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Criteria for Approval of On-the-Job Training (OJT) Programs 

The Washington Student Achievement Council is a State Approving Agency for Washington.  

Title 38, Code of Federal Regulations, Section 21.4262 provides the requirements which must be met by 

an establishment before approval can be given to offer training to eligible veterans and other persons 

for the purpose of receiving GI Bill education benefits. 

An OJT program involves a job that is customarily learned in a practical way through a structured, 

systematic program of supervised, on-the-job training. It involves a job within which progression and 

appointment to the next higher classification are based upon skills learned through organized training 

on the job and not just on such factors as length of service and normal turnover. The training period 

must be one of full-time, compensated employment. 

The following requirements must be met in order to obtain approval as an OJT program: 

1. The job requires a period of training of not less than six months and not more than two years of 

employment and training. 

2. The training content of the program must be adequate to qualify the trainee for appointment to 

the journey-level job for which he or she is being trained. 

3. There must be an outline of the work processes and an allocation of the approximate amount of 

time to be spent in each major process in which the trainee will receive supervised experience.  

4. There is reasonable certainty that the job for which the training is provided will be available to 

the trainee at the end of the training period. 

5. The wages to be paid to the veteran trainee during the training period are not less than those 

paid to non-veteran trainees in similar training positions. 

6. Except for veteran trainees in state or municipal OJT programs, the wages paid to a trainee at 

the beginning of training must be at least 50 percent of the wages paid to a journey-level 

worker. This should be equivalent to the first journey wage or the first step in the payment 

progression of a journey-level worker. In addition, there must be at least one wage increase 

during the training period, and not later than the last full month of training, the wages must be 

at least 85 percent of the wages paid to a journey-level employee. (The last increase must be at 

85%) 
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For example, a journey-level worker begins at $20 per hour. Since the beginning trainee wage 

must be at least 50 percent of the first journey rate, the trainee must begin at no less than $10 

per hour. The rate can, of course, be higher. There must be one wage increase within (not at the 

end of or after) the training period, and not later than the last full month of training. That wage 

rate must be at least 85 percent of the first journey rate. Therefore, if this is a one-year training 

program beginning June 15 of year “X”, by May 15 of the next year, the wage rate must be at 

least $17 per hour. 

7. Commission sales or other wage rates based on commissions, incentive pay, salary draws 

against commission, etc. are not approvable. 

8. The length of the training period is not longer than that customarily required by similar 

establishments in the community to provide trainees with the required skills, technical 

information, and other facts necessary to become competent on the job for which they are 

being trained. The training period should also be consistent with the training indicators 

published by U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training (BAT). 

9. The establishment must have adequate space, equipment, instructional material, and instructor 

personnel to provide satisfactory training on the job. 

10. Adequate records will be kept to show the progress made by the trainee toward his or her job 

objective. 

11. Trainees will have any prior military or civilian training or experience evaluated. If applicable, 

credit toward completion of the program will be granted for such training or experience. The 

training period will be reduced proportionately, the veteran’s training record will be annotated, 

and his or her wages will be advanced to the appropriate level on the scale. 

12. A signed training agreement between the employer and the trainee will be required by the State 

Approving Agency (SAA). 

13. The organization agrees to periodic review and evaluation of the trainee’s progress in job 

performance and related instruction and the maintenance of appropriate progress, certification, 

and training hour records. All records are to be made available for review by the Department of 

Veterans Affairs (DVA) and the State Approving Agency upon request. Records are to be 

maintained by the employer or sponsor for three years following completion or termination of 

the veteran’s program. 

14. The training establishment must assure compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 

(Public Law 88-352). Submission of DVA Form 10-1104, State of Assurance of Compliance With 

Equal Opportunity Laws is required. 


