

Overview of E2SHB 1546

Concerning dual-credit opportunities provided by Washington State's public institutions of higher education

Section 1 establishes the legislative intent.

States the intent of the legislature to increase opportunities for academically prepared high school students to earn up to two years of college credit through dual credit programs, and to reduce disparities in access to, and completion of, these programs. Lists and describes the various dual credit programs available to Washington students. Describes the benefits of dual credit programs, and specific barriers which keep students from participating in dual credit programs, including related fees, transportation, and cost of books. Provides a new funding model to support tuition in College in the High School, and provides flexibility in an existing grant to assist Running Start students with transportation and book expenses. Establishes a distinction between College in the High School and Running Start.

Section 2 amends <u>RCW 28A.320.196</u>—Academic acceleration incentive program.

Adds textbook fees, and transportation for Running Start students to allowable uses of the existing Academic Acceleration Incentive Program. Removes language excluding Running Start students from generating incentive award funding under this program.

Section 3 substantially amends <u>RCW 28A.600.290</u>—College in the high school program.

Definition for this section

"College in the High School" is a dual credit program located on a high school campus or in a high school environment in which a high school student is able to earn both high school and postsecondary credit by completing postsecondary level courses with a passing grade. College in the High School programs may include both academic courses, and career and technical education.

Eligibility and outreach

Students in 10th grade are added to students in the 11th and 12th grades¹ as being eligible to participate in the College in the High School program. The high school and participating college or university together define the criteria for student eligibility. Participating school districts must provide general information about the College in the High School program to all students in grades 9 through 12, and their parents or guardians.

¹ Or students who have not yet received a high school diploma or GED and are eligible to be in the 10th, 11th or 12th grades.

E2SHB 1546 Overview

State funding

Beginning in 2015-16, and subject to availability, state funding may be allocated at a minimum of \$65 per quarter credit for:

- Students who are in 11th or 12th grade² and are enrolled in College in the High School courses.
- The maximum number of credits to be funded will be 10 credits per year.
- Every four years, the amount of the subsidy will be reviewed.

State funding prioritization

Funding will be prioritized in the following order:

- 1. For one year only, 2015-16, high schools which offered Running Start in the High School during 2014-15 will receive priority funding.
- 2. Students whose residence or the high school in which they are enrolled is located 20 direct driving miles or more from the nearest college or university offering a Running Start program.
- 3. High schools eligible for small schools funding enhancement.
- 4. Students who are eligible for free or reduced price lunch (funded at a maximum of 5 credits per year.)

Tuition fees

The college or university may charge \$65 per quarter credit in tuition fees to participating students. Students may pay College in the High School fees with GET units. Districts pay colleges or universities on behalf of subsidized students (see funding prioritization). Those students shall not be required to pay for the credits.

Districts must apply for funding

Districts must apply to OSPI by July 1 of each year, with an estimate of eligible students, to receive the subsidy. OSPI will notify districts by September 1 if the district's students will receive the subsidy. If applications exceed available funding, OSPI will prioritize the district applications based on factors including the number of dual credit opportunities available for low-income students in the districts.

Local contracts

College in the High School programs are governed by a local contract between the school district and the participating college or university, in compliance with rules adopted by OSPI.

College credit awards

A participating college or university **must** grant college credit to a student enrolled in a program course, if the student successfully completes the course. The college credit will be applied toward general education requirements or degree requirements at the college or university. Evidence of successful completion of each program course will be included in the student's college transcript.

² Or students who have not yet received a high school diploma or GED and are eligible to be in the 11th or 12th grade and are enrolled in College in the High School courses.

Rules development and adoption

OSPI will adopt rules (WACs) for the administration of this section. The rules will be jointly developed by the OSPI, SBCTC, WSAC and the public baccalaureate institutions, in consultation with the Association of Washington School Principals. The rules must outline quality and eligibility standards that are informed by nationally recognized standards or models, and must encourage the maximum use of the College in the High School program.

Section 4 amends <u>RCW 28A.600.310</u>—Running start program.

Course sections and programs offered as Running Start courses must also be open for registration to matriculated students at the participating college or university and may not be a course consisting solely of high school students offered at a high school.

Fee payment option

Students may pay fees for Running Start programs with GET units.

Sections 5 and 6 amend <u>RCW 28B.95.020</u> and <u>RCW 28B.95.030</u>—Advanced College Tuition Payment Program.

Allows use of Guaranteed Education Tuition (GET) units to pay dual credit fees.

Section 7 requires dual-credit report to legislature.

Requires WSAC, in collaboration with SBCTC, OSPI and the public baccalaureate institutions, to make recommendations to the legislature to streamline and improve dual credit programs in Washington with particular attention to increasing participation of students who are low-income and/or currently underrepresented in the Running Start, AP, International Baccalaureate, and Cambridge International programs. The report is due by September 15, 2016.

Read the details of the <u>full bill</u>, see all the amendments, view public testimony on TVW videos, read legislative staff reports, and more, all on the Washington State Legislature website.