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Washington State Health Professional Loan Repayment Program

About the Program

The Health Loan Repayment Program helps the state aftract and retain licensed health professionals to serve in
critical shortage areas in Washington State by providing educational loan repayment assistance.

Two programs—with different requirements—provide educational loan repayment assistance.

Requirements Health Professional Loan Repayment Federal-State Loan Repayment
Program (HPLRP) Program (FSLRP)

Funding source State funds only
$75,000

3 years

Maximum award
Minimum service obligation

Minimum work week 24-hour work week, service obligation is prorated

Default penalty (2 x funds disbursed) + interest
Annual leave away from clinic 40 days
Includes holidays, sick,
vacation, continuing
education, etc.
Eligible sites Optional:
See provider reference guide * Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA)
for full details. designation.
¢ Nonprofit.

» Posted sliding fee schedule.

Eligible providers
As of Sept. 2016

MD, DO, ND, Physician Assistant, Nurse
Practitioner, Psychiatric Advanced Practice
Clinician (PA or NP), Mental Health Nurse,
Registered Nurse, Licensed Practical Nurse,
Pharmacist, Registered Dental Hygienist, Certified
Nurse Midwife, Licensed Midwife, DDS, or DMD.

Newly eligible: Clinical Psychologist, Licensed
Independent Clinical Social Worker, Marriage
and Family Therapist, Mental Health Counselor.
* Master’s or doctoral degree required. Must
be working in an integrated care system.
Fall 2016

Nov. 30, 2016 Dec. 2014

2017
APPLICATION
TIMELINE

Site application
opens.

Site application

closes. approval.
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Sites notified of

Contact: Chris Wilkins
Title: Program Manager
Phone: 360-753-7794

Email: health@wsac.wa.gov

2017-18

Federal funds matched with state dollars
$70,000

2 years

40-hour work week

(months NOT served x $7,500) + interest
Minimum $31,000 payback

Approximately 35 days

Required:
* Have a federal Health Professional
Shortage Area (HPSA) designation.
¢ Be a nonprofit.
* Have an implemented and posted sliding
fee schedule.

Two-Step Process

Sites must apply each year during the

MD, DO, Physician Assistant, Nurse Practitioner, site application cycle.
Registered Nurse, Pharmacist, Registered
Dental Hygienist, Certified Nurse Midwife, DDS,

or DMD.

1

Providers must have an
employment contract at an
approved site to apply during
the provider application cycle.

2

July 2017

Jan. 2017 Apr. 14, 2017 June 2017

M

Applicants receive
noftification.

Provider application
opens.

Provider application
closes.

New provider
contracts begin.
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