

Washington State Health Professional Loan Repayment Program

Phone: 888-535-0747, option 5 Email: health@wsac.wa.gov http://bit.do/wsac-health

2019

About the Program

The Health Loan Repayment Program helps the state attract and retain licensed health professionals to serve in critical shortage areas in Washington State by providing educational loan repayment assistance.

Two programs—with different requirements—provide educational loan repayment

Requirements	Health Professional Loan Repayment Program (HPLRP)	Federal-State Loan Repayment Program (FSLRP)
Funding source	State funds only	Federal funds matched with state dollars
Maximum award	\$75,000	\$70,000
Minimum service obligation	3 years	2 years
Minimum work week	24-hour work week, service obligation is prorated	40-hour work week
Default penalty	(2 x funds disbursed) + interest	(months NOT served x \$7,500) + interest Minimum \$31,000 payback
Days away from clinic	40 days per contract year	Approximately 35 days per contract year
Eligible sites See provider reference guide for full details.	Optional: • Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) designation. • Nonprofit. • Posted and implemented sliding fee schedule.	Required: • Federal Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) designation. • Nonprofit. • Posted and implemented sliding fee schedule.
Eligible providers	Same eligibible providers as FSLRP PLUS Licensed Midwife, Naturopathic Doctor (ND) and Licensed Practical Nurse	DDS or DMD, Registered Dental Hygienist, MD, DO, Physician Assistant, Nurse Practitioner, Registered Nurse, Pharmacist, Certified Nurse Midwife, Clinical Psychologist*, Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker*, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist*, Licensed Mental Health Counselor* *Requires a full independent license. Individuals with the associate level, restricted credential are not eligible.



Three-Step Process

Sites apply and request pre-approval status.

Providers apply during the application cycle.

Sites certify and provide information.

May 2019

2019 **APPLICATION TIMELINE**

Oct. 2018

opens

Site application

Site application closes

Nov. 2018

Provider application opens

Dec. 2018

Provider application closes

Jan. 2019

Feb. 2019

begins

Site certification

Site certification

Mar. 2019

ends

July 2019

WSAC begins notifying providers

New provider contracts begin