Washington's Aerospace Loan Program (ALP) provides a low interest loan to Washington students that demonstrate the inability to pay the full cost to attend the Washington Aerospace Training and Research Center Program (WATRC). Please refer to the 2012 Washington Aerospace Loan Program Guidelines and Terms of Agreement for detailed information.
Q. Where do I find information on the Aerospace Program?
A. Contact the WATRC for information specific to the aerospace program, for example, class curriculum, certifications, start dates, locations, etc.
Q. Who can apply?
A. You must:
- Be a United States Citizen or eligible non-citizen.
- Non-Citizen Eligibility:
- Be a U.S. national (includes natives of American Samoa or Swain’s Island)
- Be a U.S. permanent resident who has an I-151, I-551, or I-551C (Permanent Resident Card)
- If you have only a Notice of Approval to Apply for Permanent Residence (I-171 or I-464), you are not eligible
- If you’re in the United States on certain visas, including an F1 or F2 student visa, or a J1 or J2 exchange visitor visa, you are not eligible.
- Persons with G series visas (pertaining to international organizations) are not eligible.
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Be a high school graduate or have a GED.
- Have at least an 8th grade level of reading and math skills.
- Demonstrate financial need.
- Not be receiving student financial aid that exceeds program tuition.
- Use Veteran's benefits and/or Dislocated Worker Services (Workforce Investment Act) benefits before requesting Aerospace Loan Funds.
- Declare intent to work in the state of Washington in the aerospace industry.
- Complete the Edmonds Community College Registration Form.
- Not have criminal history that includes: felony convictions; robbery convictions; theft convictions; being a nationally registered sex offender; having more than one DUI in the last five years.
- Not be delinquent on any state or federal debt (you may still apply, however you will be required to have a cosigner).
- Be current on child support payments (you may still apply, however you will be required to have a cosigner).
- Show ability to repay the loan (credit check will be done on applicant, and may require a cosigner).
Q. What is the award amound?
A. The maximum loan amount is $4,800.00. You may request less than the full amount of the loan.
Q. What is the application process?
A. Step by step process:
First Step: meet the guidelines under “Who can apply” above.
Second Step: go to the Aerospace Loan Program website located at: www.wsac.wa.gov/alp and read the Guidelines and Terms of Agreement.
Third Step: complete the Loan Application form and the Promissory Note (and Cosigner Application Form if applicable)
Fourth Step: Mail the required documents to:
Washington Student Achievement Council, ALP
PO BOX 43430 / Olympia WA 98504-3430
Awards will be made on a first come – first approved basis (date will be based on a complete application packet).
Q. How long does it take to process my loan?
A. Once a completed packet is received, a credit and background report is run. The completed application is reviewed by an internal committee for decision. This process takes four to six weeks. You will receive a letter either by email or mail to inform you of the result of your application. Once you are approved, you will be notified and it is your responsibility to contact Edmonds Community College to register for the program. The school will contact us to request the funds.
Q. How are the payments issued?
A. Payments are issued to the school twice during the 12 week training program. Student receives $2,400 to pay for the four week online segment. With verification of the Core Certificate student receives $2,400 to pay for the on-site class room training segment. Student must meet the satisfactory academic progress requirements set by the program.
Q. When and how do I repay my loan?
- The student/borrower has three months from the program completion date to begin repaying the loan.
- Students who withdraw from the program must begin making payments immediately.
- Payments are to be made monthly.
- Student/borrower has up to three years to repay the loan.
See the Guidelines and Terms of Agreement for repayment cost examples.
Q. Where can I get more information?
A. Email: email@example.com or Call: 360-596-4817
< Back to ALP page.