

WASHINGTON COLLEGE GRANT FOR APPRENTICESHIP

PROGRAM MANUAL

FOR SPONSORS

2020-21

AUGUST 2020 UPDATED 10 2020

Washington Student Achievement Council • PO Box 43430 • Olympia, WA 98504-3430 • www.wsac.wa.gov

Washington Student Achievement Council Student Financial Assistance Staff

WCG OPERATIONS – AWARDING, PA	YMENTS, REP	ORTING, AND REPAYMENT
JEFF SOUTHARD	Phone	(360) 753-7624
Program Associate, Apprenticeships	E-mail	jeffso@wsac.wa.gov
GABRIELE MATULL WORST	Phone	(360) 753-7841
Assistant Director	E-mail	gabrielew@wsac.wa.gov
NEESHA GRIFFITHS	Phone	(360) 753-7632
Receivables Coordinator	E-Mail	<u>neeshag@wsac.wa.gov</u>
VICTOR FERNANDEZ	Phone	(360) 753-7623
Customer Interface Manager	E-Mail	<u>victorf@wsac.wa.gov</u>
MANAGEMEN	T – POLICY ISS	UES
BECKY THOMPSON	Phone	(360) 753-7840
Director	E-mail	<u>beckyt@wsac.wa.gov</u>
CARLA IDOHL-CORWIN	Phone	(360) 753-7847
Senior Associate Director	E-mail	<u>carlai@wsac.wa.gov</u>

www.wsac.wa.gov

Portal: <u>https://portal.wsac.wa.gov</u> WSAC Toll Free Line: (888) 535-0747 Financial Aid Counseling: <u>www.opportunitypathways.wa.gov</u> Students and Parents: <u>www.readysetgrad.org</u> Agency phone number: (360) 753-7800

Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship Program Manual 2020-21 Academic Year

INTRODUCTION

WELCOME to the Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship Program Manual

The guidance in this manual reflects the program rules for Washington Administrative Code 250-21 – Washington College Grant.

To search for a specific topic or key word, press "Ctrl-F" on your keyboard, then type in the word or topic you are looking for. This will direct you to all occurrences located within the manual.

BACKGROUND

Washington College Grant

The Washington College Grant (WCG) was created in 2019-20, to provide a statewide free college program for eligible participants, and greater access to postsecondary education for Washington residents—expanding and replacing the State Need Grant. WCG awards come directly from WSAC once requested by Sponsors.

The Workforce Education Investment Act (<u>HB 2158</u>) added guaranteed funding to WCG for all eligible apprentices, starting in the 2020-21 Academic Year. Additional information on the Washington College Grant and College Bound Scholarship eligibility requirements for colleges and universities can be found in the separate Washington College Grant and College Grant and College Bound Scholarship Program Manual for Financial Aid Officers.

In addition, the WCG program expanded by increasing the eligibility threshold from 70 percent Median Family Income (MFI) to 100 percent MFI—providing new prorated awards including maximum awards going up to 55 percent MFI. Apprenticeship awards also are expanded.

WCG Apprenticeship (WCG-A)

The Washington College Grant (WCG) is expanded to include approved apprenticeship programs under <u>Chapter 49.04 RCW</u>, starting in the 2020-21 fiscal year. This expands apprenticeships outside of traditional academic programs.

The WCG Apprenticeship manual provides guidelines on how Sponsors can connect their apprentices to grant funding. This funding is guaranteed for all apprentices who qualify up to 100 percent MFI.

REMINDERS

Repayment Protocol

Institutions will receive edits for apprentices who are in repayment and will need to address the edits at the time files are initially loaded into the portal.

Colleges and Apprenticeship Program Sponsors must report repayments to WSAC per the prescribed timelines in Chapter 5, to better assist apprentices, and to avoid the awarding of state aid to ineligible apprentices.

Failure to report repayments by the established deadlines, whether being collected by the institution, sponsor, or WSAC, may result in the repayment of funds to WSAC by the institution or sponsor. Guidelines for reporting repayments to WSAC can be found in Chapter 5.

Please Note: In order to report a receivable or Institution to Bill, you must have first reported awards and requested funds through the portal for that apprentice.

Unclaimed Property

If an apprentice fails to cash their WCG check or pickup any remaining funds by the close of the fiscal year, the funds shall be returned to the program at WSAC and treated as funds declined by the apprentice. These funds shall no longer be referred to the state as unclaimed property.

Revised Washington State Conditions of Award (Chapter 6)

The Conditions of Award statement is included in Chapter 6. Sponsors must provide this language (or a WSAC approved alternate) to apprentices.

If you have already sent out your Conditions of Awards for 2020-21, you will not be expected to send out a new Conditions of Awards for this year. Please be sure that you inform apprentices in a separate correspondence regarding the new condition added (#10) related to uncashed/unclaimed funds being treated as declined funds.

Conditions of Award statements must be provided to apprentices on paper or electronically. Emailed Conditions of Award statements must display the Conditions language, in its entirety, in the body of the email unless the Sponsor requires apprentices to certify their acceptance by filing a signed form or otherwise verifying receipt of the Conditions language.

Sponsors must maintain documentation that the state Conditions of Award was provided to awarded apprentices.

Accurate Reporting

Ensure that all data on your awarding and payment reports are accurate. Correct or update changes to apprentice status. This data is critical to forecast program funding costs. Do not report apprentices who were not eligible for aid (didn't meet Satisfactory Program Progress, failed to complete all application, materials did not meet residency requirements, etc.)

Apprentices Needing Repayment Status Information (Chapter 5)

WSAC is using a billing service for repayments. Apprentices with repayments wanting information about the status of their repayments should be instructed to call our contracted billing service, <u>Universal Accounting Services</u> (UAS), at 1-844-870-8701.

Maximum Usage Limit

Please note that satisfactory program progress and the maximum usage limit of five full time years of eligibility (15 quarters, 10 semesters or the equivalent) is still required.

• Cost of Attendance (COA) and Tuition Waivers (Chapter 2)

An apprentice receiving WCG-A must have the full assessed cost amount included in the COA and the value of the waiver reported for each apprentice in the Unit Record Report. More information is available in Chapter 2.

• Information for Apprentices on the ReadySetGrad Website:

Refer apprentices to <u>www.readysetgrad.org</u> for financial aid information and resources.

- This is the page apprentices will land on if they click on the link in the Washington State Aid Conditions of Award (Chapter 6): <u>http://www.readysetgrad.org/college/financial-aid-101</u>
- □ For specific information on the **Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship**, visit: <u>https://wsac.wa.gov/apprenticeship-program-providers</u>

Washington College Grant and College Bound Scholarship History and Operation

- **1969:** State Need Grant (SNG) program was established.
- 1976: Legislative intent noted to offset tuition/fees for low-income apprentices.
 - For every dollar increase in tuition, 24 cents in aid provided, above previous levels.
 - Reflected the portion of undergraduates on aid at that time.
 - Policy inferred that the state needs to "give back" to needy apprentices when increasing tuition.
 - Apprentices were nominated, then ranked together according to need.
 - Grants were one-third of the difference between budget costs and family contribution.
- **1980:** For-profit institution participation was authorized.
- **1988:** Grant amounts changed from flat grant to variable in order to reflect Cost of Attendance differences supporting apprentice choice.
- **1989:** Part-time apprentices authorized.

- **1991:** A "fair share" fund distribution model was adopted creating campus "reserve funds" based on percentage of campus-eligible apprentices divided by all eligible apprentices.
- **1993:** Revised the eligibility and cost model to use MFI as a result of change in federal needs analysis 50 percent MFI used initially.
- **1995:** MFI increased to 65 percent via budget process.
- **1996:** MFI decreased to 40 percent via budget process.
- 1998: Award amounts based on public tuition rates.
- 2001: MFI increased to 55 percent via budget process.
- 2005: MFI increased to 65 percent via budget process.
- **2005:** Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot with 10 campuses.
- 2006: Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot expanded to all.
- **2007:** Legislature established the College Bound Scholarship Program, allowing eligible 7th and 8th graders to sign up to receive scholarship support in college.
 - Maximum MFI for SNG increased to 70 percent.
 - Maximum MFI level for CBS established at 65 percent.
- 2009: SNG MFI ranges expanded from three to five categories for pro-rated awards via budget process.
- 2011: SNG Awards for new apprentices attending for-profit institutions reduced by half.
- **2011:** SNG Less-than-half-time eligibility pilot extended two years through the budget with the addition of a required outcomes study.
- 2012: The first College Bound Scholarship apprentices receive funding.
- **2014:** The Legislature enacted the REAL Hope Act, granting SNG eligibility determination for apprentices who meet RCW 28B.15.012(2)(e) residency requirements, often referred to as "1079" requirements. This includes non-U.S. citizens, including undocumented apprentices.
- 2014: SNG Awards for apprentices attending for-profit institutions restored to 100 percent level.
- **2015:** The Legislature required that all eligible CBS Scholars be awarded maximum SNG awards.
 - The State Attorney General's Office indicated that apprentices with Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival (DACA) status may qualify for in-state tuition under RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(r), may meet the residency requirements for State Need Grant under RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e), and may meet the residency requirements for College Bound Scholarship under RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(d).
 - SNG eligibility for less-than-half-time enrollment became permanent.
 - The Legislature reduced tuition for the 2015-16 year at public colleges through the biennium, while holding apprentices attending private institutions harmless from reduced awards, keeping state aid award amounts the same at private institutions.
- **2017:** Legislature enacted separate award categories for 4-year for-profit and 4-year non-profit institutions.
- **2018**: Residency requirements were aligned for SNG and CBS. Apprentices may meet residency requirements under RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e) for both programs. This permits CBS scholars to meet residency requirements using the "1079" standard that has been in place for WCG since 2014. Also permits residency to be determined using the DACA standard (see 2015) even if DACA is expired.
- **2019:** Washington College Grant (WCG) program established, replacing the State Need Grant (SNG)
 - Award amounts defined in statute for all sectors
 - CBS apprentices that meet WCG eligibility given WCG priority in statute.
 - CBS sign-up is extended to 9th grade apprentices who qualify for free or reduced-price lunch who were previously ineligible during the 7th & 8th Grade.
 - Self-help requirement removed.
 - Second associate degree restriction removed.
 - Dependent care allowance eliminated.
- **2020:** WCG guaranteed funding for all eligible apprentices in statute.
 - Award amounts defined in statute
 - Increased eligibility threshold from 70 percent MFI to 100 percent MFI.
 - Increased maximum awards up to 55 percent MFI
 - Expands to include apprenticeship programs
 - WCG WAC 250-21 created/repeal of SNG WAC 250-20

WCG FOR APPRENTICESHIP REPORT AND FUNDING REQUEST TIMELINE

Monthly	Sponsors will submit award information and payment requests monthly due to ongoing enrollment during the fiscal year
November 6, 2020	Fall Interim Reports are due. For colleges only
February 5, 2021	Winter Interim Reports are due. For colleges only
May 7, 2021	Spring Interim Reports are due. For colleges only
May/June 2021	Annual Workshops – state financial aid training and updates.
July 5, 2021	Final Year End Reconciliation report due; final date to request WCG Funds. Sponsors will be required to submit one final year end reconciled report for their apprentices.

WASHINGTON COLLEGE GRANT FOR APPRENTICESHIP 2020-21 PROGRAM MANUAL

Table of Contents

2020-21 Introduction

BACKGROUND	i
REMINDERSi	i
HISTORY AND OPERATION OF WCG AND CBS iii	i
WCG & CBS REPORT AND FUNDING REQUEST TIMELINE	v

CHAPTER 1 – WCG for Apprenticeship Eligibility Determination and Monitoring

ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION	1
Financial Need and Income Cutoff	2
Eligible Apprenticeship Program	2
Maximum Terms of Eligibility	3
Satisfactory Program Progress (SPP)	3
Unsatisfactory Progress or Denied Status	3
Refund/Repayment	3
Previous Bachelor's Degree	
Resident for WCG Purposes (including apprenticeship grant)	3
Conflicting Information	6
Ability to Benefit – WCG Apprentices	6
Fraudulent Information	7
ELIGIBILITY MONITORING	7

CHAPTER 2 – CALCULATING WCG FOR APPRENTICESHIP AWARDS

MAXIMUM MEDIAN FAMILY INCOME LEVELS	8
Adjust the Family Size for More Than One Family Member in College	8
Determining Income for MFI Levels	8
Minimum Awards	8
Median Family Income (MFI) Levels for 2020-21 WCG-A Eligibility	
Declining WCG-A Awards	9

CHAPTER 3 – SATISFACTORY PROGRAM PROGRESS

SATISFACTORY PROGRAM PROGRESS (SAP)	
Maximum Usage Timeframe	
Quantitative Standard for Apprentices	
Successful Completion of Hours	10
Denied Status	
Quantitative Standard for Apprentices in Clock Hour Programs	
Qualitative Standard	

Chapter 3 - Satisfactory Program Progress (Cont.)	
Other Conditions of SPP Policy	11
Professional Judgment/Appeals	11
Reinstatement	11
Notifying Apprentices of SPP Policies	12
APPRENTICE WITHDRAWALS/REPAYMENT CALCULATIONS (See Chapter 5)	12
CHAPTER 4 - PORTAL ACCESS & REPORTING REQUIREMENTS	
PORTAL ACCESS	13
Security of Information	13
Secure Data Transmission	13
Portal Training	13
REQUIRED REPORTS	14
Unit Record Report	14
Interim Report	14
Record Layouts	14
ELIGIBLE AWARDED WCG APPRENTICES	14
INSTRUCTIONS	15
Edits	
Reporting Enrollment Status	
Secure Data Transmission	
Security of Information	
RECONCILIATION REPORT	16
Interim Report Complete List of Edits	17
Common Edits to be Addressed with Data Correction Instead of Overriding	17
CSAW FILE UPLOAD LAYOUT FOR ALL SPONSORS	18
CHAPTER 5 - WCG-A PAYMENTS, REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING	
PROCEDURES FOR ELECTRONIC FUND TRANSFER PAYMENT REQUESTS,	
APPRENTICE REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING	
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Request Procedure Payment Requests	
Disbursement Procedures	21
Payments Can't be Made to Apprentices Current Term After They Withdraw	
Retroactive Awards and Payments for Previous Payment Periods	22
Required Apprentice Directive for Sponsors	22
Conditions of Award Statements	22
Power of Attorney Disbursements	23
Sponsor Repayments	23
Apprentice Repayments	23
Persian Gulf Veterans	23

CHAPTER 5 - WCG-A PAYMENTS, REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING (CONT.)

	22
STATE AID REPAYMENT POLICY REQUIREMENTS	
General	23
Alternative Repayment Policy Option	24
Timely Management of Repayment Referrals for Sponsors	24
Timeframe for Completion/Repayment Actions Chart	
Sponsor to Bill Accounts	27
In Repayment	
Authority (WAC)	
No-Show Repayments	
Sponsor Errors	
Canceling In Repayment Accounts	
INFORMATION FOR CLOCK HOUR PROGRAMS	
Program Lengths, Remainder Hours – Award Percentages	
Academic Year Cross-Over Programs	
Apprenticeship Payment Period/Hour Payment Request Calendar	

CHAPTER 6 – CONDITIONS OF AWARD AND DIRECTIVES

Forms Used to Provide Required Notification to Apprentices	
Conditions of Award – Applies to Apprentices in all Apprenticeship Program	ms 32
Required Directive Form for Apprentices	
DIRECTIVE FOR DISBURSEMENT OF STATE AID	

CHAPTER 7 – INFORMATION FOR SPONSORS

APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY	
AGREEMENT TO PARTICIPATE	
STATE OF WASHINGTON CONDITIONS OF AWARD	
REPAYMENT POLICY	
SATISFACTORY PROGRAM PROGRESS POLICY	
NOTIFICATIONS	
PROGRAM AUDITS AND RECORD RETENTION	
Records Retention	

Chapter 8 – Laws and Agency Rule	S
----------------------------------	----------

Appendix

Median Family Income (MFI) Levels for 2020-21 Washington College Grant	
for Apprenticeship Program Eligibility	41
Award Amounts	42

CHAPTER 1

Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship Eligibility Determination and Monitoring

ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION

- □ **First:** Apprentice fills out Washington College Grant Apprentice award application with needed documents and delivers to Sponsor.
- □ **Second:** Sponsor processes application to determine eligibility and award amount.
- □ **Third:** The Apprentice must meet the median family income requirement to be eligible for the apprenticeship grant. The Sponsor will use the Median Family Income and Award Chart as provided by WSAC to determine apprentice awards.
- □ **Fourth:** Eligible Apprentices will complete their Related Supplemental Instruction (RSI) and On the Job Training (OJT) hours to meet required progress standards.
- □ **Fifth:** The Sponsor will monitor progress standards and request funds from WSAC. WSAC will verify the eligibility for payment. Payment will be sent to the Sponsor via electronic payment. Sponsor will disburse funds to the Apprentice per the student directive.

Initial Criteria for WCG-A Eligibility Determination			
APPRENTICES MUST:	WCG-A		
Meet High School (HS) Graduation Requirements	High School graduation or GED/equivalent		
Submit an Approved Application	See Sponsor for WSAC provided Application		
Be a Washington Resident*	 Meet residency requirements according to RCW 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e). Includes apprentices with Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival (DACA) status who meet 28B.15.012(2)(a)-(e). requirements. DACA can be expired at the time of residency determination. Includes non-U.S. Citizens who meet 28B.15.012(2)(e), also known as "1079," requirements. Both U.S. citizens and non-citizens may be eligible to meet residency requirements. Proof of residency can be satisfied in several ways including a WA driver's license, voter registration or rental agreement. For complete listing of accepted methods of showing residency, see: https://wsac.wa.gov/student-residency 		
Meet family income eligibility based on MFI level	100% Median Family Income (MFI) or less		
Maximum Full-Time Term Usage	In 15 quarters/10 semesters or the hour equivalent		

* See expanded information in this chapter for more details regarding residency.

Financial Need and Income Cutoff

The apprentice must demonstrate *financial need*, as calculated by the program sponsor, using the WSAC provided form.

The apprentice must have a family income below a specified *income cutoff.* The cutoff equals a percentage of the state's median family income (MFI) and adjusts with the apprentice's family size.

The income cutoff is 100 percent of the state's MFI for Washington College Grant.

Eligible Apprenticeship Program

Apprenticeships qualifying as eligible programs must be a registered apprenticeship program approved under <u>Chapter 49.04 RCW</u>. Program Sponsors must be approved to participate by WSAC. Eligible programs for the Apprenticeship Grant are found at <u>https://secure.lni.wa.gov/arts-public/#/program-search</u>

Maximum Terms of Eligibility

WCG recipients, including apprentices, have a lifetime maximum number of terms they can receive, which is described as Quarters of Eligibility Remaining (QER). This is a combination of terms enrolled at a college as well as hours funded while receiving the grant.

A WCG recipient may receive the grant for a maximum of 15 quarters, 10 semesters, or the equivalent combination of the 2 at a full-time rate of enrollment. This includes combined usage under the apprenticeship program option and academic programs. Apprenticeship program hours will be converted to equivalent terms by WSAC.

Satisfactory Program Progress (SPP)

Programs are responsible for monitoring and responding to changes in Apprentice eligibility.

Unsatisfactory Progress or Denied Status

Unsatisfactory progress means that in a previous term, the apprentice failed to complete at least one-half (50 percent) of the minimum number of hours required.

After the initial disbursement, apprentices are required to complete the proportional number of hours per payment period before the next disbursement can be made. For example, if they are in a 2000 hour program that is completed over the 12 month fiscal year between July 1 and June 30, they would have to complete 25% or 500 hours before receiving subsequent payments after the initial payment.

Denied status may also refer to an apprentice's status when the apprentice has not met the standard required by their program or they have reached their maximum lifetime usage. See Chapter 3 for more information.

Refund/Repayment

All apprentices must certify that they do not owe a refund or repayment for any Washington state financial aid programs. The apprentice may not be in default on a loan made through a state loan program.

Previous Bachelor's Degree

Apprentices who have already earned a bachelor's degree, including foreign bachelor's degrees, are not eligible to receive WCG awards, including WCG Apprenticeship grant.

Resident for Washington College Grant Purposes - (Including Apprenticeship Grant)

Apprentices must meet one of five resident tuition requirements as outlined in <u>RCW 28B.15.012</u> (2)(a)-(e).

- □ **Sponsors** determine if an apprentice meets residency requirements. In making this determination, the Sponsor should indicate which part of the residency RCW an apprentice meets in their documentation. Sponsors must retain records of this documentation as outlined in chapter 5 of this manual.
- □ **Sponsors** may use this manual to determine if an apprentice has met residency requirements. If there are any questions, please email <u>wcg@wsac.wa.gov</u>.

Additional residency information is available at <u>https://www.wsac.wa.gov/apprentice-residency</u> or <u>https://readysetgrad.wa.gov/residency-citizenship</u>.

There are two groups that have different residency requirements. A person's group depends on their citizenship or immigration status.

Group #1

- US citizens
- Permanent residents, U.S. nationals
- Citizens of the Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, and Palau
- FAFSA-eligible non-citizens
- Apprentices with current or expired Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) status
- Apprentices with one of the following immigration statuses:
 - o Refugee
 - o Asylee
 - Temporary Protected Status
 - Withholding of Removal status
 - Conditional permanent resident
 - E3, H-1B, H4, L1, L2, or U visa
 - Apprentices with a current Employment Authorization Document (EAD)
 - Other non-citizens may also be in this group
 - See <u>www.wsac.wa.gov/apprentice-residency</u> for more information.

To find out what documentation is needed to prove a certain immigration status, please see <u>www.wsac.wa.gov/apprentice-residency</u>.

Group #2

- Undocumented persons without expired or current DACA status.
- People who are not listed in Group #1 (for example, people with an F visa who do not have a current EAD).

Residency requirements for Group #1

People in Group #1 meet residency requirements for WCG if they meet <u>ONE</u> of the following five sections of RCW 28B.15.012(2). The first two sections of the RCW, **(a) and (b)**, are the most common. Each RCW section is outlined below.

(a) Financially independent persons: To be considered financially independent for residency purposes, a person must meet all of the following for the current and previous calendar years (calendar year means January–December):

- Cannot be claimed as a dependent exemption on a tax return, regardless of age.
- Cannot receive significant financial assistance from parents, relatives, legal guardians, or others (except for a spouse), regardless of age and marital status.
- Must have used their own income—or financial aid awarded in their name—to pay their living and tuition expenses if applicable.

To qualify for Washington resident tuition through (a), financially independent people must have a domicile in the state for at least one year immediately before they begin their apprenticeship.

- The domicile must be primarily for purposes other than educational (meaning the person could not have taken more than six quarter or semester credits in any one term).
- People with a B, C, D, F, J, M, or TN/TD visa status cannot establish domicile in Washington.

(b) Financially dependent persons: Financially dependent persons are people who are not considered financially independent. To qualify for Washington residency through (b), financially dependent persons' parent(s) or legal guardian(s) must have a domicile in the state for at least one year immediately before the person' begins their apprenticeship.

- Parents or legal guardians who are undocumented can establish domicile in Washington.
- Parents or legal guardians with a B, C, D, F, J, M, or TN/TD visa status cannot establish a domicile in Washington.

See <u>wsac.wa.gov/apprentice-residency#financial-independence</u> for more information about financial independence for residency purposes.

(c) Section (c) is very unlikely.

Please see: <u>https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28B.15.012</u> for more information.

(d) Recent high school graduates whose parent(s) or legal guardian(s) move out-ofstate. (*Not as common*) . . .

Apprentices who qualify under section (d) of the RCW must meet the following:

- Apprentice must have spent at least 75 percent of their last two years of high school in Washington high schools.
- Apprentice's parent(s) or legal guardian(s) must have had a domicile for at least one year within the five-year period before apprentice graduated high school.
- Apprentice must start apprenticeship or college within six months of graduating high school.
- Apprentice may continue to meet residency requirements for as long as the apprentice remains continuously enrolled for at least three quarters or two semesters per calendar year at a college or in their apprenticeship program.

(e) Apprentices who live in Washington for three years prior to graduating high school (otherwise known as "1079" requirements). To meet the requirements for (e) or "1079" apprentices must:

• Graduate from a Washington high school with a diploma, earn a GED, or earn a diploma equivalent.

 $_{\odot}$ High school graduates must finish their full senior year at a Washington high school.

- Live in Washington for at least three consecutive years (36 consecutive months) immediately before the date they earn a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent.
- Continuously live in Washington after the date they earn a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent until they are admitted to college or enrolled in their apprenticeship program.
- Sign an <u>affidavit</u> saying they meet the above requirements..
 - Non-U.S. Citizens must also promise that they will apply to become a U.S. permanent resident as soon as they are eligible.

Residency requirements for Group #2

Undocumented persons without expired or current DACA status and persons who are not in Group #1 may meet residency requirements for WCG-Apprenticeship grant if they meet the requirements for (e) or "1079" as follows:

- Graduate from a Washington high school with a diploma, earn a GED, or earn a diploma equivalent.
 - $\circ~$ High school graduates must finish their full senior year at a Washington high school.
- Live in Washington for at least three consecutive years (36 consecutive months) immediately before the date they earn a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent.
- Continuously live in Washington after the date they earn a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent until they are admitted to college or enroll in their apprenticeship.
- Sign an <u>affidavit</u> saying they meet the above requirements. There is a paper affidavit (<u>https://wsac.wa.gov/sites/default/files/Residency.Affidavit.pdf</u>)
 - Non-U.S. Citizens must also promise that they will apply to become a U.S. permanent resident as soon as they are eligible.

Send questions regarding assistance related to an individual residency to: <u>wcg@wsac.wa.gov</u>.

Conflicting Information

All applicants for state aid, regardless of the application filed, must resolve conflicting information. Programs should follow their standard review policy regarding the resolution of conflicting information for any applicant.

Ability to Benefit

WCG-A recipients must have a high school diploma or its equivalent or for those without a high school credential, meet the ability to benefit option. Equivalent standards include a general education development certificate or a certificate of completion of a home-based instruction under chapter <u>28A.200 RCW</u>.

For a person without a high school diploma or its equivalent, a school (sponsor) may accept:

a) A recognized ability to benefit test as defined by federal financial aid regulations; (proof could be provided by a letter from the college that administered the test and determined that it met the federal requirements)

- b) Completion of at least six college level credits towards an eligible program of study;(proof provided by submission of a college transcript)
- c) Alternate state equivalent approved by the U.S. Department of Education; or
- d) Co-enrollment in Washington state's Integrated Basic Education and Skills Training Program (I-BEST) and High school+ (HS+) programs that include an eligible program of study as defined in WAC 250-21-010(18).

Fraudulent Information

Any participant who obtains state aid by means of a willfully false statement or failure to reveal any material fact, condition, or circumstance affecting eligibility will be subject to applicable civil and criminal penalties and repayment of all state aid funds received.

ELIGIBILITY MONITORING FOR WCG

Once an apprentice receives a WCG-A award, the Sponsor must monitor continued eligibility. The Sponsor must issue the apprentice a revised award offer when the apprentice's WCG-A grant award changes.

The Sponsor is required to verify apprentice eligibility by:

- Monitoring SPP status (Refer to Chapter 3)
- Ensuring the apprentice does not owe a repayment on a previously disbursed state aid award.

CHAPTER 2

Calculating WCG Apprentice Awards

The maximum WCG-A award amounts vary based on the Program, the apprentice's enrollment status, and Median Family Income (MFI) level. Funds are available incrementally with an initial disbursement and then subsequent disbursements upon completion of Related Supplemental Instruction (RSI) and On the Job Training (OJT) hours/steps.

MAXIMUM MEDIAN FAMILY INCOME LEVELS CHART

This chart includes the MFI levels that determine eligibility and award amounts for the WCG-A programs (see below).

• The maximum MFI level for WCG apprentices is 100 percent. Apprentices with median family incomes above 55 percent and below 100 percent will receive prorated awards.

Adjust the Family Size for More Than One Family Member in College

Increase the family size by one for every family member who will be in college or a WCG approved apprenticeship beyond the applicant, excluding parents (e.g. - a family of five with two non-parents in college or in an apprenticeship program is treated as a family of six on the income MFI).

Determining Income for MFI Levels

In most cases, use the income reported to the Program via the WSAC apprentice grant application. Adjustments may be made through verification reviews and through professional judgment by the Sponsor. These adjustments must be submitted and documented on a corrected WSAC apprentice grant application.

Minimum Awards:

• The minimum WCG-A award amount is one dollar (\$1.00) per term. Circumstances relevant to part-time apprenticeship and other factors may reduce an apprentices' WCG-A to a very low level. The Sponsor may issue WCG-A awards as low as \$1.00 per term.

Median Family Income (MFI) Levels for 2020-21 Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship Eligibility

Family Size	55%	60%	70%	75%	100% (Maximum)
1	\$27,500	\$30,000	\$35,000	\$38,000	\$50,500
2	\$36,000	\$39,500	\$46,000	\$49,500	\$66,000
3	\$44,500	\$49,000	\$57,000	\$61,000	\$81,500
4	\$53,000	\$58,000	\$68,000	\$72,500	\$97,000
5	\$62,000	\$67,500	\$78,500	\$84,000	\$112,500
6	\$70,500	\$76,500	\$89,500	\$96,000	\$128,000
7	\$72,000	\$78,500	\$91,500	\$98,000	\$130,500
8	\$73,500	\$80,000	\$93,500	\$100,000	\$133,500
9	\$75,000	\$82,000	\$95,500	\$102,500	\$136,500
10	\$76,500	\$83,500	\$97,500	\$104,500	\$139,500
11	\$78,500	\$85,500	\$99,500	\$106,500	\$142,500
12	\$80,000	\$87,000	\$101,500	\$109,000	\$145,000
13	\$81,500	\$89,000	\$103,500	\$111,000	\$148,000
14	\$83,000	\$90,500	\$105,500	\$113,500	\$151,000
15	\$84,500	\$92,500	\$107,500	\$115,500	\$154,000
16	\$86,500	\$94,000	\$110,000	\$117,500	\$157,000
17	\$88,000	\$96,000	\$112,000	\$120,000	\$159,500
18	\$89,500	\$97,500	\$114,000	\$122,000	\$162,500
19	\$91,000	\$99,500	\$116,000	\$124,000	\$165,500
20	\$92,500	\$101,000	\$118,000	\$126,500	\$168,500

Chart prepared by the Washington Student Achievement Council (WSAC) from U.S. Department of Commerce (Census Bureau) data published online by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Office of Community Services website as transmittal number LIHEAP-IM-2019-02, dated August 7, 2019, from the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP).

Derived from five-year estimates from the 2013 through 2017 American Community Surveys (ACSes). All figures have been rounded to the nearest \$500 income range.

Declining WCG-A Awards

If a WCG-A awarded apprentice wishes to decline an award, the Sponsor must maintain a written record of the award amount that is declined and the reason it was declined. This may occur, for example, when an apprentice is awarded a very small award and wishes to retain flexibility for future terms of eligibility.

CHAPTER 3 SATISFACTORY PROGRAM PROGRESS

SATISFACTORY PROGRAM PROGRESS (SPP)

Sponsors are responsible for monitoring each recipient's **Satisfactory Program Progress**, as outlined in <u>WAC 250-21-021(16)</u> of the WCG rules, and in the Sponsor's WSAC-approved sponsor SPP policy.

The SPP policy requirements include:

- A maximum usage limit of five full-time years of eligibility (15 quarters/10 semesters or the clock hour equivalent).
- A required **per payment period increment** SPP review for state aid.
- A quantitative standard requiring that all hours for which the aid was calculated and disbursed each payment period were completed.

A Sponsor may submit an alternative approach to evaluating program progress that includes a plan for improved apprentice retention and comparison data to ensure state funds are used efficiently.

WSAC will initially determine whether to approve the alternative policy, then evaluate it over a specified timeframe, then determine whether the policy may continue to be approved.

Maximum Usage Timeframe

As stated in Chapter 1, aid recipients may receive the equivalent of 5 full-time years of maximum usage (15 Quarters of Eligibility, or the equivalent hours).

Quantitative Standard for Apprentices

To meet "satisfactory program progress" the apprentice must successfully complete the required hours for each payment period that aid was disbursed.

Each Sponsor's policy for measuring progress of the WCG recipients must define satisfactory as the apprentice's completion of the required hours for which they received payment.

Successful Completion of Hours

Meeting the hour requirements for progression within the apprentice program are considered successfully completed. Withdrawing from the apprentice program or failing to complete the required hours within the prescribed time will not count as successfully completed hours.

Denied Status

Denied status requires that each Sponsor's policy must deny further disbursements of all state aid at the conclusion of any payment period in which he or she fails to complete the clock hours required for that payment period

Quantitative Standard for Apprentices in Clock Hour Programs

Apprentices must complete the minimum number of hours for each payment period to meet the quantitative standard before being eligible for the next payment period's disbursement. For example, a 2000 hour program would require 4 payment periods of 500 hours completed per payment period before additional funds could be requested.

Since all hours from the previous payment period must be earned before making additional payments, there is no routinely recognized warning status for apprentices. A Sponsor, however, may petition WSAC to allow a warning status.

Qualitative Standard

The Sponsor's satisfactory program progress policy must contain a qualitative standard. For purposes of state aid programs, the qualitative standard used to comply with Labor & Industries Apprenticeship progress standards is acceptable.

Other Conditions of SPP Policy

An apprentice may be denied further state aid disbursements or awards if the apprentice fails to fulfill any other conditions of the Sponsor's WSAC-approved satisfactory program progress policy.

Professional Judgment/Appeals

The Sponsor's Financial Aid Administrator(SFAA) may, on a case-by-case basis, reinstate an apprentice back into satisfactory program progress in response to that apprentice's extenuating circumstances. The SFAA may choose to exercise professional judgment without a specific request to do so from the apprentice.

For example, the SFAA may decide to grant an apprentice continued access to state aid if failure in one payment period is countered by an extensive history of prior success. The apprentice's records must include documentation related to the professional judgment decision.

Reinstatement

Each Sponsor's satisfactory program progress policy shall state which conditions a denied status apprentice must meet before state aid will be reinstated. For example: the apprentice may have to complete a specific number of hours without state financial aid for a specific period of time or may have to show proof that hours have been made up within a designated time period.

Notifying Apprentices of SPP Policies

Sponsors must make information available to state aid recipients of the state SPP policies that impact their apprentices' ability to continue receiving state aid for future payment periods.

This must include information about how state SPP is determined by the Sponsor, how Denial Status is determined, and the Sponsor's Reinstatement Policy of state aid should the apprentice go into Denial Status.

The available information also must include when SPP reviews will take place and how and when apprentices will be notified in writing should their state aid status change to Warning, Denial or Reinstatement.

This information may be included in Sponsor handbooks for apprentices or other information made available to all apprentices or all state aid recipients at each program. It does not need to be sent individually to all state aid recipients.

APPRENTICE WITHDRAWALS/REPAYMENT CALCULATIONS

See Chapter 5 for required repayment policy information.

CHAPTER 4 PORTAL ACCESS AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

PORTAL ACCESS

Each Sponsor Financial Aid Administrator (SFAA) is required to obtain their own Portal login to access functions and submit reports via the WSAC Portal. A universal account, or the account of another aid administrator, cannot be used to access the Portal for multiple aid administrators.

It is the responsibility of each sponsor's appointed authorizing official to promptly remove Portal access for staff who should no longer have access, such as those who are no longer employed by the sponsor or have moved to another department.

To obtain an account, contact the appointed authorizing official at your sponsor. The appointed authorizing official will grant access to the appropriate programs and functions in the Portal using the 'Manage User' function.

Portal user administration instructions for the authorizing official to create and manage Portal accounts are located in the Portal under the 'Common' menu item. Select <u>Common/Messages and Files/Files, Forms, and Memos</u>.

If the authorizing official is unable to add or remove an account, contact <u>wcg@wsac.wa.gov</u>.

Security of Information

All sponsors are expected to treat information on the WSAC Portal in accordance with the Electronic Agreement contained in the Program Participation Agreement.

Sponsors and individuals are granted access to data with the expectation that they protect the confidentiality of this information with the same level of care as they do any other highly confidential document.

Secure Data Transmission

No personally identifiable information (PII) shall be transmitted to WSAC via email. All sponsors must send information to WSAC via the secure email function in the Portal.

Portal Training

Portal users have access to the portal training site: <u>https://portaltraining.wsac.wa.gov/</u>. It is a great way to get acquainted with portal functions. Information in the Training Portal updates and resets each night allowing for training in a safe environment.

REQUIRED REPORTS

Participating sponsors are required to submit eligible Washington College Grant Apprentice details via reports as determined by WSAC. Reporting of awards and payment requests will be made monthly at a minimum and will also include a year-end reconciliation report for reconciliation purposes, and an annual Unit Record Report (URR).

Unit Record Report (URR)

The Washington Student Achievement Council collects and analyzes information to better understand who is benefiting from financial aid programs and how well federal, state, institutional, and other aid sources are meeting the needs of Washington residents.

Every participating institution and apprenticeship program is required to complete the Unit Record Report at the end of each fiscal year.

A Unit Record Report Manual, with details regarding required reporting and the deadlines for submission, will be provided once it becomes available.

Monthly Submission of Apprentice Award and Payment Data

Data reported on these reports provides the basis for WCG funding projections. Sponsors will be provided with a CSV file layout that they will use to submit their monthly (minimum) award and payment information.

Record Layouts

All sponsors will be provided instructions on how to fulfill reporting requirements. The layout for the 2020-21 fiscal year reporting will be provided by our office when it has received final approval.

A sample .csv file will be located at: <u>http://www.wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources</u>. Your file layout can be submitted in a different order, but the header names must be identical to the sample file and are not case sensitive. Please do not make any modifications to header names.

ELIGIBLE AWARDED WCG APPRENTICES

Eligible awarded WCG Apprentices refers to Washington College Grant Apprentices, who have either received a WCG payment, or who have had WCG funds committed (apprentice has received an award offer) but not yet disbursed at the time of the report.

INSTRUCTIONS

Detailed report submission instructions, including how to upload a file and address edits, will be posted at <u>Common/Messages and Files/Files, Forms, and Memos</u> on the Portal once it is available.

Edits

Data may be rejected in the form of edits. All edits must be addressed individually, except informational edits. A complete list of edits will be provided once it is available.

Reporting Enrollment Status

In general, each apprentice's payment period enrollment status should reflect the funding the apprentice was eligible to receive and if they are in a full time apprenticeship or a part time apprenticeship.

- Report the apprentice's enrollment status for each payment period as of the date WCG was disbursed unless the apprentice changed prior to the start of the payment period.
- If the apprentice wasn't considered eligible for aid for a payment period, do not report them.

Exceptions:

- If an apprentice received a full refund of tuition charges and the balance of funds were not disbursed to the apprentice, all funds must be returned to WSAC and the apprentice's record must be updated to show as not enrolled for that payment period.
- If an apprentice received a partial refund, and the WCG was proportionally decreased to a revised enrollment level, the enrollment status must also be updated (e.g., the apprentice's original disbursement was based on a 2000 hour per year program and the enrollment status was reported as full-time but they later changed to a 1000 hour program which is considered a half time program).
 - Later, if a refund is applied that adjusts the apprentice's awards to half-time, they would be reported as half-time. The WCG for the term and enrollment status must be updated to show half-time enrollment and the appropriate amount of WCG award.

Reminder: Be sure to update each apprentice's payment period enrollment status on each of the award and payment requests. This is very important as the payment period enrollment statuses impact the apprentices QER.

Secure Data Transmission

No personally identifiable information (PII) shall be transmitted to WSAC via email. All sponsors must send information to WSAC via the secure WSAC Portal.

Security of Information

All sponsors are expected to treat information on the WSAC Portal in accordance with the Electronic Agreement contained in the Sponsor Agreement to Participate.

Sponsors and individuals are granted access to data with the expectation that they protect the confidentiality of this information with the same level of care as they do any other highly confidential document. The Sponsor's Financial Aid Administrator (FAA) is required to immediately notify WSAC in the event of any breaches or potential breaches of data. Information contained in these files is for the sole purpose of administering state aid programs. This information may not be used for research. If you have questions about the proper use of the information, please contact WSAC at wcg@wsac.wa.gov.

Each sponsor must have one or more Sponsor Financial Aid Administrator(s) with a WSAC-assigned Portal account. Each account user must have a separate unique password. If you have forgotten your password, please click on the "forgot your password' link on the Portal login page. Accounts and passwords are not to be shared among staff—each person needs their own account and password.

RECONCILIATION REPORT

During the year-end reconciliation reporting period, sponsors will have access to a balance sheet in the Portal. Please ensure that your ending balance is zero. If you think your balance should be zero but it is not, contact program staff at <u>wcg@wsac.wa.gov</u>.

Any remaining balance of WCG funds at the end of the sponsor's reconciliation process need to be returned to WSAC in the form of a check or by EFT. Documentation must be provided with the check that specifies which program, apprentice name, and dollar amount the funds are for.

Complete instructions on how to complete the all reports will be posted in the Portal at Portal/Common/Messages and Files/Files, Forms and Memos.

Edit Description	Overrideable
WCG apprentice has 3 or less QER	Informational only
Cannot have awards for both summer terms at the same sponsor	Non-overrideable
Enrollment status cannot be "Not Enrolled" unless all awards have been cancelled	Non-overrideable
Enrollment status must be "Not Enrolled" if no awards are reported	Non-overrideable
Family income exceeds WCG MFI threshold	Non-overrideable
Family income information is required for WCG apprentices	Non-overrideable
Family size must be between 1 and 20	Non-overrideable
Family size must be more than or equal to number in college	Non-overrideable
Number in college & apprenticeships must be between 1 and 20	Non-overrideable
WCG-A award cannot be less than zero	Non-overrideable
WCG receivable balance cannot exceed the award amount	Non-overrideable
Apprentice does not have any WCG QER for this award	Non-overrideable
Apprentice has unpaid receivables for a prior term	Non-overrideable
Combined enrollment status cannot exceed full-time for a single term	Overrideable
WCG-A award exceeds maximum eligible amount	Overrideable
WCG-A eligible apprentice must be awarded	Overrideable

Award & PaymentReport List of Edits - DRAFT - IN DEVELOPMENT

Many edits can be resolved by correcting the data in the data fields. Correcting the data in your file will make the edit no longer appear. Overrides should be used when data cannot be corrected.

Common Edits to be Addressed with Data Correction Instead of Overriding

Edit Name	Sample Incorrect Override Reason	Correct Data Change
Award Exceeds Maximum Eligible Amount	Eligible at time of disbursement- or-Enrolled FT	Update enrollment status to the status at time of disbursement
Award Amount Exceeds Max, Most Likely Because of MFI Issue	Awarded on original income reported apprentice application	Change the income reported for the apprentice to reflect what was used to award if it was updated based on Sponsor FAA judgement
Combined Enrollment Status Cannot Exceed Full-time	No aid was disbursed	Remove apprentice award records if you know apprentice is not attending or is ineligible
Combined Enrollment Status Cannot Exceed Full-time	No financial aid with this sponsor	Remove apprentice award records if you know apprentice is not attending or ineligible
Apprentice is OK to Pay But Not Awarded WCG	Need met	Enter \$0 in award amount

PORTAL FILE UPLOAD LAYOUT FOR ALL SPONSORS

A sample .csv file is located at <u>http://www.wsac.wa.gov/FAA-resources</u>. The file layout can be submitted in a different order, but **the header names must be identical to the sample file** and are not case sensitive.

Please Note:

- The WCG-A Award Amount field is reported in the fiscal year/month it was requested/paid to the apprentice. It may be left blank if the apprentice is not enrolled for that payment month.
- All Enrollment Status and Boolean data type (yes/no) fields are not case-sensitive.

Field	Valid Inputs	Remarks
Ssn	Numbers and hyphens	9-digit student identifier: SSN or ITIN Dashes will be removed, and any 8-digit entries will be left-padded with a zero (this is applicable in cases where Microsoft Excel interprets SSN as a number and removes the leading zero).
SponsorID	Any characters	Unique identifier for this apprentice, for this sponsor.
LastName	Any characters	Required
FirstName	Any characters	Required
MiddleInitial		Optional

2020-21 File Upload Layout

Field	Valid Inputs	Remarks
FamilySize	Integer	Required
NumberInCollegeApprentice	Integer	Required- includes number in college & apprenticeships
FamilyIncome	Number up to two decimal places	Family income used to determine WCG-A eligibility and award amount.
BirthDate	mm/dd/yyyy	Required. 10byte max, requires slashes. Leading zeros on month and day not required.
DependencyStatus	l or D	Required I=Independent D=Dependent
Residency	Y or N	Yes, if WA resident; N if not a WA resident
ApprenticeshipProgram		Name of Apprenticeship Program
ApprenticesYearinProgram	Integer	Apprentice's year in program based on hours completed to date
Annualawardamount	Integer	Annual maximum award based on year in program, MFI, cost of attendance
JulyEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
JulyPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for July
AugustEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
AugustPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for August.
SeptemberEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
SeptemberPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for September
OctoberEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
OctoberPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for October

Field	Valid Inputs	Remarks
NovemberEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
NovemberPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for November
DecemberEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
DecemberPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for December
JanuaryEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
JanuaryPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for January
FebruaryEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
FebruaryPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for February
MarchEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
MarchPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for March
AprilEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
AprilPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for April
MayEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.

Field	Valid Inputs	Remarks
MayPayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for May
JuneEnrollmentStatus	('Not enrolled' or '0') ('Full Time' or '1') ('Half Time' or '2') ('3/4 Time' or '3') ('< Half Time' or '5')	The enrollment status the apprentice was eligible for at the time of disbursement or as of the first day of the term. If left blank, this will be set to Not Enrolled.
JunePayment	Integer	Enter amount being requested to be paid to the apprentice for June

The WCG-A AwardAmount fields may be left blank if the apprentice is not enrolled for that term.

- All Enrollment Status and Boolean data type (yes/no) fields are not case-sensitive.

CHAPTER 5

WCG-A PAYMENTS, REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING

PROCEDURES FOR ELECTRONIC FUND TRANSFER PAYMENT REQUESTS, APPRENTICE REPAYMENTS, AND REPORTING

For the most efficient and timely processing of funds, Sponsors are strongly encouraged to use the Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) method.

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Request Procedure

Payment Requests

Once an apprentice is identified as eligible and an award is calculated, the Sponsor may begin the payment and subsequent disbursement process.

Payment requests must be submitted through the use of electronic means as provided by Washington Student Achievement Council (WSAC).

When submitting payment request, please populate the SSN field for undocumented apprentices in the following order:

SSN Tax ID Number (ITIN)

Payment requests may be made any time from July through late-June of the fiscal year. Please allow a minimum of five to six business days from the time a request is submitted until funds are received by the Sponsor.

Disbursement Procedures

The Sponsor must confirm that the apprentice is still eligible and confirm apprentice enrollment status at the time of disbursement. In addition, the Sponsor shall check the Repayment Tracker in the WSAC Portal to ensure apprentice eligibility.

If an apprentice fails to commence attending their apprenticeship program or withdraws prior to the start of a payment period, Sponsors must bill the apprentice and report the repayment to WSAC.

If an apprentice changes their status prior to the start of a payment period Sponsors must adjust the apprentice's award. Sponsors that choose to cover repayment amounts owed will return the funds via check or eft as an award cancellation and not report the apprentice in repayment.

Note: If the Sponsor does not have reimbursements to offset any reduced awards after the final year end is reconciled, the Sponsor must return the under-spent amount to WSAC.

Payments Cannot be Made to Apprentices for a Current Term After They Withdraw

If apprentices withdraw or stop participating for a term without earning their required hours, no additional WCG payments may be made to the apprentices for that payment period on or after an apprentice's official withdrawal date.

Retroactive Awards and Payments for Previous Payment Periods

Retroactive WCG payments **MUST** be made to <u>eligible</u> WCG apprentices for a prior term(s) as long as they are for the current fiscal year and other program rules are followed. This applies whether or not the apprentice is currently enrolled.

The value of the retroactive awards and payments must be based on an apprentice's rate of satisfactorily completed hours determined by the Sponsor at the end of the payment period(s).

Required Apprentice Directive for Sponsors

Sponsors must use WSAC's Apprentice Directive Form to record an apprentice's decision on where to apply their financial aid payment. The apprentice's financial aid payment can be deposited directly into an apprentice's account or disbursed in the form of a check based on their choice on the directive. For a copy of the apprentice directive, see Chapter 6.

- □ Sponsors must not coerce or influence the apprentice's choice on where to apply their financial aid payment.
- The directive remains in effect for the duration of the apprentice's continuous enrollment at the Sponsor's apprenticeship, excluding approved leaves of absence. A new directive is required if the apprentice is not continuously enrolled in their apprenticeship program.
- □ Sponsors must allow apprentices to change their minds at any time, prior to disbursement, and follow their current directives at all times.
- □ Sponsors must remind apprentices once a year that their current directive is still in place and that they may change it.

The Sponsor may not withhold or delay the disbursement of state aid due to any apprentice debt, including tuition, fees, or fines owed the Sponsor.

Conditions of Award Statements

Prior to disbursement, the Sponsor must inform the state aid recipient of their responsibilities to the program through a "Conditions of Award" statement. A copy of this statement is located in Chapter 6.

The statement must be presented annually and can be delivered to the apprentice through paper or electronic means each year. The statement must be provided in its entirety and is not satisfied by providing a link to the document or by attaching a copy of the document.

The Conditions of Award does not have to be signed by the apprentice as long as the Sponsor can provide assurances to WSAC that the document was provided to the apprentice each year. It is the Sponsor's responsibility to maintain documentation that the conditions were presented to the apprentice.

WSAC may request a copy of the Conditions of Award statement that was presented to the apprentice and documentation that it was presented to the apprentice. WSAC's request for this documentation must be fulfilled within 5 business days.

Power of Attorney Disbursements

An apprentice whose program precludes their return to the Sponsor for disbursement of state aid funds must assign a Power of Attorney to a responsible person to receive payments on their behalf. A copy of the Power of Attorney documentation must be kept in the apprentice's file.

Sponsor Repayments

If an apprentice is awarded incorrectly due to Sponsor error, it is the Sponsor's financial obligation to repay the funds and they must be returned to WSAC immediately.

Apprentice Repayments

Repayment is an apprentice responsibility if it is due to incorrect information provided by the apprentice or failure to complete the term. If a grant recipient leaves an apprenticeship program during a payment period in which he or she receives WCG-A, the apprentice may be required to repay WCG-A funds.

Note: The Washington Sponsor Grant Repayment Policy Requirements are Mandatory for all Participating WCG Sponsors.

Persian Gulf Veterans

Persian Gulf veterans are not required to repay the unused portions of grants received under state apprentice financial aid programs.

STATE AID REPAYMENT POLICY REQUIREMENTS

General

Apprentices who fail to complete their related supplemental instruction and/or who fail to complete their required hours of training or who receive funding based on fraudulent information will be required to repay 100% of the funds received.

Apprentices who have received state aid (aid disbursed prior to the start of the payment period) and who change enrollment status prior to the first day of the payment period, must have their state aid eligibility recalculated to reflect their enrollment status as of the start of the payment period.

The apprentice who decreases enrollment status prior to the first day of the payment period will owe a repayment of the overpayment amount. Apprentices who increase enrollment status prior to the first day of the term are entitled to additional funds for enrollment status increases.

Apprentices who make enrollment status adjustments (up or down) after disbursement and after the start of the payment period will be subject to completion of satisfactory program progress requirements outlined under 250-21-010 (12) (a-e).

Enrollment status increases must include WCG awards based on that enrollment and may not exceed need. However, apprentices may not receive more WCG than the cost of their tuition and fees, books and supplies and equipment.

If an apprentice's enrollment is adjusted during the tuition refund period and tuition is reduced, the grant must be reduced to not exceed the cost of tuition and fees, books and supplies and equipment.

Note: For this section, "state grant" refers to all state grant and scholarship programs.

Alternative Repayment Policy Option

Sponsors may propose alternative policies to our office for review. WSAC will analyze alternative policies and may require adjustments to achieve consistent treatment of apprentices in similar circumstances across programs and support apprentice success.

Sponsors will be notified if they are approved or require modifications. Key considerations when developing alternative policies should include the following:

- □ Ensure eligible apprentices receive their maximum awards
- □ Prevent ineligible apprentices from receiving awards
- □ Avoid awards in excess of maximum tuition and fees, books and supplies and equipment
- □ Adjust remaining eligibility appropriately to not exceed QERs

All repayments for deceased apprentices are forgiven. Please forward proof of death for all In Repayment accounts to the Repayment mailbox using the secure email function in the Portal. WSAC will process the cancelation.

Timely Management of Repayment Referrals for Sponsors

Sponsors must enter repayment accounts into the WSAC Portal via uploading the transmittal through secure messages within **10** business days of the date an apprentice withdraws or the end of the payment period, whichever is earlier.

There are two types of repayment accounts: Sponsor to Bill and In Repayment.

Please note: In order to report a receivable or Sponsor to Bill, you must have first reported awards and requested funds for that apprentice.

Sponsors may choose from the following options:

1. Sponsor to Bill (has 2 subcategories):

Calculation Pending: Under Sponsor to Bill, this allows you to flag an apprentice who has not met satisfactory program progress and <u>may</u> owe a repayment but for whom you have not yet completed the calculation. You must enter a date that indicates the last date of the payment period or the apprentice's withdrawal, whichever is earlier.

This will ensure that the apprentice does not receive additional state aid elsewhere. You must complete the calculation and enter the dollar amount or convert to In Repayment within 30 calendar days from the initial date of withdrawal/the end of the payment period, whichever is earlier as reported above.

Calculation Completed/apprentice owes: This allows you to report the apprentice as Sponsor to Bill, with an attached dollar amount you are actively collecting on from the apprentice. This prevents the apprentice from receiving aid elsewhere while they are in a repayment status for state aid.

All Sponsor to Bill accounts not paid in full must be converted to In Repayment Status prior to submission of the Final Reconciliation Report, or the sponsor assumes liability and will have to repay the funds to the state aid programs.

2. In **Repayment:** The Sponsor has determined that a repayment is owed within the initial 10 business day window or is updating the status from Sponsor to Bill as explained above within the 30 calendar days from the initial date you determined they were no longer attending.

Accounts are transferred to our billing service within a short period of time and actively collected on by our contracted billing service.

The following chart summarizes the different repayment actions and the timeframe for completing those actions. Detailed information is provided in the following pages of this chapter and in the <u>Common/Messages and Files/Files, Forms, and Memos</u> area of the Portal.

	TIMEFRAME FOR COMPLETION			
REPAYMENT ACTION	SPONSOR TO BILL Under Review	SPONSOR TO BILL Repayment Amount Known	IN REPAYMENT	
STATE AID REPAYMENT RECORD ENTERED INTO CSAW	10 business days from the end of the payment period or date of withdrawal; whichever is earlier; enter date	10 business days from the end of the payment period or date of withdrawal; whichever is earlier; enter amount	10 business days from the end of the payment period or date of withdrawal; whichever is earlier; enter amount	
REPAYMENT CALCULATED AND REPORTED TO WSAC	N/A – Repayment is under review and apprentice is blocked from receiving additional funding	Immediately upon creating "Sponsor to Bill– Repayment Amount Known" record	Immediately upon creating In Repayment record	
LAST DAY TO CONVERT TO "SPONSOR TO BILL REPAYMENT KNOWN" OR "IN REPAYMENT" ACCOUNT	Must convert to either "Sponsor to Bill Repayment Amount Known" or "In Repayment" within 30 calendar days from end of the payment period or date of withdrawal; whichever is earlier -OR- The Sponsor is liable for the funds to WSAC	N/A	N/A	
LAST DATE TO CONVERT "SPONSOR TO BILL REPAYMENT AMOUNT KNOWN" INTO "IN REPAYMENT" ACCOUNT	N/A	Must convert to "In Repayment" prior to submission of your Final Reconciliation Report Submission	N/A	
LAST DATE TO REFER TO WSAC	If not converted to "Sponsor to Bill Repayment Amount Known" or "In Repayment" within 30 calendar days of date outlined above, sponsor becomes financially liable and must return funds to WSAC	Must convert to "In Repayment" prior to submission of your Final Reconciliation Report Submission	Already referred to WSAC	
LAST DATE TO ACCEPT PAYMENT FOR CURRENT YEAR "SPONSOR TO BILL AMOUNT KNOWN" OR "IN REPAYMENT" ACCOUNT	N/A	Up to the date you convert them to "In Repayment" prior to the submission of your Final Reconciliation Report	Never - Sponsors are not permitted to accept payments once an account is referred to WSAC for collection.	
LAST DATE TO ACCEPT PAYMENT FOR PRIOR YEAR REPAYMENTS	N/A	N/A	Never – Refer apprentice to WSAC	

Sponsor to Bill Accounts

The Sponsor must create Sponsor to Bill records for accounts that the Sponsor chooses to actively collect on during the fiscal/academic year. Sponsor to Bill records shall be entered into the Portal within 10 business days of the apprentice's withdrawal, or the end of the payment period , whichever is earlier. Doing so prevents apprentices in repayment status from receiving aid at another Sponsor by flagging them on the Repayment Tracker.

The Sponsor has two options under this category based on the timelines described above.

The Sponsor may retain the repayment account within the fiscal year if it continues active collection procedures or if an apprentice is making payments to the Sponsor. Any remaining balance must be converted to In Repayment status prior to submission of your Final Reconciliation Report. The Sponsor shall not accept payments from the apprentice past the time they have been converted to In Repayment.

If the apprentice repays the Sponsor to Bill obligation in full to the Sponsor within the same fiscal/academic year, it is the Sponsor's responsibility to remove the Sponsor to Bill account for that apprentice as soon as possible after receipt of payment. If the Sponsor does not remove the record, then the Sponsor to Bill account will continue to appear on the apprentice's record and the apprentice will be ineligible for further state aid disbursements.

A reduction in the apprentice award shall correspond with funds collected within the academic year for Sponsor to Bill accounts.

Sponsor refunds can be applied directly to apprentice awards in Sponsor to Bill status and the award reduced in the portal. Accounts that are In Repayment status require the Sponsor to return the refunds directly to WSAC outside of the portal.

In Repayment

If a Sponsor does not want to actively collect from an apprentice, refer accounts to WSAC to commence collection activity.

Note: Once an In Repayment account is created, it cannot be canceled. In Repayment may only be canceled when it was determined that the repayment was created in error and the apprentice never owed. Contact WSAC Receivables Coordinator for further assistance at <u>repayment@wsac.wa.gov.</u>

To refer a repayment account to WSAC for collection, upload the transmittal form via the secure messages in the portal. If a Sponsor to Bill record exists for the repayment already, convert the original Sponsor to Bill account to an In Repayment account using the instructions at the link referenced above.

As noted above, Sponsors have a total of 30 calendar days. The initial reporting must be entered within 10 business days. Repayments not referred within the time frames above will become the financial responsibility of the Sponsor for failure to report. Sponsors will be required to return the funds to WSAC. Accounts that are In Repayment status require the Sponsor to return the funds directly to WSAC by check or EFT.

If apprentices contact the Sponsor regarding their repayment after it has been referred to WSAC, the Sponsor **must** direct apprentices to WSAC's contracted billing service, University Accounting Service (UAS), at 844-870-8701.

Note: Sponsors must enter repayments into the Portal before sending communications to apprentices that refer them to UAS or WSAC.

Authority

Washington College Grant (WAC 250.21.051(7))

No-Show Repayments

If a Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship recipient never attends courses for related supplemental instruction or completes any hours in their apprenticeship in the payment period for which they received the grant award, the state grant repayment amount is 100 percent of the award. If a Sponsor is unable to distinguish between a no-show and an unofficial withdrawal, the no-show policy shall apply.

Sponsor Errors

Sponsors are responsible for repaying WSAC for overpayments resulting from calculation errors. Sponsors shall reduce the apprentice's award(s) to reflect the amount the apprentice was eligible to receive.

Canceling In Repayment Accounts

Once an In Repayment account is created, it cannot be canceled. In Repayment may only be canceled when it was determined that the repayment was created in error. Showing that a repayment requirement was posted in error may be satisfied by providing of an updated last date of attendance, grade change, proof of high school diploma, etc.

Sponsors may not accept any payment or apply tuition refunds for an In Repayment account and must forward all funds to WSAC. For further assistance, contact WSAC Receivables Coordinator at <u>repayment@wsac.wa.gov.</u>

If it is determined that a repayment was created in error and needs to be canceled in the Portal, the Sponsor must enter a clear explanation for why the repayment has been canceled. Any funds the apprentice has paid WSAC towards the repayment will be refunded to the apprentice by WSAC.

Cancelation of repayments created more than one fiscal year before the current year must be done by contacting WSAC at <u>repayment@wsac.wa.gov</u>.

INFORMATION FOR CLOCK HOUR PROGRAMS

In order to equate the clock hour programs to the credit hour programs, the following policy makes the annual award amount equitable for apprentices attending both clock hour and credit hour programs.

Payment Periods:

- 1. All clock hour apprentices, except for their final payment period, must be reported as full-time apprentices unless they are specifically enrolled in a part time apprenticeship program. First payments are made at the beginning of the program for eligible apprentices. Additional payments may be made for each block of required hours successfully completed. However, apprentices may only receive subsequent payments if they incur additional tuition and fees, books and supplies or equipment costs not covered in their initial payment.
- 2. Additional payments shall not be disbursed until the previous payment's hours have been earned/completed.
- 3. For a full-time, two-payment period apprentice in good standing, the apprentice should be awarded for two payment periods (equivalent to two payments).
- 4. For a full-time, three payment period apprentices in good standing, the apprentice should be awarded for three payment periods (equivalent to three payments).
- 5. For a full-time, four payment period apprentice in good standing, the apprentice should be awarded for four payment periods (equivalent to four payments).
- 6. For a full-time, five payment period apprentice in good standing, the apprentice should be awarded for five payment periods (equivalent to five payments).
- 7. NOTE: Program lengths will vary, and Sponsors will work with WSAC staff to determine the clock hours required and the number of payment periods per fiscal year for apprentices in each program.

Program Lengths

Apprenticeship programs must be at least 600 hours in length to qualify for state aid awards.

A final payment period request can be submitted for apprentices nearing completion of their program who have between 75 and 299 remaining hours.

Remainder Hours - Award Percentages

75 - 149 hours	=	25% of a full-time award (report as less than half-time)
150 - 224 hours	=	50% of a full-time award (report as half-time)
225 - 299 hours	=	75% of full-time award (report as three-quarter time)
300+ hours	=	100% of full-time award (report as full-time)

Academic Year Cross-Over Programs

If a payment falls in the cross-over between fiscal years, the Sponsor can select the fiscal year in which to request the payment.

Additional clock hours earned beyond a full disbursement that are clocked prior to July 1, of the next academic year may be carried over. For example, if an apprentice earns 980 hours in one academic year and is awarded for two 450-hour payment period, the 80 remaining hours may be carried into the next academic year.

Apprenticeship Payment Period/Hour Payment Request Calendar

There are up to twelve payment periods per fiscal year during which Sponsors can submit awards and request payments. The payment periods will be labeled as months of the fiscal year beginning with July and ending with June. The Sponsor will request payment in the month they are disbursing the funds to the apprentice.

Assign the term based on the dates when the majority of the apprentice's enrollment for each 300 clock hour time period will occur.

Payment Period	Date Range			
July	July 1 – July 31			
August	August 1 – August 31			
September	September 1 – September 30			
October	October 1 – October 31			
November	November 1 – November 30			
December	December 1 – December 31			
January	January 1 – January 31			
February	February 1 – February 28			
March	March 1 – March 31			
April	April 1 – April 30			
Мау	May 1 – May 31			
June	June 1 – June 30			

Based on hours earned requirements it is anticipated that any given apprentice will have no more than five payment periods in one fiscal year but three or four will be most typical.

CHAPTER 6

CONDITIONS OF AWARD AND DIRECTIVES

Forms used to Provide Required Notification to Apprentices

Prior to the first annual disbursement of Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship, Sponsors must inform apprentices of the conditions associated with their state financial aid award(s) by providing them with the Washington State Aid – Conditions of Award below.

Conditions of Award statements must be provided to apprentices on paper or electronically. Emailed Conditions of Award statements must display the Conditions language, in its entirety, in the body of the email, unless the Sponsor requires apprentices to certify their acceptance by filing a signed form or otherwise verifying receipt of the Conditions language. Sponsors must maintain documentation that the state Conditions of Award were provided to awarded apprentices.

WSAC values flexibility in best meeting our shared apprentice disclosure obligations. Sponsors may propose alternative Conditions of Award language varying from the statement below during the annual participation renewal process. Alternative Conditions language must still convey the points included in the statement below and will be evaluated for approval accordingly.

Sponsors may incorporate state Conditions of Award language into more comprehensive conditions statements that cover other forms of financial aid, subject to WSAC approval during renewal.

Conditions of Award Statement – Applies to Apprentices in all Apprenticeship Programs each year

Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship – Conditions of Award

By accepting state financial aid, you agree to the conditions listed below. If you have questions or find that you cannot comply with these conditions, please contact your sponsors financial aid administrator.

- 1. You must meet the requirements for Washington State residency.
- 2. You do not owe a repayment to any state grant or scholarship nor are you in default on a state student loan.
- 3. You must be enrolled in an eligible program and not be pursuing a degree in theology.
- 4. If you hold a bachelor's degree or the foreign equivalent, you are not eligible to receive state grant funds.
- 5. If you do not attend or if you withdraw from your apprenticeship program, you may owe a repayment of all or part of any state funds you have received.
- 6. You must maintain the program progress standards established by your Sponsor in order to receive additional state aid.
- 7. There could be other circumstances that would require a repayment or reduction in your current award amounts.
- 8. You must meet all eligibility requirements for the state aid program(s) awarded.
- 9. The offer of this financial assistance is subject to, and conditioned upon, the availability of funds. Washington Student Achievement Council (WSAC) and the Sponsor through which the grant, scholarship, or work study is awarded, reserve the right to withdraw, reduce, or modify the awards due to funding limitations or due to changes in circumstances which affect your eligibility for the program(s).
- 10. If I fail to cash my check containing state funds or pickup any remaining funds by the close of the fiscal year, the funds shall be returned to the program at WSAC and treated as funds declined by me.

The State of Washington is offering you financial assistance to help support your apprenticeship expenses. Please visit <u>www.opportunitypathways.wa.gov</u> to receive more information about financial aid, scholarships, work study, and student loans.

You may choose to voluntarily make financial contributions to WSAC in recognition of the assistance that you received. All voluntary contributions will be used to provide financial assistance to other apprentices and students. Please contact <u>finaid@wsac.wa.gov</u> for more information.

Required Directive Form for Apprentices

Sponsors must use the following WSAC Apprentice Directive Form to record an apprentice's decision on where to apply their state grant award payment(s) each term.

The apprentice's grant award payment can be deposited directly into an apprentice's account or disbursed in the form of a check based on their choice on the directive. In addition, Sponsors:

- □ Must not coerce or influence the apprentice's choice on where to apply their grant award payment.
- □ Will keep the directive in effect for the duration of the apprentice's continuous enrollment in the apprenticeship program with that specific Sponsor, excluding approved leaves of absence and summer terms. A new directive is required if the apprentice is not continuously enrolled.
- □ Must allow apprentices to change their minds at any time, prior to disbursement, and follow their current directives at all times.
- □ Must remind apprentices once a year that their current directive is still in place and that they may change it.

The apprentice must sign and date the directive. The signature can be either a wet or an electronic signature. For electronic signatures, the Sponsor must have assurances that only the apprentice can access their signature page, likely through a portal that is name and password protected.

State of Washington

Student Achievement Council

APPRENTICE DIRECTIVE FOR DISBURSEMENT OF STATE AID

Return this form to the *NAME of Sponsor* Office as soon as possible.

Apprentice Name (please print):

ID#:

You have been awarded financial aid from the State of Washington. Your designation and signature on this form will document your choice for funds to be applied directly into your account or to be given to you in the form of a check. A state grant or scholarship recipient has the following two choices:

- Choosing to have the funds deposited to your account permits the aid to be automatically credited toward expenses you may owe to the sponsor. This option allows faster processing of any refunds of financial aid proceeds that may be due you.
- Choosing to have state financial aid funds given directly to you means that state student aid will not be automatically available to pay for tuition and fees. You are responsible for using the funds to pay for educational expenses including any expense you owe to the Sponsor.

Please choose one of these options:

I choose to have state aid funds applied directly to my account and automatically credited toward expenses I owe <u>NAME of Sponsor</u>.

OR

I wish to have state aid funds given directly to me (not credited to my account). I understand that I am responsible for all outstanding balances on my account at *NAME of Sponsor*.

Your choice will stay in effect as long as you are enrolled in our program. However, you may change your directive for a future term by informing your Sponsor Financial Aid Administrator in writing.

Apprentice Signature

Date

Make sure you check one of the options above and return this form to:

NAME of Sponsor

Address

Address

Address

CHAPTER 7 INFORMATION FOR SPONSORS

APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible to participate in state aid programs a Sponsor must:

- 1. Undergo a review process by applying for participation in the Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship program.
- 2. Meet the required standards.
- 3. Be a registered Provider listed with Washington State Labor and Industries.
- 4. Have qualifying financial capacity to process grant transactions including a Tax ID Number (TIN) and Statewide Vendor Number.
- 5. Provide required materials for review by WSAC.

AGREEMENT TO PARTICIPATE

The **Agreement to Participate** documents a Sponsor's legal commitment to abide by all program statutes, rules, and guidelines. The agreement is designed for yearly renewal.

Each year, participating Sponsors submit or certify their apprentice program costs, which include: tuition and fees, books, supplies, and equipment, Conditions of Award statements and delivery methods, state aid repayment, satisfactory program progress, and packaging policies — as directed by WSAC for approval and renewal of participation in the following fiscal year. Additional supporting documentation also may be required.

STATE OF WASHINGTON CONDITIONS OF AWARD

Prior to the first disbursement of state aid each year, Sponsors must inform state aid recipients of their responsibilities to the program(s) through a "State of Washington Conditions of Award" statement. Please refer to Chapter 6, Conditions of Award.

Statements must include the Opportunity Pathways link - <u>http://www.opportunitypathways.wa.gov</u> and must be presented or delivered to the apprentice via paper or electronic means.

The statement does not have to be signed by the Apprentice.

REPAYMENT POLICY

Schools must follow the state grant repayment policy as outlined in Chapter 5, Payments, Repayments, and Reporting.

SATISFACTORY PROGRAM PROGRESS POLICY

Satisfactory Program Progress policies may be specific to state aid recipients and must meet the provisions of <u>WAC 250-21-010(16)</u>, and the Satisfactory Program Progress Chapter (Chapter 3) of this manual.

A Sponsor may submit an alternative approach to evaluating academic progress that includes a plan for improved apprentice retention and comparison data to ensure state funds are used efficiently. WSAC will initially determine whether to approve the alternative policy, then evaluate it over a specified timeframe, then determine whether the policy may continue to be approved.

NOTIFICATIONS

WSAC must be notified within thirty days of material changes affecting the Sponsors including additional locations of the Program as applicable that may impact an apprentice's eligibility for state aid.

Material changes that must be reported to WSAC within thirty days include, but are not limited to:

- Contact information for Sponsor's financial aid administrator
- Sponsor ownership
- Third-party servicers
- Changes to status with Washington State Labor and Industries

Any findings (including preliminary ones) or discoveries resulting from an internal or external program review or audit shall be sent directly to WSAC.

PROGRAM AUDITS AND RECORDS RETENTION

WSAC staff shall review the Sponsor's administrative practices to verify compliance with rules, regulations, and program guidelines. As outlined in the rules, the burden of proof for a grant recipient's eligibility lies with the Sponsor.

Each participating Sponsor must maintain intact and accessible records of apprentice's application, receipt, and expenditure of state aid funds. This includes all accounting records, as well as the original and supporting documents verifying how the funds were spent.

The Sponsor must be able to reconstruct the calculations and rationale for the Apprentice's eligibility and award, if requested by WSAC. Records may be kept electronically.

If the Sponsor keeps records electronically, source documents supporting the electronic data must be maintained by the Sponsor in either hard copy, imaging software, or on microfilm.

If a program review or audit reveals that funds were improperly awarded and disbursed as a result of Sponsor error or failure to follow the appropriate rules and guidelines, the Sponsor must repay the amount of the affected state aid funds to WSAC. The burden for repayment is on the Sponsor, not the apprentice.

Records Retention

Records relating to the state aid programs must be maintained in accordance with <u>RCW 40.14</u>. This law requires all documentation substantiating an apprentice's eligibility for, and receipt of, state aid be maintained for six years in accordance with the Washington State Record Retention Schedule.

CHAPTER 8 LAWS AND AGENCY RULES

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) — A codification of current statutes (laws enacted and amended by the Legislature).

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) — The administrative rules and regulations by which state agencies operate to execute the Laws enacted by the Legislature.

CHAPTER 28B.92 RCW

STATE STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS

- Sections
- <u>28B.92.005</u> Financial aid application due dates and information—Notification.
- 28B.92.030 Definitions.
- <u>28B.92.040</u> Guidelines in performance of duties.
- 28B.92.060 State need grant awards.
- <u>28B.92.065</u> Washington college grant program appropriations reduction.
- <u>28B.92.070</u> Persian Gulf veterans—Limited application of RCW <u>28B.92.060</u>.
- <u>28B.92.085</u> Part-time students—Review of financial aid policies and procedures.
- <u>28B.92.086</u> Dual credit programs—Review of financial aid policies and programs.
- <u>28B.92.090</u> Aid granted without regard to applicant's race, creed, color, religion, sex, or ancestry.
- <u>28B.92.100</u> Theology student denied aid.
- <u>28B.92.105</u> Supplemental nutrition assistance program eligibility notification.
- 28B.92.110 Application of award.
- <u>28B.92.120</u> Office to determine how funds disbursed.
- <u>28B.92.130</u> Grants, gifts, bequests, and devises of property.
- <u>28B.92.140</u> State educational trust fund—Deposits—Expenditures.
- 28B.92.150 Rules.
- <u>28B.92.200</u> Washington college grant program.
- <u>28B.92.205</u> Washington college grant program—Financial need.
- <u>28B.92.210</u> Washington college grant program—Caseload forecast.
- <u>28B.92.220</u> Postsecondary institution student-level data—Education data center.

NOTES: Financial aid counseling curriculum for institutions with Washington College Grant (formerly state need grant) recipients—Financial education workshops: RCW 28B.76.502

CHAPTER 250-21 WAC

The guidance in this manual reflects the program rules for the Washington Administrative Code 250-21 – Washington College Grant which are effective for the 2020-2021 award year

STATE STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAM—WASHINGTON COLLEGE GRANT

WAC Sections

- 250-21-010 Program definitions
- 250-21-11 Student eligibility
- 250-21-021 Institutions seeking participation
- 250-21-026 Participating institutions
- 250-21-031 Institutional administrative requirements
- 250-21-041 Award procedure
- <u>360-21-051</u> Institutional fund management requirements
- 250-21-061 Program administration and audits
- 250-21-071 Student complaint process
- 250-21-081 Suspension or termination of institutional participation
- 250-21-091 Appeal process
- 250-21-100 Apprentice eligibility
- 250-21-121 Apprenticeship programs seeking participation
- 250-21-126 Participating apprenticeship programs
- 250-21-131 Apprenticeship program administrative requirements
- 250-21-141 Award procedure
- <u>250-21-151</u> Program fund management requirements
- 250-21-161 Program administration and audits
- 250-21-171 Apprentice complaint process
- 250-21-181 Suspension or termination of program participation
- 250-21-191 Appeal process

CHAPTER 250-18 WAC

RESIDENCY STATUS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION

WAC Sections

- <u>250-18-010</u> Purpose and applicability.
- 250-18-015 Definitions.
- 250-18-020 Student classification.
- <u>250-18-025</u> Classification procedure.
- <u>250-18-030</u> Establishment of a domicile.
- <u>250-18-035</u> Evidence of financial dependence or independence.
- <u>250-18-045</u> Administration of residency status.
- 250-18-050 Appeals process.
- <u>250-18-055</u> Recovery of fees for improper classification of residency.
- <u>250-18-060</u> Exemptions from nonresident status.

APPENDIX

Median Family Income (MFI) Levels for 2020-21
Washington College Grant for Apprenticeship Program Eligibility

Family Size	55%	60%	65%	70%	75%	100% (Maximum)
1	\$27,500	\$30,000	\$32,500	\$35,000	\$38,000	\$50,500
2	\$36,000	\$39,500	\$43,000	\$46,000	\$49,500	\$66,000
3	\$44,500	\$49,000	\$53,000	\$57,000	\$61,000	\$81,500
4	\$53,000	\$58,000	\$63,000	\$68,000	\$72,500	\$97,000
5	\$62,000	\$67,500	\$73,000	\$78,500	\$84,000	\$112,500
6	\$70,500	\$76,500	\$83,000	\$89,500	\$96,000	\$128,000
7	\$72,000	\$78,500	\$85,000	\$91,500	\$98,000	\$130,500
8	\$73,500	\$80,000	\$87,000	\$93,500	\$100,000	\$133,500
9	\$75,000	\$82,000	\$88,500	\$95,500	\$102,500	\$136,500
10	\$76,500	\$83,500	\$90,500	\$97,500	\$104,500	\$139,500
11	\$78,500	\$85,500	\$92,500	\$99,500	\$106,500	\$142,500
12	\$80,000	\$87,000	\$94,500	\$101,500	\$109,000	\$145,000
13	\$81,500	\$89,000	\$96,500	\$103,500	\$111,000	\$148,000
14	\$83,000	\$90,500	\$98,000	\$105,500	\$113,500	\$151,000
15	\$84,500	\$92,500	\$100,000	\$107,500	\$115,500	\$154,000
16	\$86,500	\$94,000	\$102,000	\$110,000	\$117,500	\$157,000
17	\$88,000	\$96,000	\$104,000	\$112,000	\$120,000	\$159,500
18	\$89,500	\$97,500	\$105,500	\$114,000	\$122,000	\$162,500
19	\$91,000	\$99,500	\$107,500	\$116,000	\$124,000	\$165,500
20	\$92,500	\$101,000	\$109,500	\$118,000	\$126,500	\$168,500

The above MFI chart was prepared by the Washington Student Achievement Council (WSAC) from U.S. Department of Commerce (Census Bureau) data published on-line by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Office of Community Services website as transmittal number LIHEAP-IM-2019-02, dated August 7, 2019, from the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP). It was derived from five-year estimates from the 2013 through 2017 American Community Surveys (ACSes). All figures have been rounded to the nearest \$500 income range.

Apprenticeship Program Title	WSAC Approved Cost of Tuition & Fees, Books & Supplies and Equipment=(award)	0-55% MFI	56-60% MFI	61-65% MFI	66-70% MFI	71-75% MFI	76-100% MFI
Carpenter year 1	\$5,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Carpenter Year 2	\$2,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Carpenter Year 3	\$1,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Plumber Year 1	\$8,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Plumber Year 2	\$4,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Plumber Year 3	\$2,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Plumber Year 4	\$1,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Welder Year 1	\$9,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Welder year 2	\$3,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Welder year 3	\$3,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Welder Year 4	\$3,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost
Welder Year 5	\$3,000.00	100% of cost	70% of cost	60% of cost	50% of cost	24.5% of cost	10% of cost

Sample Apprenticeship Award Chart

Award amounts will vary based on WSAC approved costs as submitted by each Sponsor.

This is a sample of the formula in relation to the median family income amounts and not to be used by any Sponsor as a specific award chart. Sponsors will provide their own award chart once approved with their specific programs.