aid (e.g. Passport to College 

Scholarship or Opportunity Grant) after a student has been awarded CBS.  In 
this case, the CBS award must be revised.  If a disbursement of the CBS has 
already been made, that award amount may need to be repaid to WSAC, either 
fully or partially, depending on the circumstances.  
 
If the FAA can reduce the award disbursements for future terms, however, and 
not repay funds already disbursed, that is permissible in this limited instance.  
The WCG award needs also to be reviewed to be sure the award is not over 
need, for example.  If the student fails to attend future terms the student would 
owe the funds. 

 
◆ A WCG funded student (who is not an eligible CBS Scholar) receives additional 

aid, the MFI level changes, or the need changes.  The FAA must review the 
award to make sure that the student is still eligible for the WCG amount 
originally awarded.   This would include making sure that the proper MFI 
award amount was in place if there were changes in the family income or family 
size. 

 

Payments Cannot be Made to Students for a Current Term After Withdrawal  
If a student completely withdraws for a term without earning at least 3 credits, no 
additional WCG or CBS payments may be made to the student for that term, on or after a 
student’s official withdrawal date.   
 
Note:  State policy differs from the Federal policy on this issue of post withdrawal 
disbursements. 

 

Retroactive Awards and/or Payments for Previous Terms for Eligible CBS 
and/or WCG Scholars 
Retroactive WCG and CBS awards and/or payments MUST be made to eligible CBS Scholars 
and/or WCG students for a prior term(s) as long as they are for the current year and other 
program rules are followed.  The value of the retroactive awards and/or payments must be 
based on a student's rate of satisfactorily completed credits (must be at least 3 credits or the 
equivalent) determined by the institution at the end of the term(s). 
 
If an institution retroactively awards WCG funds to a student who completed fewer credits 
for that term than they would have been awarded had the award been made at the beginning 
of the term, the student’s CSAW enrollment status for the term must be updated to reflect 
the enrollment status for which the payment was actually made.   
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Late Applicants 
The Financial Aid Administrator must ensure that 100 percent coordination between CBS 
and WCG is achieved for all terms, including summer.   
 

Award Rounding 
Major rounding of awards is not permitted.  When a calculated award cannot be evenly 
divided, award one dollar more or less than the desired even disbursement in one of the 
terms.  Rounding by more than two dollars per year is not permitted. 
 

Concurrent Award at Two Institutions 
While it is not encouraged, it is permissible for two institutions to disburse separate state aid 
awards to the same student during the same term.  The state aid at each institution shall be 
calculated in the normal fashion.  It is presumed that the student's maintenance costs are 
considered in the overall award at one institution and the second institution's award shall 
not exceed the cost it recognizes for tuition and books.   
 
If an institution exercises this option, it must coordinate with the second institution.  One 
institution may fund the full COA and one can only fund tuition and books.  It is important 
that you document this in the student’s file.  This information will be requested by WSAC via 
edits generated by payment requests and interim reporting. 
 

Fractional Last Term   
If a fraction of a term of eligibility is remaining for a student towards the end of their 
eligibility, a fractional award may be granted.  Refer to the formulas below for award 
calculations, based on quarter institution or semester institution.   
 

Note: You only need to perform this calculation if the student does not have enough 
Quarters of  Eligibility Remaining (QER) to fully fund the enrollment status.  For example, if 
a student at a quarter institution has .38 QER, but is only enrolled less than half-time, the 
student will only use .25 QER, and therefore, the fractional calculation is not yet necessary. 

 
Fractional award conversion examples:   

QER = Quarters of Eligibility Remaining 
SER = Semesters of Eligibility Remaining 
 
QER x Full-time award amount within MFI category 

 
Quarter WCG Institution Example: 

Joe student has .38 QER.  The full-time WCG quarter award amount within Joe’s MFI 
category is $1,180.  
 
The calculation is: 

.38 x $1,180= $448.   Joe would be eligible for a $448 final quarter award. 
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Semester Institutions: 
QER / 1.5 = Semesters of Eligibility Remaining (SER)* 
SER x Full-time award amount within MFI category 

 
 *A Semester is equal to 1.5 quarters, so for the first step of the formula you must convert 
the amount of QUARTERS remaining (QER) into SEMESTERS remaining (SER). Do this by 
dividing the QER by the semester multiplier of 1.5.  Then multiply the SER by the full-time 
award amount within the student’s MFI category. 

 
 

Semester WCG Institution Example: 
Maria student has .38 Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER).  The full-time semester 
award amount within Maria’s MFI category is $4,259.  The calculation is: 

 
.38       /           1.5                      =          .26  
QER       Semester Divider                 SER  

 
Now, multiply the SER with the full-time WCG award amount within her MFI category. 
 

.26 x $4,259 = $1,107.  Maria would be eligible for a $1,107 final semester award. 
 
 
AWARDING PRACTICES NOT PERMITTED 

Single Parents and Part-Time Students 
All eligible students in these groups must be treated equally.  No group, such as single 
parents or part-time students, may be disadvantaged relative to any other group of 
recipients in its access to state aid. 
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CHAPTER 3 
SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS 

 
 
SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP)   
Institutions are responsible for monitoring each recipient's Satisfactory Academic Progress, 
as outlined in WAC 250-21-021(16) of the WCG rules, and in the institution’s WSAC-approved 
institutional SAP policy.   
 
The SAP policy is applicable to all state aid grant programs, including Washington College 
Grant, College Bound Scholarship,  and Passport to College Scholarship.  There are differences 
between state and federal SAP requirements including: 

• A maximum usage limit of five full-time years of eligibility versus 150 percent of the 
published program length (federal).  (Note:  CBS has a maximum usage limit of four 
full-time years of eligibility to be used in within the five years following high school 
graduation.) 

• A required per term SAP review for state aid. 

• A quantitative standard requiring that at least one-half of the credits enrolled,  for 
which the aid was calculated and disbursed each term, are earned as compared to 
the federal “pace” requirement. 

 
At the end of each term, participating institutions shall examine the progress of each state 
aid recipient and determine which of the following applies to the student: 

• Is meeting Satisfactory Academic Progress. 

• Is to be placed in Warning Status1 and may be continued on state aid. 

• Is to be placed in Unsatisfactory or Denied Status and therefore ineligible for state 
aid until the student meets the conditions of the institution’s reinstatement policy.  

 
An institution may submit an alternative approach to evaluating academic progress that 
includes a plan for improved student retention and comparison data to ensure state grant 
funds are used efficiently.  WSAC will initially determine whether to approve the alternative 
policy, then evaluate it over a specified timeframe, then determine whether the policy may 
continue to be approved. 

 

Maximum Usage Timeframe 
As stated in Chapter 1, Washington College Grant recipients may receive the equivalent of 5 
full-time years of maximum usage (15 Quarters of Eligibility, or the equivalent).  College 
Bound Scholarship recipients may receive the equivalent of 4 full -time years of maximum 
usage (12 quarters of eligibility or the equivalent.)  
 

 
1To avoid confusion with the federal definition of “probation,” the term “warning” is used for state aid administration. 
 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-20-021
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Quantitative Standard for Students in Quarter and Semester Credit Programs 
To meet “satisfactory academic progress” the student must successfully complete a 
minimum number of credit or clock hours for each term in which the grant was received.  
 
Each school’s policy for measuring progress of state aid grant  recipients must define 
satisfactory as the student’s completion of the minimum number of credit or clock hours for 
which the aid was disbursed. 
 
The minimum number of credits standard for enrolled students whose aid was calculated 
and disbursed as less than full-time students is: 

• Full-time enrollment – 12 credits or 300 clock hours  

• Three-quarter time enrollment – 9 credits or 225 clock hours 

• Half-time enrollment – 6 credits or 150 clock hours 

• Less than half-time enrollment – 3 credits or 75 clock hours   
 (Only applies to WCG and CBS programs) 

 
Note:  The minimum number of credits for full-time enrollment is 12 credits per term for 
institutions that base their enrollment on a credit system.  For these institutions, 12 credits are 
considered the amount for which aid was calculated and disbursed even if the student enrolled 
for more than 12 credits.  
 

Successful Completion of Credits 
Coursework that counts towards successful completion of program or degree completion 
typically includes letter grades of A-D and Pass.  Grades received of F, E, Fail, Withdraw, 
Unofficial Withdrawal, and Incomplete do not count as successfully completed credits. 
 

Warning Status2 
Warning Status for state aid recipients is triggered when a student completes at least one-
half, but less than all of the minimum number of credits for which the aid was calculated and 
disbursed, or otherwise fails to fulfill the conditions of the institution’s satisfactory progress 
policy.     

• For a full-time student at 12 credits, this means that if the student successfully 
completes 6 to less than 12 credits, the student is to be placed in a warning status 
for the following term. 

• For a three-quarter time student at 9 credits, a student must successfully complete 
4.5 to less than 9 credits to be placed on warning status 

• For a half-time student at 6 credits, a student must successfully complete 3 to less 
than 6 credits to be placed on warning status. 

• For a less than half-time student at 3 credits, a student must successfully complete 
1.5 to less than 3 credits to be place on warning status. 

 

 
2To avoid confusion with the federal definition of “probation,” the term “warning” is used for state aid administration. 
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Since all clock hours from the previous payment period must be earned before making 
additional payments, there is no routinely recognized warning status for clock hour 
students. 
 
In addition, WSAC expects institutions to have rigorous policies for measuring academic 
progress that limit the number of terms a student can continue to receive state aid while in 
warning status.  The institution may make disbursements and continue a student on State 
Work Study to a student who is in warning status. 

 

Denied Status 
Denied status requires that each school's policy must deny further disbursements of all 
state aid at the conclusion of any term in which he or she fails to complete at least one-half of 
the minimum number of credits or clock hours for which the aid was disbursed or otherwise 
fails to fulfill the conditions of the institution's satisfactory progress policy.  This status also 
may be given to a student who has remained in warning status for more terms than the 
institution’s policies allow.  

 

Quantitative Standard for Students in Clock Hour Programs 
Students enrolled in clock hour programs must enroll as full-time students and complete 
300 hours for each term to meet the quantitative standard before being eligible for the next 
term disbursement.   
 
Since all hours from the previous payment period must be earned before making additional 
payments, there is no routinely recognized warning status for clock hour students.  A school 
however, may petition WSAC to allow a warning status. 

 

Qualitative Standard 
The institution's satisfactory academic progress policy must contain a qualitative standard.  
For purposes of state aid programs, the qualitative standard used to comply with federal 
satisfactory academic progress standards is acceptable. 

 
Other Conditions of SAP Policy 
The value of any retroactive financial aid payments shall be based on the student’s rate of 
satisfactorily completed credits, determined by institution policy, at the end of the term.  See 
Chapter 2 for more information regarding retroactive payments. 
 
A student may be denied further state aid disbursements or awards if the student fails to 
fulfill any other conditions of the institution's WSAC-approved satisfactory academic 
progress policy. 

 

Professional Judgment/Appeals 
The Financial Aid Administrator may, on a case-by-case basis, reinstate a student back into 
satisfactory academic progress in response to that student's extenuating circumstances. The 
FAA may choose to exercise professional judgment without a specific request to do so from 
the student.  
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For example, the FAA may decide to grant a student continued access to state aid if failure in 
one term is countered by an extensive history of prior success.  The student’s file must 
include documentation related to the professional judgment decision. 

 

Reinstatement 
Each institution's satisfactory academic progress policy shall state which conditions a denied 
status student must meet before state aid will be reinstated.  For example: the student may 
have to attend the institution without state financial aid for a specific period of time or may 
have to show proof that credits have been made up within a designated time period. 

 

Notifying Students of SAP Policies 
Institutions must make information available to state aid recipients of the state SAP policies 
that impact their students’ ability to continue receiving state aid for future terms.   
 
This must include information about how state SAP is determined at the institution, how 
Warning Status and Denial Status are determined, and the institution’s Reinstatement Policy 
of state aid should the student go into Denial Status.    
 
The available information also must include when SAP reviews will take place and how and 
when students will be notified in writing should their state aid status change to Warning, 
Denial or Reinstatement.    
 
This information may be included in institutional financial aid handbooks or other 
information made available to all students or all state aid recipients at each institution.  It 
does not need to be sent individually to all state aid recipients.      
 
 

STUDENT WITHDRAWALS/REPAYMENT CALCULATIONS 
See Chapter 5 for required repayment policy information. 
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CHAPTER 4  
PORTAL ACCESS AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 
 
PORTAL ACCESS 
Each Financial Aid Administrator (FAA) is required to obtain their own Portal login to access 
functions and submit reports via the WSAC Portal.  A universal account, or the account of 
another aid administrator, cannot be used to access the Portal for multiple aid administrators. 
 
It is the responsibility of each college’s appointed authorizing official to promptly remove 
Portal access for staff who should no longer have access, such as those who are no longer 
employed by the college or have moved to another department. 
 
To obtain an account, contact the appointed authorizing official at your college.  The 
appointed authorizing official will grant access to the appropriate programs and functions in 
the Portal using the ‘Manage User’ function.   
 
Portal user administration instructions for the authorizing official to create and manage Portal 
accounts are located in the Portal under the ‘Common’ menu item.  Select Common/Messages 
and Files/Files, Forms, and Memos. 
 
If the authorizing official is unable to add or remove an account, contact wcg@wsac.wa.gov. 
 

Security of Information 
All institutions are expected to treat information on the WSAC Portal in accordance with 
the Electronic Agreement contained in the Institutional Agreement to Participate.   
 
Institutions and individuals are granted access to data with the expectation that they 
protect the confidentiality of this information with the same level of care as they do any 
other student aid document.   
 

Secure Data Transmission 
No personally identifiable information (PII) shall be transmitted to WSAC via email.  All 
institutions must send information to WSAC via the secure email function in the Portal or 
using CSAW. 

 

Portal Training 
Portal users have access to the portal training site:  https://portaltraining.wsac.wa.gov/.  
It is a great way to get acquainted with CSAW functions.  Information in the Training 
Portal updates and resets each night allowing for training in a safe environment. 
 

  

http://portal/default.aspx/common/messages%20and%20files/files,%20forms%20and%20memos/default.aspx
http://portal/default.aspx/common/messages%20and%20files/files,%20forms%20and%20memos/default.aspx
mailto:sng@wsac.wa.gov
https://portaltraining.wsac.wa.gov/
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REQUIRED REPORTS 
Participating institutions are required to submit eligible Washington College Grant, College 
Bound Scholars and Passport to College student details via quarterly Interim Reports, 
including a year-end submission for reconciliation purposes, and an annual Unit Record 
Report (URR).   
 
Please refer to the Unit Record Report Manual for details regarding that report and the 
required deadlines for submission. 
 

Interim Report Definition 
The Interim Report is a quarterly data submission that includes student details for every 
eligible student awarded the Washington College Grant, College Bound Scholarships and 
Passport to College. 
 
Data reported on the interim reports provides the basis for WCG, CBS, and PTC funding 
projections.  

 
 Interim Report Due Dates for the 2020-21 Academic Year 

Report Due Dates 
Fall Interim Report November 6, 2020 
Winter Interim Report February 5, 2021 
Spring Interim Report May 7, 2021 
Final Interim Report* July 5,  2021 

*The final Interim Report for the 2020-21 academic year also serves as the  
year-end reconciliation and is due July 5, 2021.   
 
Record Layouts NEW 
All institutions will use the College Bound-WCG Award Warehouse (CSAW) to fulfill the 
Interim Reporting requirement.  The layout for the 2020-21 academic year, which 
includes fields for Passport to College Scholarships and term type, is located at the end of 
this chapter and has changed from the 2019-20 academic year layout.   
 
A sample .csv file is located at:  http://www.wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources.  Your file layout 
can be submitted in a different order but the header names must be identical to the sample 
file and are not case sensitive.  Please do not make any modifications to header names. 
 
 

ELIGIBLE AWARDED WCG AND CBS STUDENTS 
Eligible awarded WCG students refers to Washington College Grant students, who have 
either received a WCG payment, or who have had WCG funds committed (student has 
received an award offer) but not yet disbursed at the time of the report. 

Eligible awarded CBS students refers to eligible College Bound Scholars who have either 
received a CBS payment, or who have had CBS funds committed, but not yet disbursed at 
the time of the report. 

http://www.wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources
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INSTRUCTIONS 
For detailed interim report submission instructions, including how to upload a file and 
address edits, visit Common/Messages and Files/Files, Forms, and Memos area of the 
Portal.  

 

Edits 
CSAW rejects data in the form of edits.  All edits must be addressed individually, except 
informational edits.  A complete list of edits is located in the instructions at the end of this 
chapter. 
 

Reporting Enrollment Status 
In general, each student’s term enrollment status should reflect the funding the student 
was eligible to receive. 

• Report the student’s enrollment status for each term as of the date WCG or CBS was 
disbursed unless the student changed enrollment prior to the start of the term. 

• If the student wasn’t considered eligible for aid for a term, do not report them. 
 

Exceptions:  Applies to both WCG and CBS Recipients. 

▪ If a student received a full refund of tuition charges and the balance of funds 
were not disbursed to the student, all funds must be returned via CSAW and 
the student’s CSAW record must be updated to show as not enrolled for that 
term.  

▪ If a student received a partial refund and the WCG or CBS award was 
proportionally decreased to a revised enrollment level, the enrollment status 
must also be updated (e.g., the student’s original disbursement was based on 
12 credits and the student’s enrollment status was reported as full-time.)  

Later a refund is applied that adjusts the students awards to half-time, they 
would be reported as half-time.  The WCG for the term and enrollment status 
must be updated to show half-time enrollment and the appropriate amount of 
WCG. 

 
Reminder:  Be sure to update each student’s term enrollment status on each of the 
Interim Reports.  We have found some institutions that have updated the term award 
amounts but failed to update the enrollment statuses.  This is very important as the term 
enrollment statuses impact the students QER. 

 
Secure Data Transmission 
No personally identifiable information (PII) shall be transmitted to WSAC via email.  All 
institutions must send information to WSAC via the secure email function or using CSAW. 
 

  

https://fortress.wa.gov/wsac/portal/default.aspx/common/messages%20and%20files/files,%20forms%20and%20memos/default.aspx
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Security of Information 
All institutions are expected to treat information on the WSAC Portal in accordance with 
the Electronic Agreement contained in the Institutional Agreement to Participate.   
 
Institutions and individuals are granted access to data with the expectation that they 
protect the confidentiality of this information with the same level of care as they do any 
other student aid document.  The institution’s Financial Aid Administrator (FAA) is 
required to immediately notify WSAC in the event of any breaches or potential breaches 
of data. 
 
Information contained in these files is for the sole purpose of administering state aid 
programs.  This information may not be used for research. If you have questions about the 
proper use of the information, please contact WSAC at wcg@wsac.wa.gov  
 
Each institution must have one or more Financial Aid Administrator(s) with a WSAC-
assigned portal account.   Each account user must have a separate unique password.  If 
you have forgotten your password, please click on the “forgot your password’ link on the 
Portal login page.  Accounts and passwords are not to be shared among staff – each 
person needs their own account and password. 
 

 
RECONCILIATION REPORT 
During the year-end reconciliation reporting period (Final Interim Report submitted in July), 
institutions have access to a balance sheet on the interim report tab in CSAW.  Please ensure 
that your ending balance is zero.  If you think your balance should be zero but it is not, 
contact program staff at wcg@wsac.wa.gov. 
 
Any remaining balance of WCG, CBS, or PTC funds at the end of the institution’s reconciliation 
process need to be returned to WSAC in the form of a check or by EFT.  Documentation must 
be provided with the check that specifies which program and dollar amount the funds are for. 
 
For complete instructions on how to complete the WCG-CBS-PTC interim report, go 
to Portal/Common/Messages and Files/Files, Forms and Memos. 
  

mailto:sng@wsac.wa.gov
mailto:sng@wsac.wa.gov
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Interim Report Complete List of Edits 
Edit Description Overrideable 
CBS student has 3 or less QER Informational only 
PTC student has 3 or less QER Informational only 
WCG student has 3 or less QER Informational only 
Student is OK to award, not OK to pay, and hasn't been awarded CBS Informational only 
Applied baccalaureate is only allowed for Community and Technical colleges Non-overrideable 
Birthdate is required for PTC student Non-overrideable 
Cannot have awards for both summer terms at the same institution (except for 
clock-hour schools) 

Non-overrideable 

CBS award cannot be less than zero Non-overrideable 
CBS receivable balance cannot exceed the award amount Non-overrideable 
CBS student is not OK to Pay Non-overrideable 
Enrollment status cannot be “Not Enrolled" unless all awards have been 
cancelled 

Non-overrideable 

Enrollment status must be “Not Enrolled" if no awards are reported Non-overrideable 
Family income exceeds 65% CBS MFI Threshold Non-overrideable 
Family income exceeds WCG MFI threshold Non-overrideable 
Family income information is required for WCG and CBS students Non-overrideable 
Family size must be between 1 and 20 Non-overrideable 
Family size must be more than or equal to number in college Non-overrideable 
Number in college must be between 1 and 20 Non-overrideable 
PTC award cannot be less than zero Non-overrideable 
PTC cannot be awarded to students attending less than half time Non-overrideable 
PTC receivable balance cannot exceed the award amount Non-overrideable 
WCG award cannot be less than zero Non-overrideable 
WCG receivable balance cannot exceed the award amount Non-overrideable 
Student does not have any WCG QER for this award Non-overrideable 
Student does not have any CBS QER for this award Non-overrideable 
Student does not have enough PTC QER for this award Non-overrideable 
Student has unpaid receivables for a prior term Non-overrideable 
Student is not eligible to receive PTC Non-overrideable 
CBS award exceeds maximum eligible amount Overrideable 
CBS students must receive maximum WCG award Overrideable 
Combined enrollment status cannot exceed full-time for a single term Overrideable 
PTC award exceeds maximum eligible amount Overrideable 
PTC Student cannot be awarded or paid after age 27 Overrideable 
PTC Student must receive first award prior to age 22 Overrideable 
WCG award exceeds maximum eligible amount Overrideable 
WCG eligible student must be awarded Overrideable 
WCG, CBS, and PTC repayments must be referred at the same time Overrideable 
Student is eligible for PTC but hasn't been awarded Overrideable 
Student is OK to pay but hasn’t been awarded CBS Overrideable 

 
Many edits can be resolved by correcting the data in the data fields.  Correcting the data in 
CSAW will make the edit no longer appear.  Overrides should be used when data cannot be 
corrected. 
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Common Edits to be Addressed with Data Correction Instead of Overriding 

Edit Name Sample Incorrect Override 
Reason Correct Data Change 

Award Exceeds Maximum 
Eligible Amount 

Eligible at time of disbursement-
or-Enrolled FT 

Update enrollment status to the 
status at time of disbursement 

Award Exceeds Maximum 
Eligible Amount  

Pursuing bachelor’s degree  Check the App Bacc* box on 
each term the student is 
enrolled in upper-division BAS 
courses (applies to CTC sector 
only. NWIC and Perry Tech 
cannot exceed CTC award 
amounts for students in two-
year programs) 

Award Amount Exceeds Max, 
Most Likely Because of MFI 
Issue 

Awarded on original income 
reported on FAFSA 

Change the income reported for 
the student to reflect what was 
used to award 

Combined Enrollment Status 
Cannot Exceed Full-time 

No aid was disbursed Remove student award records 
if you know student is not 
attending or is ineligible 

Combined Enrollment Status 
Cannot Exceed Full-time 

No financial aid my institution Remove student award records 
if you know student is not 
attending or ineligible 

Student is OK to Pay But Not 
Awarded CBS 

MFI too high Update income – the income 
being reported shows them 
within 65% 

Student is OK to Pay But Not 
Awarded WCG / CBS / PTC 

Need met Enter $0 in award amount 

*This applies only to students enrolled at institutions that are considered two-year degree 
institutions.  BAS refers to students at those institutions who are enrolled in applied baccalaureate 
degree programs at those institutions. 
 
 
CSAW FILE UPLOAD LAYOUT FOR ALL INSTITUTIONS 
A sample .csv file is located at http://www.wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources.  The file layout can 
be submitted in a different order, but the header names must be identical to the sample 
file and are not case sensitive.   
 
Please Note: 
 Including the Passport and Term Type fields in the CSAW file upload are strongly 

encouraged to ensure timely accurate reporting.   
 Winter term fields are not required for Semester institutions. 
 The SchoolCode field is an optional field. It may be completed or left blank. 
 The WCG and CBS AwardAmount fields may be left blank if the student is not enrolled for 

that term. 
 All Enrollment Status and Boolean data type (yes/no) fields are not case-sensitive. 
 The WcgApprenticeship fields are not required at this time and should be left blank.   

http://www.wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources
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2020-21 CSAW File Upload Layout 
Field Valid Inputs Remarks 

Ssn Numbers and hyphens 9-digit student identifier. SSN, ITIN, or WASFA ID.  
Dashes will be removed, and any 8-digit entries will 
be left-padded with a zero (this is applicable in 
cases where Microsoft Excel interprets SSN as a 
number and removes the leading zero). 

SchoolCode Any characters Unique identifier for this student, for this institution. 
LastName Any characters Required 
FirstName Any characters Required 
MiddleInitial  Optional 
FamilySize Integer Required 
NumberInCollege Integer Required 

FamilyIncome Number up to two 
decimal places 

Family income used to determine WCG eligibility 
and award amount. 

BirthDate mm/dd/yyyy Required.  10byte max, requires slashes. Leading 
zeros on month and day not required. 

IsirWasfaTransactionNumber Integer 
1-99 

ISIR or WASFA Transaction number used to award 
student.  Leading zero on 1-9 is optional 

Summer1EnrollmentStatus (‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’) 
('Full Time' or '1')  
('Half Time' or '2')  
('3/4 Time' or '3')  
('< Half Time' or '5') 

The enrollment status the student was eligible for 
at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of 
the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not 
Enrolled. 

Summer1TermType 
(Quarter or ‘1’) 
(Semester or ‘2’), 
optional 

If left blank or excluded from file, will use the 
default term type. 

Summer1AppliedBaccalaureate ('true' or 'y')  
('false' or 'n') 

This only applies to students at CTCs and private 
colleges that primarily offer associate degrees.  All 
other institutions should leave this blank.  
Determines whether this student is enrolled in a 
baccalaureate program for this term. 

Summer1CbsAwardAmount Number up to two 
decimal places 

Maximum CBS award amount, minus specified 
state aid.  ‘0’ indicates “need met”.  Leave blank if 
not awarded. 

Summer1PtcAwardAmount Number up to two 
decimal places 

If left blank, will assume all Passport students are 
being entered by hand.  ‘0’ indicates “need met” 

Summer1WcgAwardAmount Number up to two 
decimal places 

Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need met”.  Leave 
blank if not awarded. 

Summer1WcgApprenticeship  Not required.  Leave blank 

Summer1WcgAwardIsServed  Not required. Leave blank 
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2020-21 CSAW File Upload Layout (Cont.) 

Field Valid Inputs Remarks 

FallEnrollmentStatus (‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’) 
(‘Full Time’ or ‘1’)  
(‘Half Time’ or ‘2’)  
(‘3/4 Time’ or ‘3’)  
(‘< Half Time’ or ‘5’) 

The enrollment status the student was eligible for 
at the time of disbursement or as of the first day 
of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not 
Enrolled. 

FallTermType (Quarter or ‘1’) 
(Semester or ‘2’), optional 

If left blank or excluded from file, will use the 
default term type. 

FallAppliedBaccalaureate (‘true’ or ‘y’)  
(‘false’ or ‘n’) 

This only applies to students at CTCs and private 
colleges that primarily offer associate degrees. All 
other institutions should leave this blank. 
Determines whether this student is enrolled in a 
baccalaureate program for this term. 

FallCbsAwardAmount Number up to two decimal places Maximum CBS award amount, minus specified 
state aid. ‘0’ indicates “need met”.  Leave blank if 
not awarded. 

FallPtcAwardAmount Number up to two decimal places If left blank, will assume all Passport students are 
being entered by hand.  ‘0’ indicates “need met” 

FallWcgAwardAmount Number up to two decimal places Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need met”.  Leave 
blank if not awarded. 

FallWcgApprenticeship  Not Required. Leave blank 
FallWcgAwardIsServed  Not Required. Leave blank  
WinterEnrollmentStatus (‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’) 

(‘Full Time’ or ‘1’)  
(‘Half Time’ or ‘2’)  
(‘3/4 Time’ or ‘3’)  
(‘< Half Time’ or ‘5’) 

The enrollment status the student was eligible for 
at the time of disbursement or as of the first day 
of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not 
Enrolled. 

WinterTermType (Quarter or ‘1’) 
(Semester or ‘2’), optional 

If left blank or excluded from file, will use the 
default term type. 

WinterAppliedBaccalaureate (‘true’ or ‘y’)  
(‘false’ or ‘n’) 

This only applies to students at CTCs and private 
colleges that primarily offer associate degrees. All 
other institutions should leave this blank. 
Determines whether this student is enrolled in a 
baccalaureate program for this term. 

WinterCbsAwardAmount Number up to two decimal places 
Maximum CBS award amount, minus specified 
state aid. 0’ indicates “need met”.  Leave blank if 
not awarded. 

WinterPtcAwardAmount Number up to two decimal places If left blank, will assume all Passport students are 
being entered by hand. ‘0’ indicates “need met” 

WinterWcgAwardAmount Number up to two decimal places Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need met”. Leave 
blank if not awarded. 

WinterWcgApprenticeship  Nor required. Leave blank. 
WinterWcgAwardIsServed  Not required.  Leave blank. 
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2020-21 CSAW File Upload Layout (Cont.) 

Field Valid Inputs Remarks 
SpringEnrollmentStatus (‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’) 

('Full Time' or '1')  
('Half Time' or '2')  
('3/4 Time' or '3')  
('< Half Time' or '5') 

The enrollment status the student was eligible for 
at the time of disbursement or as of the first day 
of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not 
Enrolled. 

SpringTermType (Quarter or ‘1’) 
(Semester or ‘2’), optional 

If left blank or excluded from file, will use the 
default term type. 

SpringAppliedBaccalaureate ('true' or 'y')  
('false' or 'n') 

This only applies to students at CTCs and private 
colleges that primarily offer associate degrees. All 
other institutions should leave this blank.  
Determines whether this student is enrolled in a 
baccalaureate program for this term. 

SpringCbsAwardAmount Number up to two decimal 
places 

Maximum CBS award amount, minus specified 
state aid. ‘0’ indicates “need met”.  Leave blank if 
not awarded. 

SpringPtcAwardAmount Number up to two decimal 
places 

If left blank, will assume all Passport students are 
being entered by hand. ‘0’ indicates “need met” 

SpringWcgAwardAmount Number up to two decimal 
places 

Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need met”. Leave 
blank if not awarded. 

SpringWcgApprenticeship  Not required.  Leave blank. 
SpringWcgAwardIsServed  Not required.  Leave blank. 
Summer2EnrollmentStatus (‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’) 

('Full Time' or '1')  
('Half Time' or '2')  
('3/4 Time' or '3')  
('< Half Time' or '5') 

The enrollment status the student was eligible for 
at the time of disbursement or as of the first day 
of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not 
Enrolled. 

Summer2TermType (Quarter or ‘1’) 
(Semester or ‘2’), optional 

If left blank or excluded from file, will use the 
default term type. 

Summer2AppliedBaccalaureate ('true' or 'y')  
('false' or 'n') 

This only applies to students at CTCs and private 
colleges that primarily offer associate degrees. All 
other institutions should leave this blank. 
Determines whether this student is enrolled in a 
baccalaureate program for this term. 

Summer2CbsAwardAmount Number up to two decimal 
places 

Maximum CBS award amount, minus specified 
state aid.  ‘0’ indicates “need met”. Leave blank if 
not awarded. 

Summer2PtcAwardAmount Number up to two decimal 
places 

If left blank, will assume all Passport students are 
being entered by hand. ‘0’ indicates “need met” 

Summer2WcgAwardAmount Number up to two decimal 
places 

Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need met”. Leave 
blank if not awarded. 

Summer2WcgApprenticeship  Not required.  Leave blank. 
Summer2WcgAwardIsServed  Not required.  Leave blank. 

- Winter term fields are not required for Semester institutions. 
- The SchoolCode field is an optional field. It may be completed or left blank. 
- The WCG and CBS AwardAmount fields may be left blank if the student is not enrolled for that term. 
- All Enrollment Status and Boolean data type (yes/no) fields are not case-sensitive. 
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CHAPTER 5 
WCG AND CBS PAYMENTS, REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING  

 
 
PROCEDURES FOR ELECTRONIC FUND TRANSFER PAYMENT REQUESTS, 
STUDENT REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING 

For the most efficient and timely processing of funds, colleges are strongly encouraged to use the 
Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) method.  
 
Private colleges are required to front monies to eligible students and then request 
reimbursement from WSAC.  
 
Public institutions are not required to have previously disbursed funds to eligible students 
before requesting program funds 
 

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Request Procedure 
Payment Requests 
Once a student is identified as eligible and an award is calculated, the institution may begin 
the disbursement process.  
 
Payment requests must be submitted through the use of CSAW (College Bound - WCG 
Award Warehouse) located in the Portal. Institutions upload their eligible student file into 
CSAW and manage awards from within the warehouse.  
 
Instructions for requesting state aid funds are located in the Common/Messages and 
Files/Files, Forms, and Memos area of the Portal.  
 
The file layout specifications and instructions for requesting reimbursements in CSAW are 
located at the end of this chapter.  

 
Note:  The Clock Hour school payment request calendar is located at the end of this chapter. 

 
When submitting files, please populate the SSN field for undocumented students in the 
following order: 

 SSN 
 Tax ID Number (ITIN) 
 9-digit WASFA Applicant ID number 

 
Payment requests may be made any time from late-July through late-June of the academic 
year.  Payments for a new year will not begin until the college’s annual participation 
agreement is approved, and the final interim report is reconciled for the prior year. EFT 
payment requests will be processed within 24 hours of receipt whenever possible. 
 
Please allow a minimum of five to six business days from the time a request is submitted 
until funds are received at your institution.   

  

http://portal/default.aspx/common/messages%20and%20files/files,%20forms%20and%20memos/default.aspx
http://portal/default.aspx/common/messages%20and%20files/files,%20forms%20and%20memos/default.aspx
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Disbursement Procedures 
The institution must confirm that the student is still eligible and confirm enrollment status at 
the time of disbursement.  In addition, the institution shall check the CBS Cruncher in the 
WSAC Portal to ensure student eligibility. 
 
If a student does not attend, withdraws prior to the start of a term, reduces enrollment levels 
prior to the start of the term or fails to commence attendance in all classes that their 
enrollment level/award amount is based on, institutions must bill the student and report the 
repayment to WSAC.   
 
If a student changes enrollment prior to the start of a term institutions must adjust the 
student’s award in CSAW.  Institutions that choose to cover repayment amounts owed will 
return the funds via CSAW as an award cancellation and not report the student in 
repayment. 
 
Reducing a processed award will create a negative payment request for that student under 
the ‘Request Funds’ tab.  It is permissible to only submit negative payment requests; 
however, WSAC will not send funds until you have submitted positive awards to offset the 
reduced awards.  
 

Note:  If the institution does not have reimbursements to offset any reduced awards after the 
final interim report is reconciled, the institution must return the under-spent amount to the 
Washington Student Achievement Council.   

 
 
Payments Cannot be Made to Students for a Current Term After They Withdraw  
If students withdraw for a term without earning at least 3 credits, no additional WCG or CBS 
payments may be made to the students for that term on or after a student’s official 
withdrawal date.   
 

Note: State policy differs from the Federal policy on this issue of post-withdrawal 
disbursements. 

 
 
Retroactive Awards and Payments for Previous Terms 
Retroactive WCG and CBS awards and payments MUST be made to eligible CBS Scholars 
and eligible WCG students for a prior term(s) as long as they are for the current academic 
year and other program rules are followed.  This applies whether or not the student is 
currently enrolled.   
 
The value of the retroactive awards and payments must be based on a student's rate of 
satisfactorily completed credits (at least 3 credits) determined by the institution at the end 
of the term(s). 
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Required Student Directive for Private Institutions 
Private institutions must use WSAC’s Student Directive Form to record a student’s decision 
on where to apply their financial aid payment.  The student’s financial aid payment can be 
deposited directly into a student’s account, or disbursed in the form of a check, based on 
their choice on the directive.  For a copy of the student directive, see Chapter 6. 
 
□ Institutions must not coerce or influence the student’s choice on where to apply their 

financial aid payment. 
□ The directive remains in effect for the duration of the student’s continuous enrollment 

at the institution, excluding approved leaves of absence and summer terms.  A new 
directive is required if the student is not continuously enrolled. 

□ Institutions must allow students to change their minds at any time, prior to 
disbursement, and follow their current directives at all times. 

□ Institutions must remind students once a year that their current directive is still in 
place and that they may change it. 

 
The institution may not withhold or delay the disbursement of state aid due to any student 
debt, including tuition, fees, or fines owed the institution. 
 
 
Conditions of Award Statements NEW 
Prior to disbursement, the institution must inform the state aid recipient of their 
responsibilities to the program through a “Conditions of Award” statement.  A copy of this 
statement is located in Chapter 6.  This has been updated for 2020-21. 
 
The statement must be presented annually and can be delivered to the student through 
paper or electronic means each year. The statement must be provided in its entirety and is 
not satisfied by providing a link to the document or by attaching a copy of the document. The 
Conditions of Award does not have to be signed by the student as long as the institution can 
provide assurances to WSAC that the document was provided to the student each year.   
 
It is the institution’s responsibility to maintain documentation that the conditions were 
presented to the student.  
 
WSAC may request a copy of the Conditions of Award statement that was presented to the 
student and documentation that it was presented to the student. WSAC’s request for this 
documentation must be fulfilled within 5 business days. 
 
 
Power of Attorney Disbursements 
A student whose off-campus program precludes their return to the institution for 
disbursement of state aid funds must assign a Power of Attorney to a responsible person to 
receive payments on their behalf.  A copy of the Power of Attorney documentation must be 
kept in the student's file. 
 

Institutional Repayments 
If a student is awarded incorrectly due to institutional error, it is the institution’s financial 
obligation to repay the funds and they must be returned to WSAC immediately.   
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Student Repayments 
Repayment is a student responsibility if it is due to incorrect information provided by the 
student, failure to complete the term or failure to commence attendance in all classes on 
which their enrollment level/award amount is based.  If a grant recipient leaves an 
institution during an academic term in which he or she receives WCG, the student may be 
required to repay WCG funds.  
 

Note:  The Washington College Grant Repayment Policy Requirements are Mandatory for all 
Participating WCG Institutions.   

 
 
Persian Gulf Veterans 
Persian Gulf veterans are not required to repay the unused portions of grants received under 
state student financial aid programs. 
 
 

STATE AID GRANT REPAYMENT POLICY REQUIREMENTS  NEW 

General 
Students who fail to attend classes, who withdraw or reduce enrollment levels prior to the 
start of the term, fail to commence attendance in all classes for which their enrollment 
level/award amount are based on or who receive funding based on fraudulent information 
will be required to repay 100% of the funds received.   
 
Students who have received state aid (aid disbursed prior to the start of the term) and who 
change enrollment status prior to the first day of the term, must have their state aid 
eligibility recalculated to reflect their enrollment status as of the start of the term.    
 
Students who fail to commence attendance in all classes for which their enrollment 
level/award amount is based must have their state aid eligibility recalculated to reflect only 
their enrollment level for those classes they attended. 
 
The student who decreases enrollment status prior to the first day of the term will owe a 
repayment of the overpayment amount.  Students who increase enrollment status 
throughout the term are entitled to additional funds for enrollment status increases. 
 
Students who make enrollment status adjustments (up or down) after disbursement and 
after the start of the term will be subject to completion of satisfactory academic progress 
requirements outlined under 250-21-010 (12) (a-e).  Enrollment status increases must 
include WCG awards based on that enrollment and may not exceed need.  However, students 
may not receive more WCG than the cost of their tuition and fees.   
 
If a student’s enrollment is adjusted during the tuition refund period and tuition is reduced, 
and the student failed to commence attendance in all classes for which their disbursement 
was made, the grant must be reduced to not exceed the cost of tuition and fees. 

 
Note:  For this section, “state grant” refers to all state grant and scholarship programs. 
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REPAYMENT AND AWARD ADJUSTMENT EXAMPLES 
Any practice other than in the examples provided below will require the institution to 
submit an alternate Repayment Policy to WSAC for consideration. The alternate policy must 
be clear and ensure that students receive their maximum awards, prevent ineligible students 
from receiving awards, avoid initial disbursements in excess of tuition and fees, and adjust 
remaining eligibility appropriately to not exceed QERS.   

 
Note: It is permissible for students to decline a WCG award in part or in whole. This permissible 
declination (as in C below) is consistent with existing WSAC WCG guidance, although is most 
common when a student has minimal need remaining and wishes to retain a full award for a future 
term. Students should be notified that this option is available to them and how it will affect them. 

 
Repayment Examples: 
 
EXAMPLE 1 
A. WCG calculated and disbursed at full-time and student attends at least one class 

for each course for which funds were disbursed but does not complete any classes. 
 

ACTION:  No adjustment necessary; award and enrollment will be reported at fulltime.  
 
RESULT:  Student will not owe a repayment, but the student will have used 1 QER and 
be impacted by quarterly SAP. 

 
B. WCG calculated and disbursed at fulltime except student withdraws from two 

classes after attending at least one class in each course: 
 

ACTION:  No adjustment is necessary since the student began attendance in all the 
enrolled classes for which the WCG was calculated.  Award and enrollment will be 
reported at fulltime.  
 
RESULT:  Student will not owe a repayment, will be impacted by quarterly SAP since 
fewer than full time credits were completed and 1 QER will be utilized. 

 
C. WCG calculated and disbursed at fulltime for 13 credits, then student withdraws 

from six credits after attending at least one class in each course but within the 
tuition refund period.  The student notifies the financial aid office that they wish to 
decline the refund and have the tuition refund returned to their WCG award and their 
award reduced to match their new enrollment level/QER.  This may involve the student 
returning funds as well to the school to be returned to WSAC via CSAW so that their 
award/enrollment level reflects the lower amount.  (e.g. full-time to half-time and aid 
returned to reflect half-time) 

 
ACTION:  Adjust student’s WCG award to appropriate enrollment level and return funds 
to WSAC via CSAW.  Award and enrollment level will be reported at half time. 
 
RESULT:  Student’s WCG will reflect appropriate QER at awarded enrollment and 
student will remain in good standing for SAP (as long as all credits for which the award 
was adjusted are completed). 

 
 



56 

AWARD ADJUSTMENT EXAMPLE 
 
EXAMPLE 2 
A. WCG is calculated at less than full-time and disbursed at less than full-time. Student adds 

classes at any point in the term which changes their enrollment level to a higher level 
and the WCG award amount and tuition are increased. 

 
ACTION:  WCG Award MUST be increased to the enrollment level for which the student 
is enrolled—regardless of any alternative institutional policy or institutional census 
date.  The award and enrollment level will be reported at the higher level. 
 
RESULT:  Student receives additional WCG funds and CSAW reporting is adjusted to 
reflect the higher enrollment level. 
 
 

Alternative Repayment Policy Option 
Institutions may propose alternative policies to our office for review.  WSAC will analyze 
alternative policies and may require adjustments to achieve consistent treatment of students 
in similar circumstances across campuses and support student success.  Institutions will be 
notified if they are approved or require modifications.   
 
Key considerations when developing alternative policies should include the following: 

• Ensuring students receive their maximum awards 

• Prevent ineligible students from receiving awards  

• Avoid awards in excess of maximum tuition and fees 

• Adjust remaining eligibility appropriately to not exceed QERs 
 
 
Repayments for Deceased Students 
All repayments for deceased students are forgiven.  Please forward proof of death for all In 
Repayment accounts to the Repayment mailbox using the secure email function in the Portal.  
WSAC will process the cancelation. 
 
 
Timely Management of Repayment Referrals for Institutions 
Institutions must enter repayment accounts into the WSAC Portal under Transmittal using 
the Receivable Transmittal feature within 10 business days of the date a student withdraws 
or the end of the term, whichever is earlier.   There are two types of repayment accounts: 
Institution to Bill and In Repayment.   
 

Please note:  In order to report a receivable or Institution to Bill, you must have first 
reported awards and requested funds through CSAW for that student. 

 
Institutions may choose from the following options: 
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1. Institution to Bill (has 2 subcategories): 
Calculation Pending:  Under Institution to Bill, this allows you to flag a student in 
CSAW who has not met satisfactory academic progress and may owe a repayment but 
for whom you have not yet completed the calculation.  You must enter a date that 
indicates the last date of the term or the student’s withdrawal, whichever is earlier.    
 
This will ensure that the student does not receive additional state aid elsewhere.  You 
must complete the calculation and enter the dollar amount or convert to In Repayment 
within 30 calendar days from the initial date of withdrawal/the end of the term, 
whichever is earlier as reported above. 
 
Calculation Completed/student owes:  This allows you to report the student as 
Institution to Bill, with an attached dollar amount you are actively collecting on from 
the student.  This prevents the student from receiving aid elsewhere while they are in a 
repayment status for state aid.   
 
All Institution to Bill accounts not paid in full must be converted to In Repayment 
Status prior to submission of the Final Interim Report, or the institution assumes 
liability and will have to repay the funds to the state aid programs. 
 
 

2. In Repayment:  The institution has determined that a repayment is owed within the 
initial 10 business day window or is updating the status from Institution to Bill as 
explained above within the 30 calendar days from the initial date you determined they 
were no longer attending. 
 
Accounts are transferred to our billing service within a short period of time and 
actively collected on by our contracted billing service.   

 
The following chart summarizes the different repayment actions and the timeframe for 
completing those actions.  Detailed information is provided in the following pages of this 
chapter and in the Common/Messages and Files/Files, Forms, and Memos area of the Portal. 

  

https://portal.wsac.wa.gov/default.aspx/common/messages%20and%20files/files,%20forms%20and%20memos/default.aspx
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 T I M E F R A M E  F O R  C O M P L E T I O N  

R E P A Y M E N T  A C T I O N  
INSTITUTION TO BILL 

Under Review 
INSTITUTION TO BILL 

Repayment Amount Known IN REPAYMENT 

STATE AID REPAYMENT 
RECORD ENTERED INTO 

CSAW 

10 business days from the end of 
the term or date of withdrawal; 
whichever is earlier; enter date 

10 business days from the end of 
the term or date of withdrawal; 

whichever is earlier; enter 
amount  

(Summer 2 CANNOT BE ITB 
AND MUST BE IN REPAYMENT) 

10 business days from the end of 
the term or date of withdrawal; 

whichever is earlier; enter amount 

REPAYMENT CALCULATED 
AND REPORTED TO WSAC 

N/A – Repayment is under review 
and student is blocked from 
receiving additional funding 

Immediately upon creating  
“ITB – Repayment Amount 

Known” record 

Immediately upon creating  
In Repayment record 

LAST DAY TO CONVERT TO 
“INSTITUTION TO BILL 

REPAYMENT KNOWN” OR “IN 
REPAYMENT” ACCOUNT 

Must convert to either “ITB 
Repayment Amount Known” or 

”In Repayment” within 30 
calendar days from end of the 

term or date of withdrawal; 
whichever is earlier 

-OR- 
The Institution is liable for the 

funds to WSAC 

N/A N/A 

LAST DATE TO CONVERT 
“INSTITUTION TO BILL 
REPAYMENT AMOUNT 

KNOWN” INTO “IN 
REPAYMENT” ACCOUNT 

N/A 
Must convert to “In Repayment” 
prior to submission of your Final 

Interim Report Submission 
N/A 

LAST DATE TO REFER TO 
WSAC 

If not converted to “ITB 
Repayment Amount Known” or 

“In Repayment” within 30 
calendar days of date outlined 

above, institution becomes 
financially liable and must return 

funds to WSAC 

Must convert to “In Repayment” 
prior to submission of your Final 

Interim Report Submission 
Already referred to WSAC 

LAST DATE TO ACCEPT 
PAYMENT FOR CURRENT 

YEAR “INSTITUTION TO BILL 
AMOUNT KNOWN” OR “IN 
REPAYMENT” ACCOUNT 

N/A 

Up to the date you convert them 
to “In Repayment” prior to the 

submission of your Final Interim 
Report 

Never - Institutions are not 
permitted to accept payments 
once an account is referred to 

WSAC for collection.  

LAST DATE TO ACCEPT 
PAYMENT FOR PRIOR YEAR 

REPAYMENTS 
N/A N/A Never – Refer student to WSAC 

Note:  Summer 2/Trailer repayments may not be established as institution to bill and must be reported as 
In Repayment in CSAW.  All summer 2/Trailer repayments must be entered by August 31 each year. 
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Institution to Bill Accounts 
The institution must create Institution to Bill records for accounts that the institution 
chooses to actively collect on during the academic year.  Institution to Bill records shall be 
entered into the Portal within 10 business days of the student's withdrawal, or the end of the 
term, whichever is earlier.  Doing so prevents students in repayment status from receiving 
aid at another institution by flagging them on the CBS cruncher.   
 
The institution has two options under this category based on the timelines described above.   
 
The institution may retain the repayment account within the academic year if it continues 
active collection procedures or if a student is making payments to the institution. Any 
remaining balance must be converted to In Repayment status prior to submission of your 
Final Interim Report.  The institution shall not accept payments from the student past 
the date you convert them to In Repayment.  
 
If the student repays the Institution to Bill obligation in full to the institution within the 
academic year, it is the institution’s responsibility to remove the Institution to Bill account 
for that student as soon as possible after receipt of payment.  If the institution does not 
remove the record, then the Institution to Bill account will continue to appear on the 
students record and the student will be ineligible for further state aid disbursements.   
 
A reduction in the student award shall correspond with funds collected within the academic 
year for Institution to Bill accounts.   
 
Institutional refunds can be applied directly to student awards in Institution to Bill status 
and the award reduced in CSAW.  Accounts that are In Repayment status require the 
institution to return the refunds directly to WSAC outside of the CSAW portal. 
 

Note:  Summer 2/Trailer repayments may not be established as Institution to Bill and must be 
reported as In Repayment in CSAW.  All summer 2/Trailer repayments must be entered no 
later than August 31 each year.  Students who withdraw must be reported within 10 business 
days as outlined above to ensure ineligible students do not continue to receive aid. 

 
 
In Repayment 
If an institution does not want to actively collect from a student, refer accounts to WSAC to 
commence collection activity.   
 

Note: Once an In Repayment account is created, it cannot be canceled.  In Repayment may 
only be canceled when it was determined that the repayment was created in error and the 
student never owed.  Contact WSAC Receivables Coordinator for further assistance at 
repayment@wsac.wa.gov.  

 
To refer a repayment account to WSAC for collection, select the In Repayment status in the 
Transmittal function on the Portal.  If an Institution to Bill record exists for the repayment 
already, convert the original Institution to Bill account to an In Repayment account using the 
instructions at the link referenced above.   
 
If a student is a recipient of WCG, CBS, and/or PTC the repayments must be referred to 
WSAC simultaneously to ensure seamless and transparent billing to the student. 
 

file://Vader/AgencyFiles/StudentFinancialAssistance/PROGRAMS&ACTIVITIES/Program%20Manuals/2018-19%20DRAFT%20Manual/repayment@wsac.wa.gov
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As noted above, institutions have a total of 30 calendar days.  The initial reporting 
must be entered within 10 business days.  Repayments not referred within the time 
frames above will become the financial responsibility of the institution for failure to 
report.  Institutions will be required to return the funds to WSAC. 
 
Accounts that are In Repayment status require the institution to return the funds directly to 
WSAC outside of the CSAW portal. 
 
If students contact the institution regarding their repayment after it has been referred to 
WSAC, the institution must direct students to WSAC’s contracted billing service, University 
Accounting Service (UAS), at 844-870-8701.   
 

Note:  Institutions must enter repayments into the Portal before sending communications to 
students that refer them to UAS or WSAC. 

 

Authority    
Washington College Grant (WAC 250.21.051(7))   
 

No-Show Repayments 
If a state grant recipient never attends courses in the term for which they received a state 
grant award, the state grant repayment amount is 100 percent of the award.  If an institution 
is unable to distinguish between a no-show and an unofficial withdrawal, the no-show policy 
shall apply. 
 

Institutional Errors 
Institutions are responsible for repaying WSAC for overpayments resulting from calculation 
errors. Institutions shall reduce the student’s award(s) to reflect the amount the student was 
eligible to receive.    
 

Canceling In Repayment Accounts 
Once an In Repayment account is created, it cannot be canceled.  In Repayment may only be 
canceled when it was determined that the repayment was created in error and student never 
owed. Examples are proof of an updated last date of attendance, grade change, proof of high 
school diploma, etc.   
 
Institutions may not accept any payment or apply tuition refunds for an In Repayment 
account and must forward all funds to WSAC.  For further assistance, contact WSAC 
Receivables Coordinator at repayment@wsac.wa.gov.  
 
If it is determined that a repayment was created in error and needs to be canceled in the 
Portal, the institution must enter a clear explanation for why the repayment has been 
canceled.  Any funds the student has paid WSAC towards the repayment will be refunded to 
the student by WSAC. 
 
Cancelation of repayments created more than one academic year before the current year 
must be done by contacting WSAC at repayment@wsac.wa.gov. 

 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-20-051
file://Vader/AgencyFiles/StudentFinancialAssistance/PROGRAMS&ACTIVITIES/Program%20Manuals/2020-2021%20Manuals/WCG/repayment@wsac.wa.gov
mailto:repayment@wsac.wa.gov


61 

INFORMATION FOR CLOCK HOUR PROGRAMS 
In order to equate the clock hour programs to the credit hour programs, the following policy 
makes the annual award amount equitable for students attending both clock hour and credit 
hour programs. 
 

Payment Periods: 

1. All clock hour students, except for their final term, must be reported as full-time 
students in CSAW.  First payments are made at the beginning of the program for 
eligible students.  Additional payments may be made for each 300 clock hours 
successfully completed and are reported within a quarter term payment schedule. 

2. Additional payments shall not be disbursed until the previous payment’s clock 
hours have been earned/completed.   

3. For a full-time, two-term (600 clock hours) student in good standing, the student 
should be awarded for two payment periods (equivalent to two quarterly 
payments).   

4. For a full-time, three-term (900 clock hours) student in good standing, the student 
should be awarded for three payment periods (equivalent to three quarterly 
payments).   

5. For a full-time, four-term (1200 clock hours) student in good standing, the student 
should be awarded for four payment periods (equivalent to four quarterly 
payments).  

6. For a full-time, five-term (up to 1500 clock hours) student in good standing, the 
student should be awarded for five payment periods (equivalent to five quarterly 
payments). 

 
 
Program Lengths 
Clock hour programs must be at least 600 hours in length to qualify for state aid awards.  
The program must provide a minimum of twelve clock hours of instruction per week. 
 
A final quarter payment request can be submitted for students nearing completion of their 
program who have between 75 and 299 remaining hours. 
 

Remainder Hours – Award Percentages 
75 - 149 hours =   25% of a full-time award (report as less than half-time) 

150 - 224 hours =   50% of a full-time award (report as half-time) 

225 - 299 hours =   75% of full-time award (report as three-quarter time) 
300+ hours  = 100% of full-time award (report as full-time) 
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Academic Year Cross-Over Programs 
If a payment falls in the cross-over between academic years, the school can select the 
academic year in which to request the payment. 
 
Additional clock hours earned beyond a full disbursement that are clocked prior to  
July 1 of the next academic year may be carried over.  For example, if a student earns 980 
hours in one academic year and is awarded for two 450 hour terms, the 80 remaining hours 
may be carried into the next academic year. 
 

Clock Hour Payment Request Calendar 
Payment periods are described as periods 1-5.  Due to Portal limitations, the payment 
periods must still be referred to as Summer 1, Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer 2 (in 
corresponding terms).   
 

Assign the term based on the dates when the majority of the student’s enrollment 
for each 300 clock hour time period will occur. 

 
Payment 
Period Date Range Term 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

July 1 – September 11 

September 12 – November 22 

November 23 – February 5 

February 6 – April 18 

April 19 – June 30 

Summer 1 

Fall  

Winter 

Spring 

Summer 2 

Based on ten-week minimum between payment periods, five payment periods maximum. 
 
 
PASSPORT STUDENT SUPPORT FUNDS PAYMENT REFUND POLICY SUMMARY 
Passport to Careers Student Support Funds (formerly called Incentive Grants) are provided to 
the postsecondary institution (by WSAC) or apprenticeship program (by a contracted third 
party) and are used for the recruitment and retention of Passport eligible students. 
 
Student Support Fund payments are currently valued at $500 per student per quarter or 300 
clock hours, or $750 per student per semester. 
 

Student Support Fund payment process (for postsecondary institutions only): 
1. Institution awards student scholarship in the portal. 
2. Institution requests scholarship funds from WSAC, WSAC processes scholarship 

payment through CSAW. 
3. Student Support Funds are automatically “posted” in the portal. 
4. WSAC processes the Student Support Fund payment after the close of quarterly 

WCG/CBS/PTC interim reporting and sends funds to the institution in bulk.  
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Student Support Fund refund policy (WSAC only): 
1. If the student does not enroll in or attend any classes, scholarship and Student Support 

Funds must be returned to WSAC.  
2. If the student enrolls, but does not attend, scholarship and Student Support Funds will 

need to be returned to WSAC.  

3. If the student enrolls and attends classes, but withdraws, does not make SAP, or 
discontinues attendance and the institution has done their due diligence to recruit and 
support the student, WSAC will not require Student Support Funds to be returned.  In 
these cases, the institution has upheld their agreement to participate through the 
Passport Addendum and has earned the Student Support Funds.   

Note:  Scholarship funds should be returned based on the state’s repayment calculation 
policy and scholarship payments to the student are subject to repayment.   
 
 

Student Support Fund repayment process (Institutions only): 
When a Passport student scholarship is returned in full, the institution should document the 
Student Support Fund returned to WSAC and provide the following payment information: 

1. Student name 

2. Year 

3. Term for the refund 

4. Type of funding (scholarship or incentive) 

 
Student Support Fund payment refunds need to be submitted to WSAC within the fiscal year 
that they were paid for.   
 
For example, if funds were paid in Fall 2020 and through the reconciliation process, the 
student scholarship portion was returned for non-enrollment, the Student Support Funds 
should also be returned at that same time and within the same fiscal year for that student.   
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CHAPTER 6 
CONDITIONS OF AWARD AND DIRECTIVES 

 
Forms used to Provide Required Notification to Students 
Prior to the first annual disbursement of state financial aid, institutions must inform 
students of the conditions associated with their state financial aid award(s) by providing 
them with the Washington State Aid – Conditions of Award below. 
 
Conditions of Award statements must be provided to students on paper or electronically.   
 
Emailed Conditions of Award statements must display the Conditions language, in its 
entirety, in the body of the email, unless the institution requires students to certify their 
acceptance by filing a signed form or otherwise verifying receipt of the Conditions language.  
Institutions must maintain documentation that the state Conditions of Award were provided 
to awarded students. 

 
WSAC strongly encourages institutions to inform students of their potential eligibility for 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) through the Department of Social and 
Health Services (DSHS). 

 
Adding a statement to award letters is one way institutions can inform students that they 
may be eligible for Basic Food benefits.  
 

Sample language you might consider incorporating into student communications:  
College students who receive the Washington College Grant may be eligible for Basic Food 
benefits in Washington. For more information about Basic Food assistance and how to 
apply: https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/community-services-offices/basic-food 

 
WSAC values institutional flexibility in best meeting our shared student disclosure 
obligations.  Institutions may propose alternative Conditions of Award language varying 
from the statement below during the annual participation renewal process.  Alternative 
Conditions language must still convey the points included in the statement below and will be 
evaluated for approval accordingly.    
 
Institutions may incorporate state Conditions of Award language into more comprehensive 
conditions statements that cover other forms of financial aid, subject to WSAC approval 
during renewal. 
 

  

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/community-services-offices/basic-food
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Conditions of Award Statement – Applies to Students at All Institutions Each Year 
__________________________________________ 

Washington State Aid – Conditions of Award 
 
By accepting state financial aid, you agree to the conditions listed below.  If you have 
questions or find that you cannot comply with these conditions, please contact your 
institution’s financial aid office. 

1. You must meet the requirements for Washington State residency.   
 

2. You do not owe a repayment to any state grant or scholarship nor are you in default on a 
state student loan. 
 

3. You must be enrolled in an eligible program and not be pursuing a degree in theology. 
 

4. If you hold a bachelor’s degree or the foreign equivalent, you are not eligible to receive 
state grant funds. 

 
5. If you do not attend or if you withdraw from your classes, you may owe a repayment of 

all or part of any state funds you have received.   
 

6. You must maintain the academic progress standards established by your institution in 
order to receive additional state aid.  

 
7. There could be other circumstances that would require a repayment or reduction in 

your current award amounts.  
 

8. You must meet all eligibility requirements for the state aid program(s) awarded. 
 

9. The offer of this financial assistance is subject to, and conditioned upon, the availability 
of funds.  Washington Student Achievement Council (WSAC) and the institution through 
which the grant, scholarship, or work study is awarded, reserve the right to withdraw, 
reduce, or modify the awards due to funding limitations or due to changes in 
circumstances which affect your eligibility for the program(s). 
 

NEW 
10. If I fail to cash my check containing state funds or pickup any remaining funds by the 

close of the academic year, the funds shall be returned to the program at WSAC and 
treated as funds declined by me. 

__________________________________________ 
 

The State of Washington is offering you financial assistance to help support your educational 
expenses.  Please visit www.opportunitypathways.wa.gov to receive more information about 
financial aid, scholarships, work study, and student loans.  
 
You may choose to voluntarily make financial contributions to WSAC in recognition of the 
assistance that you received.  All voluntary contributions will be used to provide financial 
assistance to other students.  Please contact finaid@wsac.wa.gov for more information. 
 

mailto:finaid@wsac.wa.gov
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Required Directive Form for Students at Private Institutions  
Private institutions must use the following WSAC Student Directive Form to record a 
student’s decision on where to apply their state financial aid payment(s) each term.   

The student’s financial aid payment can be deposited directly into a student’s account or 
disbursed in the form of a check based on their choice on the directive.  In addition, 
institutions: 

⧠ Must not coerce or influence the student’s choice on where to apply their 
financial aid payment. 

⧠ Will keep the directive in effect for the duration of the student’s continuous 
enrollment at the institution, excluding approved leaves of absence and summer 
terms.  A new directive is required if the student is not continuously enrolled. 

⧠ Must allow students to change their minds at any time, prior to disbursement, 
and follow their current directives at all times. 

⧠ Must remind students once a year that their current directive is still in place and 
that they may change it. 

 
The student must sign and date the directive.  The signature can be either a wet or an 
electronic signature. For electronic signatures, the institution must have assurances that only 
the student can access their signature page, likely through a portal that is name and password 
protected. 
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State of Washington 

Student Achievement Council 
STUDENT DIRECTIVE FOR DISBURSEMENT OF STATE AID 

Return this form to the NAME of Institution Financial Aid Office as soon as possible. 
 
Student Name (please print): ____________________________________ ID#: __________________ 
 
You have been awarded financial aid from the State of Washington.  Your designation and signature on 
this form will document your choice for funds to be applied directly into your student account or to be 
given to you in the form of a check.  A state grant or scholarship recipient has the following two choices: 

• Choosing to have the funds deposited to your student account permits the aid to be automatically 
credited toward expenses you may owe to the institution. This option allows faster processing of 
any refunds of financial aid proceeds that may be due you. 

• Choosing to have state financial aid funds given directly to you means that state student aid will 
not be automatically available to pay for tuition and fees. You are responsible for using the funds 
to pay for educational expenses including any expense you owe to the institution. 

 
Please choose one of these options: 

_________ I choose to have state aid funds applied directly to my student account and 
automatically credited toward expenses I owe NAME of Institution. 

OR 

_________ I wish to have state aid funds given directly to me (not credited to my student 
account). I understand that I am responsible for all outstanding balances on my 
student account at NAME of Institution. 

Your choice will stay in effect as long as you are enrolled at this institution.  However, you may 
change your directive for a future term by informing your Financial Aid Office in writing. 
 

            
Student Signature      Date 

 

Make sure you check one of the options above and return this form to: 

NAME of Institution  

Address 

Address 

Address 
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CHAPTER 7 
INFORMATION FOR INSTITUTIONS 

 
 
INSTITUTIONAL ELIGIBILITY 
To be eligible to participate in state aid programs an institution must: 

1. Be a public university, college, community or technical college operated by the state 
of Washington; be a private institution whose home campus is located in the state of 
Washington and who is accredited by a Washington Student Achievement Council 
(WSAC) approved accrediting association; or be a nonprofit institution recognized 
by the state of Washington (as provided in RCW 28B.77.240). 
 
Certain branch campuses, extensions, or facilities operating within the state of 
Washington, and affiliated with an institution operating in another state, may 
participate under certain circumstances.  Such facilities must be either: 

◽ A separately accredited institution; or 

◽ Operated as a nonprofit college or university delivering on-site classroom 
instruction to at least seven hundred full-time equivalent students for a 
minimum of 20 consecutive years within the state of Washington. 

2. Be approved by a national or regional accrediting association that is recognized by 
the council and the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education and in alignment 
with WAC 250-61-050. 

3. Participate in a fully certified status in the federal Title IV student financial aid 
programs including, at a minimum, the Federal Pell Grant program. Institutions not 
participating in a fully certified status will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis for 
continued participation and may have additional conditions imposed by the office in 
order to maintain their participation in state financial aid programs. 

4. Demonstrate a continuing administrative capability to administer financial aid 
programs. 

5. Sign the “Agreement to Participate” and have it endorsed by WSAC. 
 
 

AGREEMENT TO PARTICIPATE 
The Agreement to Participate documents an institution’s legal commitment to abide by all 
program statutes, rules, and guidelines. The agreement is designed for multiple years of use, 
typically for five years.   
 
Each year participating institutions submit or certify their student maintenance budgets, 
Conditions of Award statements and delivery methods, state aid repayment, satisfactory 
academic progress, and packaging policies as directed by WSAC for approval and renewal of 
participation in the following fiscal year.  Additional supporting documentation may also be 
required.   

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.77.240
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-61-050
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In addition, for-profit and newly admitted non-profit institutions are required to submit 
additional performance data including, but not limited to, their most recent federal composite 
score, graduation and placement rates as validated by the institution’s accreditor, federal 
Cohort Default Rates, current enrollment levels and tuition costs, as directed by WSAC. 
 
 
STUDENT MAINTENANCE BUDGETS 
Student budgets are reviewed to determine if the maintenance portion is within 10 percent of 
the Washington Financial Aid Association's (WFAA) maintenance budgets.  If the institution's 
student maintenance budgets vary from this standard by more than 10 percent, the institution 
must provide an explanation justifying the variance.  
 
 
STATE OF WASHINGTON CONDITIONS OF AWARD   
Prior to the first disbursement of state aid each year, institutions must 
inform state aid recipients of their responsibilities to the program(s) 
through a "State of Washington Conditions of Award" statement.   
Please refer to Chapter 6, Conditions of Award. 
 
Statements must include the Opportunity Pathways link - 
http://www.opportunitypathways.wa.gov and must be presented or delivered to the student 
via paper or electronic means.    
 
The statement does not have to be signed by the student.   
 
 
FINANCIAL LITERACY 
Per RCW 28B.76.502 institutions must take reasonable steps to ensure that each incoming 
student participates in a financial aid workshop including, but not limited to: 
 An explanation of the WCG program rules including Satisfactory Academic Progress 

(SAP), repayment rules, and usage limits. 
 Information on campus and private scholarships and work study opportunities 

including the application processes, and overview or student loan options, 
consequences of default and sample monthly repayment amounts. 

 Overview of personal finance  

 Average salaries for a wide range of jobs 

 Financial education  
 Contact information for local financial aid resources and the federal student aid 

Ombuds’ office. 
For full context please see RCW 28B.76.502 
 
  

Revised 
Please 
Review 

http://www.opportunitypathways.wa.gov/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28B.76.502
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28B.76.502
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REPAYMENT POLICY 
Schools must follow the state grant repayment policy as outlined in Chapter 5, Payments, 
Repayments, and Reporting.    
 
 
SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY   
Satisfactory academic progress policies may be specific to state aid recipients and must meet 
the provisions of WAC 250-21-010(16), and the Satisfactory Academic Progress Chapter 
(Chapter 3) of this manual. 

 
An institution may submit an alternative approach to evaluating academic progress that 
includes a plan for improved student retention and comparison data to ensure state funds are 
used efficiently.  WSAC will initially determine whether to approve the alternative policy, then 
evaluate it over a specified timeframe, then determine whether the policy may continue to be 
approved. 
 
 
PACKAGING POLICIES 
Policies should reflect priorities for awarding Washington College Grant, College Bound 
Scholarship, Passport to College Promise Scholarship and State Work Study funds (if 
applicable).   
 
Policies must ensure that legislatively directed awarding policies are reflected, such as 
ensuring that each WCG eligible student receives the maximum award for which they are 
eligible for all eligible terms and ensuring that WASFA applicants are treated equitably. 
Additionally, policies must reflect that institutional gift equity policies do not apply to WCG 
or CBS programs.   
 
 
NOTIFICATIONS 
WSAC must be notified within thirty days of material changes affecting the institution —
including additional locations of the institution as applicable that may impact students 
eligible for state aid. 
 
Material changes that must be reported to WSAC within thirty days include, but are not 
limited to: 

• Participation status in Federal Title IV student financial aid programs 
• Locations of main and/or branch campuses and other instructional sites 
• Accreditation status 
• Contact information for key financial aid professionals 
• Institutional ownership 
• Third-party servicers 

 
Any findings (including preliminary ones) or discoveries resulting from an internal or 
external program review or audit shall be sent directly to WSAC. 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-20-021
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PROGRAM AUDITS AND RECORDS RETENTION 
WSAC staff shall review institutional administrative practices to verify compliance with rules, 
regulations, and program guidelines.   As outlined in the rules, the burden of proof for a grant 
recipient's eligibility lies with the institution.   
 
Each participating institution must maintain intact and accessible records of student's 
application, receipt, and expenditure of state aid funds.  This includes all accounting records, as 
well as the original and supporting documents verifying how the funds were spent. 
 
The institution must be able to reconstruct the calculations and rationale for the student's 
eligibility and award, if requested by WSAC.  An institution may keep records electronically.   
 
If the institution keeps its records electronically, it must maintain source documents supporting 
the electronic data in either hard copy, imaging software or on microfilm. 
 
If a program review or audit reveals that funds were improperly awarded and disbursed as a 
result of institutional error or failure to follow the appropriate rules and guidelines, the 
institution must repay the amount of the affected state aid funds to WSAC.  The burden for 
repayment is on the institution, not the student. 
 
 

Records Retention 
Records relating to the state aid programs must be maintained in accordance with RCW 40.14.  
This law requires all documentation substantiating a student's eligibility for, and receipt of, 
state aid be maintained for six years in accordance with the Washington State Record Retention 
Schedule.  
 
Financial Aid Administrators at public institutions must coordinate their records retention plan 
and schedule with their institution's records officer.  

 
  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=40.14&full=true
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WASHINGTON STATE AID PROGRAMS 
PARTICIPATING INSTITUTION CODES 2020-21 

1010    University of Washington 
1020  *Washington State University 
 
 
2030    Central Washington University 
2040    Eastern Washington University  
2050    The Evergreen State College 
2060    Western Washington University  
 
 
 
3080    Antioch University 
3090    Bastyr University 
3100  *Cornish Institute 
3230    City University of Seattle 
3310  *DigiPen Institute of Technology 
3120  *Gonzaga University 
3110  *Heritage University  
3130  *Northwest University 
3240  *Northwest College of Art 
3140  *Pacific Lutheran University 
3150 *Saint Martin’s University  
6889   Seattle Film Institute 
3160    Seattle Pacific University 
3170    Seattle University  
3190  *University of Puget Sound  
3200    Walla Walla University 
3210  *Whitman College  
3220  *Whitworth University 
3500  *Western Governors University - WA 
 
 
4300    Bellevue College 
4310    Big Bend Community College 
4580    Cascadia College  
4320    Centralia College 
4330    Clark College 
4340    Columbia Basin College  
4350    Edmonds Community College 
4360    Everett Community College 
4380    Grays Harbor College 
4390    Green River College    
4400    Highline College    
4410    Lower Columbia College    
4460    North Seattle College 
4570    Northwest Indian College 

4430   Olympic College 
4440   Peninsula College 
4370   Pierce College 
4450   Seattle Central College 
4480   Shoreline Community College 
4490   Skagit Valley College  
4420   South Puget Sound Community College 
4470   South Seattle College 
4500   Spokane Community College 
4510   Spokane Falls Community College 
4520   Tacoma Community College 
4530   Walla Walla Community College 
4540   Wenatchee Valley College 
4550   Whatcom Community College 
4560   Yakima Valley College  
 
 
5700   Bates Technical College 
5710   Bellingham Technical College 
5720   Clover Park Technical College 
5730   Lake Washington Institute of Technology 
5740   Renton Technical College 
 
 
6740 *Divers Institute of Technology 
6750   International Air & Hospitality Academy 
6780 *Gene Juarez Academy 
6840   Perry Technical Institute 
6884   Stylemasters College of Hair Design 
6887   Evergreen Beauty College 
6890 *Paul Mitchell School of Richland 
6970   Glen Dow Academy 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 *Semester payment institutions 
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CHAPTER 8 
LAWS AND AGENCY RULES 

 
 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) — A codification of current statutes (laws enacted 
and amended by the Legislature). 
 
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) — The administrative rules and regulations by 
which state agencies operate to execute the Laws enacted by the Legislature. 
 
Please Note:  WSAC completed the formal rule making process during 2019-20, to update 
the following WAC based on the 2019-2020 session law.  The effective date of the new WAC 
is June 29, 2020. 

 
 

CHAPTER 28B.92 RCW 
 

STATE STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS 
Sections 
28B.92.005 Financial aid application due dates and information—Notification. 

28B.92.030 Definitions. 

28B.92.040 Guidelines in performance of duties. 

28B.92.060 State need grant awards. 

28B.92.065 Washington college grant program appropriations reduction. 

28B.92.070 Persian Gulf veterans—Limited application of RCW 28B.92.060. 

28B.92.085 Part-time students—Review of financial aid policies and procedures. 

28B.92.086 Dual credit programs—Review of financial aid policies and programs. 

28B.92.090 Aid granted without regard to applicant's race, creed, color, religion, sex, or ancestry. 

28B.92.100 Theology student denied aid. 

28B.92.105 Supplemental nutrition assistance program eligibility notification. 

28B.92.110 Application of award. 

28B.92.120 Office to determine how funds disbursed. 

28B.92.130 Grants, gifts, bequests, and devises of property. 

28B.92.140 State educational trust fund—Deposits—Expenditures. 

28B.92.150 Rules. 

28B.92.200 Washington college grant program. 

28B.92.205 Washington college grant program—Financial need. 

28B.92.210 Washington college grant program—Caseload forecast. 

28B.92.220 Postsecondary institution student-level data—Education data center. 

NOTES:  Financial aid counseling curriculum for institutions with state need grant recipients—Financial 
education workshops: RCW 28B.76.502 
 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.005
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.030
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.040
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.060
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.065
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.070
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.060
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.085
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.086
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.090
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.105
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.110
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.120
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.130
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.140
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.150
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.200
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.205
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.210
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.92.220
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CHAPTER 250-21 WAC 
 

The guidance in this manual reflects the  program rules for the Washington 
Administrative Code 250-21 – Washington College Grant. 

 
STATE STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAM—WASHINGTON COLLEGE GRANT  
WAC Sections 

250-21-010    Program definitions 

250-21-11    Student eligibility 

250-21-021    Institutions seeking participation 

250-21-026    Participating institutions 

250-21-031    Institutional administrative requirements 

250-21-041    Award procedure 

360-21-051    Institutional fund management requirements 

250-21-061    Program administration and audits 

250-21-071    Student complaint process 

250-21-081    Suspension or termination of institutional participation 

250-21-091    Appeal process 

250-21-100    Apprentice eligibility 

250-21-121    Apprenticeship programs seeking participation 

250-21-126    Participating apprenticeship programs 

250-21-131    Apprenticeship program administrative requirements 

250-21-141    Award procedure 

250-21-151    Program fund management requirements 

250-21-161    Program administration and audits 

250-21-171    Apprentice complaint process 

250-21-181    Suspension or termination of program participation 

250-21-191    Appeal process 

  

 

 

 

 

  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-011
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-021
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-026
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-031
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-041
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-051
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-061
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-071
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-081
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-091
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-100
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-121
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-126
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-131
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-141
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-151
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-161
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-171
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-181
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-191
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CHAPTER 250-18 WAC 
 
RESIDENCY STATUS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION 

WAC Sections  

250-18-010 Purpose and applicability. 

250-18-015 Definitions. 

250-18-020 Student classification. 

250-18-025 Classification procedure. 

250-18-030 Establishment of a domicile. 

250-18-035 Evidence of financial dependence or independence. 

250-18-045 Administration of residency status. 

250-18-050 Appeals process. 

250-18-055 Recovery of fees for improper classification of residency. 

250-18-060 Exemptions from nonresident status. 
  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-015
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-025
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-030
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-035
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-045
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-050
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-055
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-18-060
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CHAPTER 28B.118 RCW 
 

COLLEGE BOUND SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM 

Sections 

28B.118.005 Intent—Finding. 

28B.118.010 Program design and student eligibility. 

28B.118.020 Duties of the office of the superintendent of public instruction. 

28B.118.030 Duty of school districts—Notification. 

28B.118.040 Duties of the office of student financial assistance. 

28B.118.050 Grants, gifts, bequests, and devises. 

28B.118.060 Rules. 

28B.118.075 Caseload estimate. 

28B.118.080 Advising resources—Identification of officials, resources, programs, and students. 

28B.118.090 Transmitting data to the education data center. 

   

 

CHAPTER 250-84 WAC 
 
COLLEGE BOUND SCHOLARSHIP RULES 

WAC Sections 

250-84-010 Purpose. 

250-84-020 Definitions. 

250-84-030 Eligible applicant. 

250-84-040 Program promotion to eligible students. 

250-84-050 Tracking of scholars. 

250-84-060 Eligibility for receipt of college bound scholarships. 

250-84-070 Scholarship award. 

250-84-080 Request for review and student complaints 

250-84-090 Grant disbursement to institutions. 

250-84-100 Program administration and audits. 

 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.005
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.030
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.040
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.050
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.060
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.075
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.080
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.118.090
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-010
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-030
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-040
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-050
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-060
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-070
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-080
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-090
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-84-100
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APPENDIX 

Median Family Income (MFI) Levels for 2020-21 Washington College Grant 
and College Bound Scholarship Program Eligibility 

The above MFI chart was prepared  by the Washington Student Achievement Council (WSAC) from U.S. 
Department of Commerce (Census Bureau) data published on-line by the U.S. Department of Health & 
Human Services, Office of Community Services website as transmittal number LIHEAP-IM-2019-02, dated 
August 7, 2019, from the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP). It was derived from five-
year estimates from the 2013 through 2017 American Community Surveys (ACSes). All figures have been 
rounded to the nearest $500 income range.        
Note:  A CBS Scholar could be eligible for College Bound Scholarship funding for some years, and not eligible for 
others, if the family’s MFI level exceeded 65 percent in one or more years.   

 

 

Family 
Size 55% 60% 

65%                           
(CBS 

Maximum) 

70%                           
(WCG only) 

75% 
(WCG 
only) 

100% 
(WCG only 
Maximum) 

1 $27,500  $30,000  $32,500  $35,000  $38,000  $50,500  
2 $36,000  $39,500  $43,000  $46,000  $49,500  $66,000  

3 $44,500  $49,000  $53,000  $57,000  $61,000  $81,500  

4 $53,000  $58,000  $63,000  $68,000  $72,500  $97,000  
5 $62,000  $67,500  $73,000  $78,500  $84,000  $112,500  

6 $70,500  $76,500  $83,000  $89,500  $96,000  $128,000  
7 $72,000  $78,500  $85,000  $91,500  $98,000  $130,500  
8 $73,500  $80,000  $87,000  $93,500  $100,000  $133,500  

9 $75,000  $82,000  $88,500  $95,500  $102,500  $136,500  
10 $76,500  $83,500  $90,500  $97,500  $104,500  $139,500  
11 $78,500  $85,500  $92,500  $99,500  $106,500  $142,500  

12 $80,000  $87,000  $94,500  $101,500  $109,000  $145,000  
13 $81,500  $89,000  $96,500  $103,500  $111,000  $148,000  
14 $83,000  $90,500  $98,000  $105,500  $113,500  $151,000  

15 $84,500  $92,500  $100,000  $107,500  $115,500  $154,000  
16 $86,500  $94,000  $102,000  $110,000  $117,500  $157,000  
17 $88,000  $96,000  $104,000  $112,000  $120,000  $159,500  

18 $89,500  $97,500  $105,500  $114,000  $122,000  $162,500  

19 $91,000  $99,500  $107,500  $116,000  $124,000  $165,500  
20 $92,500  $101,000  $109,500  $118,000  $126,500  $168,500  
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WCG and CBS Award Amounts for 3 Quarters/2 Semesters for Students 
Enrolled Full-Time for All Terms 
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Maximum Washington College Grant Awards for Students  
Enrolled Full-Time for All Terms 

*Eligible students will receive more than these amounts if enrolled for more than 3 quarters or 2 semesters. 

Please note:  Annual awards may not be exceeded for 3 quarter/2 semester enrollments. If annual award 
amounts do not divide evenly, you must round up/down accordingly to ensure you do not exceed the 
annual limit. 
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