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2021-22 ACADEMIC YEAR UPDATES & REMINDERS

WELCOME to the Washington College Grant and College Bound Scholarship
Program Manual for Financial Aid Administrators.

The guidance in this manual the reflects program rules for the Washington Administrative Code,
WAC 250-21 - Washington College Grant, which were made available in Washington State
Register 20-06-052. These rules became effective on June 29, 2020, and apply to the 2021-22
award year.

To search for a specific topic or key word, press “Ctrl-F” on your keyboard, then type in the word
or topic you are looking for. This will direct you to all occurrences located within the manual.

MANUAL UPDATES
Program Manual Revisions (Information will be added each time there is an update)
Date Chapter/Section Topic/Reason
6/16/2021 Chapter 1 pg. 18 CBS appeals clarification
8/17/2021 Reminders pg. iv Unclaimed Property
12/08/2021 Title Page Updated staff contacts
12/29/2021 Chapter 5 Repayments Updated receivables less than $50

NEW FOR 2021-22:
¢ Residency Requirement Change - Residency Affidavit

E2SSB 5194, modified residency requirements for undocumented students, the HB 1079
category of resident student, which allows individuals to qualify for residency for the
purpose of in-state tuition rates and state financial aid programs, is expanded.

To qualify, the individual needs to have a high school diploma or equivalent, and have lived
in Washington for at least one year before being admitted to an institution of higher
education. Students will need to complete the residency affidavit (previously referred to as
the “1079” requirement) as part of the WASFA.

Subscribe to WSAC’s Residency Listserv:
https://lists.ctc.edu/mailman/options/ro lists.ctc.edu

College Bound Scholarship Auto-Enroll

ESSB 5321: Effective retroactively to the 2019-20 academic year, all free-and-reduced-price
lunch eligible 7th, 8th, and newly eligible 9th graders will be auto-enrolled in the College
Bound Scholarship. WSAC will work with the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
(OSPI) to auto-enroll eligible students and notify them of their eligibility and Pledge
requirements.


http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2020/06/20-06-052.htm
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2020/06/20-06-052.htm
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Flists.ctc.edu%2Fmailman%2Foptions%2Fro_lists.ctc.edu&data=04%7C01%7CGabrieleW%40wsac.wa.gov%7C9681a8b2df1140707ee308d8e293a552%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C637508471059006544%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=Wpd%2FwiXMs7r9mzwXljCoKfR1GosXnFx8J3KKFUmR4Ro%3D&reserved=0

REMINDERS

¢ WCG Apprenticeship

The Washington College Grant (WCG) expanded to include approved apprenticeship
programs under chapter 49.04 RCW starting in the 2020-21 academic year. This expands
apprenticeships outside of traditional academic programs. For additional information
please visit https://wsac.wa.gov/apprenticeship-program-providers.

¢ College Bound Scholarship Eligibility Extended

College Bound Scholarship (CBS) eligible students, whose family income exceeds 65 percent
of the state Median Family Income (MFI) up to 100 percent MF], are eligible for the
Washington College Grant, and shall be awarded the maximum WCG for which the student
is eligible (E2SHB 1311, Section 4(1)(a)).

¢ Repayment Checker

The “Repayment Checker” is a new tool for Institutions to quickly identify students who are
in repayment. Edits for students who are in repayment will need to be addressed at the
time files are initially loaded into CSAW. Continue to use the Archive for determining
student Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER).

¢ No Longer Reporting Students As Unserved

With guaranteed funding for all students up to 100 percent MFI, there will be no unserved
students.

¢ Funding Sources

Every eligible CBS Scholar must first receive a maximum WCG award before being
considered for CBS funding. The CBS amount is determined after WCG and any other state
grant or scholarship aid has been awarded.

e WCG and CBS awards come directly from WSAC and there are no allocations made to
institutions.

¢ Requesting Funds

Per WAC 250-21-051-3, institutions should submit anticipated awards and payment
requests for eligible students once identified. Institutional payment requests may be made
any time of the academic year and are encouraged to be at least monthly.

¢ Accurate Reporting

Ensure that all data on your Interim Reports are accurate. Correct or update changes to
student enrollment as they occur. This data is critical to forecast program funding costs.
Do not report students who were not eligible for aid (didn’t meet SAP, didn’t complete
financial aid paperwork, pending residency, etc.)
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https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.04
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1311-S2.SL.pdf?q=20200420100312

¢ College Bound Scholarships and/or Washington College Grant for All Terms of
Enrollment, Including Summer(s)

Ensure that 100 percent of eligible CBS Scholars and/or WCG eligible students are awarded
full Washington College Grant and/or College Bound Scholarship for all periods of
enrollment, including summer(s).

See Calculating Awards (Chapter 2) to review the information on how to award and report
Summer 1 (“header” institutions) awards versus Summer 2 (“trailer” institutions) awards.

No Summer 2 CBS and/or WCG awards should be made to students whose files are
complete after August 1. Contact WSAC if you later need to adjust your final Interim
Report.

+ Expanded Use of Applied Baccalaureate Designation in CSAW

In recent years, the Applied Baccalaureate designation could be used by any two-year
college that primarily offered associate degrees, but also was approved to and offered any
type of bachelor’s degrees, including applied bachelor's degrees.

The increased award amounts at the Applied Baccalaureate level only apply to students at
the public community and technical colleges. Students enrolled in a mixture of upper- and
lower-division courses at two-year colleges may not receive an award in excess of assessed
tuition, service and activity fees.

Colleges are encouraged to use the calculator provided by the State Board for Community
and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) to calculate correct tuition and award amounts. You may
experience an edit when requesting payments or completing interim reports that you will
need to override, explaining that it is a BAS student enrolled in upper and lower division
coursework.

The Baccalaureate Tuition Calculator provided by the SBCTC is located at:
https://www.sbctc.edu/colleges-staff/collegeaccess /baccalaureate-tuition-calculator.aspx

¢ Students Needing Repayment Status Information (Chapter 5)

WSAC is using a billing service for repayments. Students with repayments wanting
information about the status of their repayments should be instructed to call our
contracted billing service, University Accounting Services (UAS), at 1-844-870-8701.

¢ Washington Opportunity Scholarship & College Bound Scholarship (Chapter 2)

Washington State Opportunity Scholarship (WSOS) is not to be considered state aid when
determining the College Bound Scholarship (CBS) state aid award commitment.

For a full list of state programs that must be subtracted from the total maximum CBS
amount see Chapter 2.
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Unclaimed Property

If a student fails to cash their WCG check or pickup any remaining funds by the close of the
academic year, the funds shall be returned to the program at WSAC and treated as funds
declined by the student. These funds shall no longer be referred to the state as unclaimed

property.

Second Associate Degrees

The second associate degree restriction was eliminated in 2019-20. Please note that
satisfactory academic progress and the maximum usage limit of five full time years of
eligibility (15 quarters, 10 semesters, or the equivalent) remains unchanged for
Washington College Grant. College Bound Scholarship recipients have a maximum usage
limit of four full time years (12 quarters, 8 semesters, or the equivalent) of eligibility.

Cost of Attendance (COA) and Tuition Waivers (Chapter 2)

A student receiving WCG or CBS must have the full assessed tuition amount included in the
COA and the value of the waiver reported for each student in the Unit Record Report. More
information is available in Chapter 2.

Information for Students :

The ReadySetGrad website is being phased out. Users will be automatically redirected as
webpages are migrated to the WSAC site.

O This is the page students will land on if they click on the link in the Washington State
Aid Conditions of Award (Chapter 6) after Nov 2021: https://wsac.wa.gov/apply

O For specific information on the Washington College Grant, visit:
https://wsac.wa.gov/wcg

O For specific information on the College Bound Scholarship, visit:
https://wsac.wa.gov/college-bound
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WASHINGTON COLLEGE GRANT AND COLLEGE BOUND SCHOLARSHIP

HISTORY AND OPERATION

State Need Grant (SNG) program was established.

Legislative intent noted to offset tuition/fees for low-income students.

= For every dollar increase in tuition, 24 cents in aid provided, above previous levels.

= Reflected the portion of undergraduates on aid at that time.

= Policy inferred that the state needs to “give back” to needy students when increasing tuition.
= Students were nominated, then ranked together according to need.

= Grants were one-third of the difference between budget costs and family contribution.

For-profit institution participation was authorized.

Grant amounts changed from flat grant to variable in order to reflect Cost of Attendance
differences supporting student choice.

Part-time students authorized.

A “fair share” fund distribution model was adopted creating campus “reserve funds” based on
percentage of campus-eligible students divided by all eligible students.

Revised the eligibility and cost model to use MFI as a result of change in federal needs analysis —
50 percent MF| used initially.

MFl increased to 65 percent via budget process.
MFI decreased to 40 percent via budget process.
Award amounts based on public tuition rates.

MFl increased to 55 percent via budget process.
MFl increased to 65 percent via budget process.
Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot with 10 campuses.
Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot expanded to all.

Legislature established the College Bound Scholarship Program, allowing eligible 7t and 8t
graders to sign up to receive scholarship support in college.

= Maximum MFI for SNG increased to 70 percent.
= Maximum MFI level for CBS established at 65 percent.

SNG MFI ranges expanded from three to five categories for pro-rated awards via budget process.
SNG Awards for new students attending for-profit institutions reduced by half.

SNG Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot extended two years through the budget with the addition
of a required outcomes study.

The first College Bound Scholarship students receive funding.
Financial aid counseling curriculum for institutions with SNG recipients per SSB6121

The Legislature enacted the REAL Hope Act, granting SNG eligibility determination for students
who meet RCW 28B.15.012(2)(e) residency requirements, often referred to as “1079”
requirements. This includes non-U.S. citizens, including undocumented students.

SNG Awards for students attending for-profit institutions restored to 100% level.
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2015:

2017:

2018:

2019:

2020:

2021:

The Legislature required that all eligible CBS Scholars be awarded maximum SNG awards.

= The State Attorney General's Office indicated that students with Deferred Action for
Childhood Arrival (DACA) status may qualify for in-state tuition under RCW
28B.15.012(2)(a)-(r), may meet the residency requirements for State Need Grant under
RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e), and may meet the residency requirements for College Bound
Scholarship under RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(d).

=SNG eligibility for less-than-half-time enrollment became permanent.

= The Legislature reduced tuition for the 2015-16 year at public colleges through the
biennium, while holding students attending private institutions harmless from reduced
awards, keeping state aid award amounts the same at private institutions.

Legislature enacted separate award categories for 4-year for-profit and 4-year non-profit
institutions.

Residency requirements were aligned for SNG and CBS. Students may meet residency
requirements under RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e) for both programs. This permits CBS scholars to
meet residency requirements using the “1079” standard that has been in place for WCG since
2014. Also permits residency to be determined using the DACA standard (see 2015) even if
DACA is expired.

Washington College Grant (WCG) program established, replacing the State Need Grant (SNG)
= Award amounts defined in statute for all sectors
= (CBS students that meet WCG eligibility given WCG priority in statute.

= CBS sign-up is extended to 9th grade students who qualify for free or reduced-price
lunch who were previously ineligible during the 7th & 8th Grade.

= Self-help requirement removed.
= Second associate degree restriction removed. Dependent care allowance eliminated.

WCG guaranteed funding for all eligible students in statute.
= Award amounts defined in statute
= Increased eligibility threshold from 70 percent MFI to 100 percent MFI.
Increased maximum awards up to 55 percent MFI
Expands to include apprenticeship programs
WCG WAC 250-21 created/repeal of SNG WAC 250-20

Residency requirement changed RCW 28B.15.012 (e) to living in WA for 1 year
prior to being admitted in college. Previously referred to as the “1079” Requirement.
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WCG & CBS REPORT AND FUNDING REQUEST TIMELINE

June 1, 2021

July 10, 2021

August 2021

October 1, 2021

October 5, 2021
November 8, 2021
February 14, 2022
May 9, 2022
May/June 2022
June 30, 2022

July 11, 2022

Renewal materials due for institutions to apply for recertification of
their “Institutional Agreement to Participate.”

Final Year End Interim Reports (Reconciliation) due for the 2020-21
academic year.

2020-21 Unit Record Report training webinars.

Washington Application for State Financial Aid (WASFA) available
for the 2022-23 academic year.

2020-21 Unit Record Report due.

Fall Interim Reports are due.

Winter Interim Reports are due.

Spring Interim Reports are due.

Annual Workshops - state financial aid training and updates.
Final date that 2021-22 WASFA form may be processed.

Final Year End Interim Reports (Reconciliation) due; final date to
request WCG Funds.
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CHAPTER 1
WASHINGTON COLLEGE GRANT AND COLLEGE BOUND SCHOLARSHIP
ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION AND MONITORING

ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION

¢ First: Determine if the student is an eligible College Bound Scholar.

College Bound students are identified through the CBS “Cruncher” located in the
WSAC portal. CBS students, who meet all high school eligibility requirements, are
considered College Bound Scholars.

College Bound Scholars, who meet all income and program requirements for that
year, must be considered for CBS funding, and are identified throughout this manual
as eligible College Bound Scholars or eligible CBS Scholars.

¢ Second: If the student is an eligible College Bound Scholar, determine the
amounts of funding the student is eligible to receive from both the WCG and
CBS programs.

Note: In some cases, eligible College Bound Scholars may not receive CBS assistance.
An example is an eligible CBS Scholar who receives sufficient WCG and other state aid
funding to meet the amount required for eligible CBS Scholars to receive. Gift equity
policies do not apply to CBS/WCG awards.

¢ Third: If the student is not an eligible College Bound Scholar, determine the
student’s eligibility only for the WCG program.

CBS students, who exceed the 65 percent MFI and up to 100 percent MFI, are to be
awarded WCG.



Initial Criteria for WCG and CBS for Eligibility Determination

Requirements

STUDENTS MUST: WCG CBS
Meet High School O High School graduation or GED/equivalent (o Graduate from a Washington High School
(HS) Graduation with a 2.0 GPA or higher (GED OK for

certain former foster youth) or approved
homeschool program.

O No felony convictions before HS graduation

Meet College
Enroliment Deadline

o N/A

o Within one year of HS grad. (Typically, the
fall term a year after June HS graduation)

= |ncludes students with Deferred Action for
Childhood Arrival (DACA) status who meet
28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e). requirements.
DACA can be expired at the time of
residency determination.

= |ncludes non-U.S. Citizens who meet
28B.15.012(2)(e), by completing the
Residency Affidavit, previously referred to
as the “1079” requirements.

= Both U.S. citizens and non-citizens may be
eligible to meet residency requirements.

= At public institutions, residency officers
determine if and how a student meets
residency requirements. Financial aid
officers at public institutions should ask
their residency officer if student meets this
requirement.

= Financial aid officers at private institutions
should use this handbook to make
residency decisions.

For additional residency information see:
https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency

Submit an Approved | | £psp o WASFA each year o FAFSA or WASFA each year
Application

Be a Washington O Meet residency requirements accordingto |0 Meet residency requirements according to
Resident* RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e). RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e).

= |ncludes students with Deferred Action for
Childhood Arrival (DACA) status that meet
28B.15.012(2)(a)-(d). requirements.
DACA can be expired at the time of
residency determination.

= |ncludes non-U.S. Citizens who meet
28B.15.012(2)(e), by completing the
Residency Affidavit, previously referred to
as the “1079” requirements.

= Both U.S. citizens and non-citizens may be
eligible to meet residency requirements.

= At public institutions, residency officers
determine if and how a student meets
residency requirements. Financial aid
officers at public institutions should ask
their residency officer if student meets this
requirement.

= Financial aid officers at private institutions
should use this handbook to make
residency decisions.

For additional residency information see:
https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency

Meet family income
eligibility based on
MFI level

0 100% Median Family Income (MFI) or less

O 65% MFI or less

Maximum Full-Time
Term Usage

O 15 quarters/10 semesters/or Equivalent

0O 12 quarters/8 semesters/or Equivalent

Eligibility Window to
Receive Payments

o NA

O 5-year usage window from year of HS
graduation

*See expanded information in this chapter for more details regarding residency.




ALL WCG and ALL CBS SCHOLARS MUST:

Meet Washington resident tuition requirements according to RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e).
Demonstrate financial need as defined under RCW 28B.92.030.

Be undergraduate students.

Enroll in at least 3 credits per quarter or the equivalent.

Enroll in eligible programs at eligible institutions; or

Be enrolled in an approved apprenticeship program (WCG Only).

oo oo o o

ALL WCG and ALL CBS SCHOLARS CANNOT:

Exceed maximum term usage.

Be in unsatisfactory progress or denied status.
Owe a repayment to any state program.

Be in default on a state student loan.

Be pursuing a second bachelor’s degree.

Be pursuing a degree in Theology.

O 0O oogo o

Financial Need and Income Cutoff

The student must demonstrate financial need, as calculated by the institution, using the
Federal Methodology (FM) formula based on the FAFSA or WASFA for the appropriate aid
year. The student's state aid award, in combination with other forms of aid, may not exceed
the calculated need.

The student must have a family income below a specified income cutoff. The cutoff equals a
percentage of the state's median family income (MFI) and adjusts with the student’s family
size.

The income cutoff is 100 percent of the state's MFI for Washington College Grant, and 65
percent for College Bound Scholarship recipients. CBS eligible recipients with family incomes
between 66-100 percent should receive WCG. State aid must fit within the student’s
calculated need after counting all other need-based resources. Chapter 2, Calculating WCG
and CBS Awards, describes the income cutoff thresholds.

Undergraduate Student

An undergraduate student is a student who has not received a baccalaureate or
professional degree. Students that have earned enough credits towards a degree, but have
not yet been conferred the degree, may continue to be awarded State financial aid as long as
they continue to meet eligibility requirements and have unused QER.

Enrolled for at Least Three Credits per Quarter or the equivalent.

A student must be enrolled in a course load of at least three credits per quarter or the
equivalent at a participating postsecondary institution to receive state aid. Apprenticeship
requirements will be defined in the Washington College Grant Apprenticeship Program
Manual.



Eligible Program

An eligible program is a program at a location approved by the U.S. Department of Education
for participation in the Title IV financial aid programs.

The student must be enrolled in an educational program that does one of the following:
1. Leads to a baccalaureate, associate, or undergraduate professional degree.

2. Leads to a postsecondary vocational certificate or degree in a program of at least
600 clock hours, 16 semester, or 24 quarter credit hours. Program completion
must prepare the student for gainful employment in a recognized occupation. The
programs must be listed on the institution’s approved Title [V Program
Participation Agreement for short term programs.

Note: It is permissible to count needed remedial coursework toward the state aid enrollment
requirement (but they do not count in the program length requirement mentioned above).

Eligible Apprenticeship Program
Apprenticeships qualifying as eligible programs must be a registered apprenticeship program
approved under Chapter 49.04 RCW. See separate Apprenticeship Program Manual.

Remedial Coursework

Up to one academic year’s worth of remedial coursework may count in the student’s
enrollment status. For the purpose of this limit, that is 30 semester or trimester hours, 45
quarter hours, or 900 clock hours. Please note students are still subject to the maximum
full-time term usage limits.

Correspondence and Distance Education - A student may not take more than half of their
course load through correspondence courses. There are no restrictions on the number of
electronically delivered (online) credits that a state aid recipient may enroll in from an
eligible institution.

Study Abroad Programs - Study abroad students are eligible to be considered for state aid
if one of the following is true:

= They are enrolled at an eligible institution for a Study Abroad program.

® The institution has agreed to administer the financial aid in conjunction with
another institution running the Study Abroad program.

Maximum Terms of Eligibility

WCG and CBS recipients have a lifetime maximum number of terms they can receive for each
program. Remaining eligibility is described as Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER).

= A WCG recipient may receive the grant for a maximum of 15 quarters, 10 semesters,
or the equivalent combination of the 2 at a full-time rate of enrollment. This includes
combined usage under the apprenticeship program option and academic programs.

= (CBSrecipients may receive CBS funds for a maximum of 12 quarters, 8 semesters, or
the equivalent combination of the two at a full-time rate of enrollment.

CBS scholarships may be received during any terms within a five-year period following their
high school graduation year, even if enrollment is not continuous, provided the student met
their initial enrollment deadline.



In order to meet the enrollment deadline, students must be enrolled and attending. Registering
for a future term does not meet the enrollment deadline. Transcripted courses verify the
enrollment deadline was met. After five years, the scholarship is no longer available.

For example, students with a high school graduation year of 2021, must begin their college
enrollment by fall 2022, and have through the first summer term of 2026 to receive scholarship
funding. When five years have expired, usually in September, the CBS Cruncher field in the
portal will no longer show that the students are ‘Ok to Award’ or ‘Ok to Pay.’

[f CBS Scholars exhaust their CBS funding, they may continue to receive WCG funding as long as
they meet all other WCG requirements.

The CBS Cruncher, and the College Bound/Washington College Grant Award Warehouse (CSAW)
system will track individual students’ eligibility.

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)

Institutions are responsible for monitoring and responding to changes in student eligibility.
Chapter 3 discusses SAP changes in student status that occur after receipt of an award.

Unsatisfactory Progress or Denied Status

Unsatisfactory progress means that in a previous term, the student failed to complete at
least one-half (50 percent) of the minimum number of credits for which state aid was
received and has not yet earned reinstatement.

Students enrolled in clock hour programs are required to complete 300 hours per term
before the next disbursement can be made. Please see the section on clock hours.

Denied status may also refer to a student's status when the student has not met the
institution’s qualitative standard or maximum timeframe policy. See Chapter 3 for more
information.

Refund/Repayment

All students must certify that they do not owe a refund or repayment for any state student
financial aid programs. The student may not be in default on a loan made through a state
loan program.

Previous Bachelor’s Degree

WCG recipients and CBS Scholars who have already earned a bachelor’s degree, including
foreign bachelor’s degrees, are not eligible to receive WCG or CBS awards. If a student
provides documentation that the foreign degree is not equivalent to a bachelor’s degree in
the U.S,, the institution may determine that the student does not have a bachelor’s degree.

Note: This is the same exception allowed for Federal Pell Grant administration.

Theology Degree

State law prevents students pursuing a degree in theology from receiving state financial aid.
Students pursuing a degree in theology are ineligible to receive state financial aid. Each
institution must determine whether the student is pursuing this type of degree.
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Resident for Washington College Grant and College Bound Scholarship Purposes

Residency requirements are the same for both programs. Students must meet one of five
resident tuition requirements as outlined in RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e)

0 For public institutions: Residency officers determine if a student meets residency
requirements for tuition. Residency officers should indicate which part of the residency
RCW a student meets so that financial aid officers know which financial aid programs
may be available to the student.

Financial aid officers at public institutions should coordinate with their residency
officers to ensure consistent residency determinations for tuition and financial aid.

o For private institutions: Private institutions do not have residency officers so financial
aid officers may use this handbook to determine if a student has met financial aid
residency requirements. If there are any questions, please email wcg@wsac.wa.gov.

Additional residency information is available at https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency.

Residency Officer listserv: https://lists.ctc.edu/mailman/options/ro lists.ctc.edu

There are two student groups that have different residency requirements. A student’s
group depends on their citizenship or immigration status.

Student Group #1
e US citizens and nationals
e Permanent residents
e C(itizens of the Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, and Palau
o FAFSA-eligible non-citizens
e Students with current or expired Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) status
¢ Students with a current Employment Authorization Document (EAD).

e Students with one of the following immigration statuses:

o Asylee

o Canadians who qualify for permanent residence under the Jay Treaty
o Cuban-Haitian Entrants, Conditional Entrants, and Parolees
@)

One of the following visa statuses: A-1, A-2, A-3, DV-1, DV-2, DV-3, DV-6, DV-7, DV-8, E-
1,E-2,E-3, G-1, G-2, G-3, G-4, G-5, H-1B, H4, I, K-1, K-2, K-3, K-4, L-1, L-2, N-8, N-9,
NATO-1, NATO-2, NATO-3, NATO-4, NATO-5, NATO-6, NATO-7, 0-1, 0-2, 0-3, Q-1, Q-2,
Q-3,R-1,R-2,S,U-1, U-2, U-3, U-4, U-5, V-1, V-2, or V-3 visa status

Pending adjustment of status without a concurrent immigration status
Refugee

Special Immigrant Juvenile (SI]) status or Special Immigrant Visa SIV) status
Temporary Protected Status (TPS)

o O O O O

Withholding of Removal status or Withholding of Deportation status

¢ To find out what documentation is needed to prove a certain immigration status,
please see www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency.



http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28B.15.012
mailto:wcg@wsac.wa.gov
https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Flists.ctc.edu%2Fmailman%2Foptions%2Fro_lists.ctc.edu&data=04%7C01%7CGabrieleW%40wsac.wa.gov%7C73696f275dfd483b3d0908d8e4c7bce7%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C637510893823723891%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=VWex4CuzCS%2FeLvA8wAr80AVsK6PYqgs6CUjWRvnfzfU%3D&reserved=0
https://studentaid.gov/understand-aid/eligibility/requirements/non-us-citizens
http://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency

Student Group #2
¢ Undocumented students without expired or current DACA status.

e Students who are not listed in Student Group #1 (for example, students with an
international student F visa who do not have a current EAD).

Residency requirements for Student Group #1

Students in Student Group #1 meet residency requirements for WCG and CBS if they meet
ONE of the following five subsections of RCW 28B.15.012(2). The first two subsections of the
RCW, (a) and (b), are the most common. Each RCW subsection is outlined below.

(a) Financially independent students (definition differs from federal aid definition)

To be considered financially independent for residency purposes, a student must meet all of
the following for the current and previous calendar years (calendar year means January -
December):

e Cannot be claimed as a dependent exemption on a tax return, regardless of age.

e Cannot receive significant financial assistance from parents, relatives, legal guardians,
or others (except for a spouse), regardless of age and marital status.

¢ Must have used their own income—or financial aid awarded in their name—to pay
their living and tuition expenses.

To meet residency requirements for tuition and state aid through (a), financially independent
students must have a domicile in the state for at least one year immediately before the term
they apply for residency.

¢ The domicile must be primarily for purposes other than educational (meaning the
student cannot take more than six quarter or semester credits in any one term). If the
student takes more than six credits in a term, they must prove that education is not
their primary reason for having a Washington domicile.

e Students with an EAD must have a domicile-eligible EAD category or a combination of
domicile-eligible statuses for the entire year. See WSAC’s list of EAD categories and
whether they are domicile-eligible.

e Studentswith B, C, D, F, H-1B1, H-2, H-3,], M, P, TD, TN, WB, or WT visa status cannot
establish a domicile in Washington.

e Students with another immigration status can typically establish a domicile in
Washington.

(b) Financially dependent students (definition differs from federal aid definition)
Financially dependent students are students who are not considered financially independent
for residency purposes.

To meet residency requirements for tuition and state aid through (b), financially dependent
students must have at least one parent or legal guardian who has had a domicile in the state
for at least one year immediately before the term the student applies for residency.


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/14xIItdPfA3tH1a0FH7gGqJqFpvrDutMmHC0qbYZj7ng/edit#gid=0

Parents or legal guardians:
e Who are undocumented can establish a domicile in Washington.

e WithB,(C, D,F, H-1B1,H-2,H-3,], M, P, TD, TN, WB, or WT visa status cannot establish a
domicile in Washington.

e With another immigration status can typically establish a domicile in Washington.

See https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency for more information about financial
independence for residency purposes.

(c) Subsection (c) is very unlikely. Please see
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28B.15.012 for more information.

(d) Recent high school graduates whose parent(s) or legal guardian(s) move out-of-
state. (This option is not very common)

To meet residency requirements for tuition and state aid through (d), students must meet the
following:

e Student must have spent at least 75 percent of their last two years of high school in
Washington high schools.

e Student’s parent(s) or legal guardian(s) must have had a domicile for at least one year
within the five-year period before student graduated high school.

e Student must start college within six months of graduating high school.

¢ Student qualifies for residency for as long as the student remains continuously enrolled
for at least three quarters or two semesters per calendar year.

(e) Students who have lived in Washington for at least one year and have earned
a high school diploma or equivalent

The requirements for (e) changed in 2021. They are now easier for students to meet. To meet
residency requirements for tuition and state aid through (e), students must meet the
following:

e Earn a high school diploma, GED, or diploma equivalent prior to the term they are
applying for residency. The diploma or equivalent can be earned anywhere.

e Live in Washington for at least a year before being admitted to college (12 consecutive
months)

¢ Sign an affidavit saying they meet the above requirements. The affidavit is included in the
WASFA. There is a for students who are FAFSA-eligible. Students should only fill out the
paper affidavit or the WASFA affidavit, not both.

o Non-U.S. Citizens/nationals/permanent residents must also promise that they will
apply to become a U.S. permanent resident as soon as they are eligible.


https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28B.15.012
https://wsac.wa.gov/sites/default/files/Residency.Affidavit.pdf

Residency requirements for Student Group #2

Undocumented students without expired or current DACA status and students who are not in
Group #1 may meet residency requirements for WCG and CBS if they meet the requirements
for (e):

e Earn a high school diploma, GED, or diploma equivalent prior to the term they are

applying for residency. The diploma or equivalent can be earned anywhere.

e Live in Washington for at least a year before being admitted to college (12 consecutive
months)

e Sign an affidavit saying they meet the above requirements. The affidavit is included in
the WASFA. There is a paper affidavit for students who are FAFSA-eligible. Students
should only fill out the paper affidavit or the WASFA affidavit, not both.

¢ Non-U.S. Citizens/nationals/permanent residents must also promise that they will
apply to become a U.S. permanent resident as soon as they are eligible.

Send questions regarding assistance related to an individual student’s residency to:
wcg@wsac.wa.gov.

Other Washington Residents

The Legislature has classified the individuals from the groups below as Washington
residents for tuition and fee purposes at public institutions. This legislation DID NOT make
these individuals eligible for WCG and CBS, unless they meet the residency requirements
outlined above; however, they do meet residency requirements for all other state aid
programs.

These groups are:

1. Members of certain federally recognized tribes who were domiciled for one year in
one or a combination of the following states: Idaho, Montana, Oregon, or Washington.
More information, including the list of tribes, is found at
https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency.

2. Certain military personnel or Washington National Guard members, as well as
their spouse(s) and dependent(s). More information is found at
https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency.

3. Oregon residents who reside (or recently resided) in counties that border
Washington and attend an institution in a Washington county that borders
Oregon.

See https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency for more information.

Conflicting Information

All applicants for state aid, regardless of the application filed, must resolve conflicting
information. Institutions should follow their standard review policy regarding the
resolution of conflicting information for any applicant. However, institutions may not
require an applicant to file a federal tax return if they are electing to apply only for state
aid—regardless of whether they file the FAFSA or WASFA.


mailto:sng@wsac.wa.gov
https://www.wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#federally-recognized-tribes
https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#military-veterans-dependents
https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency#oregon-border-counties

Financial Aid Administrators are strongly encouraged to advise students accordingly, who
may be otherwise eligible for federal aid to proceed with and complete their taxes to be
considered for federal aid but may not require this for state aid only applicants. In lieu of a
federal tax return, applicants may submit other forms of documentation to resolve
conflicting information.

WSAC requires institutions to resolve any conflicting residency information between
their financial aid, admissions, and registration offices.

WSAC will periodically compare residency-related data reported on the FAFSA or
WASFA (such as mailing address, state of legal residence, driver’s license state) and
request that institutions either confirm eligibility or resolve conflicting information.
Approved Applications - FAFSA and WASFA

No Application Fee - No student shall be required to pay a fee to apply for state aid.

Students applying for state aid must file either the Free Application for Federal Student
Aid (FAFSA) form, as approved by the U.S. Department of Education, or for those not eligible
for or wanting to apply for Federal student aid, the Washington Application for State
Financial Aid (WASFA).

Students who are eligible to complete the FAFSA, but chose not to apply for Federal
student aid, can complete the WASFA instead.

If a student chooses to do the WASFA, it is important they understand that they will be
considered only for State financial aid.

Institutions may also require that students complete an institutional aid application to
collect additional information that is not available on the FAFSA or WASFA. Ifso,
institutions must provide such applications to students on a timely basis if they receive
FAFSA or WASFA information from students but have not received the required institutional
application. Instructions for students to complete the WASFA can be found at:
https://wsac.wa.gov/wasfa.

Access to information for WASFA students that have applied to your institution can be found
in the WSAC Portal under Programs>WASFA and should be checked for new applications on
a consistent basis parallel with processing FAFSA applications. Aid administrators must be
granted WASFA permissions in the WSAC Portal to access WASFA applicant data.

Features on the site include:
= Applicant search with optional .csv download option
= WASFA applicant data views
= File extracts of applicant data in ISIR format
» Federal EFC calculations
= WASFA Residency report

Contact your institution’s Portal administrator, or WSAC staff at wcg@wsac.wa.gov, to
request WASFA access in the WSAC Portal.
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Former Foster Youth and CBS High School Requirement

Beginning in the fall of 2017 (Senate Bill 5890), students who experienced foster care at any
point between 7t grade and the age of 21, may be able to receive College Bound Scholarship
after earning a high school equivalency certificate.

Students should contact program staff at collegebound@wsac.wa.gov or 888-535-0747,
Option 1, to discuss their specific situation and next steps, but generally:

= Students need to have been auto-enrolled into the College Bound Scholarship

= They will need to provide a copy of their high school equivalency certificate
(currently in WA, this is the GED exam) to program staff

= Students will need to have earned the GED prior to their 21st birthday
= Students will need to enroll in college within one year of receiving their GED
= Students must not have been convicted of a felony

= Students also must be income-eligible, as determined by completing the FAFSA
or WASFA

Ability to Benefit - Applies only to WCG Students

Ability to Benefit and GEDs do not qualify as meeting the high school requirements for CBS
students. CBS students must graduate from a Washington high school with a cumulative 2.0
or higher GPA (except for some former foster youth who earn a GED - see Former Foster
Youth and CBS High School Requirement section above).

WCG recipients must have a high school diploma or its equivalent or for those without a high
school credential, meet the ability to benefit option. Equivalent standards include a general
education development certificate or a certificate of completion of a home-based instruction
under chapter 28A.200 RCW.

For a student without a high school diploma or its equivalent, a school may accept:

a) Arecognized ability to benefit test as defined by federal financial aid
regulations;

b) Completion of at least six college level credits towards an eligible program of
study;

c) Alternate state equivalent approved by the U.S. Department of Education; or

d) Co-enrollment in Washington state's Integrated Basic Education and Skills
Training Program (I-BEST) and High school+ (HS+) programs that include an
eligible program of study as defined in WAC 250-21-010(18).

Incarcerated Student Eligibility

Incarcerated students enrolled in an eligible program of study at an eligible institution as
defined for financial aid purposes AND who meet all eligibility criteria for the WCG, are
eligible for WCG.
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These factors include:
e Completes the FAFSA or WASFA
e Has demonstrated financial need and unmet need
e Meets median family income requirements
e Maintains academic progress

e Enrolled in an eligible program at an eligible institution as defined for financial aid
purposes

e Enrolled in a minimum of 3 credits per term

e Funds are paid to the student for costs incurred by the student via the institution that
requests them through the standard awarding/disbursement process for all WCG.

Note: The cost of attendance elements for incarcerated students are essentially tuition, fees,
books, and supplies. Other funds received must be taken into account such as Pell. This may
mean that an individual’s eligibility limits the amount of the WCG award.

Fraudulent Information

Any student who obtains state aid by means of a willfully false statement or failure to reveal
any material fact, condition, or circumstance affecting eligibility will be subject to applicable
civil and criminal penalties and repayment of all state aid funds received.

Consistent Policies

Institutional policies shall apply consistently to state aid recipients and federal aid
recipients, except when in conflict with state aid regulations academic progress
requirements or if there are specific references to state aid processing (such as the
frequency of term payments for clock hour schools).

ELIGIBILITY MONITORING FOR WCG AND CBS

Once a student receives a state aid award, the institution must monitor continued eligibility.
The institution must issue the student a revised award offer when the student’s state aid
award changes.

The institution is required to verify student eligibility for all students by:
B Checking the WSAC WCG Archive report for Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER)

B Checking the WSAC Repayment Checker to ensure student does not owe a repayment
on a previously disbursed state aid award

B Monitoring SAP status (Refer to Chapter 3)

0 Confirming OK to Pay status in the CBS Cruncher (for CBS students only)
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Washington Student Achievement Council Archive Report
Use the archive to determine whether or not a WCG student:

B Has exhausted or is approaching the 15 quarter/10 semester limitation for WCG
eligibility. The archive lists students who are within five quarters of meeting the
15 quarter/10 semester maximum and displays the number of quarters of
eligibility remaining (QER).
- Ifa CBS student has exhausted WCG eligibility, but still has CBS eligibility
remaining, the institution shall award the student an award using CBS funds only.

It is the institution's responsibility to ensure that all students who receive WCG have
been checked against the archive at both the time of awarding and time of
disbursement.

SSN Name (last, first, Ml) In Repayment Quarters Used Quarters Remaining |Initial Archive Date
No 15.000 0.000 8/8/2006
No 6.000 9.000 7/31/2015
Yes 1.000 14.000 5/4/2019
Yes 1.000 14.000 5/4/2019
No 5.250 9.750 11/7/12015

Please note: Archive report currently contains Repayment data in the CSV that may not be
correct, please use the new Repayment Checker for the most accurate information. QERs in the
archive may be used as a guide for award planning but they are only updated intermittently.
CSAW provides real time information.

The report sample images will be updated in the manual as technology is modified.

O Archive results example - The final archive is available each year in mid-August.
[t contains updated information on the prior year's WCG recipient exceptions.
Institutions can upload data on their ready-to-award students to WSAC'’s Portal:
https://portal.wsac.wa.gov/, Results are downloadable into Excel.

0 Downloadable file format example - In the period of time before WSAC
finalizes the archive data, institutions shall use the most recent data available in
the archive as a basis for offering awards to students to minimize the need for late
repackaging.

The archive is updated at the end of the fiscal year to reflect updated repayment information.
CSAW is real time and contains the most up to date information for repayments and QER:s.

Note: Check the archive before submitting any payment requests. Access can be requested by
contacting your institutional administrator (usually the Financial Aid Administrator at each
institution) or WSAC staff at wcg@wsac.wa.gov
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Repayment Checker

Use the new Repayment Checker to determine if a student owes a repayment on a previously
disbursed state aid award. Continue to use the Archive for Quarters of Eligibility Remaining
(QER). Real time information is also available in CSAW.

First a Setup Initial Current
SSN Name Last Name Program Status Date Debt Balance Year Institution Term
WCG Sent to 6/20/2019 £609.00 $609.00 2018- Spokane Spring
Collection 2019
Agency
WCG Uncollectable 8/10/2010 $335.00 $335.00 2009- Spokane Spring

2010

The CBS Eligibility “Cruncher” for College Bound Scholars and Recipients

Campuses will need to check eligibility using the CBS Cruncher at the time of awarding and
again prior to each disbursement.

The CBS Cruncher is located in the Portal. From the main menu, select Programs, then
College Bound, then Cruncher. Step-by-step instructions for using the CBS Cruncher are
found in this chapter.

Name (last, first, SID OK to Award OK to Pay HS Grad Yr HS Req Enroliment 5yrElig. CBSQtrs CBS Qtrs In WASFA Last
SSN) (UW) Met Deadiine Met Open Used Remaining Repayment Student Updated
Ver No 0 Yes 0.00 12.00 No No 111112019
updated 12192018 updated 12192018 estimat 0S|
Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes 0.00 12.00 Mo No  8/27/2020
updated 10/4/2019 updated 7/14/2020 actual from OS|

Please note: Institutions must check for prior repayments and QERs. QERs in the Cruncher
should be used only as a guide as they are only annually updated at the close of each fiscal
year. CSAW provides the most timely and accurate QER data.

Matching CBS Valid Applicants to FAFSA and WASFA Filers

Washington Student Achievement Council’s CBS valid applicant database is matched to
incoming FAFSA and WASFA applications. FAFSA and WASFA data is matched daily.

Using the CBS Eligibility Cruncher, institutions shall compare their student data against the
Cruncher database. After entering information for potentially eligible students, campuses
are presented with a list of CBS students whose CBS application matched to an incoming
FAFSA or WASFA.

Note: The CBS Eligibility Cruncher does not determine all CBS eligibility criteria.
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The CBS Cruncher checks for:
O Complete and valid CBS application on file with WSAC

O 0O O

High school graduation with a 2.0 or higher GPA
That a student has enrolled and attended college within one year of high school graduation

Within 5-year eligibility window - please be aware that the cruncher does not update the

end of the 5-year eligibility until after the Fall term. The 5-year eligibility ends with the
summer term and may require you to manually review students prior to awarding

O O O O

Outstanding repayments

Within 12 quarter or 8 semester or equivalent usage limit

No felony conviction before high school graduation

WASFA filer

The campus determines all other eligibility criteria, such as residency, income, need,

enrollment, etc.

College Bound Scholarship Processing Timeline

Students notified by the Washington Student Achievement

October and beyond | N/A Council that their CBS application is matched to FAFSA or
WASFA.
“ » | Campuses upload ready-to-award student SSN/WASFA IDs into
Use “CBS Cruncher” -y sBs Gruncher to identify valid CBS applicants. Students
toidentity eligible | . whle for awarding will show a YES in the “OKtoAward”
students for awarding —
column.
:;l:;/g::iber e Campuses continue to upload lists of students to the Cruncher
Continue identifying | frequently in order to:
and awarding e |dentify new students added to the Cruncher.
students e Determine students whose status may have changed. Can
also use Watchlist located in the Cruncher to monitor changes.
Confirm eligibility for | WSAC updates the CBS Cruncher to reflect HS graduation data
Jul db d awarded students received from OSPI.
uly and beyon : )
y y prior to disbursement | Stydents who attended private schools or were home schooled
by viewing “OKtoPay” | must be validated individually by either WSAC or the institution.
Incl B
August/September | nCIud® GBS aWards 1 o\ lides a field for the CBS award amount.

in CSAW

Fall and as needed

Request payment
from WSAC

Campuses will request payment for CBS via CSAW.

Campuses will not receive an initial CBS allocation — funds will
be added to reserves on a funds-requested basis.

November,
February, May, July

Submit Interim
Reports

Campuses will upload WCG and CBS data simultaneously via
the file format and address edits for both programs.
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CBS Cruncher Layout and Code Descriptions

NOTE: The Cruncher layout has not been modified for the 2021-22 academic year.

Data that is entered only in the first year an eligible CBS student files a FAFSA or WASFA
SSN 9-digit number

LastName Up to 75 characters

FirstName Up to 50 characters

4-digit number - estimated by CBS application or OSPI data

HSGradYear OR Unknown

Yes - Confirmed HS graduation requirements met

Likely — Preliminary OSPI data indicates likelihood of meeting requirements
HSRequirementsMet** Unknown —- WSAC doesn’t know if HS requirements have been met
Unlikely - Preliminary OSPI data indicates meeting HS req. unlikely

No - Confirmed HS graduation requirements not met

Data that will continue to be updated for all CBS students

Yes - Student is likely to meet or has met CBS eligibility requirements
OKtoAward No - Student’s HS GPA is below 2.0 or has not met other CBS requirements
Verify - WSAC doesn’t have information to say Yes or No

Yes - Student confirmed to have met all HS graduation requirements

OKtoPay No - Student did not meet program requirements

Yes - Student enrolled in college within one year of HS graduation
EnrollmentDeadlineMet** No - Student does not appear to have enrolled in college within one year of HS.
n/a — One year has not passed since graduation

Yes - Student is within the 5-year eligibility window

ezt e No - The student’s 5-year eligibility window has passed

CBTermsUsed Two Decimal places (e.g. 4.25, 6.00)
CBTermsRemaining Two Decimal places (e.g. 4.25, 6.00)
R No - Student is not in repayment
nRepayment Yes - Student is in repayment
h h
LastUpdated The most recent date that any of the columns have been changed

Date format: d/m/yyyy h:m:s [AM|PM]

*In some instances, college financial aid staff may override, please see following section High School Requirements Met.

**Information in these fields may be overridden by college financial aid staff or by WSAC staff. Documentation must be kept
on file by the institution that overrides to substantiate the override, and a history of the timing and source of updates is
available in the Cruncher field.
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High School Graduation Year

The anticipated year of high school graduation is noted for reference. Campuses do not need
to review the “HS Requirements Met” field for continuing CBS Scholars previously determined
eligible. However, the Cruncher will still need to be reviewed for the purpose of the
scholarship timeframe criteria, quarters of eligibility remaining, and outstanding repayments.

CBS Scholars who are verified to have graduated early may be awarded the College Bound
Scholarship, and the four-year award must be used within five years of their actual graduation
year.

High School Requirements Met

CBS Students must graduate from a Washington high school (public or approved private
institutions) with at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA or receive home-based instruction under
RCW 28A.200, and not convicted of a felony before high school graduation* to be considered
as College Bound Scholars. The GED is not an allowable substitute for high school
graduation, except for some former foster youth.

*WSAC is responsible for ensuring that CBS students do not have felony convictions before they
enroll in college.

CBS Students below a 2.0 as of their junior year in high school are flagged as “unlikely” in the
“HS Requirements Met” field. Students who were not enrolled in a public high school are
flagged as “unknown” in the “HS Requirements Met” field. Students may submit a copy of
their final high school transcript to WSAC or campus financial aid staff.

Campuses should update the response to the “HS Requirements” field and enter the student’s
GPA and graduation date in the reason field if they have updated information regarding a
student’s HS Requirements status. The system will note which individual and which
institution changed the response and all campuses will be able to view and accept the data as
valid. Campuses must retain this documentation for the standard record retention period.

Campuses may verify high school requirements under these circumstances:

O The CBS Student inquires and is able to provide a final transcript verifying they met the
requirements, including for students who attended a private high school.

O To expedite the process: Four-year campuses are encouraged to review their admissions
information to determine if students met the high school requirements. This may be a
more expedient way to verify graduation and GPA information than the WSAC data
match with OSPIL. This also may expedite the process in the case of students who
attended private schools.

O The CBS Student was home schooled: Campuses and/or students are asked to verify
that the high school graduation requirement has been met for the home schooled
student by contacting College Bound program staff at collegebound @wsac.wa.gov or
888-535-0747, opt. 1.

Campuses who verify high school graduation must change the “HS Requirements Met” field
or an edit will be triggered when requesting reimbursement or processing interim reports.

Note: Both GPA and graduation date must be confirmed. Please document both the GPA and
graduation date in the ‘reason’ field when updating the Cruncher.

17


https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28A.200
mailto:collegebound@wsac.wa.gov

Enrollment Deadline

College Bound Scholars must enroll and attend college no later than the fall term (as defined
by the institution), one academic year following the high school graduation year to be
eligible for CBS consideration. For example, a College Bound Scholar, who graduated high
school in the spring of 2021, would need to enroll and attend college by the fall term of 2022.

Note: Financial Aid Administrators may review students who don’t meet the enrollment
deadline on a case-by-case basis and may grant a professional judgment exception for students
who have unexpected circumstances that prevented their enrollment such as extenuating
medical conditions, etc. In the event the student is given a professional judgment exception to
the enrollment deadline, the student will still only have 5 years from the date of graduation to
utilize their CBS award. The time limit is not appealable per statute. All use of professional
judgment shall be applied judiciously and shall be documented in the student’s file.

Adult Basic Education and Running Start courses count towards meeting the college
enrollment deadline—even if taken while in high school. College in the High School and CTE
dual credits also may count towards meeting the college enrollment deadline if a college
transcript is generated.

College Bound Scholars who do not enroll and attend college, or have funds disbursed,
within a year of high school graduation are not eligible to receive CBS. However, if the
college has knowledge that the student attended college within the one year window, but the
Cruncher does not show “Yes” in the “Enrollment Deadline Met” column, the college should
update this column to “Yes” as long as documentation (i.e. college transcript) is kept on file
at the college.

An example of this is if a student attended an out-of-state college within the one-year
window of time. In that case, the institution could later verify this attendance based on a
review of the student’s academic transcript from the previous college. In this case, and in
the case of Running Start courses, there would need to be proof that the student had
successfully completed at least one course that is transcripted in order for it to be counted as
having met the one-year enrollment deadline.

Students Who Do Not Appear in the Cruncher

Students who inform the institution that they submitted the College Bound Scholarship
application and received a College Bound certificate in middle school who cannot be located
in the Cruncher should be referred to WSAC at collegebound@wsac.wa.gov. College Bound
outreach staff will determine whether the student has a valid application on file.

WASFA applicants can be more difficult to identify through the crunching process due to
potential SSN/JWASFA ID mismatches and different naming conventions on the CBS
application and the WASFA. Some tips for searching manually for potential CBS students:

O On the “Search by Name” tab, enter the student’s date of birth only and look for
their name.

O Search on one part of a hyphenated last name, or search partial first or last names.

If a valid application is found, WSAC staff will work to find and match the two applications so
the student will appear in the Cruncher.
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Campus Systems Preparation Instructions
Campuses can take the following steps to identify and award eligible College Bound Scholars:

1. Prepare afile to upload SSNs into the CBS Cruncher in the WSAC Portal. This is
necessary to identify the potential CBS applicants prior to awarding.

Campuses can select one of three ways to communicate with WSAC Portal. For
questions regarding the REST web service or SFTP approach, please contact WSAC.

e Manually upload a file via WSAC'’s Portal website: Any user with access
may log into the CBS Cruncher and upload a text file containing SSNs (1 per
row) to get the output on the page or via a CSV download file.

e HTTP REST Interface: Systems capable of consuming web services may
issue a HTTP POST request with a list of SSNs as the post data. This is
expected to be authenticated using Basic Authentication through an SSL
tunnel. WSAC staff would create an API user account with permissions and a
hard password without an expiration date for this purpose.

e SFTP: WSAC also can set-up an automated file transfer system. The campus
would upload a file of SSNs and WSAC would return a CSV data file.

2. Determine how to identify/flag potential CBS Awards in your system prior to
awarding. The output can be viewed in the portal or downloaded as an Excel file.

3. Review previously awarded students for a change in eligibility status (either by a
separate SSN file upload or evaluating the output accordingly).

4. Review the eligibility criteria in Chapter 2 to automate eligibility criteria where
possible (such as 65 percent MFI and “gap fill” after other state aid).

CBS Cruncher Instructions

Log on to the Portal at https://portal.wsac.wa.gov/

Select ‘College Bound’ from the Programs drop down

Home v

Admin v | Common ~ | Csww v | Programs v

Alternative Routes
Welcome to the WSAC portal.

College Bound
Passport

SNG

SWs

ial aid applicants provided by Washington Stude
bn staff, employers, and students. This site is not

This site contains confidential stud
This site is for use only by authori3

By logging in to this tool, | acknowuiEE=aly lities include:
WA Scholars

« Protecting WSAC data in ade'/ 71171 y Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERFA).
= Protecting user authenticatid by unauthorized persons,
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Click on the ‘Cruncher’ menu item.

Home ~ | lrograms ¥ | College Bound ~

" Cruncher | CS5AW

Welcome to the WSAC portal.

This site contains confidential student information on financial aid applicants provided by Washington Student Achievement Council,
This =site is for use only by authorized WSAC staff, institution staff, employers, and students. This site is not for use by the general public.

By kogging in 1o this tool, | acknowledge that my responsibilities include:
+ Protecting W3AC data in accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA).

« Protecting user authentication information from use by unauthorized persons,
+ Lsing WSAC data only for purposes of administering and assisting students with state financial aid programs.

Click on the tab to choose a search method. Search by Name, SSNs, or Upload a File.

Home ¥ | Programs ¥ | College Bound ¥ | Cruncher

CBS Eligibility Cruncher

The excel download option will giveAiou a csv file usefy for integrating into your oyn systems. You can downl

The CBS Cruncher does NOA determine income ghd some other eligibility critega. @)

ri I

Search by Name Search by S5Ns or SIDs | Search by File Upload | Watch List I

Search by full or partial name

first last mi

mm/dd/yyyy |
date of birth

Search CSv
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Searching the Cruncher

= Searching by Name

Enter the full or partial first, last, and middle initial. Click ‘Search’. Note that the search
boxes are ordered first name, THEN last name.

e CSV button.

To download search results in Excel, clic

I Search by Hame Search by 55Ms or SID i d [ Watch List _

Search by full or partial name

mimddiyyyy

dabe of birfg

Search

Showing 16-30 of 205 results

Mane (1251, first. 55H) S0 (Qlympic) DK to Award O 1o Pay HS Grad ¥r HS Req Met Enroliment Deadling Met
Mo Ho 2012 Yoz ko
wpdated 1472014 wpdated 1172014 actual fram OSP|
Mo Mo 2nz Yes ko
updated 1242014  updated 172455014 actual fram O5P
Ho Ko atig Yes Yes
updated 3142017  updated 14T actual from OS5I

Otherwise, your results will display in list format below the search area.

= Searching by SSNs

You can perform a search with multiple SSNs by entering a list of SSNs, separated by
commas, tabs, spaces, or new lines. If you have an Excel spreadsheet of SSNs, you can
copy and paste the column of SSNs into the search box. Once you’ve entered your SSN,

click Search.

[ Searcli by Name | Search by 55Ns or SIDs | Search by File Upload I Watch Lii.t l

Enter p list of S5Ns or 510s, separated by commas or white space (tabs, spaces, or new lines)

Checking the ‘include SSNs/SIDs in my watch
list’ box will store students to your Watch
list. You will receive emails when there are
changes to the student.

de SSNs/SIDs in my watch list
Search Ccsv
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You are alerted to SSNs that do not return any results. Click the details link to see which
SSNs did not match to a CBS application. Clicking on ‘details’ will open an Excel file.

tabs, spaces, or new lines)

[ Search by Name Search by 55Ns or 5IDs Search by File Uplpéd

Enter a list of S5Ns or S10s, separated by commas or white spa

123456789
987654321
000000000

include SSNs/SIDs in my watch list
Search Csv

2 entry(ies) were not found (details)

Showing 1-1 of 1 results

Name (st first, S5N) SID (Olympic)  OHK to Award OK to Pay HS Grad Yr HS ReqMet Enrollment Deadline Met

Mo Mo Unknown Ne nfa
updated 3182016 updated 3182016

The results for the SSNs that have a CBS application on file with WSAC will display below.

= Searching by File Upload

You can upload a .csv or .txt file, with one SSN on each line. Click the browse button, select
your file, then click Search. Your results will display below.

I Search by Name Search by 55Ns or SIDs i Watch List

The file musyhave either .csv or .txt extension, and contain only SSNs, separated by commas orv

Select a fe to upload

Ny file selected. . B browse

clude S5Ns/SIDs in my watch list
Search CSsv

Again, you are alerted to SSNs that do not display results. Click the details link to see which
SSNs did not match to a CBS application. Results will open j xcel file.

3 entry(ies) were not found (details)

Mo results to display

Proceed to the next section to learn how to interpret CBS Cruncher search results.

Note: Refer to the CBS Cruncher Layout and Code Descriptions provided earlier in this chapter.
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Interpreting the Search Results

WSAC depends on graduation and GPA data from the Office of the Superintendent of Public
Instruction (OSPI), high school registrars, or transcripts provided by students, to determine
if College Bound students met the program’s high school graduation requirements. OSPI
data includes students who attend public high schools.

All OSPI data on graduating seniors is preliminary until late summer/early fall since
graduation and GPA data cannot be compiled from the high schools and confirmed until that
time. Therefore, WSAC provides information to colleges on those students ‘likely’ to meet
the requirements during the packaging period and designate them ‘OK to Award.” This
preliminary data from OSPI includes the student’s GPA as of the end of their junior year.

Students who are later confirmed to have met the requirements will then be listed by WSAC
as ‘OK to Pay.” Students who have valid applications but are not included in the OSPI match
must submit their final transcript to WSAC or the campus for determination. Either the
institution or WSAC can change the HS Req Met field after verifying the student’s GPA and
graduation. If relying on the student’s high school transcript, the campus must retain that
documentation.

Here is a preview of what your search results will look like full screen. You can sort results
by any category by clicking on the blue column heading.

Name [lail. st S5M) S0 OF to Awaid OF io Pay HE Grad Yr HiFReqMel  Enroliment Desdline Sy ENg. cBSqus CEBSOws In WASFA Lasl
[ Mei Qpen Wsed Rermaining Repayment Student Ugpdated

Mo No Llvskrionity Ne No 000 1200 Mo e 257201
Yeos You ) You Yos Yes foan 200 Wa Yiom 41201

In the example above, all the students with a YES in the OK to Award column can be
packaged for College Bound Scholarship along with the Washington College Grant, as long as
they meet all of the requirements.

Students with a NO in the OK to Award column should not be packaged with CBS.

Students cannot be paid CBS funds until there is a YES in the OK to Pay Column

/

Nams [lasl. frst, S5N) S0 DK o Awiarel OF 1o Py HS Grad Yr HE Req Mt Ensolliment Deadling S-yr ENg. CBE Qs CHS Qs I WASFA Last
Iy Met Open Uged Remaining Repaymant Student Ugdated

Mo M [IETEY N M 0o0o 12 00 Ha Yos HSR021
Yes Yes 117 Yas Yas Yes 1nan 200 Ha Yo U021

CBS Status in Cruncher is: OK to Award= Yes, and OK to Pay = No

This status will occur frequently for students who are either prospective students or new
students. When awarding students with this status, be sure to include both CBS and WCG
awards on the student’s award offer if the student meets all other CBS eligibility criteria.

You also will want to indicate that the CBS award amount is tentative until your institution

receives verification from WSAC that the student graduated from high school with at least a
2.0 GPA. Institutions must verify student eligibility before disbursing funds.
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CHAPTER 2
Calculating WCG and CBS Awards

The Commitment to Eligible College Bound Scholars

Washington has made a commitment that each eligible CBS Scholar will receive state
scholarship and/or grant assistance to cover the average cost of tuition (at public college
rates), plus some fees and a small book allowance, during the periods of each student’s
eligibility. Information about how this works and what types of state aid count towards state
scholarship/grant assistance are included in this chapter.

All Eligible College Bound Scholars Must Receive Maximum WCG Funding

All eligible College Bound Scholars must first receive maximum WCG awards as part of their
CBS maximum award and receive funding for all enrolled terms—including either Summer 1
or Summer 2.

Every eligible CBS Scholar must first receive a maximum WCG award before being
considered for CBS funding. The CBS amount is determined after WCG and any other state
grant or scholarship aid has been awarded.

When a student’s CBS amount is met with other state grants and/or scholarships, the
student may receive a reduced or no WCG award. In this instance, report the student as
having need met.

Note: The aid administrator must award WCG funds to all eligible CBS Scholars to ensure
100 percent coordination between CBS and WCG is achieved for all terms, including summer.

The maximum WCG and CBS award amounts vary based on the institution attended, the
student’s enrollment status, and the student’s Median Family Income (MFI) level. WCG
award amounts may not be reduced for eligible CBS Scholars due to institutional awarding
policies such as gift equity policies.

MAXIMUM MEDIAN FAMILY INCOME LEVELS

This chart includes the MFI levels that determine eligibility and award amounts for the WCG
and CBS programs.

®* The maximum MFI level for CBS student eligibility is 65 percent.

o (CBS students with MFI levels from 66 - 100 percent will not receive CBS but
must receive WCG.

®* The maximum MFI level for WCG students is 100 percent.
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Adjust the Family Size for More Than One Family Member in College

Increase the family size by one for every family member who will be in college beyond the
first, excluding parents (e.g. A family of five with two non-parents in college is treated as a
family of six on the income MFI chart; a family of five with three non-parents in college is
treated as a family of seven).

Note: Information on family size typically comes from the FAFSA or WASFA.

Determining Income for MFI Levels
In most cases, use the income reported on the FAFSA or WASFA. Adjustments may be made

through verification reviews and through professional judgment decisions of a Financial Aid
Administrator. These must be submitted on a corrected FAFSA/WASFA.

Median Family Income (MFI) Levels for 2021-22 Washington College Grant
and College Bound Scholarship Program Eligibility

65% 20% 75% 100%
60% (s (WCG only) (WCG only) (WCG only -
Maximum) Maximum)
1 $29,000 $32,000 $34,500 $37,000 $39,500 $53,000
2 $38,000 $41,500 $45,000 $48,500 $52,000 $69,000
3 $47,000 $51,500 $55,500 $60,000 $64,000 $85,500
4 $56,000 $61,000 $66,000 $71,000 $76,500 $102,000
5 $65,000 $71,000 $76,500 $82,500 $88,500 $118,000
6 $74,000 $80,500 $87,500 $94,000 $101,000 $134,500
7 $75,500 $82,500 $89,500 $96,000 $103,000 $137,500
8 $77,000 $84,500 $91,500 $98,500 $105,500 $140,500
9 $79,000 $86,000 $93,500 $100,500 $107,500 $143,500
10 $80,500 $88,000 $95,500 $102,500 $110,000 $146,500
11 $82,500 $90,000 $97,000 $104,500 $112,000 $149,500
12 $84,000 $91,500 $99,000 $107,000 $114,500 $152,500
13 $85,500 $93,500 $101,000 $109,000 $117,000 $155,500
14 $87,500 $95,500 $103,000 $111,000 $119,000 $159,000
15 $89,000 $97,000 $105,000 $113,500 $121,500 $162,000
16 $90,500 $99,000 $107,000 $115,500 $123,500 $165,000
17 $92,500 $101,000 $109,000 $117,500 $126,000 $168,000
18 $94,000 $102,500 $111,000 $119,500 $128,000 $171,000
19 $95,500 $104,500 $113,000 $122,000 $130,500 $174,000
20 $97,500 $106,000 $115,000 $124,000 $133,000 $177,000

Washington Student Achievement Council analysis of 2018 American Community Survey data as published by the federal
Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program. All figures have been rounded to the nearest $500 income range.

Note: A CBS Scholar could be eligible for College Bound Scholarship funding for some years, and not eligible for others,
if the family’s MFI level exceeded 65 percent in one or more years
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When calculating family income for a “dependent” student, count the parents’ Adjusted
Gross Income (AGI) and non-taxable income. Do not include the student’s income.

When calculating family income for an “independent” student, count the student’s AGI and
non-taxable income, and that of the spouse (if the student is married).

For both dependent and independent students, if the AGI is not present (i.e., parent/student
is not a tax filer), use the sum of all taxable plus non-taxable income.

The Financial Aid Administrator may (but is not required to) subtract the following
allowable exclusions:

= Taxable earnings from need-based employment programs such as Federal Work
Study and need-based employment portions of fellowships and assistantships.

= Taxable student grant and scholarship aid reported to the IRS in the AGI. This
includes AmeriCorps benefits as well as grant and scholarship portions of
fellowships and assistantships.

= Untaxed combat pay or special combat pay.

= Earnings from work under a cooperative education program offered by a
college.

® Education tax credits under the American Opportunity and Lifetime Learning
tax credits.

= Child support payments made for a dependent not counted in the family
household size.

= Combat pay - only the portion included in the adjusted gross income.

Title IV grant aid should be subtracted from the base income regardless of whether it was
taxed or untaxed.

Child support income must be excluded from income calculations for less-than-half-time
independent students, but not from other enrollment categories.

Veterans benefits are treated in the same manner as for the purposes of eligibility for Title [V
financial aid.

Note: In addition to having income qualify based on the MFI levels, state aid must fit within
the student’s calculated need after counting in all other need-based resources.

EXPECTED FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (EFC)

The “Expected Family Contribution” is the amount that a student or the student’s family is
expected to contribute to the cost of attendance based on a federal computation.

The EFC is initially based on information submitted on the FAFSA or WASFA. In some cases,
EFC may be adjusted by the Financial Aid Administrator through a professional judgment
decision. These must be submitted on a corrected FAFSA/WASFA.
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COST OF ATTENDANCE (COA)

The “Cost of Attendance” is the budget used by the Financial Aid Administrator to reflect the
student’s cost for the period of time for which the financial aid is being awarded. Information
regarding the WCG Apprenticeship COA will be issued in a separate manual.

The COA includes tuition and fees, books and supplies, room and board, transportation, and
miscellaneous/personal expenses.

Each year the Washington Financial Aid Association (WFAA) publishes several standard
budgets that include all amounts except for tuition and fees, which are determined by each

institution.

The WFAA Student Budgets for the 2021-22 academic year includes four categories:

1. Dependent, living with parent(s)

2. Independent, living with parent(s)
3. Notliving with parent(s)
4

High-cost regions

WSAC requires that institutions submit the COA amounts each year during the participation
renewal process. If the amounts used by institutions vary by more than 10 percent from the
recommended WFAA standard budgets, institutions must submit their rationale to WSAC for
review and approval for use when awarding state financial aid.

Cost of Attendance and Tuition Waivers

A student receiving WCG or CBS must have the full-assessed tuition amount included in
their COA. This COA amount must be reported when the Unit Record Report (URR) is
submitted.

In addition, all tuition waivers received by WCG and CBS recipients must be reported either
as need-based institutional gift aid or as non-need-based institutional gift aid on the URR.

Note: The full-assessed tuition amount is what the student is or would be assessed before
any tuition waiver(s) have been applied. The tuition waiver is then reported as a resource
as described above.

If a student receives other need-based assistance, but does not receive WCG or CBS, WSAC
requests that any tuition waiver(s) received by the student be reported as institutional gift
aid and that the full assessed tuition amount be included in the COA, whenever possible,
when the URR is submitted.

A student who receives non-need-based tuition waiver(s) but does not receive any need-
based financial assistance, is not reported on the URR.

27


https://www.wfaa.org/financial-aid-resources

NEED AMOUNT

The Expected Family Contribution (EFC) is subtracted from the student’s Cost of Attendance
(COA) to determine the need amount. Need-based aid, such as WCG and CBS, must be within
the need amount, and cannot exceed the need amount.

Professional Judgment

The FAA may, using professional judgment, adjust the resources up or down to more
accurately reflect the family’s financial situation during the year. In general, adjustments
shall be consistent with changes made for federal aid and reflected on the FAFSA/WASFA.

The aid administrator shall document the reason for the variance in the student’s file. The
FAA may consider assets when assets aren’t being considered for EFC computations (e.g.
auto zero EFCs and simplified EFCs) for the purposes of WCG eligibility.

Family Income Change of 3 Percent or Less

A student who received WCG in the previous year and whose family income has increased by
no more than 3 percent may be eligible to continue to receive WCG in the current year.
Discretion is left to the FAA. This applies when the student’s current family income
increases slightly above the 100 percent maximum MFI level.

The WCG policy that permits awarding to continuing recipients whose MFI changed by 3
percent or less is not applicable to CBS Scholars, however, because the 65 percent MFI
standard is statutorily required for CBS recipients.

College Bound Scholarship and Washington College Grant Coordination

Every eligible CBS Scholar must first receive a maximum WCG award before being
considered for CBS funding. The CBS amount is determined after WCG and any other state
grant or scholarship aid has been awarded.

When a student’s CBS amount is met with other state grants and/or scholarships, the
student may receive a reduced or no WCG award. In this instance, report the student as
having need met.

AWARD AMOUNTS

See the following page for WCG and CBS award amounts. You can also view grant amounts in
the WSAC Portal under CSAW/Grant Amounts.

Most award amounts are not divisible by both two and three. For institutions whose systems
require even disbursements, the per term award may be rounded, up or down, by one dollar.
This may not result in more than a two-dollar difference over a three-quarter year or
equivalent. This procedure is also discussed in this chapter under “Award Rounding.”
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WCG and CBS Award Amounts for 3 Quarters/2 Semesters for
Students Enrolled Full-Time for All Terms

Median Family Income
CBSMax| 0-55% | 0-55% | 56-60% | 56-60%| 61-65%|61-65%|66-70%| 71-75% |76 - 100%

T WCG + WCG WCG WCG
Institution/Sector 9 0
CBS = | Full WCG CBS 70@8?” CBS 606‘\’/8?” CBS ONLY = | ONLY = | ONLY =
FullCBS| award Amount Amount Amount |50% of full] 24.5% of | 10% of full
award award
Award award | fullaward | award

University of

Washington $11,839 | $11,339 | $500 | $7,937 | $3,902 | $6,803 | $5,036 | $5670 | $2,778 | $1,134

Washington State

University $11,509 | $11,009 [ $500 | $7,706 | $3,803 | $6,605 | $4,904 | $5505 | $2,697 | $1,101

Central Washington

University $7,843 | $7,343 | $500 | $5,140 | $2,703 | $4,406 | $3437 | $3,672 | $1,799 | $734

Eastern Washington

University $7,371 | $6,871 $500 | $4,810 | $2561 | $4,123 | $3,248 | $3436 | $1,683 | $687

The Evergreen State

College $7,869 | $7,369 | $500 | $5,158 | $2,711 | $4,421 | $3,448 | $3,685 | $1,805 | $737

Western Washington

University $8,032 | $7,532 | $500 | $5272 | $2,760 | $4,519 | $3,513 | $3,766 | $1,845 | $753

Private Four-year Non-

Profit $11,904 | $9,739 | $2,165 | $6,817 | $5087 | $5,843 | $6,061 | $4,870 | $2,386 | $974

Private Four-year For-

Profit $11,904 | $8,517 | $3,387 | $5962 | $5942 | $5110 | $6,794 | $4,259 | $2,087 | $852

WGU Washington $6,280 | $5,619 | $661 $3,933 | $2,347 | $3,371 | $2,909 | $2,810 | $1,377 | $562

Community &

TeohnicallGolloges $4,833 | $4,333 [ $500 | $3,033 | $1,800 | $2,600 | $2,233 | $2,167 | $1,062 | $433

CTC Applied

Bachelor's $7,444 | $6,944 | $500 | $4,861 | $2,583 | $4,166 | $3,278 | $3,472 | $1,701 $694

Private Two-Year Non-

Profit $4,833 | $3,694 [ $1,139 [ $2,586 | $2,247 | $2,216 | $2,617 | $1,847 [ $905 $369

Private Two-Year For

Profit $4,833 | $2,823 [ $2,010 | $1,976 | $2,857 | $1,694 | $3,139 | $1,412 [ $692 $282

Northwest Indian
College - Tribal $4,833 | $3,694 | $1,139 | $2,586 | $2,247 | $2,216 | $2,617 | $1,847 $905 $369
College

Please note that annual awards may not be exceeded for 3 quarter/2 semester enrollments. If annual award amounts do not
divide evenly, you must round up/down accordingly to ensure you do not exceed the annual limit. However, eligible students
will receive more than these amounts if enrolled more than 3 quarters/2 semesters.
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CBS Maximum Award Amounts to Disburse

The value of the initial eligible CBS Scholar award shall be the difference between the “Total
Maximum WCG and CBS to Eligible College Bound Scholars” amount, minus the WCG

Maximum, and minus the value of any other state funded grants or scholarships (gift aid) the
student has been awarded at the time of the CBS award decision.

The award shall be further reduced if total need-based aid is in excess of need or the student
attends part-time. If additional state gift aid is awarded after the initial CBS award decision
was made, the CBS award must be revised to reflect that additional state aid.

Subtraction of State Gift Aid for Determining Eligibility for CBS Award Amounts

The following state programs must be subtracted from the “Total Maximum WCG and CBS to
Eligible College Bound Scholars” amount in determining the amount to fund from the CBS
program:

>

>

Washington College Grant - Due to 100 percent coordination requirements, all
eligible CBS Scholars must receive a maximum Washington College Grant award.

Passport to College Scholarship - A state scholarship program for current and former
foster youth and unaccompanied homeless youth.

Note: Students who receive Passport funds will likely have their maximum CBS
commitment met with a combination of Washington College Grant and Passport
scholarship funds, and therefore will not receive a CBS award.

SBCTC Opportunity Grant - The Opportunity Grant helps low-income adults train for
high-wage, high-demand careers. It is administered by the State Board for Community
and Technical Colleges.

SBCTC Worker Retraining Funds - Workers who are unemployed or have been
notified by their employers that they are about to be laid off may be eligible for these
funds administered by the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges.

American Indian Endowed Scholarship - A scholarship for students having financial
need with close social and cultural ties to an in-state American Indian community, for
pursuing undergraduate and graduate studies.

Do not subtract State Work Study or other institutional aid, including tuition waivers,
because they are not considered as other state gift aid for this purpose.

Note: There may be cases where eligible CBS Scholars will receive total state aid greater
than the “Total Maximum WCG and CBS to Eligible College Bound Scholars” amounts.

An example of this is an eligible CBS Scholar, who receives a WCG award and a Passport to
College Scholarship award, which together may exceed the CBS maximum. Similar
situations may also occur with combinations of WCG and SBCTC Opportunity Grant
funding.

In these cases, the CBS Scholar would not receive College Bound Scholarship funding for
the year, because the other awarded state gift aid exceeds the CBS Commitment amount.
Report students as having CBS need met.
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Uneven WCG Disbursements Permitted to Students Not Receiving CBS funding

Typically, WCG awards are disbursed evenly for all terms during the year if the student’s
enrollment status is the same each term. However, the Financial Aid Administrator may
award a greater proportion of the student's WCG award in one term if the disbursement is
justified by the student's costs in that same term, (i.e. extensive fees fall term that won’t be
charged the remainder of the year.)

If this exception is used, a statement shall be placed in the student's file acknowledging that
an exception to uneven WCG disbursements has been granted. If the student receives a
larger WCG disbursement in one term, but then does not attend the full year, the student
will be considered overpaid and will owe a WCG repayment.

Note: This uneven disbursement policy does not apply to those receiving CBS funding.

Minimum Awards:
0 The minimum CBS award amount is one dollar ($1.00) per term.

0 The minimum WCG award amount is also one dollar ($1.00) per term.
Circumstances relevant to part-time enrollment and other factors may reduce
a student’s WCG to a very low level. The FAA may issue WCG awards as low as
$1.00 per term.

Declining CBS or WCG Awards

If a CBS or WCG awarded student wishes to decline a CBS or WCG award, the institution
must maintain a written record of the award amount that is declined and the reason it was
declined. This may occur, for example, when a student is awarded a very small amount and
wishes to retain flexibility for future terms of eligibility.

If a WCG or CBS awarded student wishes to decline their CBS/WCG award and/or return
funds due to an enrollment level decrease and to have their quarterly award and QER usage
reduced to reflect that lower amount, the student must notify the financial aid office in
writing. The aid office must then recalculate their eligibility and return those funds
received either due to a tuition refund and/or funds returned by the student to WSAC using
the CSAW portal. The aid office must ensure they update the reporting in CSAW to reflect
the lowered award amount and enrollment level associated with that reduced award.

See the next table for maximum Washington College Grant Awards for students enrolled
full-time.
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Maximum Washington College Grant Awards for

Students Enrolled Full-Time for All Terms

Median Family Income

Tribal College

0%-55% | 56%-60% | 61% -65% | 66% -70% | 71% - 75% | 76%-100%
Institution/Sector

(full award) (70% of full | (60% of full | (50% of full | (24.5% of | (10% of full

award) award) award) full award) award)

University of Washington $ 11339 ¢ 79371 $ 6803| % 5670 $ 27781 $ 1,134
Washington State University $ 11009 $ 7706] $ 6605 % 5505 % 2697 % 1,101
Central Washington University | $ 7343 $ 5140 $ 4406 % 3672 $ 1,799 $ 734
Eastern Washington
University $ 6871 $ 4810 $ 4123 $ 3436 $ 1683 $ 687
The Evergreen State College $ 7369 $ 5158 $ 44211 % 368 ¢ 1805( $ 737
Western Washington
University $ 7532 | $ 5272 $ 4519 $ 3766 $§ 1845| $ 753
Private Four-Year, Non-Profit $ 9739 $ 6817 $ 5843 $ 48701 $ 2386 $ 974
Private Four-Year, For-Profit $ 8517 | $ 592| $ 5110 $ 4259 § 2087 $ 852
WGU Washington $ 5619 $§ 3933 ¢ 33711 $ 2810 $ 1377 $ 562
Community & Technical
Colleges $ 4333 $ 3033|$ 2600 $ 2167 $ 1062] $ 433
CTC Applied Bachelor's $ 69441 % 4861 $ 4166 $ 34721 $ 1,701 $ 694
Private Two-Year, Non-Profit $ 3694 | $ 258 | $§ 2216 $ 1847 $ 905 | $ 369
Private Two-Year, For-Profit $ 2823 $ 1976 | $§ 1694 $ 1412] $ 692 $ 282
Northwest Indian College - | ¢ 3604 | ¢ 2585 | § 2216| $ 1847|$ 905|$ 369

*Eligible students will receive more than these amounts if enrolled for more than 3 quarters or 2 semesters.

Please note: Annual awards may not be exceeded for 3 quarter/2 semester enrollments. If
annual award amounts do not divide evenly, you must round up/down accordingly to ensure
you do not exceed the annual limit.
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ADJUSTING MAXIMUM AWARD AMOUNTS

The maximum WCG and CBS awards for full-time students appearing in the charts in the
previous pages must be reduced under the following two conditions:

Part-Time Students
Both CBS and WCG awards must be reduced for part-time students based on their
enrollment status:

e Students at 34 time are eligible for 75 percent of the maximum award

e Students at %2 time are eligible for 50 percent of the maximum award

e Students at % time are eligible for 25 percent of the maximum

Attendance Less Than 3 Quarters or the Equivalent

CBS and WCG students attending for fewer than three quarters or the equivalent will receive
a pro-rated share of the total annual award. Example: A full-time student attending one of
three quarters will receive one-third of the maximum award amounts shown in the charts.

Clock Hour Schools

Additional information on awarding students enrolled in clock hour programs appears in
Chapter 5. Students must receive at least twelve clock hours of instruction per week to be
awarded state aid. Except for the final payment term, all students should be paid as full-time
students for each term.

The first term payment should be made as soon as possible once the student is enrolled and
has met all program requirements. Once the student has successfully completed 300 hours,
the student may be eligible for the next term payment. Then for each additional 300 hours
successfully completed, the student may be eligible for additional term payments.

Institutional Gift Equity Policies

Institutional gift equity policies do not apply to eligible College Bound Scholars or
Washington College Grant eligible students. Eligible College Bound Scholars, including those
with family income 66-100 percent, must receive the maximum WCG award for which they
are eligible, even if they do not receive any CBS funds.

OTHER AWARDING CONSIDERATIONS:

USE OF STATE FUNDS FOR PRIOR YEAR CHARGES

State financial aid is based on current year cost of attendance and more specifically tuition
and fees. As such, State financial aid may not be used to pay a student’s prior year charges in
any amount.
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Fourth Quarter/Third Semester Awards

[t is possible for a student to receive terms of WCG and/or CBS, in addition to the typical 3
quarters/2 semesters, within the same year.

For students earning academic credits, they may enroll and receive payments for up to four
quarters or three semesters during the year.

For students earning clock hours, students may be able to enroll and receive up to five
quarter payments per year (for more information on clock hours, see Chapter 5).

For students exceeding 3 quarters/2 semesters, the value of the additional award is
calculated as it would be for any regular term. Students receiving additional terms of aid will
reach their maximum quarter limit more quickly than students engaged in the common
three quarter/two semester enrollment pattern. In this scenario, it is permissible to exceed
the 3 quarter or equivalent grant amounts listed in the award charts.

Summer Awarding of CBS and/or WCG
Award all eligible CBS and/or WCG students enrolling during Summer 2021.

If Summer 1 (2021-22):

e All eligible College Bound students and/or Washington College Grant students
enrolling in summer 2021 (Summer 1) must receive their full eligibility in both CBS
and WCG.

e Colleges may use either the 2020-21 or 2021-22 WCG award amount for the Summer
1 term. Use the student’s current MFI if awarding using prior year award amount.

If Summer 2 (2020-21):

e No Summer 2 (2020-21) CBS and/or WCG awards should be made to students whose
files are complete after August 1. Contact WSAC if you later need to adjust your Final
Interim Report.

Awarding WCG to non-CBS students Summer 2 2020-21
If Summer 2 (2020-21):

e Summer 2 (2020-21) awards are part of colleges’ 2020-21 WCG funding. Use the
2020-21 award chart if an award is made. Subject to funds availability.

Financial Aid Over-Award

State aid, combined with other aid meeting need, may not exceed the student’s calculated
need. However, a student will not be considered over-awarded if additions to the initial
award exceed his or her financial need by $300 or less by the end of the year.

Changes in Need, MF], or Other Aid Received that May Cause Award Revisions

If any of these types of changes occur, the FAA must review the eligibility for WCG and/or
CBS and, if necessary, readjust the awards.
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Examples:

» A CBS funded student receives additional state aid (e.g. Passport to College
Scholarship or Opportunity Grant) after a student has been awarded CBS. In
this case, the CBS award must be revised. If a disbursement of the CBS has
already been made, that award amount may need to be repaid to WSAC, either
fully or partially, depending on the circumstances.

O Ifthe FAA can reduce the award disbursements for future terms; however,
and not repay funds already disbursed, that is permissible in this limited
instance. The WCG award needs also to be reviewed to be sure the award
is not over need, for example. If the student fails to attend future terms the
student would owe the funds.

» A WCG funded student (who is not an eligible CBS Scholar) receives additional
aid, the MFI level changes, or the need changes. The FAA must review the
award to make sure that the student is still eligible for the WCG amount
originally awarded. This would include making sure that the proper MFI
award amount was in place if there were changes in the family income or
family size.

Payments Cannot be Made to Students for a Current Term After Withdrawal

If a student completely withdraws for a term without earning at least 3 credits, no
additional WCG or CBS payments may be made to the student for that term, on or after a
student’s official withdrawal date.

Note: State policy differs from the Federal policy on this issue of post withdrawal
disbursements.

Retroactive Awards and/or Payments for Previous Terms for Eligible
CBS and/or WCG Scholars

Retroactive WCG and CBS awards and/or payments MUST be made to eligible CBS Scholars
and/or WCG students for a prior term(s) as long as they are for the current year and other
program rules are followed. The value of the retroactive awards and/or payments must be
based on a student's rate of satisfactorily completed credits (must be at least 3 credits or the
equivalent) determined by the institution at the end of the term(s).

If an institution retroactively awards WCG funds to a student who completed fewer credits
for that term than they would have been awarded had the award been made at the beginning
of the term, the student’s CSAW enrollment status for the term must be updated to reflect
the enrollment status for which the payment was actually made.

Late Applicants

The Financial Aid Administrator must ensure that 100 percent coordination between CBS
and WCG is achieved for all terms, including summer.
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Award Rounding

Major rounding of awards is not permitted. When a calculated award cannot be evenly
divided, award one dollar more or less than the desired even disbursement in one of the
terms. Rounding by more than two dollars per year is not permitted.

Concurrent Award at Two Institutions

While it is not encouraged, it is permissible for two institutions to disburse separate state aid
awards to the same student during the same term. The state aid at each institution shall be
calculated in the normal fashion. Itis presumed that the student's maintenance costs are
considered in the overall award at one institution and the second institution's award shall
not exceed the cost it recognizes for tuition and books.

If an institution exercises this option, it must coordinate with the second institution. One
institution may fund the full COA and one can only fund tuition and books. Itis important
that you document this in the student’s file. This information will be requested by WSAC via
edits generated by payment requests and interim reporting.

Fractional Last Term

If a fraction of a term of eligibility is remaining for a student towards the end of their
eligibility, a fractional award may be granted. Refer to the formulas below for award
calculations, based on quarter institution or semester institution.

Note: You only need to perform this calculation if the student does not have enough
Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER) to fully fund the enrollment status. For example, if
a student at a quarter institution has .38 QER, but is only enrolled less than half-time, the
student will only use .25 QER, and therefore, the fractional calculation is not yet necessary.

Fractional award conversion examples:

QER = Quarters of Eligibility Remaining
SER = Semesters of Eligibility Remaining

QER x Full-time award amount within MFI category

Quarter WCG Institution Example:

Joe student has .38 QER. The full-time WCG quarter award amount within Joe’s MFI
category is $1,180.

The calculation is:

.38 x $1,180= $448. Joe would be eligible for a $448 final quarter award.
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Semester Institutions:

QER / 1.5 = Semesters of Eligibility Remaining (SER)*
SER x Full-time award amount within MFI category

*A Semester is equal to 1.5 quarters, so for the first step of the formula you must convert
the amount of QUARTERS remaining (QER) into SEMESTERS remaining (SER). Do this by
dividing the QER by the semester multiplier of 1.5. Then multiply the SER by the full-time
award amount within the student’s MFI category.

Semester WCG Institution Example:
Maria student has .38 Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER). The full-time semester
award amount within Maria’s MFI category is $4,259. The calculation is:

38 / 1.5 = 26
QER  Semester Divider SER

Now, multiply the SER with the full-time WCG award amount within her MFI category.

.26 x $4,259 = $1,107. Maria would be eligible for a $1,107 final semester award.

AWARDING PRACTICES NOT PERMITTED

Single Parents and Part-Time Students

All eligible students in these groups must be treated equally. No group, such as single
parents or part-time students, may be disadvantaged relative to any other group of

recipients in its access to state aid.
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CHAPTER 3
SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP)

Institutions are responsible for monitoring each recipient's Satisfactory Academic Progress,
as outlined in WAC 250-21-021(16) of the WCG rules, and in the institution’s WSAC-approved
institutional SAP policy.

The SAP policy is applicable to all state aid grant programs, including Washington College
Grant, College Bound Scholarship, and Passport to College Scholarship. There are differences
between state and federal SAP requirements including:

¢ A maximum usage limit of five full-time years of eligibility versus 150 percent of the
published program length (federal). (Note: CBS has a maximum usage limit of four
full-time years of eligibility to be used in within the five years following high school
graduation.)

e Arequired per term SAP review for state aid.

e A quantitative standard requiring that at least one-half of the credits enrolled, for
which the aid was calculated and disbursed each term, are earned as compared to
the federal “pace” requirement.

At the end of each term, participating institutions shall examine the progress of each state
aid recipient and determine which of the following applies to the student:

¢ [s meeting Satisfactory Academic Progress.
e Isto be placed in Warning Status'! and may be continued on state aid.

¢ Isto be placed in Unsatisfactory or Denied Status and therefore ineligible for state
aid until the student meets the conditions of the institution’s reinstatement policy.

An institution may submit an alternative approach to evaluating academic progress that
includes a plan for improved student retention and comparison data to ensure state grant
funds are used efficiently. WSAC will initially determine whether to approve the alternative
policy, then evaluate it over a specified timeframe, then determine whether the policy may
continue to be approved.

Maximum Usage Timeframe

As stated in Chapter 1, Washington College Grant recipients may receive the equivalent of 5
full-time years of maximum usage (15 quarters, 10 semesters or the equivalent). College
Bound Scholarship recipients may receive the equivalent of 4 full -time years of maximum
usage (12 quarters, 8 semesters or the equivalent.)

'To avoid confusion with the federal definition of “probation,” the term “warning” is used for state aid administration.

38


http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-20-021

Quantitative Standard for Students in Quarter and Semester Credit Programs

To meet “satisfactory academic progress” the student must successfully complete a
minimum number of credit or clock hours for each term in which the grant was received.

Each school’s policy for measuring progress of state aid grant recipients must define
satisfactory as the student’s completion of the minimum number of credit or clock hours for
which the aid was disbursed.

The minimum number of credits standard for enrolled students whose aid was calculated
and disbursed as less than full-time students is:

e Full-time enrollment - 12 credits or 300 clock hours
e Three-quarter time enrollment - 9 credits or 225 clock hours
e Half-time enrollment - 6 credits or 150 clock hours

e Less than half-time enrollment - 3 credits or 75 clock hours
(Only applies to WCG and CBS programs)

Note: The minimum number of credits for full-time enrollment is 12 credits per term for
institutions that base their enrollment on a credit system. For these institutions, 12 credits
are considered the amount for which aid was calculated and disbursed even if the student
enrolled for more than 12 credits.

Successful Completion of Credits

Coursework that counts towards successful completion of program or degree completion
typically includes letter grades of A-D and Pass. Grades received of F, E, Fail, Withdraw,
Unofficial Withdrawal, and Incomplete do not count as successfully completed credits.

Warning Status?

Warning Status for state aid recipients is triggered when a student completes at least one-
half, but less than all of the minimum number of credits for which the aid was calculated and
disbursed, or otherwise fails to fulfill the conditions of the institution’s satisfactory progress

policy.
e For afull-time student at 12 credits, this means that if the student successfully

completes 6 to less than 12 credits, the student is to be placed in a warning status
for the following term.

e For athree-quarter time student at 9 credits, a student must successfully complete
4.5 to less than 9 credits to be placed on warning status

e For a half-time student at 6 credits, a student must successfully complete 3 to less
than 6 credits to be placed on warning status.

e For aless than half-time student at 3 credits, a student must successfully complete
1.5 to less than 3 credits to be place on warning status.

2To avoid confusion with the federal definition of “probation,” the term “warning” is used for state aid administration.
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Since all clock hours from the previous payment period must be earned before making
additional payments, there is no routinely recognized warning status for clock hour
students.

In addition, WSAC expects institutions to have rigorous policies for measuring academic
progress that limit the number of terms a student can continue to receive state aid while in
warning status. The institution may make disbursements and continue a student on State
Work Study to a student who is in warning status.

Denied Status

Denied status requires that each school's policy must deny further disbursements of all
state aid at the conclusion of any term in which he or she fails to complete at least one-half of
the minimum number of credits or clock hours for which the aid was disbursed or otherwise
fails to fulfill the conditions of the institution's satisfactory progress policy. This status also
may be given to a student who has remained in warning status for more terms than the
institution’s policies allow.

Quantitative Standard for Students in Clock Hour Programs

Students enrolled in clock hour programs must enroll as full-time students and complete
300 hours for each term to meet the quantitative standard before being eligible for the next
term disbursement.

Since all hours from the previous payment period must be earned before making additional
payments, there is no routinely recognized warning status for clock hour students. A school
however, may petition WSAC to allow a warning status.

Qualitative Standard

The institution's satisfactory academic progress policy must contain a qualitative standard.
For purposes of state aid programs, the qualitative standard used to comply with federal
satisfactory academic progress standards is acceptable.

Other Conditions of SAP Policy

The value of any retroactive financial aid payments shall be based on the student’s rate of
satisfactorily completed credits, determined by institution policy, at the end of the term. See
Chapter 2 for more information regarding retroactive payments.

A student may be denied further state aid disbursements or awards if the student fails to

fulfill any other conditions of the institution's WSAC-approved satisfactory academic
progress policy.
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Professional Judgment/Appeals

The Financial Aid Administrator may, on a case-by-case basis, reinstate a student back into
satisfactory academic progress in response to that student's extenuating circumstances. The
FAA may choose to exercise professional judgment without a specific request to do so from
the student.

For example, the FAA may decide to grant a student continued access to state aid if failure in
one term is countered by an extensive history of prior success. The student’s file must
include documentation related to the professional judgment decision.

Reinstatement

Each institution's satisfactory academic progress policy shall state which conditions a denied
status student must meet before state aid will be reinstated. For example: the student may
have to attend the institution without state financial aid for a specific period of time or may
have to show proof that credits have been made up within a designated time period.

Notifying Students of SAP Policies

Institutions must make information available to state aid recipients of the state SAP policies
that impact their students’ ability to continue receiving state aid for future terms.

This must include information about how state SAP is determined at the institution, how
Warning Status and Denial Status are determined, and the institution’s Reinstatement Policy
of state aid should the student go into Denial Status.

The available information also must include when SAP reviews will take place and how and
when students will be notified in writing should their state aid status change to Warning,
Denial or Reinstatement.

This information may be included in institutional financial aid handbooks or other

information made available to all students or all state aid recipients at each institution. It
does not need to be sent individually to all state aid recipients.

STUDENT WITHDRAWALS/REPAYMENT CALCULATIONS

See Chapter 5 for required repayment policy information.
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CHAPTER 4
PORTAL ACCESS AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

PORTAL ACCESS

Each Financial Aid Administrator (FAA) is required to obtain their own Portal login to access
functions and submit reports via the WSAC Portal. A universal account, or the account of another
aid administrator, cannot be used to access the Portal for multiple aid administrators.

It is the responsibility of each college’s appointed authorizing official to promptly remove
Portal access for staff who should no longer have access, such as those who are no longer
employed by the college or have moved to another department.

To obtain an account, contact the appointed authorizing official at your college. The appointed
authorizing official will grant access to the appropriate programs and functions in the Portal
using the ‘Manage User’ function.

Portal user administration instructions for the authorizing official to create and manage Portal
accounts are located in the Portal under the ‘Common’ menu item. Select Common/Messages
and Files/Files, Forms, and Memos.

If the authorizing official is unable to add or remove an account, contact wcg@wsac.wa.gov.

Security of Information

All institutions are expected to treat information on the WSAC Portal in accordance with the
Electronic Agreement contained in the Institutional Agreement to Participate.

Institutions and individuals are granted access to data with the expectation that they protect
the confidentiality of this information with the same level of care as they do any other
student aid document.

Secure Data Transmission

No personally identifiable information (PII) shall be transmitted to WSAC via email. All
institutions must send information to WSAC via the secure email function in the Portal or
using CSAW.

Portal Training

Portal users have access to the portal training site: https://portaltraining.wsac.wa.gov/. It
is a great way to get acquainted with CSAW functions. Information in the Training Portal
updates and resets each night allowing for training in a safe environment.
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REQUIRED REPORTS

Participating institutions are required to submit eligible Washington College Grant, College
Bound Scholars and Passport to College student details via quarterly Interim Reports, including
a year-end submission for reconciliation purposes, and an annual Unit Record Report (URR).

Please refer to the Unit Record Report Manual for details regarding that report and the
required deadlines for submission.

Interim Report Definition

The Interim Report is a quarterly data submission that includes student details for every
eligible student awarded the Washington College Grant, College Bound Scholarships and
Passport to College.

Data reported on the interim reports provides the basis for WCG, CBS, and PTC funding
projections.

Interim Report Due Dates for the 2021-22 Academic Year

Fall Interim Report November 8, 2021
Winter Interim Report February 14, 2022
Spring Interim Report May 9, 2022
Final Interim Report* July 11,2022

*The final Interim Report for the 2021-22 academic year also serves as the year-end
reconciliation and is due July 11, 2022.

Record Layouts

All institutions will use the College Bound-WCG Award Warehouse (CSAW) to fulfill the
Interim Reporting requirement. The layout for the 2021-22 academic year, which includes
fields for Passport to College Scholarships and term type, is located at the end of this chapter.

A sample .csv file is located at: http://www.wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources. Your file layout can
be submitted in a different order but the header names must be identical to the sample file
and are not case sensitive. Please do not make any modifications to header names.

ELIGIBLE AWARDED WCG AND CBS STUDENTS

Eligible awarded WCG students refers to Washington College Grant students, who have
either received a WCG payment, or who have had WCG funds committed (student has received
an award offer) but not yet disbursed at the time of the report.

Eligible awarded CBS students refers to eligible College Bound Scholars who have either
received a CBS payment, or who have had CBS funds committed, but not yet disbursed at the
time of the report.
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INSTRUCTIONS

For detailed interim report submission instructions, including how to upload a file and
address edits, https://wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources.

Edits

CSAW rejects data in the form of edits. All edits must be addressed individually, except
informational edits. A complete list of edits is located in the instructions at the end of this
chapter.

Reporting Enrollment Status

In general, each student’s term enrollment status should reflect the funding the student was
eligible to receive.

e Report the student’s enrollment status for each term as of the date WCG or CBS was
disbursed unless the student changed enrollment prior to the start of the term.

e Ifthe student wasn’t considered eligible for aid for a term, do not report them.

Exceptions: Applies to both WCG and CBS Recipients.

= [fastudentreceived a full refund of tuition charges and the balance of funds were
not disbursed to the student, all funds must be returned via CSAW and the
student’s CSAW record must be updated to show as not enrolled for that term.

= [fastudentreceived a partial refund and the WCG or CBS award was
proportionally decreased to a revised enrollment level, the enrollment status
must also be updated (e.g., the student’s original disbursement was based on 12
credits and the student’s enrollment status was reported as full-time.)

Later a refund is applied that adjusts the students awards to half-time, they
would be reported as half-time. The WCG for the term and enrollment status
must be updated to show half-time enrollment and the appropriate amount of
WCG.

Reminder: Be sure to update each student’s term enrollment status on each of the Interim
Reports. We have found some institutions that have updated the term award amounts but
failed to update the enrollment statuses. This is very important as the term enrollment
statuses impact the students QER.

Secure Data Transmission

No personally identifiable information (PII) shall be transmitted to WSAC via email. All
institutions must send information to WSAC via the secure email function or using CSAW.
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Security of Information

All institutions are expected to treat information on the WSAC Portal in accordance with the
Electronic Agreement contained in the Institutional Agreement to Participate.

Institutions and individuals are granted access to data with the expectation that they protect
the confidentiality of this information with the same level of care as they do any other
student aid document. The institution’s Financial Aid Administrator (FAA) is required to
immediately notify WSAC in the event of any breaches or potential breaches of data.

Information contained in these files is for the sole purpose of administering state aid
programs. This information may not be used for research. If you have questions about the
proper use of the information, please contact WSAC at wcg@wsac.wa.gov

Each institution must have one or more Financial Aid Administrator(s) with a WSAC-
assigned portal account. Each account user must have a separate unique password. If you
have forgotten your password, please click on the “forgot your password’ link on the Portal
login page. Accounts and passwords are not to be shared among staff - each person needs
their own account and password.

RECONCILIATION REPORT

During the year-end reconciliation reporting period (Final Interim Report submitted in July),
institutions have access to a balance sheet on the interim report tab in CSAW. Please ensure
that your ending balance is zero. If you think your balance should be zero but it is not, contact
program staff at wcg@wsac.wa.gov.

Any remaining balance of WCG, CBS, or PTC funds at the end of the institution’s reconciliation
process need to be returned to WSAC in the form of a check or by EFT. Documentation must be
provided with the check that specifies which program and dollar amount the funds are for.

For complete instructions on how to complete the WCG-CBS-PTC interim report, go to
https://wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources.
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Interim Report Complete List of Edits

CBS student has 3 or less QER

PTC student has 3 or less QER

WCG student has 3 or less QER

Must award the maximum WCG amount

Student is OK to award, not OK to pay, and hasn't been awarded CBS

Applied baccalaureate is only allowed for Community and Technical colleges

Birthdate is required for PTC student

Cannot have awards for both summer terms at the same institution (except for

clock-hour schools)
CBS award cannot be less than zero

CBS receivable balance cannot exceed the award amount
CBS student is not OK to Pay

Enrollment status cannot be “Not Enrolled" unless all awards have been

cancelled
Enrollment status must be “Not Enrolled" if no awards are reported

Enrollment status cannot be “Not Enrolled” unless all awards have been

cancelled
Family income exceeds 65% CBS MFI Threshold

Family income exceeds WCG MFI threshold

Family income information is required for WCG and CBS students
Family size must be between 1 and 20

Family size must be more than or equal to number in college
Number in college must be between 1 and 20

PTC award cannot be less than zero

PTC cannot be awarded to students attending less than half time
PTC receivable balance cannot exceed the award amount

WCG award cannot be less than zero

WCG receivable balance cannot exceed the award amount
Student does not have any WCG QER for this award

Student does not have any CBS QER for this award

Student does not have enough PTC QER for this award

Student has unpaid receivables for a prior term

Student is not eligible to receive PTC

CBS award exceeds maximum eligible amount

CBS students must receive maximum WCG award

Combined enrollment status cannot exceed full-time for a single term
PTC award exceeds maximum eligible amount

PTC Student cannot be awarded or paid after age 27

PTC Student must receive first award prior to age 22

WCG award exceeds maximum eligible amount
WCG eligible student must be awarded
WCG, CBS, and PTC repayments must be referred at the same time

Student is eligible for PTC but hasn't been awarded
Student is OK to pay but hasn’t been awarded CBS

Total CBS awards for year cannot exceed $2 of maximum
Total PTC awards for year cannot exceed $2 of maximum
Total WCG awards for year cannot exceed $2 of maximum
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Informational only
Informational only
Informational only
Informational only
Informational only
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable

Non-overrideable

Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable

Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable

Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Non-overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable

Overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable

Overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable
Overrideable



Many edits can be resolved by correcting the data in the data fields. Correcting the data in
CSAW will make the edit no longer appear. Overrides should be used when data cannot be

corrected.

Common Edits to be Addressed with Data Correction Instead of Overriding

Sample Incorrect

Award Exceeds Maximum
Eligible Amount

Award Exceeds Maximum
Eligible Amount

Award Amount Exceeds Max,
Most Likely Because of MFI
Issue

Combined Enrollment Status
Cannot Exceed Full-time

Combined Enrollment Status
Cannot Exceed Full-time

Student is OK to Pay But Not
Awarded CBS

Student is OK to Pay But Not
Awarded WCG / CBS / PTC

Eligible at time of
disbursement-or-Enrolled FT

Pursuing bachelor’s degree

Awarded on original income
reported on FAFSA

No aid was disbursed

No financial aid my institution

MFI too high

Need met

Update enroliment status to the
status at time of disbursement

Check the App Bacc* box on
each term the student is enrolled
in upper-division BAS courses
(applies to CTC sector only.
NWIC and Perry Tech cannot
exceed CTC award amounts for
students in two-year programs)

Change the income reported for
the student to reflect what was
used to award

Remove student award records if
you know student is not attending
oris ineligible. Do not report as
‘need met’.

Remove student award records if
you know student is not attending
or ineligible. Do not report as
‘need met’.

Update income — the income
being reported shows them within
65%

Enter $0 in award amount

*This applies only to students enrolled at institutions that are considered two-year degree institutions.
BAS refers to students at those institutions who are enrolled in applied baccalaureate degree programs

at those institutions.
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CSAW FILE UPLOAD LAYOUT FOR ALL INSTITUTIONS

A sample .csv file is located at http://www.wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources. The file layout can be
submitted in a different order, but the header names must be identical to the sample file
and are not case sensitive. Loading a new file will override previously loaded information.

Please Note:

* Including the Passport and Term Type fields in the CSAW file upload are strongly
encouraged to ensure timely accurate reporting.

= Winter term fields are not required for Semester institutions.
= The SchoolCode field is an optional field. [t may be completed or left blank.

= The WCG and CBS AwardAmount fields may be left blank if the student is not enrolled for
that term.

= All Enrollment Status and Boolean data type (yes/no) fields are not case-sensitive.
= The WcgApprenticeship fields are not required at this time and should be left blank.

» Enter $0 award for students who have their full need met by other aid. This will prevent
you from receiving an edit for the student.

2021-22 CSAW File Upload Layout

Ssn Numbers and hyphens 9-digit student identifier. SSN, ITIN, or
WASFA ID. Dashes will be removed,
and any 8-digit entries will be left-
padded with a zero (this is applicable
in cases where Microsoft Excel
interprets SSN as a number and
removes the leading zero).

SchoolCode Any characters Unique identifier for this student, for
this institution.

LastName Any characters Required

FirstName Any characters Required

Middlelnitial Optional

FamilySize Integer Required

NumberinCollege Integer Required

e b el | B oot

BirthDate mm/ddlyyyy Required. 10byte max, requires

slashes. Leading zeros on month and
day not required.

IsirWasfaTransactionNumber Integer ISIR or WASFA Transaction number
1-99 used to award student. Leading zero
on 1-9 is optional
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Summer1EnrolimentStatus

Summer1TermType

Summer1AppliedBaccalaureate

Summer1ChsAwardAmount

Summer1PtcAwardAmount

Summer1WcgAwardAmount

Summer1WcgApprenticeship

Summer1WcgAwardlsServed

FallEnrolimentStatus

FallTermType

FallAppliedBaccalaureate

FallChsAwardAmount

Not enrolled’ or ‘0’)

(

('Full Time' or "1")
("Half Time' or '2')
("3/4 Time' or '3")
('< Half Time' or '5")
(Quarter or 1")
(Semester or ‘2’), optional
(
(

true' or'y")
false' or 'n')

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

(‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’)
(‘Full Time’ or ‘1")
(‘Half Time’ or 2’)
("3/4 Time' or ‘3)
(‘< Half Time’ or ‘5’)
(Quarter or 1")
(Semester or ‘2’), optional
(
(

true’ or y)
false’ or n’)

Number up to two decimal
places
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The enroliment status the student
was eligible for at the time of
disbursement or as of the first day of
the term. If left blank, this will be set
to Not Enrolled.

If left blank or excluded from file, will
use the default term type.

This only applies to students at CTCs
and private colleges that primarily
offer associate degrees. All other
institutions should leave this blank.
Determines whether this student is
enrolled in a baccalaureate program
for this term.

Maximum CBS award amount, minus
specified state aid. ‘0’ indicates
‘need met’. Leave blank if not
awarded.

If left blank, will assume all Passport
students are being entered by hand.
‘0’ indicates “need met”

Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.

Not required. Leave blank

Not required. Leave blank

The enrollment status the student was
eligible for at the time of disbursement
or as of the first day of the term. If left
blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.

If left blank or excluded from file, will
use the default term type.

This only applies to students at CTCs
and private colleges that primarily
offer associate degrees. All other
institutions should leave this blank.
Determines whether this student is
enrolled in a baccalaureate program
for this term.

Maximum CBS award amount, minus
specified state aid. ‘0’ indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.



FallPtcAwardAmount

FallWcgAwardAmount

FallWcgApprenticeship
FallWcgAwardlsServed

WinterEnrollmentStatus

WinterTermType

WinterAppliedBaccalaureate

WinterCbsAwardAmount

WinterPtcAwardAmount

WinterWcgAwardAmount

WinterWcgApprenticeship
WinterWcgAwardIsServed

SpringEnrolimentStatus

SpringTermType

SpringAppliedBaccalaureate

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

(‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’)
(‘Full Time’ or ‘1")
(‘Half Time’ or 2’)
(‘3/4 Time’ or ‘3’)
(‘< Half Time’ or ‘5’)
(Quarter or 1")
(Semester or ‘2’), optional

(‘true’ or 'y’
(false’ or 'm’)

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

(‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’)
('Full Time' or "1")
("Half Time' or '2')
("3/4 Time' or '3")
('< Half Time' or '5")
(Quarter or 1")
(Semester or ‘2’), optional
(
(

true' or'y')
false' or 'n')
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If left blank, will assume all Passport
students are being entered by hand.
‘0" indicates “need met’

Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.

Not Required. Leave blank

Not Required. Leave blank

The enrollment status the student was
eligible for at the time of disbursement
or as of the first day of the term. If left
blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.

If left blank or excluded from file, will
use the default term type.

This only applies to students at CTCs
and private colleges that primarily
offer associate degrees. All other
institutions should leave this blank.
Determines whether this student is
enrolled in a baccalaureate program
for this term.

Maximum CBS award amount, minus
specified state aid. 0’ indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.

If left blank, will assume all Passport
students are being entered by hand.
‘0" indicates “need met’

Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.

Nor required. Leave blank.
Not required. Leave blank.

The enrollment status the student was
eligible for at the time of disbursement
or as of the first day of the term. If left
blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.

If left blank or excluded from file, will
use the default term type.

This only applies to students at CTCs
and private colleges that primarily
offer associate degrees. All other
institutions should leave this blank.
Determines whether this student is
enrolled in a baccalaureate program
for this term.



SpringCbsAwardAmount

SpringPtcAwardAmount

SpringWcgAwardAmount

SpringWcgApprenticeship
SpringWcgAwardIsServed

Summer2EnrolimentStatus

Summer2TermType

Summer2AppliedBaccalaureate

Summer2ChsAwardAmount

Summer2PtcAwardAmount

Summer2WcgAwardAmount

Summer2WcgApprenticeship

Summer2WcgAwardlsServed

- Winter term fields are not required for Semester institutions.

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

(‘Not enrolled’ or ‘0’)
('Full Time' or "1")
("Half Time' or '2')
("3/4 Time' or '3")
('< Half Time' or '5")
(Quarter or 1")
(Semester or 2'), optional
(
(

true' or'y")
false' or 'n')

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

Number up to two decimal
places

Maximum CBS award amount, minus
specified state aid. ‘0’ indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.

If left blank, will assume all Passport
students are being entered by hand.
‘0" indicates “need met’

Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.

Not required. Leave blank.
Not required. Leave blank.

The enrollment status the student was
eligible for at the time of disbursement
or as of the first day of the term. If left
blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.

If left blank or excluded from file, will
use the default term type.

This only applies to students at CTCs
and private colleges that primarily
offer associate degrees. All other
institutions should leave this blank.
Determines whether this student is
enrolled in a baccalaureate program
for this term.

Maximum CBS award amount, minus
specified state aid. ‘0" indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.

If left blank, will assume all Passport
students are being entered by hand.
‘0" indicates “need met’

Award amount. ‘0’ indicates “need
met”. Leave blank if not awarded.

Not required. Leave blank.

Not required. Leave blank.

- The SchoolCode field is an optional field. It may be completed or left blank.
- The WCG and CBS AwardAmount fields may be left blank if the student is not enrolled for that term.
- Al Enroliment Status and Boolean data type (yes/no) fields are not case-sensitive.
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CHAPTER 5
WCG AND CBS PAYMENTS, REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING

PROCEDURES FOR ELECTRONIC FUND TRANSFER PAYMENT REQUESTS,
STUDENT REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING

For the most efficient and timely processing of funds, colleges are strongly encouraged to use the
Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) method.

Private colleges are required to front monies to eligible students and then request
reimbursement from WSAC.

Public institutions are not required to have previously disbursed funds to eligible students
before requesting program funds

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Request Procedure

Payment Requests

Once a student is identified as eligible and an award is calculated, the institution may begin
the disbursement process.

Payment requests must be submitted through the use of CSAW (College Bound - WCG
Award Warehouse) located in the Portal. Institutions upload their eligible student file into
CSAW and manage awards from within the warehouse. Payments should be requested at
minimum, on a monthly basis.

Instructions for requesting state aid funds are located in the Common/Messages and
Files/Files, Forms, and Memos area of the Portal.

The file layout specifications and instructions for requesting reimbursements in CSAW are
located at the end of this chapter.

Note: The Clock Hour school payment request calendar is located at the end of this chapter.

When submitting files, please populate the SSN field for undocumented students in the
following order:

SSN

Tax ID Number (ITIN)

9-digit WASFA Applicant ID number

Payment requests may be made any time from late-July through late-June of the academic
year. Payments for a new year will not begin until the college’s annual participation
agreement is approved, and the final interim report is reconciled for the prior year. EFT
payment requests will be processed within 24 hours of receipt whenever possible.

Please allow a minimum of five to six business days from the time a request is submitted
until funds are received at your institution.
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Disbursement Procedures

The institution must confirm that the student is still eligible and confirm enrollment status at
the time of disbursement. In addition, the institution shall check the CBS Cruncher and the
Archive in the WSAC Portal to ensure student eligibility.

If a student does not attend, withdraws prior to the start of a term, reduces enrollment levels
prior to the start of the term or fails to commence attendance in all classes that their
enrollment level/award amount is based on, institutions must bill the student and report the
repayment to WSAC.

If a student changes enrollment prior to the start of a term, institutions must adjust the
student’s award in CSAW. Institutions that choose to cover repayment amounts owed will
return the funds via CSAW as an award cancellation/adjustment and not report the student
in repayment.

Reducing a processed award will create a negative payment request for that student under
the ‘Request Funds’ tab. It is permissible to only submit negative payment requests;
however, WSAC will not send funds until you have submitted positive awards to offset the
reduced awards.

Note: If the institution does not have reimbursements to offset any reduced awards after the
final interim report is reconciled, the institution must return the under-spent amount to the
Washington Student Achievement Council.

Payments Cannot be Made to Students for a Current Term After They Withdraw

If students withdraw for a term without earning at least 3 credits, no additional WCG or CBS
payments may be made to the students for that term on or after a student’s official
withdrawal date.

Note: State policy differs from the Federal policy on this issue of post-withdrawal
disbursements.

Retroactive Awards and Payments for Previous Terms

Retroactive WCG and CBS awards and payments MUST be made to eligible CBS Scholars
and eligible WCG students for a prior term(s) as long as they are for the current academic
year and other program rules are followed. This applies whether or not the student is
currently enrolled.

The value of the retroactive awards and payments must be based on a student's rate of

satisfactorily completed credits (at least 3 credits) determined by the institution at the end
of the term(s).
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Required Student Directive for Private Institutions

Private institutions must use WSAC'’s Student Directive Form to record a student’s decision
on where to apply their financial aid payment. The student’s financial aid payment can be
deposited directly into a student’s account, or disbursed in the form of a check, based on
their choice on the directive. For a copy of the student directive, see Chapter 6.

O Institutions must not coerce or influence the student’s choice on where to apply their
financial aid payment.

O The directive remains in effect for the duration of the student’s continuous enrollment
at the institution, excluding approved leaves of absence and summer terms. A new
directive is required if the student is not continuously enrolled.

O Institutions must allow students to change their minds at any time, prior to
disbursement, and follow their current directives at all times.

O Institutions must remind students once a year that their current directive is still in
place and that they may change it.

The institution may not withhold or delay the disbursement of state aid due to any student
debt, including tuition, fees, or fines owed the institution.

Conditions of Award Statements

Prior to disbursement, the institution must inform the state aid recipient of their
responsibilities to the program through a “Conditions of Award” statement. A copy of this
statement is in Chapter 6. This was updated in 2020-21.

The statement must be presented annually and can be delivered to the student through
paper or electronic means each year. The statement must be provided in its entirety and is
not satisfied by providing a link to the document or by attaching a copy of the document. The
Conditions of Award does not have to be signed by the student as long as the institution can
provide assurances to WSAC that the document was provided to the student each year.

It is the institution’s responsibility to maintain documentation that the conditions were
presented to the student.

WSAC may request a copy of the Conditions of Award statement that was presented to the
student and documentation that it was presented to the student. WSAC’s request for this
documentation must be fulfilled within 5 business days.

Power of Attorney Disbursements

A student whose off-campus program precludes their return to the institution for
disbursement of state aid funds must assign a Power of Attorney to a responsible person to
receive payments on their behalf. A copy of the Power of Attorney documentation must be
kept in the student's file.

Institutional Repayments

If a student is awarded incorrectly due to institutional error, it is the institution’s financial
obligation to repay the funds and they must be returned to WSAC immediately.
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Student Repayments

Repayment is a student responsibility if it is due to incorrect information provided by the
student, failure to complete the term or failure to commence attendance in all classes on
which their enrollment level /award amount is based. If a grant recipient leaves an
institution during an academic term in which he or she receives WCG, the student may be
required to repay WCG funds.

Note: The Washington College Grant Repayment Policy Requirements are Mandatory for all
Participating WCG Institutions.

Persian Gulf Veterans

Persian Gulf veterans are not required to repay the unused portions of grants received under
state student financial aid programs.

STATE AID GRANT REPAYMENT POLICY REQUIREMENTS

General

Students who fail to attend classes, who withdraw or reduce enrollment levels prior to the
start of the term, fail to commence attendance in all classes for which their enrollment
level/award amount are based on or who receive funding based on fraudulent information
will be required to repay 100% of the funds received.

Students who have received state aid (aid disbursed prior to the start of the term) and who
change enrollment status prior to the first day of the term, must have their state aid
eligibility recalculated to reflect their enrollment status as of the start of the term.

Students who fail to commence attendance in all classes for which their enrollment
level/award amount is based must have their state aid eligibility recalculated to reflect only
their enrollment level for those classes they attended.

The student who decreases enrollment status prior to the first day of the term will owe a
repayment of the overpayment amount. Students who increase enrollment status
throughout the term are entitled to additional funds for enrollment status increases.

Students who make enrollment status adjustments (up or down) after disbursement and
after the start of the term will be subject to completion of satisfactory academic progress
requirements outlined under 250-21-010 (12) (a-e). Enrollment status increases must
include WCG awards based on that enrollment and may not exceed need. However, students
may not receive more WCG than the cost of their tuition and fees.

If a student’s enrollment is adjusted during the tuition refund period and tuition is reduced,
and the student failed to commence attendance in all classes for which their disbursement

was made, the grant must be reduced to not exceed the cost of tuition and fees.

Note: For this section, “state grant” refers to all state grant and scholarship programs.
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REPAYMENT AND AWARD ADJUSTMENT EXAMPLES

Any practice other than in the examples provided below will require the institution to
submit an alternate Repayment Policy to WSAC for consideration. The alternate policy must
be clear and ensure that students receive their maximum awards, prevent ineligible students
from receiving awards, avoid initial disbursements in excess of tuition and fees, and adjust
remaining eligibility appropriately to not exceed QERS.

Note: It is permissible for students to decline a WCG award in part or in whole. This permissible
declination (as in C below) is consistent with existing WSAC WCG guidance, although is most
common when a student has minimal need remaining and wishes to retain a full award for a future
term. Students should be notified that this option is available to them and how it will affect them.

Repayment Examples:

EXAMPLE 1

A. WCG calculated and disbursed at full-time and student attends at least one class
for each course for which funds were disbursed but does not complete any classes.

ACTION: No adjustment necessary; award and enrollment will be reported at fulltime.

RESULT: Student will not owe a repayment, but the student will have used 1 QER and
be impacted by quarterly SAP.

B. WCG calculated and disbursed at fulltime except student withdraws from two
classes after attending at least one class in each course:

ACTION: No adjustment is necessary since the student began attendance in all the
enrolled classes for which the WCG was calculated. Award and enrollment will be
reported at fulltime.

RESULT: Student will not owe a repayment, will be impacted by quarterly SAP since
fewer than full time credits were completed and 1 QER will be utilized.

C. WCG calculated and disbursed at fulltime for 13 credits, then student withdraws
from six credits after attending at least one class in each course but within the
tuition refund period. The student notifies the financial aid office that they wish to
decline the refund and have the tuition refund returned to their WCG award and their
award reduced to match their new enrollment level/QER. This may involve the student
returning funds as well to the school to be returned to WSAC via CSAW so that their
award/enrollment level reflects the lower amount. (e.g. full-time to half-time and aid
returned to reflect half-time)

ACTION: Adjust student’'s WCG award to appropriate enrollment level and return funds
to WSAC via CSAW. Award and enrollment level will be reported at half time.

RESULT: Student’s WCG will reflect appropriate QER at awarded enrollment and

student will remain in good standing for SAP (as long as all credits for which the award
was adjusted are completed).
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AWARD ADJUSTMENT EXAMPLE

EXAMPLE 2

A. WCG is calculated at less than full-time and disbursed at less than full-time. Student adds
classes at any point in the term which changes their enrollment level to a higher level
and the WCG award amount and tuition are increased.

ACTION: WCG Award MUST be increased to the enrollment level for which the student
is enrolled—regardless of any alternative institutional policy or institutional census
date. The award and enrollment level will be reported at the higher level.

RESULT: Student receives additional WCG funds and CSAW reporting is adjusted to
reflect the higher enrollment level.

Alternative Repayment Policy Option

Institutions may propose alternative policies to our office for review. WSAC will analyze
alternative policies and may require adjustments to achieve consistent treatment of students
in similar circumstances across campuses and support student success. Institutions will be
notified if they are approved or require modifications.

Key considerations when developing alternative policies should include the following:
e Ensuring students receive their maximum awards
e Preventineligible students from receiving awards

e Avoid awards in excess of maximum tuition and fees

e Adjust remaining eligibility appropriately to not exceed QERs

Repayments for Deceased Students

All repayments for deceased students are forgiven. Please forward proof of death for all In
Repayment accounts to the Repayment mailbox using the secure email function in the Portal.
WSAC will process the cancelation.

Timely Management of Repayment Referrals for Institutions

Institutions must enter repayment accounts into the WSAC Portal under Transmittal using
the Receivable Transmittal feature within 10 business days of the date a student withdraws
or the end of the term, whichever is earlier. There are two types of repayment accounts:
Institution to Bill and In Repayment.

Please note: In order to report a receivable or Institution to Bill, you must have first
reported awards and requested funds through CSAW for that student.

Institutions may choose from the following options:
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1. Institution to Bill (has 2 subcategories):

Calculation Pending: Under Institution to Bill, this allows you to flag a student in
CSAW who has not met satisfactory academic progress and may owe a repayment but
for whom you have not yet completed the calculation. You must enter a date that
indicates the last date of the term or the student’s withdrawal, whichever is earlier.

This will ensure that the student does not receive additional state aid elsewhere. You
must complete the calculation and enter the dollar amount or convert to In Repayment
within 30 calendar days from the initial date of withdrawal/the end of the term,
whichever is earlier as reported above.

Calculation Completed/student owes: This allows you to report the student as
Institution to Bill, with an attached dollar amount you are actively collecting on from
the student. This prevents the student from receiving aid elsewhere while they are in a
repayment status for state aid.

All Institution to Bill accounts not paid in full must be converted to In Repayment
Status prior to submission of the Final Interim Report, or the institution assumes
liability and will have to repay the funds to the state aid programs.

2. In Repayment: The institution has determined that a repayment is owed within the
initial 10 business day window or is updating the status from Institution to Bill as
explained above within the 30 calendar days from the initial date you determined they
were no longer attending.

Accounts are transferred to our billing service within a short period of time and
actively collected on by our contracted billing service.

The following chart summarizes the different repayment actions and the timeframe for
completing those actions. Detailed information is provided in the following pages of this

chapter and in the Common/Messages and Files/Files, Forms, and Memos area of the Portal.
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_ TIMEFRAME FOR COMPLETION

INSTITUTION TO BILL INSTITUTION TO BILL
REPAYMENT ACTION Under Review Repayment Amount Known LA
10 business days from the end
. of the term or date of .
STATE AID REPAYMENT 10 business days from the end e By 10 business days from the end
R Lo Oftheterm or date of enter amount | DUERISeane
CSAW withdrawal; whichever is earlier; (Summer 2 CANNOT BE ITB withdrawal; whichever is earlier;
enter date AND MUST BE IN enter amount
REPAYMENT)
N/A - Repayment is under Immediately upon creatin
AN S IR\ L WY 508 review and student is blocked “TB - Re Z n?ent Amour?t Immediately upon creating
AND REPORTED TO WSAC from receiving additional P y In Repayment record
funding Known” record
Must convert to either “ITB
Repayment Amount Known” or
uistonvTocomerr o IINGAIRGRIN
“Linles ORI torm or date of witbcrawal, N/A N/A
HEFLAL AT LD TORL P whichever is earlier ’
“IN REPAYMENT” ACCOUNT -OR-
The Institution is liable for the
funds to WSAC
e R R Must convert to “In Repayment’
LML T ELL rior to submission gf your
REPAYMENT AMOUNT N/A prior. ; Y N/A
KNOWN” INTO “IN Final Inter!m .Report
REPAYMENT” ACCOUNT ST

If not converted to “ITB
Repayment Amount Known” or

“In Repavment” within 30 Must convert to “In Repayment’
LAST DATE TO REFER TO pay . prior to submission of your
calendar days of date outlined . . Already referred to WSAC
WSAC S Final Interim Report
above, institution becomes I
o Submission
financially liable and must
return funds to WSAC
Sl S50 2 1 Up to the date you convert Never - Institutions are not
N O them to “In Repayment” prior t rmitted t t payment
YEAR “INSTITUTION TO BILL N/A em o In Repayment prior fo - permitied fo accept paymen's
" D the submission of your Final  once an account is referred to
ALISDITLG DL LI Interim Report WSAC for collection
REPAYMENT” ACCOUNT P '
LAST DATE TO ACCEPT
PAYMENT FOR PRIOR YEAR N/A N/A Never — Refer student to WSAC
REPAYMENTS

Note: Summer 2/Trailer repayments may not be established as institution to bill and must be reported
as In Repayment in CSAW. All summer 2/Trailer repayments must be entered by August 31 each year.
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Institution to Bill Accounts

The institution must create Institution to Bill records for accounts that the institution chooses
to actively collect on during the academic year. Institution to Bill records shall be entered into
the Portal within 10 business days of the student's withdrawal, or the end of the term,
whichever is earlier. Doing so prevents students in repayment status from receiving aid at
another institution by flagging them on the CBS cruncher.

The institution has two options under this category based on the timelines described above.

The institution may retain the repayment account within the academic year if it continues
active collection procedures or if a student is making payments to the institution. Any
remaining balance must be converted to In Repayment status prior to submission of your
Final Interim Report. The institution shall not accept payments from the student past the
date you convert them to In Repayment.

If the student repays the Institution to Bill obligation in full to the institution within the
academic year, it is the institution’s responsibility to remove the Institution to Bill account for
that student as soon as possible after receipt of payment. If the institution does not remove
the record, then the Institution to Bill account will continue to appear on the students
record and the student will be ineligible for further state aid disbursements.

A reduction in the student award shall correspond with funds collected within the academic
year for Institution to Bill accounts.

Institutional refunds can be applied directly to student awards in Institution to Bill status and
the award reduced in CSAW. Accounts that are In Repayment status require the institution to
return the refunds directly to WSAC outside of the CSAW portal.

Note: Summer 2/Trailer repayments may not be established as Institution to Bill and must be
reported as In Repayment in CSAW. All summer 2/Trailer repayments must be entered no
later than August 31 each year. Students who withdraw must be reported within 10 business
days as outlined above to ensure ineligible students do not continue to receive aid.

In Repayment

If an institution does not want to actively collect from a student, refer accounts to WSAC to
commence collection activity.

Note: Once an In Repayment account is created, it cannot be canceled. In Repayment may
only be canceled when it was determined that the repayment was created in error and the
student never owed. Contact WSAC Receivables Coordinator for further assistance at:
repayment@wsac.wa.gov.

To refer a repayment account to WSAC for collection, select the In Repayment status in the
Transmittal function on the Portal. If an Institution to Bill record exists for the repayment
already, convert the original Institution to Bill account to an In Repayment account using the
instructions at the link referenced above.

Note: Repayments of less than $50 should not be referred to WSAC.

If a student is a recipient of WCG, CBS, and/or PTC the repayments must be referred to
WSAC simultaneously to ensure seamless and transparent billing to the student.
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As noted above, institutions have a total of 30 calendar days. The initial reporting must
be entered within 10 business days. Repayments not referred within the time frames
above will become the financial responsibility of the institution for failure to report.
Institutions will be required to return the funds to WSAC.

Accounts that are In Repayment status require the institution to return the funds directly to
WSAC outside of the CSAW portal.

If students contact the institution regarding their repayment after it has been referred to
WSAC, the institution must direct students to WSAC’s contracted billing service, University
Accounting Service (UAS), at 844-870-8701.

Note: Institutions must enter repayments into the Portal before sending communications to
students that refer them to UAS or WSAC.

Authority
Washington College Grant (WAC 250.21.051(7))

No-Show Repayments

If a state grant recipient never attends courses in the term for which they received a state
grant award, the state grant repayment amount is 100 percent of the award. If an institution
is unable to distinguish between a no-show and an unofficial withdrawal, the no-show policy
shall apply.

Institutional Errors

Institutions are responsible for repaying WSAC for overpayments resulting from calculation
errors. Institutions shall reduce the student’s award(s) to reflect the amount the student was
eligible to receive.

Canceling In Repayment Accounts

Once an In Repayment account is created, it cannot be canceled. In Repayment may only be
canceled when it was determined that the repayment was created in error and student never
owed. Examples are proof of an updated last date of attendance, grade change, proof of high
school diploma, etc.

Institutions may not accept any payment or apply tuition refunds for an In Repayment
account and must forward all funds to WSAC. For further assistance, contact WSAC
Receivables Coordinator at repayment@wsac.wa.gov.

If it is determined that a repayment was created in error and needs to be canceled in the
Portal, the institution must enter a clear explanation for why the repayment has been
canceled. Any funds the student has paid WSAC towards the repayment will be refunded to
the student by WSAC.

Cancelation of repayments created more than one academic year before the current year must
be done by contacting WSAC at repayment@wsac.wa.gov.
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INFORMATION FOR CLOCK HOUR PROGRAMS

In order to equate the clock hour programs to the credit hour programs, the following policy
makes the annual award amount equitable for students attending both clock hour and credit
hour programs.

Payment Periods:

1.

All clock hour students, except for their final term, must be reported as full-time
students in CSAW. First payments are made at the beginning of the program for
eligible students. Additional payments may be made for each 300 clock hours
successfully completed and are reported within a quarter term payment schedule.

Additional payments shall not be disbursed until the previous payment’s clock
hours have been earned/completed.

For a full-time, two-term (600 clock hours) student in good standing, the student
should be awarded for two payment periods (equivalent to two quarterly
payments).

For a full-time, three-term (900 clock hours) student in good standing, the student
should be awarded for three payment periods (equivalent to three quarterly
payments).

For a full-time, four-term (1200 clock hours) student in good standing, the student
should be awarded for four payment periods (equivalent to four quarterly
payments).

For a full-time, five-term (up to 1500 clock hours) student in good standing, the
student should be awarded for five payment periods (equivalent to five quarterly
payments).

Program Lengths

Clock hour programs must be at least 600 hours in length to qualify for state aid awards.
The program must provide a minimum of twelve clock hours of instruction per week.

A final quarter payment request can be submitted for students nearing completion of their
program who have between 75 and 299 remaining hours.

Remainder Hours - Award Percentages
75 - 149 hours
150 - 224 hours
225 - 299 hours
300+ hours

25% of a full-time award (report as less than half-time)

50% of a full-time award (report as half-time)

75% of full-time award (report as three-quarter time)

100% of full-time award (report as full-time)
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Academic Year Cross-Over Programs

If a payment falls in the cross-over between academic years, the school can select the
academic year in which to request the payment.

Additional clock hours earned beyond a full disbursement that are clocked prior to

July 1 of the next academic year may be carried over. For example, if a student earns 980
hours in one academic year and is awarded for two 450 hour terms, the 80 remaining hours
may be carried into the next academic year.

Clock Hour Payment Request Calendar

Payment periods are described as periods 1-5. Due to Portal limitations, the payment
periods must still be referred to as Summer 1, Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer 2 (in
corresponding terms).

Assign the term based on the dates when the majority of the student’s enrollment
for each 300 clock hour time period will occur.

Payment

Period Date Range Term
1 July 1 — September 11 Summer 1
2 September 12 — November 22 Fall
3 November 23 — February 5 Winter
4 February 6 — April 18 Spring
5 April 19 — June 30 Summer 2

Based on ten-week minimum between payment periods, five payment periods maximum.

PASSPORT STUDENT SUPPORT FUNDS PAYMENT REFUND POLICY SUMMARY

Passport to Careers Student Support Funds (formerly called Incentive Grants) are provided to
the postsecondary institution (by WSAC) or apprenticeship program (by a contracted third
party) and are used for the recruitment and retention of Passport eligible students.

Student Support Fund payments are currently valued at $500 per student per quarter or 300
clock hours, or $750 per student per semester. Student support payments are subject to funds
availability.

Student Support Fund payment process (for postsecondary institutions only):
1. Institution awards student scholarship in the portal.

2. Institution requests scholarship funds from WSAC, WSAC processes scholarship
payment through CSAW.

3. Student Support Funds are automatically “posted” in the portal.

4. WSAC processes the Student Support Fund payment after the close of quarterly
WCG/CBS/PTC interim reporting and sends funds to the institution in bulk.
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Student Support Fund refund policy (WSAC only):

1. Ifthe student does not enroll in or attend any classes, scholarship and Student Support
Funds must be returned to WSAC.

2. If the student enrolls, but does not attend, scholarship and Student Support Funds will
need to be returned to WSAC.

3. Ifthe student enrolls and attends classes, but withdraws, does not make SAP, or
discontinues attendance and the institution has done their due diligence to recruit and
support the student, WSAC will not require Student Support Funds to be returned. In
these cases, the institution has upheld their agreement to participate through the
Passport Addendum and has earned the Student Support Funds.

Note: Scholarship funds should be returned based on the state’s repayment calculation
policy and scholarship payments to the student are subject to repayment.

Student Support Fund repayment process (Institutions only):

When a Passport student scholarship is returned in full, the institution should document the
Student Support Fund returned to WSAC and provide the following payment information:

1. Student name

2. Year

3. Term for the refund
4

. Type of funding (scholarship or incentive)

Student Support Fund payment refunds need to be submitted to WSAC within the fiscal year
that they were paid for.

For example, if funds were paid in Fall 2021 and through the reconciliation process, the

student scholarship portion was returned for non-enrollment, the Student Support Funds
should also be returned at that same time and within the same fiscal year for that student.
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CHAPTER 6
CONDITIONS OF AWARD AND DIRECTIVES

Forms used to Provide Required Notification to Students

Prior to the first annual disbursement of state financial aid, institutions must inform
students of the conditions associated with their state financial aid award(s) by providing
them with the Washington State Aid - Conditions of Award below.

Conditions of Award statements must be provided to students on paper or electronically.

Emailed Conditions of Award statements must display the Conditions language, in its
entirety, in the body of the email, unless the institution requires students to certify their
acceptance by filing a signed form or otherwise verifying receipt of the Conditions language.
Institutions must maintain documentation that the state Conditions of Award were provided
to awarded students.

WSAC strongly encourages institutions to inform students of their potential eligibility for
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) through the Department of Social and
Health Services (DSHS).

Adding a statement to award letters is one way institutions can inform students that they
may be eligible for Basic Food benefits.

Sample language you might consider incorporating into student communications:

College students who receive the Washington College Grant may be eligible for Basic Food
benefits in Washington. For more information about Basic Food assistance and how to
apply: https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa/community-services-offices /basic-food

WSAC values institutional flexibility in best meeting our shared student disclosure
obligations. Institutions may propose alternative Conditions of Award language varying
from the statement below during the annual participation renewal process. Alternative
Conditions language must still convey the points included in the statement below and will be
evaluated for approval accordingly.

Institutions may incorporate state Conditions of Award language into more comprehensive

conditions statements that cover other forms of financial aid, subject to WSAC approval
during renewal.
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Conditions of Award Statement - Applies to Students at All Institutions Each Year

Washington State Aid — Conditions of Award

By accepting state financial aid, you agree to the conditions listed below. If you have
questions or find that you cannot comply with these conditions, please contact your
institution’s financial aid office.

1.

10.

You must meet the requirements for Washington State residency.

You do not owe a repayment to any state grant or scholarship nor are you in default on a
state student loan.

You must be enrolled in an eligible program and not be pursuing a degree in theology.

If you hold a bachelor’s degree or the foreign equivalent, you are not eligible to receive
state grant funds.

If you do not attend or if you withdraw from your classes, you may owe a repayment of
all or part of any state funds you have received.

You must maintain the academic progress standards established by your institution in
order to receive additional state aid.

There could be other circumstances that would require a repayment or reduction in
your current award amounts.

You must meet all eligibility requirements for the state aid program(s) awarded.

The offer of this financial assistance is subject to, and conditioned upon, the availability
of funds. Washington Student Achievement Council (WSAC) and the institution through
which the grant, scholarship, or work study is awarded, reserve the right to withdraw,
reduce, or modify the awards due to funding limitations or due to changes in
circumstances which affect your eligibility for the program(s).

If I fail to cash my check containing state funds or pickup any remaining funds by the
close of the academic year, the funds shall be returned to the program at WSAC and
treated as funds declined by me.

The State of Washington is offering you financial assistance to help support your educational
expenses. Please visit www.opportunitypathways.wa.gov to receive more information about
financial aid, scholarships, work study, and student loans.

You may choose to voluntarily make financial contributions to WSAC in recognition of the
assistance that you received. All voluntary contributions will be used to provide financial
assistance to other students. Please contact finaid@wsac.wa.gov for more information.
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Required Directive Form for Students at Private Institutions

Private institutions must use the following WSAC Student Directive Form to record a
student’s decision on where to apply their state financial aid payment(s) each term.

The student’s financial aid payment can be deposited directly into a student’s account or
disbursed in the form of a check based on their choice on the directive. In addition,
institutions:

O Must not coerce or influence the student’s choice on where to apply their
financial aid payment.

O Will keep the directive in effect for the duration of the student’s continuous
enrollment at the institution, excluding approved leaves of absence and summer
terms. A new directive is required if the student is not continuously enrolled.

O Must allow students to change their minds at any time, prior to disbursement,
and follow their current directives at all times.

O Mustremind students once a year that their current directive is still in place and
that they may change it.

The student must sign and date the directive. The signature can be either a wet or an
electronic signature. For electronic signatures, the institution must have assurances that only
the student can access their signature page, likely through a portal that is name and password
protected.
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State of Washington

Student Achievement Council

STUDENT DIRECTIVE FOR DISBURSEMENT OF STATE AID
Return this form to the NAME of Institution Financial Aid Office as soon as possible.

Student Name (please print): ID#:

You have been awarded financial aid from the State of Washington. Your designation and signature on
this form will document your choice for funds to be applied directly into your student account or to be
given to you in the form of a check. A state grant or scholarship recipient has the following two choices:

e Choosing to have the funds deposited to your student account permits the aid to be automatically
credited toward expenses you may owe to the institution. This option allows faster processing of
any refunds of financial aid proceeds that may be due you.

e Choosing to have state financial aid funds given directly to you means that state student aid will
not be automatically available to pay for tuition and fees. You are responsible for using the funds
to pay for educational expenses including any expense you owe to the institution.

Please choose one of these options:

I choose to have state aid funds applied directly to my student account and
automatically credited toward expenses | owe NAME of Institution.

OR

I wish to have state aid funds given directly to me (not credited to my student
account). I understand that I am responsible for all outstanding balances on my
student account at NAME of Institution.

Your choice will stay in effect as long as you are enrolled at this institution. However, you may
change your directive for a future term by informing your Financial Aid Office in writing.

Student Signature Date

Make sure you check one of the options above and return this form to:
NAME of Institution
Address
Address
Address
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CHAPTER 7
INFORMATION FOR INSTITUTIONS

INSTITUTIONAL ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible to participate in state aid programs an institution must:

1.

Be a public university, college, community or technical college operated by the state
of Washington; be a private institution whose home campus is located in the state of
Washington and who is accredited by a Washington Student Achievement Council
(WSAC) approved accrediting association; or be a nonprofit institution recognized
by the state of Washington (as provided in RCW 28B.77.240).

Certain branch campuses, extensions, or facilities operating within the state of
Washington, and affiliated with an institution operating in another state, may
participate under certain circumstances. Such facilities must be either:

o A separately accredited institution; or

o QOperated as a nonprofit college or university delivering on-site classroom
instruction to at least seven hundred full-time equivalent students for a
minimum of 20 consecutive years within the state of Washington.

Be approved by a national or regional accrediting association that is recognized by
the council and the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education and in alignment
with WAC 250-61-050.

Participate in a fully certified status in the federal Title IV student financial aid
programs including, at a minimum, the Federal Pell Grant program. Institutions not
participating in a fully certified status will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis for
continued participation and may have additional conditions imposed by the office in
order to maintain their participation in state financial aid programs.

Demonstrate a continuing administrative capability to administer financial aid
programs.

Sign the “Agreement to Participate” and have it endorsed by WSAC.

AGREEMENT TO PARTICIPATE

The Agreement to Participate documents an institution’s legal commitment to abide by all
program statutes, rules, and guidelines. The agreement is designed for multiple years of use,
typically for five years.

Each year participating institutions submit or certify their student maintenance budgets,
Conditions of Award statements and delivery methods, state aid repayment, satisfactory
academic progress, and packaging policies as directed by WSAC for approval and renewal of
participation in the following fiscal year. Additional supporting documentation may also be
required.
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In addition, for-profit and newly admitted non-profit institutions are required to submit
additional performance data including, but not limited to, their most recent federal composite
score, graduation and placement rates as validated by the institution’s accreditor, federal
Cohort Default Rates, current enrollment levels and tuition costs, as directed by WSAC.

STUDENT MAINTENANCE BUDGETS

Student budgets are reviewed to determine if the maintenance portion is within 10 percent of
the Washington Financial Aid Association's (WFAA) maintenance budgets. If the institution's
student maintenance budgets vary from this standard by more than 10 percent, the institution
must provide an explanation justifying the variance.

STATE OF WASHINGTON CONDITIONS OF AWARD

Prior to the first disbursement of state aid each year, institutions must inform state aid
recipients of their responsibilities to the program(s) through a "State of Washington
Conditions of Award" statement. Please refer to Chapter 6, Conditions of Award.

Statements must include the Opportunity Pathways link -
http://www.opportunitypathways.wa.gov and must be presented or delivered to the student
via paper or electronic means.

The statement does not have to be signed by the student.

FINANCIAL LITERACY

Per RCW 28B.76.502 institutions must take reasonable steps to ensure that each incoming
student participates in a financial aid workshop including, but not limited to:

= An explanation of the WCG program rules including Satisfactory Academic Progress
(SAP), repayment rules, and usage limits.

* Information on campus and private scholarships and work study opportunities
including the application processes, and overview or student loan options,
consequences of default and sample monthly repayment amounts.

= Qverview of personal finance
= Average salaries for a wide range of jobs
* Financial education

= Contact information for local financial aid resources and the federal student aid
Ombuds’ office.

For full context please see RCW 28B.76.502
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REPAYMENT POLICY

Schools must follow the state grant repayment policy as outlined in Chapter 5, Payments,
Repayments, and Reporting.

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY

Satisfactory academic progress policies may be specific to state aid recipients and must meet
the provisions of WAC 250-21-010(16), and the Satisfactory Academic Progress Chapter
(Chapter 3) of this manual.

An institution may submit an alternative approach to evaluating academic progress that
includes a plan for improved student retention and comparison data to ensure state funds are
used efficiently. WSAC will initially determine whether to approve the alternative policy, then
evaluate it over a specified timeframe, then determine whether the policy may continue to be
approved.

PACKAGING POLICIES

Policies should reflect priorities for awarding Washington College Grant, College Bound
Scholarship, Passport to College Promise Scholarship and State Work Study funds (if
applicable).

Policies must ensure that legislatively directed awarding policies are reflected, such as
ensuring that each WCG eligible student receives the maximum award for which they are
eligible for all eligible terms and ensuring that WASFA applicants are treated equitably.
Additionally, policies must reflect that institutional gift equity policies do not apply to WCG
or CBS programs.

NOTIFICATIONS

The campus designee responsible for signing the Participation Agreement must notify WSAC
within thirty days of material changes affecting the institution —including additional
locations of the institution as applicable that may impact students eligible for state aid.

Material changes that must be reported to WSAC within thirty days include, but are not
limited to:

e Participation status in Federal Title [V student financial aid programs

e Locations of main and/or branch campuses and other instructional sites

e Accreditation status

¢ Contactinformation and or changes for key financial aid professionals
¢ Institutional ownership

e Third-party servicers

Any findings (including preliminary ones) or discoveries resulting from an internal or
external program review or audit shall be sent directly to WSAC.
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PROGRAM AUDITS AND RECORDS RETENTION

WSAC staff shall review institutional administrative practices to verify compliance with rules,
regulations, and program guidelines. As outlined in the rules, the burden of proof for a grant
recipient's eligibility lies with the institution.

Each participating institution must maintain intact and accessible records of student's
application, receipt, and expenditure of state aid funds. This includes all accounting records, as
well as the original and supporting documents verifying how the funds were spent.

The institution must be able to reconstruct the calculations and rationale for the student's
eligibility and award, if requested by WSAC. An institution may keep records electronically.

If the institution keeps its records electronically, it must maintain source documents supporting
the electronic data in either hard copy, imaging software or on microfilm.

If a program review or audit reveals that funds were improperly awarded and disbursed as a
result of institutional error or failure to follow the appropriate rules and guidelines, the
institution must repay the amount of the affected state aid funds to WSAC. The burden for
repayment is on the institution, not the student.

Records Retention

Records relating to the state aid programs must be maintained in accordance with RCW 40.14.
This law requires all documentation substantiating a student's eligibility for, and receipt of,
state aid be maintained for six years in accordance with the Washington State Record Retention
Schedule.

Financial Aid Administrators at public institutions must coordinate their records retention plan
and schedule with their institution's records officer.
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WASHINGTON STATE AID PROGRAMS
PARTICIPATING INSTITUTION CODES 2021-22

1010 University of Washington

1020 *Washington State University
2030 Central Washington University
2040 Eastern Washington University
2050 The Evergreen State College
2060 Western Washington University
3080 Antioch University

3090 Bastyr University

3100 *Cornish Institute

3230 City University of Seattle

3310 *DigiPen Institute of Technology
3120 *@onzaga University

3110 *Heritage University

3130 *Northwest University

3240 *Northwest College of Art

3140 *Pacific Lutheran University
3150 *Saint Martin’s University

6889 Seattle Film Institute

3160 Seattle Pacific University

3170 Seattle University

3190 *University of Puget Sound
3200 Walla Walla University

3210 *Whitman College

3220 *Whitworth University

3500 *Western Governors University - WA
4300 Bellevue College

4310 Big Bend Community College
4580 Cascadia College

4320 Centralia College

4330 Clark College

4340 Columbia Basin College

4350 Edmonds Community College
4360 Everett Community College
4380 Grays Harbor College

4390 Green River College

4400 Highline College

4410 Lower Columbia College

4460 North Seattle College

4570 Northwest Indian College

4430 Olympic College

4440 Peninsula College

4370 Pierce College

4450 Seattle Central College

4480 Shoreline Community College

4490 Skagit Valley College

4420 South Puget Sound Community College
4470 South Seattle College

4500 Spokane Community College

4510 Spokane Falls Community College
4520 Tacoma Community College

4530 Walla Walla Community College

4540 Wenatchee Valley College

4550 Whatcom Community College

4560 Yakima Valley College

5700 Bates Technical College

5710 Bellingham Technical College

5720 Clover Park Technical College

5730 Lake Washington Institute of Technology
5740 Renton Technical College

6740 *Divers Institute of Technology

6750 International Air & Hospitality Academy
6780 *Gene Juarez Academy

6840 Perry Technical Institute

6884 Stylemasters College of Hair Design
6887 Evergreen Beauty College

6890 *Paul Mitchell School of Richland

6970 Glen Dow Academy
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CHAPTER 8
LAWS AND AGENCY RULES

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) — A codification of current statutes (laws enacted
and amended by the Legislature).

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) — The administrative rules and regulations by
which state agencies operate to execute the Laws enacted by the Legislature.

CHAPTER 28B.92 RCW

STATE STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS
Sections

28B.92.005 Financial aid application due dates and information—Notification.
28B.92.030 Definitions.

28B.92.040 Guidelines in performance of duties.

28B.92.060 State need grant awards.

28B.92.065 Washington college grant program appropriations reduction.
28B.92.070 Persian Gulf veterans—Limited application of RCW 28B.92.060.
28B.92.085 Part-time students—Review of financial aid policies and procedures.
28B.92.086 Dual credit programs—Review of financial aid policies and programs.
28B.92.090 Aid granted without regard to applicant's race, creed, color, religion, sex, or ancestry.
28B.92.100 Theology student denied aid.

28B.92.105 Supplemental nutrition assistance program eligibility notification.
28B.92.110 Application of award.

28B.92.120 Office to determine how funds disbursed.

28B.92.130 Grants, gifts, bequests, and devises of property.

28B.92.140 State educational trust fund—Deposits—Expenditures.

28B.92.150 Rules.

28B.92.200 Washington college grant program.

28B.92.205 Washington college grant program—Financial need.

28B.92.210 Washington college grant program—Caseload forecast.

28B.92.220 Postsecondary institution student-level data—Education data center.

NOTES: Financial aid counseling curriculum for institutions with state need grant recipients—Financial
education workshops: RCW 28B.76.502
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CHAPTER 250-21 WAC

The guidance in this manual reflects the program rules for the Washington
Administrative Code 250-21 - Washington College Grant.

STATE STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAM—WASHINGTON COLLEGE GRANT

WAC Sections

250-21-010
250-21-11

250-21-021
250-21-026
250-21-031
250-21-041
360-21-051
250-21-061
250-21-071
250-21-081
250-21-091
250-21-100
250-21-121
250-21-126
250-21-131
250-21-141
250-21-151
250-21-161
250-21-171
250-21-181
250-21-191

Program definitions

Student eligibility

Institutions seeking participation

Participating institutions

Institutional administrative requirements

Award procedure

Institutional fund management requirements
Program administration and audits

Student complaint process

Suspension or termination of institutional participation
Appeal process

Apprentice eligibility

Apprenticeship programs seeking participation
Participating apprenticeship programs
Apprenticeship program administrative requirements
Award procedure

Program fund management requirements

Program administration and audits

Apprentice complaint process

Suspension or termination of program participation

Appeal process
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https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=250-21-191

CHAPTER 250-18 WAC

RESIDENCY STATUS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION
WAC Sections

250-18-010
250-18-015
250-18-020
250-18-025

250-18-030

250-18-035
250-18-045
250-18-050
250-18-055

250-18-060

Purpose and applicability.

Definitions.

Student classification.

Classification procedure.

Establishment of a domicile.

Evidence of financial dependence or independence.
Administration of residency status.

Appeals process.

Recovery of fees for improper classification of residency.

Exemptions from nonresident status.
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CHAPTER 28B.118 RCW

COLLEGE BOUND SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM
Sections

28B.118.005 Intent—Finding.

28B.118.010 Program design and student eligibility.

28B.118.020 Duties of the office of the superintendent of public instruction.

28B.118.030 Duty of school districts—Notification.

28B.118.040 Duties of the office of student financial assistance.

28B.118.050 Grants, gifts, bequests, and devises.

28B.118.060 Rules.

28B.118.075 Caseload estimate.

28B.118.080 Advising resources—Ildentification of officials, resources, programs, and students.

28B.118.090 Transmitting data to the education data center.

CHAPTER 250-84 WAC

COLLEGE BOUND SCHOLARSHIP RULES
WAC Sections
250-84-010 Purpose.

250-84-020 Definitions.

250-84-030 Eligible applicant.

250-84-040 Program promotion to eligible students.
250-84-050 Tracking of scholars.

250-84-060 Eligibility for receipt of college bound scholarships.
250-84-070 Scholarship award.

250-84-080 Request for review and student complaints
250-84-090 Grant disbursement to institutions.

250-84-100 Program administration and audits.
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APPENDIX

Median Family Income (MFI) Levels for 2021-22 Washington College Grant
and College Bound Scholarship Program Eligibility

65% 100%
(0} 78 ((of:13 (W c7((;) ‘Z’nl /5% (WCG only -
Maximum) v) (WCG only) Maximum)
1 $29,000 $32,000 $34,500 $37,000 $39,500 $53,000
2 $38,000 $41,500 $45,000 $48,500 $52,000 $69,000
3 $47,000 $51,500 $55,500 $60,000 $64,000 $85,500
4 $56,000 $61,000 $66,000 $71,000 $76,500 $102,000
5 $65,000 $71,000 $76,500 $82,500 $88,500 $118,000
6 $74,000 $80,500 $87,500 $94,000 $101,000 $134,500
7 $75,500 $82,500 $89,500 $96,000 $103,000 $137,500
8 $77,000 $84,500 $91,500 $98,500 $105,500 $140,500
9 $79,000 $86,000 $93,500 $100,500 $107,500 $143,500
10 $80,500 $88,000 $95,500 $102,500 $110,000 $146,500
11 $82,500 $90,000 $97,000 $104,500 $112,000 $149,500
12 $84,000 $91,500 $99,000 $107,000 $114,500 $152,500
13 $85,500 $93,500 $101,000 $109,000 $117,000 $155,500
14 $87,500 $95,500 $103,000 $111,000 $119,000 $159,000
15 $89,000 $97,000 $105,000 $113,500 $121,500 $162,000
16 $90,500 $99,000 $107,000 $115,500 $123,500 $165,000
17 $92,500 $101,000 $109,000 $117,500 $126,000 $168,000
18 $94,000 $102,500 $111,000 $119,500 $128,000 $171,000
19 $95,500 $104,500 $113,000 $122,000 $130,500 $174,000
20 $97,500 $106,000 $115,000 $124,000 $133,000 $177,000

Washington Student Achievement Council analysis of 2018 American Community Survey data as published
by the federal Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program. All figures have been rounded to the nearest
5500 income range.

Note: A CBS Scholar could be eligible for College Bound Scholarship funding for some years, and not eligible
for others, if the family’s MFI level exceeded 65 percent in one or more years.
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WCG and CBS Award Amounts for 3 Quarters/2 Semesters for Students
Enrolled Full-Time for All Terms

Median Family Income
CBS Max| 0-55% | 0-55% | 56-60% | 56-60% | 61-65% | 61-65% |66-70%| 71 -75% |76 - 100%

_—r WCG + WCG WCG WCG
Institution/Sector 0 0
CBS= |FulwcG| cBS 70@8&“" CBS 60@8&“" cBS | onLy= | ony= | ony=
FullCBS| award Amount award Amount award Amount |50% of full| 24.5% of | 10% of full
Award award | full award | award

University of

Washington $11,839 | $11,339 | $500 | $7,937 | $3,902 | $6,803 | $5,036 | $5,670 | $2,778 | $1,134

Washington State

University $11,509 | $11,009 [ $500 | $7,706 | $3,803 | $6,605 | $4,904 | $5505 | $2,697 | $1,101

Central Washington

University $7,843 | $7,343 | $500 $5,140 | $2,703 | $4,406 | $3,437 | $3672 [ $1,799 | $734

Eastern Washington

University $7,371 | $6,871 $500 | $4,810 | $2,561 | $4,123 | $3,248 | $3,436 | $1,683 | $687

The Evergreen State

College $7,869 | $7,369 | $500 | $5,158 | $2,711 | $4,421 | $3,448 | $3,685 | $1,805 | $737

Western Washington

University $8,032 | $7,532 | $500 $5,272 | $2,760 | $4,519 | $3,513 | $3,766 | $1,845 | $753

Private Four-year Non-

Profit $11,904 | $9,739 | $2,165 | $6,817 | $5,087 | $5,843 | $6,061 | $4,870 | $2,386 | $974

Private Four-year For-

Profit $11,904 | $8,517 | $3,387 | $5962 | $5942 | $5110 | $6,794 | $4,259 | $2,087 [ $852

WGU Washington $6,280 | $5619 | $661 $3,933 | $2,347 | $3,371 | $2,909 | $2,810 [ $1,377 | $562

Community &

Technical Colleges $4,833 | $4,333 | $500 $3,033 | $1,800 | $2,600 | $2,233 | $2,167 [ $1,062 | $433

CTC Applied

Bachelor's $7.444 | $6,944 | $500 | $4,861 | $2,583 | $4,166 | $3,278 | $3.472 | $1,701 | $694

Private Two-Year Non-

Profit $4,833 | $3,694 | $1,139 | $2,586 | $2,247 | $2,216 | $2,617 | $1,847 | $905 $369

Private Two-Year For

Profit $4,833 | $2,823 | $2,010 | $1,976 | $2,857 | $1,694 | $3,139 | $1,412 | $692 $282

Northwest Indian
College - Tribal $4.833 | $3,694 | $1,139 | $2,586 | $2,247 | $2,216 | $2,617 | $1,847 $905 $369
College

Please note that annual awards may not be exceeded for 3 quarter/2 semester enrollments. If annual
award amounts do not divide evenly, you must round up/down accordingly to ensure you do not exceed
the annual limit. However, eligible students will receive more than these amounts if enrolled more than
3 quarters/2 semesters.
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Maximum Washington College Grant Awards for Students
Enrolled Full-Time for All Terms

Median Family Income
56% - 61% - 66% - 71% - 76%-
Institution/Sector 0% - 5% e0Z e e I oo
(ful (70% of | (60% of | (50% of |(24.5% of| (10% of
award) full full full full full
award) | award) | award) | award) | award)
University of Washington $ 11339|$% 79371% 6803]% 5670|% 27781 % 1134
Washington State University | $ 11,0091 $ 7,706| $ 6,605 $ 55051$ 2697|$ 1,101
Central Washington University | $ 73431% 51401 % 44061% 3672|% 1,799 $ 734
Eastern Washington University| $ 6871 % 48101 4123|$ 3436|% 1683]9% 687
The Evergreen State College | § 7369]% 51581 $ 44211$ 3685 % 1,805| 9% 737
b SET LRI s 7532|s 5272 as0|s 3766|5 1845)s 753
University
Private Four-Year Non-Profit | $ 97391% 68171 $ 58431 % 48701 % 2,386 $ 974
Private Four-Year For-Profit $ 85171% 592]% 51101 $ 42591 % 2,087 $ 852
WGU Washington $ 56191% 39331$ 3371|$ 28101% 1377| 9% 562
CEL e T $  4333|s 3033|s 26005 2167|$ 1062|$ 433
Colleges
CTC Applied Bachelor's $ 6,9441% 48611$ 4166]% 3472|% 1,701 % 694
Private Two-Year Non-Profit $ 369419 258% 22165 1847|9% 905| $ 369
Private Two-Year For-Profit $ 28231% 19761 % 1694 % 1412|$% 692| $ 282
Northwest Indian College- | ¢ 30011 ¢ 2586 2216|8 1847|8 o058 369
Tribal College

Please note that annual awards may not be exceeded for 3 quarter/2 semester enrollments. If annual
award amounts do not divide evenly, you must round up/down accordingly to ensure you do not exceed the
annual limit.

*Eligible students will receive more than these amounts if enrolled for more than 3 quarters or 2 semesters.
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