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APPLICATION PROCESS & 
TIMELINE



1. Site representatives apply and request preapproval status for their 
site. WSAC reviews site applications and posts a list of preapproved 
sites on the WSAC website. 

2. Providers apply during the provider application cycle. To be 
eligible for consideration, providers must be working at a 
preapproved site, or have an employment contract to start work at 
a preapproved site on or before July 1. 

3. Site representatives certify the information submitted on the 
provider’s application and provide additional details about the site.

APPLICATION PROCESS
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2021 APPLICATION DATES

• Application opens January 5
• Application closes March 1
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WASHINGTON HEALTH CORPS
PROGRAMS



• Awards use federal funds matched with state dollars

• Maximum $70,000 award 

• Minimum two-year service obligation

• Minimum 40-hour work week

• Maximum 35.7 days per contract year allowed in leave away from site

• Default penalty: months not served x $7,500 per month, plus interest 
(minimum of $31,000 payback)

FEDERAL HEALTH PROGRAM (FHP)
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• Awards use state funds only

• Maximum $75,000 award 

• Minimum three-year service obligation

• Minimum 24-hour work week (service obligation period prorated to three-
year, full-time equivalency)

• Maximum 40 days per contract year allowed in leave away from site

• Default penalty: amount equal to the unsatisfied portion of the service 
obligation, or the total amount paid by the program on their behalf, 
whichever is less

STATE HEALTH PROGRAM (SHP)
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• Awards use state funds only

• Maximum $75,000 award 

• Minimum three-year service obligation

• Minimum 24-hour work week (service obligation period prorated to three-
year, full-time equivalency)

• Maximum 40 days per contract year allowed in leave away from site

• Default penalty: amount equal to the unsatisfied portion of the service 
obligation, or the total amount paid by the program on their behalf, 
whichever is less

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH PROGRAM (BHP)
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PROVIDER ELIGIBILITY



• Permanent employee of a preapproved, eligible site(s) and 
seeing patients at the time of the contract start date (July 1)

• Have and maintain a current, full, permanent, unrestricted 
and unencumbered health professions license in Washington 
State

• Apply under the licensure for which the majority of the work 
is done (if dually licensed)

• Be providing Comprehensive Primary Care

ELIGIBILITY
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• Meet the minimum hours requirements 

ELIGIBILITY CONTINUED
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Due to the State of Emergency proclamation by the Governor of 
Washington State, participants’ hours, employment status, and care 
offered may have changed. 

• Telehealth 

• Increase/decrease in administrative duties

• Site change

• Deferments 

COVID-19 GUIDANCE
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• Not have an outstanding contractual service obligation unless 
that obligation will be completely satisfied before July 1.

• Federal Government (National Health Service Corps)
• Another state loan repayment program
• Employment contract (Sign-on bonuses, recruitment bonuses)

ELIGIBILITY
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FHP ELIGIBLE DISCIPLINES
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• Physician (Allopathic & 
Osteopathic)  

• Physician Assistant
• Nurse Practitioner
• Certified Nurse Midwife
• Registered Nurse
• Pharmacist

• Dentist (DDS & DMD)
• Registered Dental Hygienist
• Licensed Independent Clinical 

Social Worker
• Licensed Clinical Psychologist
• Licensed Marriage and Family 

Therapist
• Licensed Mental Health Counselor



SHP ELIGIBLE DISCIPLINES
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• Physician (Allopathic,  
Osteopathic & Naturopathic)  

• Physician Assistant

• Nurse Practitioner

• Certified Nurse Midwife

• Licensed Midwife

• Registered Nurse

• Licensed Practical Nurse

• Pharmacist
• Chiropractor
• Dentist (DDS & DMD)
• Registered Dental Hygienist
• Licensed Independent Clinical Social 

Worker
• Licensed Clinical Psychologist
• Licensed Marriage and Family 

Therapist
• Licensed Mental Health Counselor



BHP ELIGIBLE DISCIPLINES
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• Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker
• Licensed Clinical Psychologist
• Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist
• Licensed Mental Health Counselor



HOW TO APPLY



PROVIDER APPLICATION
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• Link to the online application is available on WSAC’s website:
https://wsac.wa.gov/washington-health-corps

• Application is open from January 5, 2021 to March 1, 2021

• Applications must be completed and submitted by 5:00 PM on March 1, 2021

• Current loan statement(s) are required as attachments
• Most current lender statement
• Show lender name, provider’s name, account balance, and date
• Include all eligible debt (additional debt cannot be added after application is submitted)

https://wsac.wa.gov/washington-health-corps


ELIGIBLE LOAN DEBT
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• U.S. federal government and commercial loans that were for actual 
costs paid for tuition and reasonable educational and living 
expenses related to the education required for this licensure the 
provider is applying under.

• Loans related to obtaining licensure for this profession only.

• All federal loans can be found at: https://studentaid.gov/

https://studentaid.gov/


FEDERAL STUDENT AID WEBSITE
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FEDERAL STUDENT AID DASHBOARD



FEDERAL STUDENT AID DOWNLOAD
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INELIGIBLE LOAN DEBT
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• Loans for which the provider incurred a service obligation that will 
not be satisfied prior to the start of the contract (National Health 
Service Corps)

• Primary Care Loans
• Loans that have been consolidated with personal debt
• ParentPlus Loans
• Loans that have no current balance
• Credit card debt or personal lines of credit
• WSAC will not pay for otherwise ineligible loans that have been 

consolidated with eligible loans



• If you have more than one loan with your servicer, only list the total balance 
with that servicer.

COMMON APPLICATION MISTAKES
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• If your loans have been consolidated, we need to see the original 
loans to verify eligibility of each loan (you may have to reach out 
to your servicer).

• If the name on your application is different from your loan 
documents and/or license with DOH, please email us to let us 
know after you submit your application.

• If you work at more than one site, please list the main site as the 
first location in the application and then list the other site 
locations after.

• Must be working at a preapproved site or have an employment 
contract to start work at a preapproved site on or before July 1.

COMMON APPLICATION MISTAKES CONTINUED
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Selection is based on:
• Criteria outlined in Washington Administrative Code (WAC 250-25-050). 
• Funding priorities and shortage needs identified by the WHC Planning 

Committee. 
• Site criteria, which may include but are not limited to geographic location, 

ratio of underserved patients, staffing characteristics, and use of a sliding 
fee schedule. 

• Provider criteria, which may include but are not limited to background, 
experience, and patients served.

• Legislative directives. 
• Consideration of the distribution of awards across sites and professions. 

SELECTION & SCORING
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https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=250-25-050
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RESOURCES



• WSAC website: https://wsac.wa.gov/washington-health-corps

• Link to application

• Reference Guide (must be reviewed prior to submitting 
application)

• Site Preapproval List

• Subscribe to Email Updates

• Contact Information

RESOURCES
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https://wsac.wa.gov/washington-health-corps


• Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA) 
https://nhsc.hrsa.gov/

• Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) 
https://studentaid.gov/manage-loans/forgiveness-cancellation/public-
service

RESOURCES
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https://nhsc.hrsa.gov/
https://studentaid.gov/manage-loans/forgiveness-cancellation/public-service


QUESTIONS?



THANK YOU FOR
ATTENDING!
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QUESTIONS FROM
VIEWERS



Can providers be working at a health center part time to qualify?
Yes, the State (SHP) and Behavioral (BHP) programs allow a minimum 
of 24 hours a week. 

If a provider works overtime, are they still limited to the program 
time away (37.5 or 40 days)?
We do offer flexibility in the hours reported to allow for flex 
scheduling and meeting the 80% primary care requirement. For 
specific situations it is best to reach out to us with questions on your 
hours at health@wsac.wa.gov. 

Q&A



Are awards given upfront?
No. Awards are distributed over your years of service in quarterly intervals. 
You are required to report service hours every 3 months (quarterly) and your 
total award is allotted into payments based on your hours of service reported. 
Are there hardship allowances for non-completion of contract, e.g. 
unexpected illness/disability?
There are options for cancellation waivers for death or permanent disability. 
Military and extreme hardship are reviewable case by case. Remember we do 
offer options for deferments when experiencing life events that would keep 
you from completing your service obligation. Always reach out to us to discuss 
your options before making a decision. 

Q&A
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When applying, do we specify whether we are applying for the 
SHP v. FHP v. both? Or is that determined by WSAC?
There is one application for all three programs. You are automatically 
applied to all that you are eligible for. The system will automatically 
take ineligible applications in each round. You also have the option to 
decline an award. For example, if you were awarded in the federal 
round and only wanted to be considered for the state round, you can 
decline the federal award and try your chances at the state round. 
Important: Getting awarded in the federal round does not mean you 
would get awarded in the proceeding state or behavioral rounds. 

Q&A
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Does FMLA (i.e. maternity leave) count against the total days off (ex. 40 
days for SHP)?
Normally in situations for extended leave such has FMLA and maternity leave 
we offer deferments which would not count toward your total days away for 
that service year. Time away during deferments does need to be made up and 
thus extends the time of your service contract.
How does OB call count for patient care hours?
OBGYN’s do have a lower minimum on the direct patient care requirement 
(52%) to account for call and hospital hours. The hours worked in those 
settings are still reported on your quarterly service verification. 

Q&A
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Are the COVID exceptions going to be extended through 2021?

Yes, COVID exceptions are in place until further notice. We do not 
have an end date at this point. 

Do these payments count as taxable income?

No, the federal tax regulations have specific guidelines for National 
and State Health Loan repayment programs that make these awards 
exempt. 

Q&A
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Can you switch clinic sites during your service?
Yes, there are options to switch sites to another preapproved site. 
Always reach out to us before changing sites! Whether it is in the same 
parent organization or a different organization, there is paperwork 
that would need to be completed. 
If my license is pending before preapproval, but will become active 
before July 1, am I ineligible?
We do allow you to apply under a pending license so long as it will be 
issued before you start service on July 1. 

Q&A
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I was told that state grants were distributed by provider type 
(x number of physicians, x number of nurses, x number of 
midwives, etc.) Is this true?

There is legislative directed preference to Psychiatrists and Nurse 
Practitioners at the two State hospitals. That is the only provider 
type preference for awards. 

Q&A
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Is there a certain amount of awards you are giving per year?
Awards can vary year to year depending on funding and applicant 
loan debt. On average we can award around 100 applicants total per 
year. 

Confirming that sites also need to be applied to be certified by 
March 1 and a provider and site can apply in the same cycle? Are 
you also going to review the site application process?
Yes, site applications get reviewed as they are submitted. If it is 
pending for a current applicant we may expedite the process. 

Q&A
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Does the funding go to the provider and then the provider pays the 
loan, or can it be sent directly to the loan provider from WSAC? Is 
there any effect on interest that is accruing on the loans?

Loan payments go directly to the provider and then you are 
responsible for applying those payments to your loans. Awards are 
final and do not account for interest accrued on your student loans. 
Keep that in mind as you are budgeting during your service 
obligation, that you are still responsible for any interest accrued on 
your student loans.  

Q&A
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I travel to the client, they do not come to my site. Does this count for direct care 
hours?
Travel time cannot be counted as direct patient care hours. Hours will count once you 
are attending to the patient. 

Has the pandemic budget shortfall reduced the budget for 2021?
We have not had an impact to our 2021 budget.

When you say we “owe” so much back, do we actually pay money back from 
what has been paid out or just not receive that part of the award?
Defaulting on your service contract does include penalties that you would have to 
pay back. For specific penalty examples please see our program reference guide.

Q&A
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