

2024-25

Frequently Asked Questions for Students and Families



The <u>College Bound</u> program was established by the Washington State Legislature in 2007 and is administered by the <u>Washington Student Achievement Council</u>.

Table of Contents

College Bound Program FAQs

COLL	EGE BOUND BASICS	3
1.	What are the College Bound requirements?	_ 3
2.	What are the income requirements to receive College Bound?	_ 3
3.	How much College Bound funding can students receive?	_ 4
4.	Where can students use College Bound funds?	_ 5
5.	What should homeschool families know?	_ 5
COLL	EGE BOUND ENROLLMENT	6
6.	How will a student know if they are enrolled in College Bound?	_ 6
7.	How will colleges know students have a complete College Bound application?	_ 6
8. Co	My student utilizes Free and Reduced-Price Lunch services at their school. How do we apply illege Bound?	
ACCE	ESSING COLLEGE BOUND	7
9.	How many years can students receive College Bound?	_ 7
10	. How do students make sure they keep receiving College Bound once they're in college?	_ 7
11.	. Do College Bound funds need to be paid back?	_ 7
12	. Can Running Start students access their College Bound funds?	_ 7
13	. Can students attend college part-time?	_ 8
14 rec	. Do students lose College Bound funding if their family's income is slightly higher than the quirement?	_ 8
FINA	NCIAL AID	8
15. W/	. What else must students do after submitting their financial aid application (FAFSA or ASFA)?	_ 8
16	. Where can students receive help if they don't understand their Award Letter?	_ 8
17	. What if the high school does not provide grades or GPAs?	_ 8

Updated: August 2024

COLLEGE BOUND BASICS

1. What are the College Bound requirements?

Students must meet eligibility requirements twice: 1.) when enrolling into College Bound and 2.) when accessing their College Bound funds. **Different income charts apply for each eligibility requirement and are updated annually.**

Students must meet our <u>sign-up requirements</u> during this period to qualify for automatic enrollment. **Note:** Only public school students qualify for auto-enrollment, but our program staff can create an application for eligible private, homeschooled, and foster youth students who do not qualify for auto-enrollment. For assistance, contact us at <u>collegebound@wsac.wa.gov</u> or 888.5350747, Option 1.

<u>To access their College Bound funds</u>, students must fulfill the <u>College Bound Pledge</u> and meet all <u>eligibility requirements</u>.

2. What are the income requirements to receive College Bound?

Per the College Bound statute, income reported on students' financial aid applications must be less than 65 percent of the median family income (MFI). For more information, please review the image below. **Keep in mind that this number changes annually**.

Note: Dependent students' income is not included when determining College Bound eligibility. Income eligibility is based on annual gross income plus any non-taxable income. Please contact the student's financial aid office or visit <u>studentaid.gov</u> for additional questions.

2024-25 Median Family Income Chart				
Household size	Annual Income*			
1	\$40,500			
2	\$53,000			
3	\$65,500			
4	\$78,500			
5	\$91,000			
6	\$103,000			
7	\$105,500			
8	\$108,000			

*Household income must be less than or equal to this amount. Note: A student could be eligible for College Bound funding for some years, and not eligible for others, if the family's MFI level exceeded 65 percent in one or more years.

3. How much College Bound funding can students receive?

The specific amount labeled "College Bound" on the financial aid package will look different at each college and for each student. Still, <u>the three specific costs</u> that the College Bound is based on will be covered by state financial aid, such as College Bound or the <u>Washington College Grant</u> (WA Grant). **Note**: College Bound might not cover *all* college expenses.

A student's College Bound amount is determined after the WA Grant and other state aid or scholarships have been awarded. When a student's *need* (award amount) has been met with other state aid/scholarships, the student may receive a reduced or no College Bound award because their commitment of state funding has been met by the WA Grant rather than College Bound.

Colleges and universities determine a student's College Bound *need* (or award amount). Review our handout to learn more about **the College Bound and WA Grant Coordination (available soon)**.

The image below shows the **2024-25 Maximum College Bound Award Amounts when combined with the Washington College Grant**.

2024-25 Maximum CB Award Amounts when Combined with the <u>Washington College Grant</u> for 3 Quarters/2 Semesters						
Institut	Award					
Public Research	University of Washington	\$12,878				
Public Resear	Washington State University	\$12,387				
ve	Western Washington University	\$8,732				
ensi	Central Washington University	\$8,585				
oublic Comprehensive	The Evergreen State College	\$8,597				
ublic Compr	Eastern Washington University	\$8,023				
Pu Co	CTC Applied Bachelor's	\$8,110				
Private F	Private Four-year Colleges & Universities					
WGU-Wa	\$7,540					
Public Co	\$5,263					
Private C	\$5,263					

4. Where can students use College Bound funds?

There are over <u>65 eligible institutions</u> in Washington where students may use their College Bound funds. They include public community or technical colleges, public four-year institutions, approved independent colleges or universities, and private career colleges or universities.

Students can also use College Bound funds for online classes, summer classes, or study abroad programs at participating institutions.

Reminder: if a student attends an eligible private college or university, the tuition may only be covered at public tuition rates.

5. What should homeschool families know?

Since we do not automatically receive homeschooled students' transcript information the way we do with public school students, confirming a student has graduated with a 2.0 GPA involves submitting additional materials.

All materials can be submitted to <u>collegebound@wsac.wa.gov</u>.

- 1.) Homeschool students must provide a final high school transcript containing their graduation or completion date and final cumulative GPA.
- 2.) A signed copy of the Letter of Intent to Home School form.
- 3.) Home-schooled students must also verify their readiness by providing one of the following three methods:
- A standardized test (PSAT, SAT, Plan, ACT, or the Smarter Balanced Assessment test).
- A college placement exam such as Accuplacer.
- Complete at least 12 academic college credits or credits specific to their program with a 2.0 GPA or higher.

For more information, please visit our <u>College Bound website</u>.

COLLEGE BOUND ENROLLMENT

6. How will a student know if they are enrolled in College Bound?

A student will receive an official College Bound certificate once they are (automatically) enrolled and we have a current mailing address on file. Our certificate is not needed to receive funding, nor does it guarantee a student will receive funds. Eligibility requirements must be met.

Students and parents can also confirm College Bound enrollment by contacting their school staff. School staff has access to our College Bound Portal, which provides an up-to-date list of current College Bound students at their school.

Our program staff can also confirm a student's enrollment!

7. How will colleges know students have a complete College Bound application?

This will happen automatically. Our participating schools can access WSAC's secure portal to determine if students are College Bound. Students must list every school they are considering on the financial aid application.

Students who forget to <u>list a school</u> can log in at <u>studentaid.gov</u> and add the information. Students completing the WASFA can call 888-535-0747 Option 2 or email <u>wasfa@wsac.wa.gov</u> for assistance.

8. My student utilizes Free and Reduced-Price Lunch services at their school. How do we apply for College Bound?

There is no public application form for College Bound enrollment. Students who *use* the Free and Reduced-Price Lunch (FRPL) services at their school are not automatically enrolled in College Bound; they *must be eligible for the FRPL*. Only students who meet the <u>sign-up requirements</u> are automatically enrolled in College Bound.

If students are homeschooled, attend a private middle school, or are in another type of foster care and are not eligible for FRPL, our <u>program staff</u> can create an application for them.

If a student does qualify for automatic enrollment, you can confirm their enrollment by <u>emailing College</u> <u>Bound</u> the student's first/last name and birthdate.

ACCESSING COLLEGE BOUND

9. How many years can students receive College Bound?

Beginning the 2024-25 academic year, **College Bound eligibility may extend up to six years of funding** (18 full-time quarters/12 full-time semesters) **or until they earn their** <u>first bachelor's degree</u>; whichever comes first.

This recent change transforms College Bound into a guaranteed commitment of state funding for eligible students who meet the college enrollment deadline by enrolling within one year after high school graduation. Please know:

- A student does not need to enroll in an eligible institution to meet the enrollment deadline.
- The enrollment deadline can be met through Running Start, College in the High School, or an out-of-state/country school.
- College Bound funding can only be applied if the student attends or transfers to an <u>eligible</u> <u>college</u>.

10. How do students make sure they keep receiving College Bound once they're in college?

Students must maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as determined by their college's financial aid office- this varies among schools but is typically a 2.0 GPA.

College Bound is a renewable commitment of state financial aid, but it is <u>not guaranteed</u> for every year they continue their education. Since College Bound is a need-based program, a student's financial aid application must be reviewed annually by the college to confirm they fall within the required income range.

11. Do College Bound funds need to be paid back?

College Bound is a Washington State grant and does not have to be paid back under normal circumstances. However, if students do not maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) or withdraw from classes beyond the allowable withdrawal date as determined by the college, they may have to repay the College Bound funds. If the student is in financial aid repayment to their college, they may also have to <u>repay the College Bound funds</u>.

Students should contact their college or university to confirm repayment policies.

12. Can Running Start students access their College Bound funds?

Students graduating from high school with college credits or an associate degree may be eligible for College Bound funding.

However, students will not receive College Bound funding for Running Start classes without meeting the high school graduation requirement.

13. Can students attend college part-time?

Yes. This is one reason colleges and universities make the final determination (Question 3) when awarding College Bound amounts. Students' award amounts are adjusted based on their enrollment status. Other factors could include the type of institution (private, public, technical school), additional financial aid awarded, and family income.

14. Do students lose College Bound funding if their family's income is slightly higher than the requirement?

Income requirements must be met for students to receive College Bound funding.

Most College Bound-eligible students could qualify for the Washington College Grant (WA Grant). The WA Grant has a higher income threshold and gives eligible people more money for more types of education or training beyond high school. To see if you're eligible or to learn more information, please visit wsac.wa.gov/wcg.

FINANCIAL AID

15. What else must students do after submitting their financial aid application (FAFSA or WASFA)?

Nothing. The participating WA college(s) students apply to will see that they have a College Bound application. The school(s) will use the information on the financial aid application to identify and verify that students are College Bound. College Bound funds will then be automatically included in <u>the financial aid package</u> if all eligibility requirements are met.

The financial aid office at the students' school of interest is the best resource for questions about their financial aid package, College Bound funds, or specific award amounts.

The financial aid office may require more financial aid paperwork before the student can receive funding. Students can contact the financial aid office at their college to see what is needed. Be sure to complete all paperwork before any deadlines the college has.

16. Where can students receive help if they don't understand their Award Letter?

The <u>Understanding Your Award Letter worksheet</u> is a tool for analyzing and comparing financial aid award letters. As students decide which college they will attend, comparing award letters is recommended. Use our Key Components to Understanding Your Award Letter worksheet for guidance.

Students should contact the financial aid office at their college if they have more questions—they are the experts!

More information can be found in our <u>digital College and Career Knowledge booklet</u>. Additional languages are available <u>here</u>.